DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the irregularities on a surface of the first region and irregularities on a surface of the second region must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the first surface and the second surface intended by “a first region with a surface property following that the second surface” or “a contact region in contact the second surface without having the surface property following that of the second surface”. The phrase “a/the surface property following” throughout the claim is unclear as to what applicant is trying to claim. The first region, the contact region of the first surface, the second region and the contact region of the second surface arrangement are unclear. Applicant also clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the first and second surfaces intended by “the first and second regions being in contact with each other with irregularities on a surface of the first region and irregularities on a surface of the second region fit.” The “irregularities” of the first and second surfaces/regions is/are unclear. Applicant should clarify. Claims 2-10 inherit the defects of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroo et al. [JP 2013-093921 A] in view of JPS46-002729.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Hiroo et al. discloses a reactor [figures 1-4, 6A-8, 10-12 and 14-15] for a power converter [figure 13], comprising:
a coil [16, 18]: and
a magnetic core, the magnetic core having:
a first surface made of a material mainly containing a magnetic material; and
a second surface made of a material mainly containing a magnetic material, the first and second surfaces facing each other [gap G in figure 14].
Hiroo et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the first and second surfaces of the magnetic core.
Hiroo et al. further discloses two coils [16, 18] arranged in parallel in axial direction relative to the core.
JPS46-002729 discloses a magnetic device comprising:
- two E-shaped cores having at least one gap formed therebetween [figures 1-2]; and
- at least one coil [5], wherein the at least one gap including regions and surfaces arranged between the cores with or without contact surfaces [projection 7 in figures 1-2].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the gap design of JPS46-002729 in Hiroo et al. for the purpose of improving leakage and/or adjusting impedances.
The specific “irregularities” of the surfaces [contact or non-contact] would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose for facilitating different gaps arrangement and improving leakage.
Regarding claim 2, JPS46-002729 further discloses a non-contact region [gap] arranged apart from other surface of the gap.
Regarding claims 3-4, the specific “tubular” winding use for the coil would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling [note, Hiroo et al. discloses the coils 16, 18 arranged axially around core legs of the E-shaped cores]. Hiroo et al. also discloses the use of two U-shaped cores [figure 10].
Regarding claim 5, Hiroo et al. discloses more than one gaps [multiple surfaces between core pieces].
The specific gaps arrangement between core pieces would have been an
Regarding claim 6, Hiroo et al. discloses the use of different magnetic material of the core pieces such as dust core [magnetic powder], AMCC core [amorphous iron core] [14, 70, 72, figure 8].
The specific material use for the magnetic core pieces would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating different magnetic flux/field.
Regarding claim 7, the specific “tubular” winding use for the coil would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling [note, Hirro et al. discloses the coils 16, 18 arranged axially around core legs of the E-shaped cores]. Hiroo et al. discloses the use of three or more core pieces [figures 1-4, 6A-8, 10-12 and 15].
Regarding claim 10, the specific use of the converter in a power conversion device would have been obvious design consideration for the purpose of intended use in different environments.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroo et al. in view of JPS46-002729 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasuhiro et al. [JP 2013-157352 A]
Hiroo et al. in view of JPS46-002729 disclose the instant claimed invention except for a molded resin portion.
Yasuhiro et al. discloses a core for a reactor [figure 1], wherein the core having molded resin portion [60a, 60b] at least partially covering the core [portions 30].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to cover the core of Hiroo et al., as suggested by Yasuhiro et al. for the purpose of improving insulation.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837