DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nahas, US2012/0282469.
Regarding claims 1-2, Nahas teaches spherical particles of Aluminum Nitride, AlN, containing 0.5-5 wt. % of an additive which can be zirconium nitride (ZrN) which contains zirconium atoms. See [0090] of Nahas. The Calculation section below shows this teaches a range of the molar ratio of Zr:Al of about 0.002 to 0.02 or 2 x 10-3 to 2 x 10-2. This completely lies within the claimed range and thus meets the claim limitation. Nahas teaches the total impurities are preferably less than 0.1 wt. % ([0090]) and thus the Aluminum nitride in Nahas has a conversion rate near 100% and in the range of the claim.
Nahas teaches forming a preform containing the spherical particles is sintered. See [0249].
Regarding the circularity, Nahas teaches a sphereicity index of the produced powder is preferably as high as possible (greater than 0.9). See [0214]. Such spheres would be nearly circular and have circularity values near 1 which would at least overlap the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, Nahas teaches a composite containing resin. See [0090] and [0071].
Calculations for Nahas (US2012/0282469)
For minimum:
Assume: 100 g with 0.5 wt. % ZrN, 2.5% first binder, negligible impurities, and 97 wt. % AlN.
Mass of ZrN = 0.005 × 100 g = 0.5 g
Mass of AlN = 0.97 × 100 g = 97 g
Moles of ZrN =
M
o
l
e
s
Z
r
N
=
M
a
s
s
o
f
Z
r
N
(
M
o
l
a
r
m
a
s
s
o
f
Z
r
N
)
=
0.5
g
105.23
g
/
m
o
l
=
0.00475
m
o
l
Moles of AlN =
M
o
l
e
s
A
l
N
=
M
a
s
s
o
f
A
l
N
(
M
o
l
a
r
m
a
s
s
o
f
A
l
N
)
=
97
g
40.989
g
/
m
o
l
=
2.3664
m
o
l
Since the nitrogen in the compounds has a 1:1 molar ratio, the Minimum Molar ratio of Zr:Al = 0.00475 mol. Zr / 2.3664 mol. Al = 0.002.
For maximum
Assume 100 g with 5.0 wt. % ZrN, 4% first binder, and 91 wt.% AlN and complete above calculation with these assumptions. Result is about 0.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nahas does not teach the newly claimed limitation, “wherein the spherical AlN particles containing Zr atoms are sintered.” This is unpersuasive because Nahas teaches the particles are formed in to a preform and sintered. See [0249]. Thus, Nahas teaches a product wherein the spherical AlN particles containing Zr are sintered, meeting the claim limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANTHONY J. ZIMMER
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736