DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20050071388 A; herein English machine translation used for all citations) (previously cited) in view of Tokomitsu et al. (JP 2001254701 A; herein English machine translation used for all citations (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a flexible bag for an oil expansion tank (see conservator) of a transformer, comprising a reinforcement layer and a rubber sheet onto the front and back surface of the reinforcement layer, and thus comprises a first elastomer layer (rubber sheet), a second elastomer layer (rubber sheet), and a reinforcement layer (fiber reinforcing material) arranged between the first elastomer layer and the second elastomer layer (Lee, Pages 1-2). Lee teaches the reinforcement layer comprises a fabric (Lee, Pages 1-2). Lee teaches the first and second elastomer layers each comprise a vulcanized nitrile butadiene rubber (Lee, Pages 2-5).
Lee is silent regarding the at least one elastomer in the first elastomer layer and the second elastomer layer being vulcanized hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber.
Tokomitsu teaches a flexible bag (see bladder) for containing oil wherein the flexible bag comprises a polyamide (nylon) fabric surrounded by two rubber layers wherein the rubber layers comprise vulcanized hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber (Tokomitsu, Par. 0001, 0005-0008).
Lee and Tokomitsu are analogous art as they both teach flexible bags for containing oil wherein the flexible bag comprises a polyamide fabric surrounded by two vulcanized nitrile butadiene rubber layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used vulcanized hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber as the elastomer of the first and second elastomer layers of Lee. This would allow for an oil-resistant rubber (Tokomitsu, Par. 0008).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lee teaches a flexible bag that is identical or substantially identical to the claimed invention. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01. Modified Lee teaches the flexible bag is used for an oil expansion tank (see conservator) of a transformer (Lee, Pages 1-2), which is the same use as the instant flexible bag per the instant claim 1. Modified Lee further teaches the bag comprises a layer arrangement of first elastomer layer/reinforcement layer/rubber layer as stated above for claim 1 (Lee, Pages 1-2), which is the same arrangement as the instant invention per the instant claims 1 and 21. Modified Lee further teaches the elastomer of the first and second elastomer layers is a vulcanized hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber (Lee, Pages 2-5; Tokomitsu, Par. 0005-0008), which is the same as the instant invention per the instant claim 1. Modified Lee teaches the reinforcement layer comprises polyamide 6.6 threads (see nylon 6.6) (Lee, Pages 3-5 and 9), which is the same as the instant invention per the instant claims 5-6. Lee further teaches that the flexible bag is capable of being used at high temperatures (Lee, Pages 2, 4, and 12). Modified Lee thus teaches a flexible bag that is identical or substantially identical to the claimed invention. Therefore, absent objective evidence to the contrary, the flexible bag of Lee would have inherently be capable, and thus configured, to be operated at a temperature of 110°C or more, see MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 3, modified Lee teaches the flexible bag is configured to be filled with oil (Lee, Pages 1-2).
Regarding claims 5-6, modified Lee teaches the fabric comprises at polyamide 606 threads (see nylon 6.6) (Lee, Pages 3-5 and 9).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lee teaches the at least one elastomer of the first elastomer layer and the second elastomer layer are the same (Lee, Page 3-5).
Regarding claim 21, modified Lee teaches the reinforcement layer comprises the first and second elastomer layers on a front and back surface respectively and therefore teaches a sandwich structure with the reinforcement layer positioned between the first and second elastomer layers (Lee, Pages 1-2).
Claims 8-9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Tokomitsu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Bennett (US 20170144820 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claims 8-9, Lee teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1.
Lee is silent regarding an externally arranged barrier layer as required by claim 8, wherein the barrier layer comprises at least one selected from a heterocyclic polymer, an organic polymer, an organosilicon compound or an organic fluorine compound as required by claim 9.
Bennett teaches a flexible bag for containing oil in a transformer comprising an interior fabric layer (middle tear-resistant bag) comprising a polyamide and exterior barrier layers (inner and outer puncture-resistant liquid-barrier fabric bags), wherein the barrier layers comprise an organic polymer (polypropylene) (Bennett, Abstract, Par. 0002, 0008, 0013, 0034, and 0048).
Lee and Bennett are analogous art as they both teach flexible bags for containing oil of a transformer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the exterior barrier layers of Bennett as outermost layers of Lee. This would allow for puncture resistance and liquid barrier properties (Bennett, Abstract, Par. 0034, and 0048).
Regarding claim 22, modified Lee teaches the reinforcement layer comprises the first and second elastomer layers on a front and back surface respectively and therefore teaches that the reinforcement layer is arranged between the first elastomer layer and the second elastomer layer (Lee, Pages 1-2). Modified Lee further teaches the flexible bag further comprises two external barrier layers as stated above for claims 8-9 (Bennett, Abstract, Par. 0002, 0008, 0013, 0034, and 0048). Modified Lee therefore teaches that the first and second elastomer layers and the reinforcement layer are arranged between the two barrier layers.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giambartolomei (EP 1640151 A1) in view of Lee.
Regarding claim 23, Giambartolomei teaches a flexible bag for containing oil (see fuel) comprising a first elastomer layer (first layer), a second elastomer layer (third layer), and a reinforcement layer (second fabric layer) comprising fabric, the reinforcement layer being arranged between the first elastomer layer and the second elastomer layer (Giambartolomei, Abstract, Par. 0001, 0009, 0016-0018). Giambartolomei teaches the first and second elastomer layers are cured and comprise epichlorohydrin rubber and thus comprise vulcanized epichlorohydrin rubber (Giambartolomei, Par. 0005, 0018, and 0020).
Giambartolomei is silent regarding the flexible bag for containing oil being for an oil expansion tank of a transformer.
Lee teaches a flexible bag for an oil expansion tank (see conservator) of a transformer, comprising a reinforcement layer and a rubber sheet onto the front and back surface of the reinforcement layer, and thus comprises a first elastomer layer (rubber sheet), a second elastomer layer (rubber sheet), and a reinforcement layer (fiber reinforcing material) arranged between the first elastomer layer and the second elastomer layer (Lee, Pages 1-2). Lee teaches the reinforcement layer comprises a fabric (Lee, Pages 1-2).
Giambartolomei and Lee are analogous art as they both teach flexible bags for containing oil comprising a reinforcing layer of fabric between two rubber layers. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the flexible bag of Giambartolomei as a bag for an oil expansion tank of a transformer. This would allow for a flexible, fire-proof, and fuel resistant structure for an oil expansion tank of a transformer (Giambartolomei, Abstract and Par. 0001; Lee pages 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed 18 June 2026 and entered 17 July 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant first argues that Tokomitsu is directed to a different device with different desired properties than Lee and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify Lee with Tokomitsu without improper hindsight. This is not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Tokomitsu and Lee are both analogous art as they both teach flexible bags for containing oil wherein the flexible bag comprises a polyamide fabric surrounded by two vulcanized nitrile butadiene rubber layers. Nothing in Tokomitsu or Lee indicate that using vulcanized hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber instead of vulcanized nitrile butadiene rubber would render Lee unsatisfactory for its intended use.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Tokomitsu provides motivation for the combination such as allowing for an oil-resistant rubber (Tokomitsu, Par. 0008).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). As stated above, Lee in view of Tokomitsu render obvious the claimed vulcanized hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber motivated by having an oil-resistant rubber. Therefore, no knowledge gleaned only from Applicant's disclosure is utilized in the grounds of rejection.
In view of the above, Lee in view of Tokomitsu render obvious the claimed vulcanized hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber and Applicant's argument is unpersuasive.
Secondly, Applicant argues that Lee does not teach the features of newly added claim 23 such as the vulcanized epichlorohydrin rubber. This is found moot.
Newly cited Giambartolomei is relied upon as a primary reference to teach newly added claim 23, including the vulcanized epichlorohydrin rubber of the first and second elastomer layers.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782