DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments as filed 03/23/2026 have been filed and overcome the 103 rejection as previously set forth in final office action filed 02/10/2026. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20230011273-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’, in view of (US-20220102789-A1) hereinafter referred to ‘Shimizu’
Regarding Claim 1,
Lee teaches a button-type secondary battery (Lee, rechargeable battery, 1, Fig. 1) comprising: an electrode assembly in which electrodes and a separator are wound electrode tabs (Lee, “The electrode assembly may be wound with respect to a rotation axis by which the first electrode,”, see [0016]) having different polarities protrude from top and bottom surfaces (Lee, first and second electrode tabs, 81 and 82, Fig. 3), respectively; a can comprising a bottom part the electrode assembly and connected to one electrode tab (Lee, second electrode tab, 82, Fig. 3) and a sidewall vertically extending along a circumference of the bottom part (Lee, bottom plate, 24, see Fig. 3); and a top cap assembly with a terminal part connected to the other electrode tab (Lee, first electrode tab, 81, Fig. 3) and a plate coupled to be insulated from the terminal part and having an edge coupled to an upper end of the sidewall (Lee, insulator, 70, Fig. 3) , when the electrode assembly is mounted in the can, the top cap assembly is coupled to close the can, wherein an end of an edge of the plate is welded to be coupled after being seated on a point that meets the upper end of the sidewall (Lee, “the cap assembly 80 may close and seal the opening 21 of the case 20, and may be welded and combined to the opening 21.”, see [0063]).
Lee does not teach wherein at the edge of the plate where the plate is coupled to the upper end of the sidewall, a top surface of the plate is at a first height, and the upper end of the sidewall is at a second height; at an inner edge of the plate adjacent to the terminal part, the top surface of the plate is at a third height; and the first height, which is different from the second height, is same as the third height.
Shimizu teaches wherein at the edge of the plate where the plate is coupled to the upper end of the sidewall, a top surface of the plate is at a first height, and the upper end of the sidewall is at a second height; at an inner edge of the plate adjacent to the terminal part, the top surface of the plate is at a third height; and the first height, which is different from the second height, is same as the third height (the examiner notes that Shimizu does not teach insulation near the terminal but in combination with Lee it would).
Shimizu teaches that this positioning and shape can increase the energy density of the battery (Shimizu, “For example, the electrode body can be disposed at a position in more proximity to the terminal portion, or the height of the electrode body can be increased to a position in proximity to the terminal portion. Accordingly, the energy density of the battery can be increased.”, see [0037]).
Lee and Shimizu are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery cases.
It would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wall and cap of the cell as taught in Lee to have the features and shape as taught in Shimizu in order to allow for the positioning of the electrode body to allow for increased energy density.
Regarding Claim 3,
Lee teaches the button-type secondary a button-type secondary battery (Lee, rechargeable battery, 1, Fig. 1) comprising: an electrode assembly in which electrodes and a separator are wound electrode tabs (Lee, “The electrode assembly may be wound with respect to a rotation axis by which the first electrode,”, see [0016]) having different polarities protrude from top and bottom surfaces (Lee, first and second electrode tabs, 81 and 82, Fig. 3), respectively; a can comprising a bottom part the electrode assembly and connected to one electrode tab (Lee, second electrode tab, 82, Fig. 3) and a sidewall vertically extending along a circumference of the bottom part (Lee, bottom plate, 24, see Fig. 3); and a top cap assembly with a terminal part connected to another electrode tab (Lee, first electrode tab, 81, Fig. 3) and a plate coupled to be insulated from the terminal part and having an edge coupled to an upper end of the sidewall (Lee, insulator, 70, Fig. 3) , when the electrode assembly is mounted in the can, the top cap assembly is coupled to close the can, wherein an end of an edge of the plate is welded to be coupled after being seated on a point that meets the upper end of the sidewall (Lee, “the cap assembly 80 may close and seal the opening 21 of the case 20, and may be welded and combined to the opening 21.”, see [0063]).
Lee does not teach wherein a top surface of the plate is positioned at a height difference from the upper end of the sidewall and an exposed outside side surface between the exposed outer upper surface and the exposed outer bottom surface and wherein the exposed outer side surface protrudes outward in a horizontal direction from the exposed outer circumferential surface of the lower portion of the side wall, wherein the side wall has a lower portion, and the upper end of the side wall is located above the lower portion wherein the upper end of the sidewall is bent to have a shape that protrudes outward from an exposed outer circumferential surface thereof of the sidewall thereof, and wherein the shape has an upper outer surface an exposed outer bottom surface wherein a protrusion on which a stepped portion is formed is on an inner circumferential surface at the upper end of the sidewall, and the end of the edge of the plate is coupled to be seated on the protrusion.
Shimizu teaches and an exposed outside side surface between the exposed outer upper surface and the exposed outer bottom surface and wherein the exposed outer side surface protrudes outward in a horizontal direction from the exposed outer circumferential surface of the lower portion of the side wall, wherein the side wall has a lower portion, and the upper end of the side wall is located above the lower portion wherein the upper end of the sidewall is bent to have a shape that protrudes outward from an exposed outer circumferential surface thereof of the sidewall thereof, and wherein the shape has an upper outer surface an exposed outer bottom surface wherein a protrusion on which a stepped portion is formed is on an inner circumferential surface at the upper end of the sidewall, and the end of the edge of the plate is coupled to be seated on the protrusion (see annotated figure below).
Shimizu teaches that this positioning and shape can increase the energy density of the battery (Shimizu, “For example, the electrode body can be disposed at a position in more proximity to the terminal portion, or the height of the electrode body can be increased to a position in proximity to the terminal portion. Accordingly, the energy density of the battery can be increased.”, see [0037]).
Lee and Shimizu are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery cases.
It would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wall and cap of the cell as taught in Lee to have the features and shape as taught in Shimizu in order to allow for the positioning of the electrode body to allow for increased energy density.
Regarding Claim 5,
Lee teaches a secondary a button-type secondary battery (Lee, rechargeable battery, 1, Fig. 1) comprising: an electrode assembly in which electrodes and a separator are wound electrode tabs (Lee, “The electrode assembly may be wound with respect to a rotation axis by which the first electrode,”, see [0016]) having different polarities protrude from top and bottom surfaces (Lee, first and second electrode tabs, 81 and 82, Fig. 3), respectively; a can comprising a bottom part the electrode assembly and connected to one electrode tab (Lee, second electrode tab, 82, Fig. 3) and a sidewall vertically extending along a circumference of the bottom part (Lee, bottom plate, 24, see Fig. 3); and a top cap assembly with a terminal part connected to the other electrode tab (Lee, first electrode tab, 81, Fig. 3) and a plate coupled to be insulated from the terminal part and having an edge coupled to an upper end of the sidewall (Lee, insulator, 70, Fig. 3) , when the electrode assembly is mounted in the can, the top cap assembly is coupled to close the can, wherein an end of an edge of the plate is welded to be coupled after being seated on a point that meets the upper end of the sidewall (Lee, “the cap assembly 80 may close and seal the opening 21 of the case 20, and may be welded and combined to the opening 21.”, see [0063]).
Lee does not teach wherein the sidewall has a lower portion, and the upper end of the sidewall is located above the lower portion. Wherein the sidewall has a lower portion, and the upper end of the sidewall is located above the lower portion, wherein the upper end of the sidewall is in an inwardly bent shape that protrudes inward in a horizontal direction from an inner circumferential surface of the lower portion of the sidewall, wherein the inwardly bent shape of the upper end of the sidewall has an upper surface that is partially but not entirely covered by the plate and wherein a protrusion at a portion of the end of the edge of the plate so as to be seated on an end of the sidewall.
Shimizu teaches wherein the sidewall has a lower portion, and the upper end of the sidewall is located above the lower portion. Wherein the sidewall has a lower portion, and the upper end of the sidewall is located above the lower portion, wherein the upper end of the sidewall is in an inwardly bent shape that protrudes inward in a horizontal direction from an inner circumferential surface of the lower portion of the sidewall, wherein the inwardly bent shape of the upper end of the sidewall has an upper surface that is partially but not entirely covered by the plate and wherein a protrusion at a portion of the end of the edge of the plate so as to be seated on an end of the sidewall (see annotated figure below).
Shimizu teaches that this positioning and shape can increase the energy density of the battery (Shimizu, “For example, the electrode body can be disposed at a position in more proximity to the terminal portion, or the height of the electrode body can be increased to a position in proximity to the terminal portion. Accordingly, the energy density of the battery can be increased.”, see [0037]).
Lee and Shimizu are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery cases.
It would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wall and cap of the cell as taught in Lee to have the features and shape as taught in Shimizu in order to allow for the positioning of the electrode body to allow for increased energy density.
Regarding Claim 6,
Modified Lee teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the upper end of the sidewall has a groove of which an upper side and an outer side are connected to each other to a recessed shape, and a projection seated on the upper end of the sidewall and inserted into the groove protrudes from the end of the edge of the plate (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 8,
Modified Lee teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 1, wherein a bent part that is expanded outward from the upper end of the sidewall when the plate is seated on the sidewall and is bent downward is on the end of the edge of the plate (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 10,
Modified Lee teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the upper end of the sidewall is bent in an outwardly protruding shape, wherein the upper side of the sidewall is flat, and the plate is coupled to be seated on the flat upper side of the sidewall (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Lee teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 1, wherein a protrusion a stepped portion is at a lower side at the edge of the edge of the plate, and the protrusion is coupled to be seated on the upper end of the sidewall (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Lee teaches he button-type secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the first height is greater than the second heigh (Hiratsuka, cover, 2, Fig. 8)(see annotated figure below) .
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Lee teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 3, wherein the exposed outer bottom surface is perpendicular to the exposed outer circumferential surface of the lower portion sidewall (Hiratsuka, cover, 2, Fig. 8) (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 16,
Lee teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 5, wherein at one side of the plate, an end of a top surface of the plate is offset outwardly from an end of a bottom surface of the plate (Hiratsuka, cover, 2, Fig. 8) (see annotated figure below) .
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Lee teaches the button-type secondary battery of claim 5, wherein the inwardly bent shape of the upper end of the sidewall has an exposed bottom surface that partially but not entirely overlaps the plate in a vertical direction (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 18,
Modified Lee the button-type secondary battery of claim 1, further comprising: a gasket disposed between the terminal part and the plate, wherein the plate is insulated from the terminal part by the gasket (Shimizu, gasket, 320, Fig. 4)(Shimizu, “The sealing member 300 includes a terminal portion 310, a gasket 320, and a lid portion 330.”, see [0088]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pg. 7 of the applicants’ arguments, the applicant argues:
“The Advisory Action appears to equate the top of terminal 3 in Fig. 9 of Hiratsuka with the claimed ‘third height’ . Applicant respectfully submits that this mapping is inconsistent with the claim language…Thus, the claimed ‘third height’ refers to the height of the tope surface of the plate that is insulated from the terminal part, not the height of the terminal part itself. The top of terminal 3 in Hiratsuka therefore cannot correspond to the claimed ‘third height’.”
The examiner finds this persuasive and has added to the record (US-20220102789-A1) hereinafter referred to ‘Shimizu’ which teaches the bent and partially overlapping edge of the cap with the first height, second height, and third height as claimed, as outlined above.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752