DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This Application filed on 02/14/2023, is a National Stage Entry of International Patent Application No. PCT/EP2021/073303, filed 08/23/2021, which claims the priority of German patent application DE10 2020 121 965.2 filed on 08/21/2020 and US provisional application 63/118,842 filed on 11/27/2020.
However, the effective filing date of the claims filed on 11/07/2023 (claims 1-5, 7, 11-13, and 15-17) is 08/23/2021. The effective filing date of a claimed invention is determined on a claim-by-claim basis. MPEP § 2152.01. Instant claims 1-5, 7, 11-13, and 15-17 are not entitled to the priority date of DE102020121965.2 filed on 08/21/2020 or the U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/118,842 filed on 11/27/2020, because these claims are not fully supported therein pursuant to § 112. DE 102020121965.2 and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/118,842 do not, pursuant to § 112, support the claimed invention because instant claims define R1 as:
Whereas R1 in DE 102020121965.2 and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/118,842 is defined as:
Instant claims 1-3 are denied priority date of priority documents, DE 102020121965.2 and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/118,842 because these claims recite a definition of R1 that is not supported by these priority documents.
Instant claim 15 is denied priority date of priority documents, DE 102020121965.2 and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/118,842 because claim 15 recite compounds that are not supported by the priority documents, e.g., 8th compound on page 5, and last three compounds of claim 15.
Instant claims 16 and 17 are denied priority date of priority documents, DE 102020121965.2 and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/118,842 because claim 16 recites pharmaceutically acceptable salts of a compound of claim 1 that are not supported by the priority documents, and the claim 17 composition is not supported by the priority documents.
Thus, DE 102020121965.2 and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/118,842 do not fully support claims 1-5, 7, 11-13, and 15-17 pursuant to § 112. MPEP § 211.05(A). As such, the priority date of instant claims 1-5, 7, 11-13, and 15-17 is 08/23/2021, the date of PCT/EP2021/073303.
Claims 6 and 8 are supported by the aforementioned priority documents and, as a result, get the priority date of DE 102020121965.2 and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/118,842, and the earliest possible effective filing date of these claims is 08/21/2020.
Applicant does not provide an English translation of the foreign priority document DE 102020121965.2. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 12/20/2023, 10/21/2024, 12/09/2024, 07/21/2025 and 08/24/2026, complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits, except where noted.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 08/24/2026 have been received and have been fully considered. Claims 1, 3, and 15 were amended, claims 4-5, 7, and 9-10 were canceled, claim 26 was added, and claims 11-14 and 18-21 were previously canceled.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 15-17, and 22-26 are pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s response filed on 11/07/2025 to Restriction/Election Requirement filed on 09/11/2025, is acknowledged. Applicant elected without traverse Group I drawn to a compound of formula (I) and a pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one compound of formula (I). Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 15-17 and 26 read on the elected Group. Claims 22-25 of Group II and III are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Pursuant to the Election of Species Requirement, Applicant respectively elected without traverse, the compound depicted below for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
Currently, claims 1-2, 6 and 15-17 read on the elected species. Applicant’s elected species was searched and determined to be free of the art of record. Pursuant to MPEP § 803.02, the search and examination was extended to the non-elected species discussed below, which new search species fall within the scope of instant claims 1-17 (i.e., claims to proper Markush groupings that include both the new search species as well as the originally elected species. MPEP § 803.02(III)(C)(2)). The new search species underlie rejections of these claims pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 103. As such, the election of species requirement is maintained as provisional, and claims 22-25 are provisionally withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). See, MPEP § 803.02.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 15-17, and 26 are under consideration, and claims 22-25 are withdrawn from further consideration
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Rejection to claims 1-2 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by A. Chadeayne et al. US PG PUB 2023/0406824 A1, 12/21/2023 (Effective Filing Date 10/13/2020)), is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/24/2026 that amended claim 1 by removing hydrogen from the R2 and R3 definition. Thus, Applicant’s argument against Chadeayne is moot.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection to claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. Slassi et al. (WO 2021/155470 A1, publication date 08/12/2021 (Effective filing Date 02/04/2020), is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/24/2026 that amended the R1 definition by removing R1 is -CH(-NH2)-CH3. Thus, Applicant’s argument against Slassi is moot.
Rejections Modified in View of the Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 15-17, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. Chadeayne et al. (WO 2022/125616A1, publication date 06/16/2022 (Effective filing Date 09/12/2020) “Chadeayne” cited in the PTO-892).
Prior Art Effect of Chadeayne
The earliest possible effective filing date of the subject claims is that of priority document No. PCT/EP2021/073303, filed 08/23/2021 (see Priority section above) (elected species has a priority date of 08/21/2020). Chadeayne is effective prior art under 35 USC § 102(a)(2) respecting the subject matter cited in this rejection as of the filing date of Chadeayne priority document US Provisional Application No. 63/123,203 (12/09/2020) because: (1) Chadeayne is U.S. patent application publication; (2) names another inventor; and (3) the subject matter of Chadeayne relied upon in this rejection is disclosed in Chadeayne’s priority document US Provisional Application No. 63/123,203 (12/09/2020), [specification, page 15 [043]]. See MPEP § 2154.01; 35 USC § 102(d). Thus, the effective filing date of the subject matter relied upon in this rejection is 12/09/2020, which is before the claims’ earliest possible effective filing date of claims 1-3 and 15-17 (08/23/2021). See MPEP § 2154.01; 35 USC § 102(d).
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 102 as follows (see the Priority section above).
Chadeayne teaches compounds of Formula (I) [004]:
Chadeayne teaches species of Formula (I) below, [Page 32, [127]]:
Chadeayne’s above compound reads on instant formula (I), wherein:
R1 is -O-C1 alkyl (-O-CH3), (note that this R1 definition has no support in foreign priority document, DE102020121965.2, or U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/118,842); R4 is H; and differs from instant claim 1, formula (I), i.e., compound of claim 15 in that Chadeayne’s R2 and R3 are -CH2CH2CH3 and instant R2 and R3 are methyl or ethyl as depicted in the below table for facile comparison:
Chadeayne’s compound
Claimed compound of formula (I)
However, Chadeayne teaches that R1 and R2 in Chadeayne’s Formula (I) are C1-C6 alkyl [004]. Chadeayne also teaches in claim 18: “wherein each of R1 and R2 are independently selected from methyl or ethyl” The MPEP 2144.09 stated that “a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963). Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.). Prior art structures do not have to be true homologs or isomers to render structurally similar compounds prima facie obvious. In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 203 USPQ 245 (CCPA 1979). The presumption of obviousness based on a reference disclosing structurally similar compounds may be overcome where there is evidence showing there is no reasonable expectation of similar properties in structurally similar compounds. In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (appellant produced sufficient evidence to establish a substantial degree of unpredictability in the pertinent art area and thereby rebutted the presumption that structurally similar compounds have similar properties); In re Schechter, 205 F.2d 185, 98 USPQ 144 (CCPA 1953). A prima facie case of obviousness based on structural similarity is rebuttable by proof that the claimed compounds possess unexpectedly advantageous or superior properties. In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).
In the instant case, and in view of MPEP 2144.09, the claimed compound and prior art compound are homologs, because Chadeayne’s compound differs from the instant claimed compound by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups, as highlighted above. Please note that the MPEP stated that “Prior art structures do not have to be true homologs or isomers to render structurally similar compounds prima facie obvious; the claimed compound and prior art compound are obvious because the claimed compound and the prior art compound have very close structural similarity; the claimed compound and prior arts compounds share very similar properties as the claimed compounds and prior art compounds have similar utilities, both are psilocin derivatives act on serotonin receptor; Chadeayne teaches that the highlighted region can be C2 alkyl [004], claim 18 of Chadeayne teaches that R1 and R2 are methyl or ethyl and Applicant does not provide evidence of unexpectedly advantageous or superior properties of the claimed compounds over the prior art compounds. Therefore, the disclosure of Chadeayne in light of the guidance from the MPEP renders claims 1-3, 6 and 8 obvious.
Claim 15 1st compound differs from Chadeayne’s above compound in the R2 and R3 as discussed above, and in that R1 (R3 in Chadeayne Formula I) is -OCH3 whereas R1 of claim 15 1st compound is -OCH2CH3. However, Chadeayne teaches that R3 is C1-C6 and teaches explicitly in claim 10 that R3 is -OCH2CH3. Thus, claim 15 is met for the same rationale as discussed above.
Regarding claim 16, Chadeayne teaches that the pharmaceutically acceptable salt is selected from fumarate, maleate, malonate, succinate, tartarate, or oxalate, [049].
Regarding claims 17 and 26, Chadeayne teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound above and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, [006].
Double Patenting
Double Patenting over copending Application No. 18/813,131
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 15-17, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24, and 29 of copending Application No. 18/813,131 (US PG-PUB 2025/0066394 A1, cited in the PTO-892 dated 12/19/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claim 1 recites a compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein dependent claims 2-3, 6, 8 and 15 define R1, R2, R3 and R4, wherein claim 16 recites that the salt is fumarate salt, maleate salt, oxalate salt, etc., and claim 17 and 26 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one compound of claim 1 and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients:
Copending Application No. 18/813,131 recites a compound of Formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein dependent claims 2-24 define R1, R2, R3 and R4, wherein claim 29 recites that method of treating a disease by administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising a species of claim 1 including the below psilocin derivative, [claim 29, page. 17, 5th compound]:
Copending Application No. 18/813,131 above compound reads on instant claims 1, wherein R2 and R3 are methyl; R4 is H and differs from instant claim 1 formula (I) in that R1 is -OCH2CH2-phenyl, whereas instant claim R1 is -OCH2-phenyl.
However, copending Application No. 18/813,131 above compound renders the instant claims obvious in view of MPEP 2144.09 as discussed on pages 9-10 above and because copending Application No. 18/813,131 recites compound with R1 is -OCH2-dichlorophenyl, claim 29, page 19, 2nd comp. Therefore, the copending Application No. 18/813,131 renders claims 1-3 and 6 obvious. Claim 15 is obvious because the compound with -OCH2-phenyl recited in instant claim 15 as 9th compound on page 5.
Claim 8 differs from copending Application No. 18/813,131 above compounds in that claim 8 required that R3 is ethyl, whereas R3 of copending Application No. 18/813,131 above compounds is methyl. However, in view of the MPEP 2144.09 discussion above on page 10 and copending Application No. 18/813,131 recites in claim 19 that R2 and R3 of Formula (I) are C1-6 alkyl, claim 8 is obvious over copending Application No. 18/813,131.
Claim 16 is met because copending Application No. 18/813,131 recites in claim 1 a compound of formula (I) or pharmaceutically acceptable salt, and instant specification defines pharmaceutically acceptable salt as slat of oxalic acid, fumaric acid, maleic acid. [0036].
Claim 17 and 26 are met because copending Application No. 18/813,131 recites in claim 29, a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting over copending Application No. 18/420,562
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 15-17, and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 3 of copending Application No. 18/420,562 (US PG PUB 2024/0269113 A1, cited in the PTO-892 dated 12/19/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claim 1 recites a compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein dependent claims 2-3, 6, 8 and 15 define R1, R2, R3 and R4, wherein claim 16 recites that the salt is fumarate salt, maleate salt, oxalate salt, etc., and claim 17 and 26 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one compound of claim 1 and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients:
copending Application No. 18/420,562 recites in claim 1 the compound below, [page 2, 8th comp.]:
The above compound of copending Application No. 18/420,562 anticipates instant claims 1-2 and 6, wherein R1 is O-alkyl; R2 and R3 are methyl; R4 is H. Instant specification define alkyl as: the term "alkyl" refers to a monovalent saturated acyclic (i.e., non-cyclic) hydrocarbon group (i.e., a group consisting of carbon atoms and hydrogen atoms) which may be linear or branched. [Page, 3, 9-10].
Copending Application No. 18/420,562 recites in claim 1 the below compound, [[page 2, 4th comp.]:
The above compound from copending Application No. 18/420,562 reads on instant claims 1, wherein R2 and R3 are methyl; R4 is H and differs from instant claim 1 formula (I) in that R1 of copending Application No. 18/420,562 is -OCH2CH2-phenyl, whereas in instant claim 1 R1 is -OCH2-phenyl.
However, the above compound of copending Application No. 18/420,562 renders the instant claims obvious in view of MPEP 2144.09 as discussed on page 9-10 above and because copending Application No. 18/420,562 recites a compound wherein R1 is -OCH2-dichlorophenyl, claim 1, page 4, 5th comp. Therefore, the copending Application No. 18/420,562 renders claim 1 obvious, and claim 15 obvious because the compound with -OCH2-phenyl recited in instant claim 15 as 9th compound on page 5.
Claim 16 is met because copending Application No. 18/420,562 recites in claim 1 a compound of formula (I) or pharmaceutically acceptable salt, and instant specification defines pharmaceutically acceptable salt as salt of oxalic acid, fumaric acid, maleic acid. [0035].
Claim 17 is met because copending Application No. 18/420,562 recites in claim 3, a pharmaceutical composition of compound of claim 1.
Claim 8 differs from copending Application No. 18/420,562 above compounds in that claim 8 required that R3 is ethyl, whereas R3 of copending Application No. 18/420,562 above compounds is methyl. However, in view of the MPEP 2144.09 discussion above on page 10, claim 8 is obvious over copending Application No. 18/420,562.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
The present application has an earlier effective U.S. filing date (November 27, 2020) than each of the patent applications (January 24, 2023, and August 25, 2023, respectively). MPEP § 804(I)(B)(2) states that "if a provisional statutory double patenting rejection is the only rejection remaining in an application, and that application has a patent term filing date that is later than, or the same as, the patent term filing date of at least one of the reference application(s), the rejection should be maintained until applicant overcomes the rejection."
Examiner response:
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is not the only rejection remaining in the Application. Thus, the Non-Statutory Double Patenting is maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 15-17 and 26 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622