DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 13, 17, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lomas et al. (WO 2019/219911, referenced in IDS dated February 14, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Lomas teaches a capsule for an electronic cigarette (Figure 1a, consumable 150 for smoking substitute device 110, [0059]),
the capsule having a first end configured to engage with an electronic cigarette device (Figure 1a, bottom of consumable 150 connects with main body 120, [0059])
and a second end arranged as a mouthpiece portion having a vapour outlet (Figures 1c and 3, top end 152 includes mouthpiece with outlets 314a and 314b, [0065] and [0096]);
the first and second ends defining an axial direction of the capsule (axial direction is vertical in figures 1, 3, and 4), the capsule further comprising:
a vaporising chamber having an air inlet and a vapour outlet (Figures 3 and 4, chamber is around heating device 162 and has air inlet 164 and airway tube 306 (vapor outlet), [0081] and [0092]);
a storage reservoir configured to store a liquid to be vaporized (Figure 3, tank 156 contains e-liquid to be heated, [0084]),
the storage reservoir extending between the mouthpiece and the vaporising chamber (Figure 3, tank 156 extends between heating device 162 and mouthpiece 166, [0092]);
a heating element housed within the vaporising chamber (Figure 3, heater assembly 162, [0092]),
the heating element configured to vaporise liquid received from the storage reservoir and generate a vapour (heating device heats up e-liquid from tank to produce aerosol vapor, [0084]);
a vapour flow path extending between the vaporising chamber and the mouthpiece to allow the generated vapour to flow from the vaporising chamber to the mouthpiece (Figure 4, upper part of airflow paths 410/412 show vapor moving from chamber (after heater) up to mouthpiece (see Figure 3 as well), [0098]);
an airflow path extending between an air inlet of the capsule and the air inlet of the vaporising chamber for allowing air to flow into the vaporising chamber (Figure 4, lower part of airflow paths 410/412 show air path from bottom through inlet 164 164 to heater 162, [00100]);
and a vaporisation flow path located within the vaporising chamber and extending between the air inlet of the vaporising chamber and the vapour outlet of the vaporising chamber to allow vapour to flow out of the vaporising chamber (Figure 4, middle of airflow paths 410/412 show vaporization taking place in the heater assembly 162, [00100]);
wherein the vaporisation flow path extends in a direction of the capsule that is substantially perpendicular to the axial direction of the capsule (Figure 4, middle of airflow paths 410/412 show vaporization taking place in the heater assembly 162 in a mostly left/right direction (perpendicular to axial direction) before exiting , [00100]);
and wherein the airflow path extends in a direction substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the capsule (Figure 4, bottom of airflow 410/412 is parallel to longitudinal axis of capsule and inlet 164 is parallel as well, [00100]).
Regarding claim 2, Lomas teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the vaporisation flow path extends in a direction substantially parallel to a length of the heating element (Figure 4, middle of airflow paths 410/412 show vaporization taking place in the heater assembly 162 in a mostly left/right direction (parallel to length of heater assembly 162), [00100]).
Regarding claim 3, Lomas teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the heating element comprises a capillary-type heating element (heating device includes wick which extends into tank to draw e-liquid out, making it “capillary-type”, [0084]).
Regarding claim 13, Lomas teaches the capsule according to claim 1, further comprising a holder configured to retain the heating element (Figure 3, connector 402 holds heater assembly 162, [0092]).
Regarding claim 17, Lomas teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the vapour flow path comprises a vapour flow conduit extending from the vapour outlet of the vaporizing chamber (Figure 4, airway tube 308, [0099]),
the vapour flow conduit being located next to the storage reservoir (Figure 4, airway tube 308 is next to tank 156, [0065] and [0099]).
Regarding claim 22, Lomas teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the air flow path comprises an air flow conduit extending between the air inlet of the capsule and the air inlet of the vaporising chamber (Figure 4, air inlet 164, [0081]),
the air flow conduit being located adjacent the heating element (Figure 4, air inlet 164 is next to heating device 162, [0081]).
Regarding claim 25, Lomas teaches an electronic cigarette (Figure 1a, smoking substitute device 110, [0081])
comprising a main body (Figure 1a, main body 120, [0081])
and a capsule (Figure 1a, consumable 150, [0081])
wherein the main body comprises a power supply unit (Figure 2a, power source 128 (listed as 140 in the text), [0071]),
electrical circuitry (Figure 2a, control unit 130, [0073]),
and a capsule seating configured to connect with the capsule (Figure 2a, electrical interface 136, [0076]),
the capsule comprising: a first end configured to engage with the electronic cigarette device (Figure 2b, electrical interface 160, [0076])
and a second end arranged as a mouthpiece portion having a vapour outlet (Figure 2b, mouthpiece 166, [0080]),
a vaporising chamber having an air inlet and a vapour outlet (Figures 3 and 4, chamber is around heating device 162 and has air inlet 164 and airway tube 306 (vapor outlet), [0081] and [0092]);
a storage reservoir configured to store a liquid to be vaporized (Figure 3, tank 156 contains e-liquid to be heated, [0084]),
the storage reservoir extending between the mouthpiece and the vaporising chamber (Figure 3, tank 156 extends between heating device 162 and mouthpiece 166, [0092]);
a heating element housed within the vaporising chamber (Figure 3, heater assembly 162, [0092]),
the heating element configured to vaporise liquid received from the storage reservoir and generate a vapour (heating device heats up e-liquid from tank to produce aerosol vapor, [0084]);
a vapour flow path extending between the vaporising chamber and the mouthpiece to allow the generated vapour to flow from the vaporising chamber to the mouthpiece (Figure 4, upper part of airflow paths 410/412 show vapor moving from chamber (after heater) up to mouthpiece (see Figure 3 as well), [0098]);
an airflow path extending between an air inlet of the capsule and the air inlet of the vaporising chamber for allowing air to flow into the vaporising chamber (Figure 4, lower part of airflow paths 410/412 show air path from bottom through inlet 164 164 to heater 162, [00100]);
and a vaporisation flow path located within the vaporising chamber and extending between the air inlet of the vaporising chamber and the vapour outlet of the vaporising chamber to allow vapour to flow out of the vaporising chamber (Figure 4, middle of airflow paths 410/412 show vaporization taking place in the heater assembly 162, [00100]);
wherein the vaporisation flow path extends in a direction of the capsule that is substantially perpendicular to the axial direction of the capsule (Figure 4, middle of airflow paths 410/412 show vaporization taking place in the heater assembly 162 in a mostly left/right direction (perpendicular to axial direction) before exiting , [00100]);
and wherein the airflow path extends in a direction substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the capsule (Figure 4, bottom of airflow 410/412 is parallel to longitudinal axis of capsule and inlet 164 is parallel as well, [00100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-14, 17, 19, 22-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvestrini et al. (US 2019/0082739) in view of Plojoux et al. (US 2014/0338686).
Regarding claim 1, Silvestrini discloses a capsule for an electronic cigarette (Figure 1a, cartridge 100 is part of aerosol-generating system, [0103]),
the capsule having a first end configured to engage with an electronic cigarette device (Figure 1a, bottom end of cartridge 100 (connection end 115) is removably connected to control body 200, [0103])
and a second end arranged as a mouthpiece portion having a vapour outlet (Figure 1a, mouth end opening 110, [0105]);
the first and second ends defining an axial direction of the capsule (Figures 1a-1c, up/down/vertical direction is the axial direction of the cartridge), the capsule further comprising:
a vaporising chamber having an air inlet and a vapour outlet (Figure 1c, chamber just above heater assembly 120 has air inlet 150 and passage 145 which forms aerosol, [0107]);
a storage reservoir configured to store a liquid to be vaporized (Figure 1c, first portion of liquid storage compartment 130, [0106]),
the storage reservoir extending between the mouthpiece and the vaporising chamber (Figure 1c, first portion of liquid storage compartment 130 is between the mouth end opening 110 and heater assembly 120, [0110]);
a heating element housed within the vaporising chamber (Figure 1c, heater element 121, [0110]),
the heating element configured to vaporise liquid received from the storage reservoir and generate a vapour (heater element also known as aerosol-generating element, meaning it generates aerosol/vapor, [0064]);
a vapour flow path extending between the vaporising chamber and the mouthpiece to allow the generated vapour to flow from the vaporising chamber to the mouthpiece (Figure 1c, passage 145 contains aerosol which is discharged through mouth end opening 110, [0107]);
an airflow path extending between an air inlet of the capsule and the air inlet of the vaporising chamber for allowing air to flow into the vaporising chamber (Figure 1c, left half of air passage 140 goes from air inlet 150 to atomizing assembly 120, [0105]);
and a vaporisation flow path located within the vaporising chamber and extending between the air inlet of the vaporising chamber and the vapour outlet of the vaporising chamber to allow vapour to flow out of the vaporising chamber (Figure 1c, right half of air passage 140, extends from vaporizing chamber toward air flow passage 145, [0105]);
wherein the vaporisation flow path extends in a direction of the capsule that is substantially perpendicular to the axial direction of the capsule (Figure 1c, see horizontal arrow);
Silvestrini fails to disclose wherein the airflow path extends in a direction substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the capsule.
Plojoux teaches a similar aerosol generating device wherein the airflow path extends in a direction substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the capsule (Figure 2, see arrows going from right to left (parallel to longitudinal axis) and explanation in [0066]). Plojoux also teaches that positioning the air inlet(s) in the position that provide for the longitudinal direction of the airflow path is that it minimizes risk of blockage by the hand of the user during use [0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Silvestrini to incorporate the teachings of Plojoux to place the air inlet(s) to provide for a longitudinal axis of the airflow path because doing so would minimizes risk of blockage by the hand of the user during use [0023], as recognized by Plojoux.
Regarding claim 2, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the vaporisation flow path extends in a direction substantially parallel to a length of the heating element (Silvestrini, Figure 1c, horizontal arrow is in the same direction (parallel) as the heater element 121, [0110]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the heating element comprises a capillary-type heating element (Silvestrini, Figure 1c, capillary material 136 abuts heater element, [0110]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the heating element comprises a heating surface delimiting a wall surface of the vaporising chamber (Silvestrini, Figure 1c, heater element 121 delimits wall of chamber, [0110]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 4, wherein the heating surface extends in substantially the same direction as the direction of the vaporization flow path, substantially perpendicular to an axial direction of the capsule (Silvestrini, Figure 1c, surface of heater element 121 is same direction as arrow shown in Figure 1c, [0110]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 4, wherein the heating element comprises a liquid capillary part sealed from the heating surface by a seal element (Figure 1b, capillary material 136 separated from heating surface by end cap 138, [0110]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 4, wherein the heating surface of the heating element comprises a heater track in communication with the capillary part (Silvestrini, Figure 1b, heater element 121 comprises mesh, which creates a “track” and is in communication with capillary material 136, [0110]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 7, wherein the capillary part comprises a rigid porous ceramic (Silvestrini, capillary material can be ceramic and have porosity needed, [0058]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 4, wherein the heating element has an upper portion comprising the heating surface and a lower portion comprising the liquid capillary part (Silvestrini, Figure 1b, heater assembly 120 is shown above capillary material 136, [0110]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 10, wherein the lower portion is more elongated in the horizontal direction than the upper portion (Silvestrini, Figure 1b, capillary material 136 (in the lower portion) extends further horizontally than heater assembly 120, [0110]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 1, further comprising a seal configured to surround an external surface of the heating element (Silvestrini, Figure 2a, removable seal 310 positioned over heater element 121, [0112]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 1, further comprising a holder configured to retain the heating element (Silvestrini, Figure 1b, heater mount 134 and end cap 138 form holder, [0110]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 13, further comprising a seal configured to surround an external surface of the heating element (Silvestrini, Figure 2a, removable seal 310 positioned over heater element 121, [0112]),
wherein the holder is configured to engage with the seal to house the heating element between the seal and the holder (Silvestrini, Figure 5a shows end cap 138 engaged with removable seal 310, [0110] and [0112]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the vapour flow path comprises a vapour flow conduit extending from the vapour outlet of the vaporizing chamber (Silvestrini, Figure 1a, air flow passage 145 (which is for vapor since it is after the atomizing assembly), [0105]),
the vapour flow conduit being located next to the storage reservoir (Silvestrini, Figure 1a, air flow passage 145 is next to liquid storage compartment 130, [0105] and [0106]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the vapour flow path comprises a main portion and an end portion (Silvestrini, Figure 1a, main portion is vertical part of air flow passage 145 and end portion is part of air flow passage 145 after vertical and up to mouth end opening 110, [0105])
and wherein: the main portion extends between the vapour outlet of the vaporising chamber and the end portion, in a direction substantially parallel to the axial direction of the capsule (Silvestrini, Figure 1a, main portion of air flow passage is vertical (same as axial direction), [0105]);
and the end portion extends between the main portion and the mouthpiece (Silvestrini, Figure 1a, end portion is part of air flow passage 145 after vertical and up to mouth end opening 110, [0105]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the air flow path comprises an air flow conduit extending between the air inlet of the capsule and the air inlet of the vaporising chamber (Silvestrini, Figure 1c, air flow passage 140 extends from air inlet 150 to atomizing assembly 120, [0105]),
the air flow conduit being located adjacent the heating element (Figure 1c, air flow passage 140 is adjacent to heater element 121, [0110]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Silvestrini teaches the capsule according to claim 1, wherein the vapour flow path and air flow path are located substantially on opposite sides of a median plane (the combination of Silvestrini and Plojoux presented for the rejection of claim 1 above meets this, as the air inlet would be on the bottom of the cartridge (not on the side) and the air flow passage 140 would at least partially be on the left side of Figure 1a and the air flow passage 145 (the “vapour flow path”) is on the right side of the cartridge, meaning the two paths are on opposite sides of the cartridge in the combination, meeting this limitation),
the median plane passing substantially through the vapour outlet in the mouthpiece of the capsule (Silvestrini, median plane passing through middle of device in Figure 1a (through the arrow coming out of the top of the device)).
Regarding claim 25, Silvestrini teaches an electronic cigarette comprising a main body (Figure 1a, control body 200, [0103])
and a capsule (Figure 1a, cartridge 100, [0103])
wherein the main body comprises a power supply unit (Figure 1a, battery 210, [0103]),
electrical circuitry (Figure 1a, control circuitry 220, [0103]),
and a capsule seating configured to connect with the capsule (Figure 1a, connection end 205 connects to cartridge 100, [0103]),
the capsule comprising: a first end configured to engage with the electronic cigarette device (Figure 1a, connection end 115, [0103])
and a second end arranged as a mouthpiece portion having a vapour outlet (Figure 1a, mouth end opening, [0105]),
a vaporising chamber having an air inlet and a vapour outlet (Figure 1c, chamber just above heater assembly 120 has air inlet 150 and passage 145 which forms aerosol, [0107]);
a storage reservoir configured to store a liquid to be vaporized (Figure 1c, first portion of liquid storage compartment 130, [0106]),
the storage reservoir extending between the mouthpiece and the vaporising chamber (Figure 1c, first portion of liquid storage compartment 130 is between the mouth end opening 110 and heater assembly 120, [0110]);
a heating element housed within the vaporising chamber (Figure 1c, heater element 121, [0110]),
the heating element configured to vaporise liquid received from the storage reservoir and generate a vapour (heater element also known as aerosol-generating element, meaning it generates aerosol/vapor, [0064]);
a vapour flow path extending between the vaporising chamber and the mouthpiece to allow the generated vapour to flow from the vaporising chamber to the mouthpiece (Figure 1c, passage 145 contains aerosol which is discharged through mouth end opening 110, [0107]);
an airflow path extending between an air inlet of the capsule and the air inlet of the vaporising chamber for allowing air to flow into the vaporising chamber (Figure 1c, left half of air passage 140 goes from air inlet 150 to atomizing assembly 120, [0105]);
and a vaporisation flow path located within the vaporising chamber and extending between the air inlet of the vaporising chamber and the vapour outlet of the vaporising chamber to allow vapour to flow out of the vaporising chamber (Figure 1c, right half of air passage 140, extends from vaporizing chamber toward air flow passage 145, [0105]);
wherein the vaporisation flow path extends in a direction of the capsule that is substantially perpendicular to the axial direction of the capsule (Figure 1c, see horizontal arrow);
Silvestrini fails to disclose wherein the airflow path extends in a direction substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the capsule.
Plojoux teaches a similar aerosol generating device wherein the airflow path extends in a direction substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the capsule (Figure 2, see arrows going from right to left (parallel to longitudinal axis) and explanation in [0066]). Plojoux also teaches that positioning the air inlet(s) in the position that provide for the longitudinal direction of the airflow path is that it minimizes risk of blockage by the hand of the user during use [0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Silvestrini to incorporate the teachings of Plojoux to place the air inlet(s) to provide for a longitudinal axis of the airflow path because doing so would minimizes risk of blockage by the hand of the user during use [0023], as recognized by Plojoux.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvestrini et al. (US 2019/0082739) in view of Plojoux et al. (US 2014/0338686) as applied to claim7 above, and further in view of Boham (WO2021/009483).
Regarding claim 8, modified Silvestrini discloses the capsule according to claim 7, as set forth above. Modified Silvestrini fails to disclose wherein the heater track is printed on the capillary part.
Boham teaches a similar aerosol provision system wherein the heater track is printed on the capillary part (Figure 6, electric heater 105 is screen-printed on the ceramic substrate 103, page 14 lines 18-21). Boham also teaches that this configuration allows for the inclusion of a temperature sensor as part of the electric heater which reduces structural complexity and part count of the device (page 9 lines 22-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Silvestrini to incorporate the teachings of Boham to have screen-printed the heater on the capillary part because doing so would allow for the inclusion of a temperature sensor as part of the electric heater which reduces structural complexity and part count of the device, as recognized by Boham (page 9 lines 22-35).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvestrini et al. (US 2019/0082739) in view of Plojoux et al. (US 2014/0338686) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Courbat et al. (WO 2021/228911).
Regarding claim 24, modified Silvestrini discloses the capsule according to claim 1, further comprising a buffer reservoir in fluid communication with the storage reservoir, and wherein the heating element is arranged to contact liquid stored in the buffer reservoir.
Courbat teaches a similar aerosol-generating article wherein the capsule comprises a buffer reservoir in fluid communication with the storage reservoir (Figure 1, buffer reservoir 52 in fluid communication with main reservoir 51, page 18 lines 4-5), and wherein the heating element is arranged to contact liquid stored in the buffer reservoir (Figures 1 and 4, liquid from buffer reservoir 52 is carried to vaporization cavity 53 containing induction coil 32 (heating element), page 20 lines 8-15). Courbat also teaches that the buffer reservoir allows for the article to reliably provide a sufficient amount of aerosol-forming liquid to the heater independent of the article position (i.e. upright, horizontal, upside down, etc.) (page 2 lines 3-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Silvestrini to incorporate the teachings of Courbat to provide a buffer reservoir in communication with the storage reservoir and the heater because doing so allows for the article to reliably provide a sufficient amount of aerosol-forming liquid to the heater independent of the article position (i.e. upright, horizontal, upside down, etc.) (page 2 lines 3-13).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lomas et al. (WO 2019/219911) in view of Courbat et al. (WO 2021/228911).
Regarding claim 24, Lomas teaches the capsule according to claim 1, as set forth above. Lomas fails to disclose further comprising a buffer reservoir in fluid communication with the storage reservoir, and wherein the heating element is arranged to contact liquid stored in the buffer reservoir.
Courbat teaches a similar aerosol-generating article wherein the capsule comprises a buffer reservoir in fluid communication with the storage reservoir (Figure 1, buffer reservoir 52 in fluid communication with main reservoir 51, page 18 lines 4-5), and wherein the heating element is arranged to contact liquid stored in the buffer reservoir (Figures 1 and 4, liquid from buffer reservoir 52 is carried to vaporization cavity 53 containing induction coil 32 (heating element), page 20 lines 8-15). Courbat also teaches that the buffer reservoir allows for the article to reliably provide a sufficient amount of aerosol-forming liquid to the heater independent of the article position (i.e. upright, horizontal, upside down, etc.) (page 2 lines 3-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lomas to incorporate the teachings of Courbat to provide a buffer reservoir in communication with the storage reservoir and the heater because doing so allows for the article to reliably provide a sufficient amount of aerosol-forming liquid to the heater independent of the article
Conclusion
/A.Z.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747