DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 are pending. Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6 April 2026.
Claim 7 is examined upon its merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. This application is the national stage entry of PCT/CN2021/112405 filed on 13 August 2021, and claiming the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) of Chinese application 202010816390.5 filed 14 August 2020. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim 7 has an effective US filing data of 4 August 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded that there is no IDS filed in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim contains abbreviated terms that are not spelled out upon their first appearance within the claims (ex. SM(d18:1/24:1(15Z)) etc.). As evidenced by the PubChem search results attached, each of the compounds listed in the claims has multiple synonyms, it would be more appropriate to claim these compounds by molecular formula - SM(d18:1/24:1(15Z)) has the molecular formula of C47H93N2O6P. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PGPub US 20120202188, published on 8 September 2012, and effectively filed on 1 October 2009 (hereafter “the ‘188 publication”) taken with the Lupo and Kahler article published on the LCGC International website, 1 July 2017.
It should be noted that the “TG(16:0/18:0/18:4(6Z,9Z,12Z,15Z))” has the molecular formula of C55H98O6. The claimed PC(P- 16:0/22:4(7Z,10Z,13Z,16Z)) has the molecular formula C46H84NO7P, and the claimed PC(P- 18:0/18:4(6Z,9Z,12Z,15Z)) has the molecular formula of C44H80NO8P (See attached PubChem search reports).
Regarding claim 7, the ‘188 publication discloses methods comprising analyzing samples by LC/MS and MS/MS and discloses the elements of the instantly claimed kit:
A standard SM(d18:1/24:1(15Z)). See FIG. 39 of the ‘188 publication illustrates synthetic SM(d18:1/24:1(15Z)) (from Avanti Polar Lipids, cat. 860593).
The prior art further teaches the elements of PC(P- 16:0/22:4(7Z,10Z,13Z,16Z)) having the molecular formula C46H84NO7P; and PC(P- l 8:0/18:4(6Z,9Z,12Z.15Z)), [C44H80NO8P] (See Table 4).
The prior art further teaches solutions comprising 1% ammonium hydroxide to which 0.33% formic acid was added for sample extraction. It is well-understood in Chemistry that mixing ammonium hydroxide (NH4OH) and formic acid (HCOOH) results in a neutralization reaction that produces ammonium formate (NH4HCOO) or (HCOONH4) and water (H2O). This teaches the “ammonium formate as solute” of the instant claim.
The prior art further teaches the combination of isopropanol:methanol:formic acid (Section 4.1).
For Aqueous extracts the prior art teaches (see Section 4.2) there are two additional solvents. Solvent A: H 2O-MeOH-formic acid (94.9:5:0.1, v/v/v) and solvent B: MeOH-formic acid (99.9:0.1, v/v).
The Lupo and Kahler prior art article teaches different buffers may be used in LC/MS methods. In particular, while the ‘188 Publication uses isopropanol in combination with methanol, the Lupo and Kahler prior art teaches, “In general, ammonium salts are the most soluble and sodium salts are the least, while methanol tends to exhibit greater solubility than acetonitrile does” (text paragraph following Figure 2). This renders obvious the isopropyl alcohol and acetonitrile as solvent of the instant claims, since acetonitrile of the claims can be used interchangeably for the methanol (MeOH) of the ‘188 prior art.
Furthermore, while the prior art solutions may differ from the instant claims in terms of concentrations and volume ratios, the Courts have stated that, generally, such differences amount to mere optimization and will not support patentability unless there is evidence indicating the claimed feature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421.
Thus, while elements of the solvent solutions are disclosed in the prior art of record, the concentrations may differ from those of the instant claims. A person having ordinary skill in the LC/MS technological field, would have been able to alter the concentrations through routine experimentation to arrive at the “10 mM ammonium formate”, “0.1% formic acid”, “volume ratio of 60:40” or “volume ratio of 90:10” of the instant claims.
Lastly, while the ‘188 prior art teaches the elements of the kit are used for detecting diseases and physiological conditions the particular focus is pancreatic cancer, the court in Merck KGaA v. Integra LifeSciences Ltd, 50 USPQ2d 1846 (DC SCalif, 1999) held that a reference comprising the same steps/elements serves as prior art, despite the recitation of a different intended use in the preamble or the later discover of a particular property of the material used.
For all these reasons, the invention of Claim 7 is obvious in view of what was disclosed in the art prior to filing and what could have been achieved through routine experimentation.
Double Patenting
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18021229 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the elements of the claim recite SM(d17:1/24:1) as a standard and liquids A and B are identical to those of the instant claims. While the instant claims require at least one additional element selected from TG(16:0/18:0/18:4(6Z,9Z,12Z,15Z)); PC(P- 16:0/22:4(7Z,10Z,13Z,16Z)); or, PC(P- 18:0/18:4(6Z,9Z,12Z,15Z)), claim 5 of the reference application has open-ended language (“comprising”) and does not specifically exclude additional elements. Further, while the intended use of the reference claim is “diagnosing acting of nervonic acid”, however, with respect to a product invention, MPEP 2111.02 states: “Any terminology in the preamble that limits the structure of the claimed invention must be treated as a claim limitation.” This recitation imposes no structure upon the scope of the kit invention and therefore is not limiting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/STACEY N MACFARLANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1675