Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/25/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“environmental parameter detection unit” in claim 1.
In the instant case, “environmental parameter detection unit” of claim 1 is being interpreted as a temperature sensor and pressure sensor (specification, paragraph [0013]) and equivalents thereof. Note that claim 3 provides sufficient structure to perform the claimed function, therefore, the environmental parameter detection unit of claim 3 is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (JIANZHEN LIANG et al., "Role of deep-sea equipment in promoting the forefront of studies on life in extreme environments", iScience, November 19, 2021, pp. 1-21; cited in the IDS filed 02/14/2023) in view of Xiang et al. (CN 209702757 U; cited in the IDS filed 02/14/2023; see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches a device (Fig. 7) for separating a single colony in a deep-sea in-situ environment (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114), comprising a central control system (Fig. 7, monitoring and control system), a separation operation incubator (Fig. 1, bioreactor), an environmental parameter detection unit (thermometer and pressure gauge), a pressure control unit (gas pumping system), a temperature control unit (environmental temperature control system), a liquid injection unit (interpreted as the input components of the deep-sea samples and nutrient medium into the bioreactor), wherein
the separation operation incubator comprises a base (Fig. 7, the bottom portion of the bioreactor), and a cover fixedly connected to the base (Fig. 7 inherently shows a cover fixedly connected to the base of the bioreactor, since the bioreactor shows a line at the top end above the thermometer, which implies a cover is fixed to the base of the bioreactor); the cover is used as an observation area and a separation operation area (interpreted as an intended use of the cover, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 7 shows the cover comprising a camera, therefore the cover can be used as an observation area and separation operation area), and the base is used as a culture area (interpreted as an intended use of the base, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 7 and pages 10-11 teaches the base of the bioreactor for culturing); the observation area is used for observation of separation and culture processes (interpreted as an intended use of the observation area, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 7 shows the cover comprising a camera, wherein an observation area can be used at a later time for observation of separation or culture processes); a culture medium is arranged in the culture area (Fig. 7 and page 11, first paragraph teaches a bioreactor with culture solution, therefore culture medium is arranged in the culture area), and used for culturing streaked microbial colonies (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; the culture solution or medium can be used for culturing at a later time as claimed);
the environmental parameter detection unit (Fig. 7, thermometer and pressure gauge, which reads on the interpretation of environmental parameter detection unit under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)) is arranged in the separation operation incubator (Fig. 7 and page 10 teaches a thermometer and pressure gauge, wherein pressure and temperature is monitored and controlled; therefore, the thermometer and pressure gauge are arranged in the bioreactor in order to properly monitor and control the environment of the bioreactor), and used for detecting temperature and pressure changes in the separation operation incubator in real time and transmitting data to the central control system (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; page 10 teaches the environmental information monitoring and controlling components that adjust the pressure and temperature in the bioreactor, therefore the thermometer and pressure gauge are capable of being used in real time as claimed and inherently transmits data to the monitoring and control system for proper monitoring and control of the bioreactor environment);
the pressure control unit (Fig. 7, gas pumping system) and the temperature control unit (Fig. 7, environmental temperature control system) are respectively connected to the separation operation incubator (Fig. 7) to ensure that a pressure and a temperature in the separation operation incubator are consistent with a growth and culture environment of microorganisms (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; page 10 teaches the environmental information monitoring and controlling components that adjust the pressure and temperature in the bioreactor, therefore is capable of ensuring the claimed pressure and temperature);
the liquid injection unit (Fig. 7, interpreted as the input components of the deep-sea samples and nutrient medium into the bioreactor) is used for injecting an enriched microbial bacteria liquid into the separation operation incubator (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 7 and page 10 inherently teaches the structures of the deep-sea samples and nutrient medium is capable of injecting enriched microbial bacteria liquid into the bioreactor, since it is in fluid communication with the bioreactor and is required for inputting samples) to achieve dipping and streaking by the sampling probe device (interpreted as an intended use, MPEP 2114; the structures of the deep-sea samples and nutrient medium are structurally capable of inputting bacteria liquid to achieving dipping and streaking at a later time);
Liang fails to teach: a sampling unit; the separation operation incubator comprises: an inner slide rail is arranged in the separation operation area according to separation operation needs, and a sampling probe device capable of sliding on the inner slide rail is installed on the inner slide rail, and used for carrying out a streaking operation and a sampling operation on microorganisms; the sampling unit is used for carrying out pressure-holding sampling on microorganisms; a control end of the sampling probe device, a control end of the pressure control unit, a control end of the temperature control unit , a control end of the liquid injection unit, and a control end of the sampling unit are all electrically connected to the central control system; and a data output end of the observation area is electrically connected to the central control system.
Liang teaches the desire for equipment to include sampling for deep-sea biological and ecosystem research (page 4, section “development of deep-sea equipment”). Liang teaches sampling is an indispensable part of biological surveys in extreme deep-sea environments, and plays a crucial role in obtaining biological resources in extreme environments (pages 8-9, section “sampling equipment”; Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Liang to incorporate the teachings of sampling in deep-sea environments of Liang (page 4, section “development of deep-sea equipment”; pages 8-9, section “sampling equipment”; Fig. 6) to provide: a sampling unit; and the sampling unit is used for carrying out pressure-holding sampling on microorganisms. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving obtaining biological resources in extreme deep-sea environments.
Modified Liang fails to teach: the separation operation incubator comprises: an inner slide rail is arranged in the separation operation area according to separation operation needs, and a sampling probe device capable of sliding on the inner slide rail is installed on the inner slide rail, and used for carrying out a streaking operation and a sampling operation on microorganisms; a control end of the sampling probe device, a control end of the pressure control unit, a control end of the temperature control unit , a control end of the liquid injection unit, and a control end of the sampling unit are all electrically connected to the central control system; and a data output end of the observation area is electrically connected to the central control system.
Liang teaches the desire for equipment to include sampling for deep-sea biological and ecosystem research (page 4, section “development of deep-sea equipment”). Liang teaches sampling is an indispensable part of biological surveys in extreme deep-sea environments, and plays a crucial role in obtaining biological resources in extreme environments (pages 8-9, section “sampling equipment”; Fig. 6). Liang teaches considering that organisms living in extreme deep-sea environments are rare species with low density and large numbers, it is necessary to combine multiple samplers to assess local and regional biodiversity; wherein accurate and cost-effective devices should be developed to enrich the quantity of harvested samples (page 16, last paragraph).
Xiang teaches an automated device for selecting pure bacterial colonies by streak plating (abstract; page 1). Xiang teaches the device (Figs. 1-2) comprises an inner slide rail (501) is arranged in a separation operation area according to separation operation needs (Figs. 1-2), and a sampling probe device (Figs. 1-2, elements 503, 502, 504, 505, 506, 507) capable of sliding on the inner slide rail is installed on the inner slide rail (Figs. 1-2 and paragraph [0024]), and used for carrying out a streaking operation and a sampling operation on microorganisms (paragraphs [0007],[0021]). Xiang teaches the automated device allows for aseptic operation throughout the process which increases the success rate of the experiment, avoids errors caused by human error in the tedious operation process, and the mechanization efficiency is higher (paragraph [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Liang to incorporate Liang’s teachings of sampling for deep-sea environments to assess local and regional biodiversity (page 4, section “development of deep-sea equipment”; pages 8-9, section “sampling equipment”; Fig. 6; page 16, last paragraph) and Xiang’s teachings of an automated device for selecting pure bacterial colonies by streak plating that includes a sampling probe capable of sliding on a slide rail (Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0007],[0021],[0024]) to provide: the separation operation incubator comprises: an inner slide rail is arranged in the separation operation area according to separation operation needs, and a sampling probe device capable of sliding on the inner slide rail is installed on the inner slide rail, and used for carrying out a streaking operation and a sampling operation on microorganisms. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automation and selection of microorganisms for assessing desired colonies from deep-sea samples.
Modified Liang fails to teach: a control end of the sampling probe device, a control end of the pressure control unit, a control end of the temperature control unit , a control end of the liquid injection unit, and a control end of the sampling unit are all electrically connected to the central control system; and a data output end of the observation area is electrically connected to the central control system.
Liang teaches a shore station control center acts as the central brain of the network, which is in charge of data transfer and storage, system operation and management, and emergency response (page 7, first paragraph). Liang teaches the environmental information monitoring and controlling components that adjust the pressure, temperature, and nutrient concentrations in the bioreactor (page 10, section “Deep sea simulation system”), wherein the system includes control systems and a sensor within the observation area of the bioreactor (Fig. 7).
Xiang teaches a microcontroller is a control center of an entire operation system, which can be programmed for operation of a robotic arm (paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sampling probe device, the pressure control unit, the temperature control unit, the liquid injection unit, the sampling unit, and the observation area to incorporate Liang’s teachings of a control center for system operation and management and monitoring and control systems coupled to the system (page 7, first paragraph; page 10, section “Deep sea simulation system”; Fig. 7) and Xiang’s teachings of a microcontroller being a control center (paragraph [0022]) to provide: a control end of the sampling probe device, a control end of the pressure control unit, a control end of the temperature control unit , a control end of the liquid injection unit, and a control end of the sampling unit are all electrically connected to the central control system; and a data output end of the observation area is electrically connected to the central control system. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving electrical communication between the components of the device, therefore improving monitoring and control of the components via a central control system.
Regarding claim 3, Liang further teaches wherein the environmental parameter detection unit comprises a temperature sensor and a pressure sensor (Fig. 7, thermometer and pressure gauge); and the temperature sensor and the pressure sensor are both arranged in the separation operation incubator (Fig. 7 and page 10 teaches a thermometer and pressure gauge, wherein pressure and temperature is monitored and controlled; therefore, the thermometer and pressure gauge are arranged in the bioreactor in order to properly monitor and control the environment of the bioreactor), and used for detecting temperature and pressure changes in the separation operation incubator in real time and transmitting data to the central control system (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; page 10 teaches the environmental information monitoring and controlling components that adjust the pressure and temperature in the bioreactor, therefore the thermometer and pressure gauge are capable of being used in real time as claimed and inherently transmits data to the monitoring and control system for proper monitoring and control of the bioreactor environment).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Xiang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Feng et al. (CN 111551671 A; see machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, modified Liang fails to teach: wherein the pressure control unit comprises an air compressor, a booster pump, a gas storage tank, a pressure regulating valve, a gas inlet valve, and a gas supply pipeline; the air compressor, the booster pump, the gas storage tank, and the pressure regulating valve are connected in sequence through the gas supply pipeline, and finally connected to the separation operation incubator through the gas inlet valve; and a control end of the air compressor, a control end of the booster pump, a control end of the pressure regulating valve, and a control end of the gas inlet valve are all electrically connected to the central control system.
Liang teaches a shore station control center acts as the central brain of the network, which is in charge of data transfer and storage, system operation and management, and emergency response (page 7, first paragraph). Liang teaches the environmental information monitoring and controlling components that adjust the pressure, temperature, and nutrient concentrations in the bioreactor (page 10, section “Deep sea simulation system”), wherein the system includes control systems and a sensor within the observation area of the bioreactor (Fig. 7).
Feng teaches a natural gas hydrate decomposition methane leakage and cold spring ecological simulation system and method (paragraph [0002]). Feng teaches cutting-edge scientific research on cold sea ecosystems is of great significance for revealing unknown deep-sea extreme life processes (paragraph [0005]). Feng teaches wherein a pressure control unit comprises an air compressor (Fig. 1, element 1512), a booster pump (1513), a gas storage tank (high-pressure gas source 1511), a pressure regulating valve (Fig. 1, the valve at the top left of element 1514), a gas inlet valve (1515), and a gas supply pipeline (Fig. 1, the pipeline between elements 1512 to system 1); the air compressor, the booster pump, the gas storage tank, and the pressure regulating valve are connected in sequence through the gas supply pipeline (Fig. 1), and finally connected to a separation operation incubator (system 1) through the gas inlet valve (Fig. 1). Feng teaches the air compressor and booster pump allows for smooth injection of gas and easy to measure pressure (paragraph [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressure control unit of modified Liang to incorporate Feng’s teachings of a pressure control system (Fig. 1; paragraph [0093]) and Liang’s teachings of a control center for system operation and management and monitoring and control systems coupled to the system (page 7, first paragraph; page 10, section “Deep sea simulation system”; Fig. 7) to provide: wherein the pressure control unit comprises an air compressor, a booster pump, a gas storage tank, a pressure regulating valve, a gas inlet valve, and a gas supply pipeline; the air compressor, the booster pump, the gas storage tank, and the pressure regulating valve are connected in sequence through the gas supply pipeline, and finally connected to the separation operation incubator through the gas inlet valve; and a control end of the air compressor, a control end of the booster pump, a control end of the pressure regulating valve, and a control end of the gas inlet valve are all electrically connected to the central control system. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving smooth injection of gas and improving control of pressure of the device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Xiang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stine et al. (US 20220041973 A1; effectively filed 10/18/2018).
Regarding claim 5, modified Liang fails to teach: wherein a water jacket device wrapped on an outer wall of the separation operation incubator is used as the temperature control unit , and a control end of the water jacket device is electrically connected to the central control system.
Stine teaches an apparatus for monitoring a bioprocess parameter (abstract). Stine teaches a bioreactor vessel coupled with a fermenter for long-term bioprocess monitoring applications (paragraph [0269]), wherein a water cooled/heated metal jacket to stabilize the temperature of the vessel (paragraph [0269]). Stine teaches components are arranged to provide an enclosed package for underwater testing or underwater measurements (paragraphs [0130],[0216],[0283],[0285]). Stine teaches integrating various electronics and interface components within an enclosed package for underwater testing (paragraph [0216]) and an electronic module with accompanying electrical connections for communications among the components (paragraph [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the separation operation incubator of modified Liang to incorporate the teachings of a water cooled/heated metal jacket to stabilize the temperature of the vessel of a bioreactor of Stine (paragraph [0269]) and electrical connections for an electronic module of Stine (paragraphs [0216]-[0217]) to provide: wherein a water jacket device wrapped on an outer wall of the separation operation incubator is used as the temperature control unit, and a control end of the water jacket device is electrically connected to the central control system. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving stabilization of the separation operation incubator and allowing for proper electrical communication between the components.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Xiang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103540521 A; cited in the IDS filed 02/14/2023; see machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, modified Liang fails to teach: wherein the liquid injection unit comprises a microbial enrichment kettle, a liquid supply pipeline, and a microbial injection pump; the microbial enrichment kettle is used for enriching a microbial bacteria liquid, and an output end of the microbial enrichment kettle is connected to the separation operation incubator through the liquid supply pipeline; and the microbial injection pump is arranged on the liquid supply pipeline, and a control end of the microbial injection pump is electrically connected to the central control system.
Liang teaches the desire for equipment to include sampling for deep-sea biological and ecosystem research (page 4, section “development of deep-sea equipment”). Liang teaches sampling is an indispensable part of biological surveys in extreme deep-sea environments, and plays a crucial role in obtaining biological resources in extreme environments (pages 8-9, section “sampling equipment”; Fig. 6). Liang teaches considering that organisms living in extreme deep-sea environments are rare species with low density and large numbers, it is necessary to combine multiple samplers to assess local and regional biodiversity; wherein accurate and cost-effective devices should be developed to enrich the quantity of harvested samples (page 16, last paragraph).
Zhang teaches an environment simulation and microbial culture for deep cold simulation and microbial culture system (abstract). Zhang teaches the system includes a liquid injection unit comprises a microbial enrichment kettle (Fig. 2, high-pressure mixing kettle 23), a liquid supply pipeline (Fig. 2, the pipeline between elements 23 and 31), and a microbial injection pump (Fig. 2, liquid metering pump 42); the microbial enrichment kettle is used for enriching a microbial bacteria liquid (interpreted as an intended use; Fig. 2 and paragraph [0028] teaches a sampling port 28 coupled to the kettle 23, therefore the microbial enrichment kettle is capable of being used for enriching a microbial bacteria liquid), and an output end of the microbial enrichment kettle (Fig. 2, the bottom end of element 23) is connected to the separation operation incubator through the liquid supply pipeline (Fig. 2); and the microbial injection pump is arranged on the liquid supply pipeline (Fig. 2). Zhang teaches special device requirements are necessary for culturing microorganisms from deep sea water (paragraph [0002]). Zhang teaches the device system simulates deep sea cold environment via gas supply, gas-liquid mixing, and temperature and pressure control (paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid injection unit of modified Liang to incorporate the teachings of deep-sea biological sampling of Liang (page 4, section “development of deep-sea equipment”; pages 8-9, section “sampling equipment”; Fig. 6) and the teachings of a liquid injection unit for deep cold simulation and microbial culture of Zhang (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0002],[0003],[0028]) to provide: wherein the liquid injection unit comprises a microbial enrichment kettle, a liquid supply pipeline, and a microbial injection pump; the microbial enrichment kettle is used for enriching a microbial bacteria liquid, and an output end of the microbial enrichment kettle is connected to the separation operation incubator through the liquid supply pipeline; and the microbial injection pump is arranged on the liquid supply pipeline, and a control end of the microbial injection pump is electrically connected to the central control system. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving simulation and control of deep sea cold environment for culturing microorganisms in deal-sea environments.
Regarding claim 7, modified Liang fails to teach: wherein the liquid injection unit further comprises a groove formed in an inner bottom surface of the cover of the separation operation incubator; and a liquid outlet of the liquid supply pipeline in the separation operation incubator is arranged in the groove.
Zhang teaches an environment simulation and microbial culture for deep cold simulation and microbial culture system (abstract). Zhang teaches the system includes a liquid injection unit comprises a microbial enrichment kettle (Fig. 2, high-pressure mixing kettle 23), a liquid supply pipeline (Fig. 2, the pipeline between elements 23 and 31), and a microbial injection pump (Fig. 2, liquid metering pump 42); the microbial enrichment kettle is used for enriching a microbial bacteria liquid (interpreted as an intended use; Fig. 2 and paragraph [0028] teaches a sampling port 28 coupled to the kettle 23, therefore the microbial enrichment kettle is capable of being used for enriching a microbial bacteria liquid), and an output end of the microbial enrichment kettle (Fig. 2, the bottom end of element 23) is connected to the separation operation incubator through the liquid supply pipeline (Fig. 2); and the microbial injection pump is arranged on the liquid supply pipeline (Fig. 2). Zhang teaches special device requirements are necessary for culturing microorganisms from deep sea water (paragraph [0002]). Zhang teaches the device system simulates deep sea cold environment via gas supply, gas-liquid mixing, and temperature and pressure control (paragraph [0003]). Zhang teaches various through-holes, inlets, or outlets for fluid communication between various kettles and components (Fig. 2), such as the cover of kettle 31 having a through-hole, i.e. a groove formed in an inner bottom surface of the cover, for connecting to the kettle 23 via a pipeline for delivering fluid to kettle 31.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid injection unit of modified Liang to incorporate the teachings of through-holes, inlets, or outlets for fluid communication between various kettles and components of Zhang (Fig. 2) to provide: wherein the liquid injection unit further comprises a groove formed in an inner bottom surface of the cover of the separation operation incubator; and a liquid outlet of the liquid supply pipeline in the separation operation incubator is arranged in the groove. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully coupling the liquid supply pipeline to the cover of the separation operation unit for proper supply of liquid.
Regarding claim 8, modified Liang fails to teach: wherein the liquid injection unit further comprises a discharge valve arranged on the liquid supply pipeline, and a control end of the discharge valve is electrically connected to the central control system.
Zhang teaches various valves (Fig. 2, elements 12, 16, 25, 35). Zhang teaches valves comprise an electromagnetic valve and a control unit for controlling the switch of the electromagnetic valve (paragraph [0010]). It appears that Zhang teaches a valve arranged on the liquid supply pipeline between kettles 23 and 31 (see valve structure at the top left of the kettle 31 coupled to the pipeline).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid injection unit of modified Liang to incorporate the teachings of valves and electromagnetic valves of Zhang (Fig. 2; paragraph [0010]) to provide: wherein the liquid injection unit further comprises a discharge valve arranged on the liquid supply pipeline, and a control end of the discharge valve is electrically connected to the central control system. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control of liquid injection from the liquid supply pipeline.
Regarding claim 9, modified Liang fails to teach: wherein the sampling unit comprises a reaction kettle, a sampling pipeline, and a sampling valve; the reaction kettle is connected to the separation operation incubator through the sampling pipeline; and the sampling valve is arranged on the sampling pipeline, and a control end of the sampling valve is electrically connected to the central control system.
Liang teaches the desire for equipment to include sampling for deep-sea biological and ecosystem research (page 4, section “development of deep-sea equipment”). Liang teaches sampling is an indispensable part of biological surveys in extreme deep-sea environments, and plays a crucial role in obtaining biological resources in extreme environments (pages 8-9, section “sampling equipment”; Fig. 6). Liang teaches considering that organisms living in extreme deep-sea environments are rare species with low density and large numbers, it is necessary to combine multiple samplers to assess local and regional biodiversity; wherein accurate and cost-effective devices should be developed to enrich the quantity of harvested samples (page 16, last paragraph).
Zhang teaches an environment simulation and microbial culture for deep cold simulation and microbial culture system (abstract). Zhang teaches the system includes a sampling unit comprises a reaction kettle (Fig. 2, high-pressure mixing kettle 23), a sampling pipeline (Fig. 2, the pipeline between elements 23 and 31), and sampling ports (28, 37, 38); the reaction kettle (23) is connected to a separation operation incubator (kettle 31) through the sampling pipeline (Fig. 2). Zhang teaches various valves (Fig. 2, elements 12, 16, 25, 35). Zhang teaches valves comprise an electromagnetic valve and a control unit for controlling the switch of the electromagnetic valve (paragraph [0010]). It appears that Zhang teaches a valve arranged on the liquid supply pipeline between kettles 23 and 31 (see valve structure at the top left of the kettle 31 coupled to the pipeline). Zhang teaches special device requirements are necessary for culturing microorganisms from deep sea water (paragraph [0002]). Zhang teaches the device system simulates deep sea cold environment via gas supply, gas-liquid mixing, and temperature and pressure control (paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid injection unit of modified Liang to incorporate the teachings of deep-sea biological sampling of Liang (page 4, section “development of deep-sea equipment”; pages 8-9, section “sampling equipment”; Fig. 6) and the teachings of a sampling unit for deep cold simulation and microbial culture of Zhang (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0002],[0003],[0028]) and the teachings of valves and electromagnetic valves of Zhang (Fig. 2; paragraph [0010]) to provide: wherein the sampling unit comprises a reaction kettle, a sampling pipeline, and a sampling valve; the reaction kettle is connected to the separation operation incubator through the sampling pipeline; and the sampling valve is arranged on the sampling pipeline, and a control end of the sampling valve is electrically connected to the central control system. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving simulation and control of deep sea cold environment for culturing microorganisms in deal-sea environments and further improving control of input of a sample into the separation operation incubator from the sampling pipeline.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the closest prior art of Liang et al. (JIANZHEN LIANG et al., "Role of deep-sea equipment in promoting the forefront of studies on life in extreme environments", iScience, November 19, 2021, pp. 1-21; cited in the IDS filed 02/14/2023) fails to teach: wherein the observation area comprises an outer slide rail arranged on an outer side surface of the cover, a connection bracket slidably connected to the outer slide rail, an observation device fixed to an end of the connection bracket, and a visible window arranged on a surface of the cover; and a data output end of the observation device is electrically connected to the central control system.
None of the prior art teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combination, all of the limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 2 is deemed allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al. (CN 106935120 A) teaches a methane leakage condition bio-geochemical function simulating experiment system (abstract) comprising an air compressor (Fig. 1, air compressor 2), a booster pump (gas booster pump 3), a gas storage tank (storage container 4), a pressure regulating valve (control valve F2), a gas inlet valve (control valve V2), and a gas supply pipeline (Fig. 1, pipeline between elements V2 and 14).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758