Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bongaarts, and Gronstad (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0037468), herein referred to as “Bongaarts”, in view of Tielemans et. al (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/02866721), herein referred to as “Tielemans”, and further in view of Ren et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0209419), herein referred to as “Ren.”
Regarding Claim 1,
Bongaarts discloses: A cell switching method, comprising: determining a data amount of data to be transmitted,
[0014] In some instances, the handover decision can be based at least in part on historical motion data. In some instances, motion data can include instantaneous speed information, average speed information, and/or route information (e.g., associated with a navigation application operating on the UE). Thus, the handover decision can be based on speed information (e.g., instantaneous, average, etc.) and/or route information, and a handover event can be prevented even in a case where an instantaneous speed is below a threshold speed, for example.
[0038] In some embodiments, the device movement component 216 can include functionality to determine motion data associated with a UE and/or to transmit the motion data to an entity or device responsible for the handover decision, if applicable.
[0052] FIG. 3 illustrates an example process 300 for determining handover event(s) at a user equipment based on cell characteristics and/or motion data. The example process 300 can be performed by the UE 120, 122, 124, 126, 200, 202, or 204, for example. Some or all of the process 300 can be performed by one or more devices in the environment 110, for example.
Note: The “amount of data” here is what comprises the “motion data” in paragraph [0014] above, which is instantaneous speed information, average speed information, route information, or a combination of these three items.
in a case where the data amount is less than a data amount threshold, acquiring a cell type of a serving cell
[0014] In some instances, the handover decision can be based at least in part on historical motion data. In some instances, motion data can include instantaneous speed information, average speed information, and/or route information (e.g., associated with a navigation application operating on the UE). Thus, the handover decision can be based on speed information (e.g., instantaneous, average, etc.) and/or route information, and a handover event can be prevented even in a case where an instantaneous speed is below a threshold speed, for example.
[0053] At operation 302, the process can include determining one or more first characteristics of a serving cell for a user equipment (UE). In some examples, characteristics of the serving cell can include, but are not limited to, an RSSI associated with a connection, a type of wireless technology utilized by the serving cell (e.g., 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.), a frequency of wireless signal provided by the serving cell, a geographical size of the serving cell, a location of the base station associated with the serving cell, a transmission power of the serving cell, total or unused bandwidth or capacity of the serving cell, parameters indicating whether motion data can be considered in handovers associated with the serving cell, a speed threshold for evaluating a speed of UE in connection with the candidate cell, a cell identifier, numbers and types of neighboring cells, services supported by the serving cell, a timing advance associated with the serving cell, etc.
[0056] At operation 308, the process can include determining that the motion data of the UE is above a threshold motion value. For example, the operation 308 can include determining that an instantaneous speed of the UE is above a threshold speed. Further, the operation 308 can include determining that an average speed of the UE is above a threshold average speed associated with a period of time. In some instances, the operation 308 can include determining that the instantaneous speed is below a threshold speed and that the average speed is above a threshold.
Note: Since the instantaneous speed is part of the motion data which constitutes “amount of data”, the relationship here is showing when part of the data (in this case, instantaneous speed) is lower than a threshold. Note also motion data herein can be based on signal strength and speed, as shown here:
[0066] At operation 506, the process can include determining a motion data threshold associated with a candidate cell based at least in part on the cell characteristics and/or the connection characteristics. For example, the motion data threshold can be based at least in part on a RSSI (or strength indicator, in general) of the signal received by the UE from the serving cell (e.g., the serving cell RSSI) being below a threshold RSSI value. That is, if the serving RSSI is low, indicating a relatively weak signal to the UE, the motion data threshold can be increased, thereby increasing a speed, for example, that the UE can travel and still initiate a handover to a candidate cell.
Bongaarts does not explicitly disclose wherein the data amount is a size of a memory space occupied by the data.
However, Tielemans discloses wherein the data amount is a size of a memory space occupied by the data.
[0027] The media client monitors the live playback environment of the communication network when streaming the live media and determines an ideal size of the playback buffer for the live playback environment of the communication network. For example, the media client monitors network fluctuations in the communication network. For example, the media client monitors a type of the communication network when streaming the live media. It is possible that the communication network switches between a type of wireless communication network and a type of 3G connection or 4G connection or 5G connection communication network.
Note: Here, the network will switch to 3G, 4G, or 5G depending on the size of the playback buffer. The “size” is the “data amount” and the “memory space” is the “playback buffer.
Bongaarts and Tielemans are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts to include the concept of a data occupying memory space switching the serving cell from a 5G cell to a non-5G cell as taught by Tielemans so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Bongaarts does not disclose the final limitation of this claim: in a case where the cell type of the serving cell is a fifth-generation mobile communication technology (5G) cell, switching the serving cell to a non-5G cell.
However, Ren discloses: in a case where the cell type of the serving cell is a fifth-generation mobile communication technology (5G) cell, switching the serving cell to a non-5G cell.
[0084] FIG. 6 is a block diagram showing a traditional handover procedure for a user equipment (UE). In the example handover procedure shown in FIG. 6, there are six steps to complete the handover from a serving 5G cell (e.g., 5G cell-A) 110A to a target 4G cell (e.g., 4G cell-B) 110B. Both the serving 5G cell 110A and the target 4G cell 110B may correspond to the base station 110 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2.
Bongaarts and Ren are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts to include the concepts of switching the serving cell from a 5G cell to a non-5G cell as taught by Ren so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Regarding Claim 2,
Bongaarts discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in a case where the data amount is not less than the data amount threshold, acquiring the cell type of the serving cell; in a case where the cell type of the serving cell is a 5G cell, not performing cell switching; or in a case where the cell type of the serving cell is a non-5G cell, switching the serving cell to a 5G cell.
[0053] In some examples, characteristics of the serving cell can include, but are not limited to, an RSSI associated with a connection, a type of wireless technology utilized by the serving cell (e.g., 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.), a frequency of wireless signal provided by the serving cell, a geographical size of the serving cell, a location of the base station associated with the serving cell, a transmission power of the serving cell, total or unused bandwidth or capacity of the serving cell, parameters indicating whether motion data can be considered in handovers associated with the serving cell, a speed threshold for evaluating a speed of UE in connection with the candidate cell, a cell identifier, numbers and types of neighboring cells, services supported by the serving cell, a timing advance associated with the serving cell, etc.
[0057] At operation 310, the process can include determining whether to transmit a handover request to the serving cell and/or to the candidate cell based at least in part on the motion data being above the threshold motion value. For example, in a case where an analysis of the first characteristics and/or the second characteristics indicates that the UE would be better served by the candidate cell instead of the serving cell (e.g., because of signal strength, congestion characteristics, bandwidth availability, etc.), the operation 310 can determine that a handover may not be initiated, and the operation 310 can include refraining from transmitting a handover request to the serving cell and/or to the candidate cell. Accordingly, the UE can remain connected to the serving cell.
Note: Since the serving cell can be 5G as noted by paragraph [0053] above, and where the motion data is above a threshold as per [0057], the UE can remain the in same serving cell that is 5G based on characteristics that pertain to motion data.
Regarding Claim 7,
Bongaarts discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the non-5G cell comprises: a fourth-generation mobile communication technology (4G) cell, a third-generation mobile communication technology (3G) cell, or a second-generation mobile communication technology (2G) cell.
[0053] At operation 302, the process can include determining one or more first characteristics of a serving cell for a user equipment (UE). As discussed herein, the serving cell can include a base station that is providing a connection to the UE for facilitating a communication between the UE and other UEs or devices on a network. In some instances, when the UE is in an idle mode, the serving cell can corresponding to the cell that the UE is associated with and that will facilitate a communication when one is initiated. In some examples, characteristics of the serving cell can include, but are not limited to, an RSSI associated with a connection, a type of wireless technology utilized by the serving cell (e.g., 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.), a frequency of wireless signal provided by the serving cell, a geographical size of the serving cell, a location of the base station associated with the serving cell, a transmission power of the serving cell, total or unused bandwidth or capacity of the serving cell, parameters indicating whether motion data can be considered in handovers associated with the serving cell, a speed threshold for evaluating a speed of UE in connection with the candidate cell, a cell identifier, numbers and types of neighboring cells, services supported by the serving cell, a timing advance associated with the serving cell, etc. In some instances, the operation 302 can include the UE requesting the first characteristics of the serving cell, and in some instances, the operation 302 can include receiving the first characteristics from the serving cell or another network device.
Note: It is possible here that the serving cell can be 2G, 3G, 4G, or 5G.
Regarding Claim 8,
Bongaarts discloses: A cell switching apparatus, comprising: a determination module, which is configured to determine a data amount of data to be transmitted,
[0014] In some instances, the handover decision can be based at least in part on historical motion data. In some instances, motion data can include instantaneous speed information, average speed information, and/or route information (e.g., associated with a navigation application operating on the UE). Thus, the handover decision can be based on speed information (e.g., instantaneous, average, etc.) and/or route information, and a handover event can be prevented even in a case where an instantaneous speed is below a threshold speed, for example.
[0038] In some embodiments, the device movement component 216 can include functionality to determine motion data associated with a UE and/or to transmit the motion data to an entity or device responsible for the handover decision, if applicable.
[0052] FIG. 3 illustrates an example process 300 for determining handover event(s) at a user equipment based on cell characteristics and/or motion data. The example process 300 can be performed by the UE 120, 122, 124, 126, 200, 202, or 204, for example. Some or all of the process 300 can be performed by one or more devices in the environment 110, for example.
Note: The “amount of data” here is what comprises the “motion data” in paragraph [0014] above, which is instantaneous speed information, average speed information, route information, or a combination of these three items.
an acquisition module, which is configured to acquire a cell type of a serving cell, in a case where the data amount is less than a data amount threshold
[0014] In some instances, the handover decision can be based at least in part on historical motion data. In some instances, motion data can include instantaneous speed information, average speed information, and/or route information (e.g., associated with a navigation application operating on the UE). Thus, the handover decision can be based on speed information (e.g., instantaneous, average, etc.) and/or route information, and a handover event can be prevented even in a case where an instantaneous speed is below a threshold speed, for example.
[0053] At operation 302, the process can include determining one or more first characteristics of a serving cell for a user equipment (UE). In some examples, characteristics of the serving cell can include, but are not limited to, an RSSI associated with a connection, a type of wireless technology utilized by the serving cell (e.g., 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.), a frequency of wireless signal provided by the serving cell, a geographical size of the serving cell, a location of the base station associated with the serving cell, a transmission power of the serving cell, total or unused bandwidth or capacity of the serving cell, parameters indicating whether motion data can be considered in handovers associated with the serving cell, a speed threshold for evaluating a speed of UE in connection with the candidate cell, a cell identifier, numbers and types of neighboring cells, services supported by the serving cell, a timing advance associated with the serving cell, etc.
[0056] At operation 308, the process can include determining that the motion data of the UE is above a threshold motion value. For example, the operation 308 can include determining that an instantaneous speed of the UE is above a threshold speed. Further, the operation 308 can include determining that an average speed of the UE is above a threshold average speed associated with a period of time. In some instances, the operation 308 can include determining that the instantaneous speed is below a threshold speed and that the average speed is above a threshold.
Note: Since the instantaneous speed is part of the motion data which constitutes “amount of data”, the relationship here is showing when part of the data (in this case, instantaneous speed) is lower than a threshold. Note also motion data herein can be based on signal strength and speed, as shown here:
[0066] At operation 506, the process can include determining a motion data threshold associated with a candidate cell based at least in part on the cell characteristics and/or the connection characteristics. For example, the motion data threshold can be based at least in part on a RSSI (or strength indicator, in general) of the signal received by the UE from the serving cell (e.g., the serving cell RSSI) being below a threshold RSSI value. That is, if the serving RSSI is low, indicating a relatively weak signal to the UE, the motion data threshold can be increased, thereby increasing a speed, for example, that the UE can travel and still initiate a handover to a candidate cell.
Bongaarts does not explicitly disclose wherein the data amount is a size of a memory space occupied by the data.
However, Tielemans discloses wherein the data amount is a size of a memory space occupied by the data.
[0027] The media client monitors the live playback environment of the communication network when streaming the live media and determines an ideal size of the playback buffer for the live playback environment of the communication network. For example, the media client monitors network fluctuations in the communication network. For example, the media client monitors a type of the communication network when streaming the live media. It is possible that the communication network switches between a type of wireless communication network and a type of 3G connection or 4G connection or 5G connection communication network.
Note: Here, the network will switch to 3G, 4G, or 5G depending on the size of the playback buffer. The “size” is the “data amount” and the “memory space” is the “playback buffer.
Bongaarts and Tielemans are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts to include the concept of a data occupying memory space switching the serving cell from a 5G cell to a non-5G cell as taught by Tielemans so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Bongaarts does not disclose the final limitation of this claim: in a case where the cell type of the serving cell is a fifth-generation mobile communication technology (5G) cell, switching the serving cell to a non-5G cell.
However, Ren discloses: in a case where the cell type of the serving cell is a fifth-generation mobile communication technology (5G) cell, switching the serving cell to a non-5G cell.
[0084] FIG. 6 is a block diagram showing a traditional handover procedure for a user equipment (UE). In the example handover procedure shown in FIG. 6, there are six steps to complete the handover from a serving 5G cell (e.g., 5G cell-A) 110A to a target 4G cell (e.g., 4G cell-B) 110B. Both the serving 5G cell 110A and the target 4G cell 110B may correspond to the base station 110 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2.
Bongaarts and Ren are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts to include the concepts of switching the serving cell from a 5G cell to a non-5G cell as taught by Ren so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Regarding Claim 9,
Bongaarts discloses: A non-transitory computer storage medium, storing a plurality of instructions, wherein the plurality of instructions are suitable for being loaded by a processor and executing a method step of claim 1.
[0051] FIGS. 3-5 illustrate example processes in accordance with embodiments of the disclosure. These processes are illustrated as logical flow graphs, each operation of which represents a sequence of operations that can be implemented in hardware, software, or a combination thereof. In the context of software, the operations represent computer-executable instructions stored on one or more computer-readable storage media that, when executed by one or more processors, perform the recited operations. Generally, computer-executable instructions include routines, programs, objects, components, data structures, and the like that perform particular functions or implement particular abstract data types. The order in which the operations are described is not intended to be construed as a limitation, and any number of the described operations can be combined in any order and/or in parallel to implement the processes.
Regarding Claim 10,
Bongaarts discloses: An electronic device, comprising: a memory and a processor; wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the computer program is suitable for being loaded by the processor and executing the following: determining a data amount of data to be transmitted,
[0014] In some instances, the handover decision can be based at least in part on historical motion data. In some instances, motion data can include instantaneous speed information, average speed information, and/or route information (e.g., associated with a navigation application operating on the UE). Thus, the handover decision can be based on speed information (e.g., instantaneous, average, etc.) and/or route information, and a handover event can be prevented even in a case where an instantaneous speed is below a threshold speed, for example.
[0038] In some embodiments, the device movement component 216 can include functionality to determine motion data associated with a UE and/or to transmit the motion data to an entity or device responsible for the handover decision, if applicable.
[0051] FIGS. 3-5 illustrate example processes in accordance with embodiments of the disclosure. These processes are illustrated as logical flow graphs, each operation of which represents a sequence of operations that can be implemented in hardware, software, or a combination thereof. In the context of software, the operations represent computer-executable instructions stored on one or more computer-readable storage media that, when executed by one or more processors, perform the recited operations. Generally, computer-executable instructions include routines, programs, objects, components, data structures, and the like that perform particular functions or implement particular abstract data types. The order in which the operations are described is not intended to be construed as a limitation, and any number of the described operations can be combined in any order and/or in parallel to implement the processes.
[0052] FIG. 3 illustrates an example process 300 for determining handover event(s) at a user equipment based on cell characteristics and/or motion data. The example process 300 can be performed by the UE 120, 122, 124, 126, 200, 202, or 204, for example. Some or all of the process 300 can be performed by one or more devices in the environment 110, for example.
Note: The “amount of data” here is what comprises the “motion data” in paragraph [0014] above, which is instantaneous speed information, average speed information, route information, or a combination of these three items.
in a case where the data amount is less than a data amount threshold, acquiring a cell type of a serving cell
[0014] In some instances, the handover decision can be based at least in part on historical motion data. In some instances, motion data can include instantaneous speed information, average speed information, and/or route information (e.g., associated with a navigation application operating on the UE). Thus, the handover decision can be based on speed information (e.g., instantaneous, average, etc.) and/or route information, and a handover event can be prevented even in a case where an instantaneous speed is below a threshold speed, for example.
[0053] At operation 302, the process can include determining one or more first characteristics of a serving cell for a user equipment (UE). In some examples, characteristics of the serving cell can include, but are not limited to, an RSSI associated with a connection, a type of wireless technology utilized by the serving cell (e.g., 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.), a frequency of wireless signal provided by the serving cell, a geographical size of the serving cell, a location of the base station associated with the serving cell, a transmission power of the serving cell, total or unused bandwidth or capacity of the serving cell, parameters indicating whether motion data can be considered in handovers associated with the serving cell, a speed threshold for evaluating a speed of UE in connection with the candidate cell, a cell identifier, numbers and types of neighboring cells, services supported by the serving cell, a timing advance associated with the serving cell, etc.
[0056] At operation 308, the process can include determining that the motion data of the UE is above a threshold motion value. For example, the operation 308 can include determining that an instantaneous speed of the UE is above a threshold speed. Further, the operation 308 can include determining that an average speed of the UE is above a threshold average speed associated with a period of time. In some instances, the operation 308 can include determining that the instantaneous speed is below a threshold speed and that the average speed is above a threshold.
Note: Since the instantaneous speed is part of the motion data which constitutes “amount of data”, the relationship here is showing when part of the data (in this case, instantaneous speed) is lower than a threshold. Note also motion data herein can be based on signal strength and speed, as shown here:
[0066] At operation 506, the process can include determining a motion data threshold associated with a candidate cell based at least in part on the cell characteristics and/or the connection characteristics. For example, the motion data threshold can be based at least in part on a RSSI (or strength indicator, in general) of the signal received by the UE from the serving cell (e.g., the serving cell RSSI) being below a threshold RSSI value. That is, if the serving RSSI is low, indicating a relatively weak signal to the UE, the motion data threshold can be increased, thereby increasing a speed, for example, that the UE can travel and still initiate a handover to a candidate cell.
Bongaarts does not explicitly disclose wherein the data amount is a size of a memory space occupied by the data.
However, Tielemans discloses wherein the data amount is a size of a memory space occupied by the data.
[0027] The media client monitors the live playback environment of the communication network when streaming the live media and determines an ideal size of the playback buffer for the live playback environment of the communication network. For example, the media client monitors network fluctuations in the communication network. For example, the media client monitors a type of the communication network when streaming the live media. It is possible that the communication network switches between a type of wireless communication network and a type of 3G connection or 4G connection or 5G connection communication network.
Note: Here, the network will switch to 3G, 4G, or 5G depending on the size of the playback buffer. The “size” is the “data amount” and the “memory space” is the “playback buffer.
Bongaarts and Tielemans are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts to include the concept of a data occupying memory space switching the serving cell from a 5G cell to a non-5G cell as taught by Tielemans so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Bongaarts does not disclose the final limitation of this claim: in a case where the cell type of the serving cell is a fifth-generation mobile communication technology (5G) cell, switching the serving cell to a non-5G cell.
However, Ren discloses: in a case where the cell type of the serving cell is a fifth-generation mobile communication technology (5G) cell, switching the serving cell to a non-5G cell.
[0084] FIG. 6 is a block diagram showing a traditional handover procedure for a user equipment (UE). In the example handover procedure shown in FIG. 6, there are six steps to complete the handover from a serving 5G cell (e.g., 5G cell-A) 110A to a target 4G cell (e.g., 4G cell-B) 110B. Both the serving 5G cell 110A and the target 4G cell 110B may correspond to the base station 110 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2.
Bongaarts and Ren are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts to include the concepts of switching the serving cell from a 5G cell to a non-5G cell as taught by Ren so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Claims 3, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bongaarts in view of Ren, held further in view of Kang et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2012/0155431), herein referred to as “Kang”.
Regarding Claim 3,
Bongaarts in view of Ren does not disclose all of the limitations of Claim 3.
However, Kang discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein determining the data amount of data to be transmitted comprises: determining a transmission direction of the data to be transmitted; in a case where the transmission direction is uplink, acquiring a buffer size for storing the data to be transmitted; determining the data amount of the data to be transmitted based on the buffer size; or in a case where the transmission direction is downlink, receiving a download configuration instruction from a download server; and
determining the data amount of the data to be transmitted based on the download configuration instruction.
[0041] The uplink scheduling buffer 320 temporarily stores uplink data received from the terminals, and outputs the stored uplink data according to a scheduling result of the backhaul scheduler 330. The uplink scheduling buffer 320 includes per-Quality of service Class Identifier (QCI) buffers 322. The per-QCI buffers 322 store uplink data distinctively in accordance with a Quality of Service (QoS) level of a service to which each uplink data belongs. The backhaul scheduler 330 schedules uplink transmission of the base station. Herein, the uplink data includes forwarding data provided from the handover agent 340. For example, the backhaul scheduler 330 can perform scheduling based on a WRR scheme. In this example, the backhaul scheduler 330 can assign the same weight to each of the per-QCI buffers 322 or can assign different weights thereto. Specific values of weights assigned to the uplink data and the forwarding data may vary depending on intentions of those who implement the present disclosure and a service policy of a system to which the present disclosure applies.
Note: Here the scheduling buffer stores data comprised of QCI buffers for the uplink direction, to which “determines” the forwarding data to provide for handover.
Bongaarts in view of Ren and Kang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts in view of Ren to include the concepts of determining a direction of transmission, acquiring a buffer size for stored data, and determining the data amount to be transmitted as taught by Kang so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bongaarts in view of Ren, held further in view of Jin et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0149421), herein referred to as “Jin”.
Regarding Claim 4,
Bongaarts does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Jin discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein acquiring the cell type of the serving cell comprises: receiving a measurement configuration message from a network device; parsing the measurement configuration message to obtain frequency band information of the serving cell; and obtaining the cell type of the serving cell based on the frequency band information.
[0173] Referring to FIG. 12, after a UE performs an RRC connection procedure with a base station (e.g., an eNB or a gNB) in operation 2g-05, it is assumed that subsequent operations are based on the BWP timer-based activation/deactivation operation described above in relation to FIG. 11. The gNB may transmit, to the UE, a measurement request to measure neighboring cells and the UE transmits, to the gNB, a measurement report including a result of measuring the corresponding neighboring cells (2g-10). The serving gNB decides whether to hand the UE over to a neighboring cell, based on the measurement report. Handover is a technology for switching a serving cell for providing services to a connected mode UE, to another gNB. When the serving cell decides to hand over, the serving cell transmits a handover (HO) request message to a new gNB for providing services to the UE, i.e., a target gNB (2g-15). The handover command message may include first active UL/DL BWP configuration information (e.g., center frequency, frequency band, and time (subframe or slot) information) of the target cell and further includes a cell ID, a UE identity (e.g., a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI)) in the target cell, radio resource configuration information of the target cell, etc. When the RRC message includes DL initial BWP configuration information in the target cell, the UE may also receive corresponding information by receiving MSI of the target cell. When DL synchronization with the target cell is achieved after the UE receives the handover command message, the UE stops all DL BWP timers running in the serving cell and switches to the first active BWPs configured by the target cell. That is, the UE stops all BWP timers when a MAC entity of the serving cell is reset.
Note: The gNB sends a measurement request (measurement configuration message) to the UE, to where a decision is made to handover to the cell, all origination from the original request from the gNB. As part of the overall handover process herein, the handover request contains various information (cell ID, frequency band, etc.), which is “parsed” so that a new gNB can provide services to the UE.
Bongaarts in view of Ren and Jin are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts in view of Ren to include the concepts of receiving configuration information and to obtain frequency band information from the configuration information in order to obtain the cell type as taught by Jin so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5-6, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bongaarts in view of Ren, held further in view of Venkataraman et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0383027), herein referred to as “Venkataraman”.
Regarding Claim 5,
Bongaarts does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Venkataraman discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein switching the serving cell to the non-5G cell comprises: stopping the serving cell;
searching for a plurality of adjacent cells of the serving cell, wherein the plurality of adjacent cells belong to a non-5G network; determining a target cell in the plurality of adjacent cells; and switching the current serving cell to the target cell.
[0133] In some implementations, crowded areas may experience (very) high cellular congestion as compared to less populated areas leading to high data stalls even when on a higher performing RAT such as LTE and/or 5G NR. However, if the UE encounters uplink/downlink (UL/DL) data stalls due to network congestion, network overload and/or any other network issue, there may be no technique for the UE to terminate the unsuccessful data session and attempt to camp to another LTE band/PCI unless the UE meets connected mode handover criteria. Such a scenario may lead to the UE attempting to initiate data sessions on the same camped LTE band and corresponding PCI (assuming UE does not have a mobility issue) leading to stalled data sessions and a poor user experience.
[0137] At 1302, a UE, such as UE 106, may be camped on an LTE frequency band with a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI). At 1306, an application processor and/or application layer of the UE may determine whether a data stall has been detected. At 1308, if no data stall has been detected, the UE may continue the data session on the LTE frequency band with the corresponding PCI. Alternatively, at 1310, if a data stall is detected (e.g., an application processor detects an unsuccessful data session/stalled data session, the application processor may indicate the unsuccessful data session/stalled data session to the baseband processor), a baseband processor of the UE may determine whether any inter-frequency and/or intra frequency neighbor cells are contained (included) in a connected mode measurement report. The UE may, if there are no neighbor cells included in the connected mode measurement report, continue the data session on the LTE frequency band with the corresponding PCI at 1308. Alternatively, at 1312, if there are neighbor cells included in the neighbor report, the baseband processor may determine whether any of the neighbor cells qualify for handover (e.g., whether any neighbor cell has a measured RSRP that exceeds a threshold for radio conditions to trigger handover). The UE may, if there are no neighbor cells that qualify for handover, continue the data session on the LTE frequency band with the corresponding PCI at 1308. Alternatively, if there are neighbor cells that qualify for handover, the UE may proceed with either of two options (e.g., Yes—1 and Yes—2). As one option, at 1314, the baseband processor may imitate an inter-frequency/intra-frequency neighbor measurement report and, at 1316, may initiate a timer for a handover procedure. Note that, the UE may also choose to terminate data session at 1322 in response to determining there are neighbor cells that qualify for handover at 1312.
Note: Data stalls/stoppage occur due to network congestion. Here, all adjoining cells are LTE, and the UE determines where to switch to other LTE cells to continue data communications.
Bongaarts in view of Ren and Venkataraman are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts in view of Ren to include the concepts of stopping a serving cell, searching adjacent non-5G cells for another target cell and switching to that target cell as taught by Venkataraman so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Regarding Claim 6,
Bongaarts does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Venkataraman discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein determining the target cell in the plurality of adjacent cells comprises: acquiring reference signal received powers (RSRPs) of the plurality of adjacent cells; and determining a cell having a largest RSRP in the RSRPs as the target cell.
[0137] At 1302, a UE, such as UE 106, may be camped on an LTE frequency band with a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI). At 1306, an application processor and/or application layer of the UE may determine whether a data stall has been detected. At 1308, if no data stall has been detected, the UE may continue the data session on the LTE frequency band with the corresponding PCI. Alternatively, at 1310, if a data stall is detected (e.g., an application processor detects an unsuccessful data session/stalled data session, the application processor may indicate the unsuccessful data session/stalled data session to the baseband processor), a baseband processor of the UE may determine whether any inter-frequency and/or intra frequency neighbor cells are contained (included) in a connected mode measurement report. The UE may, if there are no neighbor cells included in the connected mode measurement report, continue the data session on the LTE frequency band with the corresponding PCI at 1308. Alternatively, at 1312, if there are neighbor cells included in the neighbor report, the baseband processor may determine whether any of the neighbor cells qualify for handover (e.g., whether any neighbor cell has a measured RSRP that exceeds a threshold for radio conditions to trigger handover). The UE may, if there are no neighbor cells that qualify for handover, continue the data session on the LTE frequency band with the corresponding PCI at 1308. Alternatively, if there are neighbor cells that qualify for handover, the UE may proceed with either of two options (e.g., Yes—1 and Yes—2). As one option, at 1314, the baseband processor may imitate an inter-frequency/intra-frequency neighbor measurement report and, at 1316, may initiate a timer for a handover procedure. Note that, the UE may also choose to terminate data session at 1322 in response to determining there are neighbor cells that qualify for handover at 1312.
Note: If a neighbor/adjacent cell has a RSRP that exceeds a threshold, then handover is initiated to another (target) cell.
Bongaarts in view of Ren and Venkataraman are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bongaarts in view of Ren to include the concept of acquiring RSRP values in adjacent cells where the largest RSRP is indicative of the target cell as taught by Venkataraman so as to improve performance between different communication networks.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on September 5, 2025 is acknowledged.
The following claims have been amended: 1, 8, and 10.
Foreign priority is now perfected.
There are no new claims and no canceled claims.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant presents 2 arguments. First, Applicant contends that “the data amount is a size of a memory space occupied by the data” ( “Feature A”) is not disclosed. Id. at 7-8. With regard to this aspect, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Second, Applicant further argues that “in a case where the data amount is less than a data amount threshold . . . switching the service cell to a non-5G cell (“Feature B”)”, Id. at 8. Here, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411