DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 depends upon a canceled claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graser (US 4469222 A).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 19-20, Graser discloses a two-piece beverage carrier and blanks for making comprising a body configured to form an interior space, the body including at least a side wall (16/18) and a bottom (20); and a divider handle (14) configured to attach to the body (Col 3 lines 5-20), the divider handle forming a handle (64/66) and at least one divider configured to divide the interior space into at least two compartments (see Figures 1-2), wherein the divider handle comprises one or more moveable partition panels foldably connected to a main portion of the divider handle (106/108/110), and configured to move relative to the main portion of the divider handle via its foldable connection thereto and to selectively further divide the interior space into one or more additional compartments (see Figures 1-2 and 4). Examiner considers the term “selectively further divide” to mean that one may choose any of the six created compartments to use to hold a particular article.
Regarding claim 7, Graser discloses a carrier wherein the divider handle is
configured to be fixed relative to the body, wherein the body comprises a plurality of
attachment apertures (30/32), and wherein the divider handle comprises a plurality of
attachments (46/48) configured to insert into the attachment apertures to fix the divider handle to the body and to allow the body to be lifted by the divider handle (Col 3 lines 5-40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-5, and 10-11 are allowed.
Claims 21-26, 28-29, and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Graser does not read on the amended claims 1 and 20 because Graser does not disclose or teach partition panels that “selectively further divide the interior space into one or more additional compartments”, as now claimed.
-Examiner respectfully disagrees and interprets the new claim limitation to mean that one may selectively choose any of the created compartments to use to hold a particular article. Graser discloses six separate compartments to select from.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734