Examiner is vacating the office action dated February 10, 2026 and resubmitting the present office action due to an inadvertent error.
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated August 10, 2026.
Status of Claims Status of claims
Claims 3 and 18 – 23 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s amendments filed August 10, 2026. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s cancelation of claims 1, 2 and 6 - 17.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention Group I, claims 1-3, 6, 12, and 18, directed to a compound of Formula I or Formula II, in the reply filed on November 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7 – 11, 13 – 17 are cancelled by an applicant and claims 19 – 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 24, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention compound of formula:
as a single species, in the reply filed on November 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3 and 18 are under consideration in the instant office action, as being drawn to an elected invention.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/046117, filed August 16, 2021, which claims the benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/065,766, filed August 14, 2020, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/178,350, filed April 22, 2021, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/229,392, filed August 4, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement.
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schönbrunn et al (WO 2017/066428 A1, cited in IDS, filed 05/30/2023, hereinafter Schönbrunn).
Instant claims are drawn to a compound of formulae:
,
or
. Instant claims are further directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising said compounds and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Schönbrunn teaches compounds of genus formula (I)
, where R3a and R3b is hydrogen, L1 is (CH2)n, where n is 0 or 1; R5a, R5b, R5d, and R5e are independently hydrogen, C1-C6 alkoxy, C1-C6 alkyl, hydroxy (page 12, lines 5 – 19); R5c is -L2Q2, where L2 is (CH2)n, n is 0 or 1 and Q2 is heterocyclyl, e.g.:
(page 16, lines 11 – 15); Q1 is
wherein R6a, R6b, R6c, R6d, R6e are independently hydrogen, halogen or (CH2)nNSO2R3d, R3d is substituted or unsubstituted C1-C10 alkyl, substituted or unsubstituted C3-C10 cycloalkyl, substituted or unsubstituted C6-C12 aryl (page 13, lines 9 – 20). The exemplary compounds of Schönbrunn are:
(MA2-014, page 48, Table 1),
(SG3-014, page 56, Table 1),
(SG3-059-01, page 57, Table 1),
(MA4-012-1, page 60, Table 1),
(MA3-066, page 57, Table 1). Schönbrunn further teaches pharmaceutical compositions that comprise a compound of formula (I) in combination with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (page 81, lines 21 - 22).
Thus, since Schönbrunn teaches compounds of the same core, as well as all the structural elements in the same positions as instantly claimed compounds, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, to make various structural analogs by selecting and combining known structural elements, to arrive at claimed compounds.. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an active pharmaceutical agent possessing similar or improved desired properties with the reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, taking all together, taught by prior art, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 10 – 15, 18 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 10106507 B2, in view of Schönbrunn et al (WO 2017/066428 A1, cited in IDS, filed 05/30/2023).
Instant claims are drawn to a compound of formulae:
,
or
, and a pharmaceutical composition comprising said compounds and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Claims of U.S. Patent No. US 10106507 B2 are directed to a compound of formula (IIA)
, where X is nitrogen, R1 is C1-C6 alkyl, such as methyl, or halogen; R2 is hydrogen; R3 is NHSO2R5, where R5 is C1-C6 alkyl, C3-C6 cycloalkyl, n is 1 and wherein R3 is in meta position; C6 is C1-C6 alkyl, such as methyl, R7 is hydrogen, C1-C6 alkoxy, C1-C6 alkyl, halide, cyano, and hydroxy; R8 is -OH or =O and p is 0. Patented claims are also directed to a pharmaceutical composition, comprising compound of formula (IIA) and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Although compound of formula (IIA) of U.S. Patent No. US 10106507 B2 have variable R3 in meta position, while instant compounds have an equivalent variable in para position, Schönbrunn teaches compounds of genus formula (I)
, where R3a and R3b is hydrogen, L1 is (CH2)n, where n is 0 or 1; R5a, R5b, R5d, and R5e are independently hydrogen, C1-C6 alkoxy, C1-C6 alkyl, hydroxy (page 12, lines 5 – 19); R5c is -L2Q2, where L2 is (CH2)n, n is 0 or 1 and Q2 is heterocyclyl, e.g.:
(page 16, lines 11 – 15); Q1 is
where any of R6a, R6b, R6c, R6d, R6e are independently hydrogen, halogen, (CH2)nNSO2R3d, R3d is substituted or unsubstituted C1-C10 alkyl, or substituted or unsubstituted C3-C10 cycloalkyl, (page 13, lines 9 – 20). The exemplary compounds of Schönbrunn are:
(MA2-014, page 48, Table 1),
(SG3-014, page 56, Table 1),
(SG3-059-01, page 57, Table 1),
(MA4-012-1, page 60, Table 1),
(MA3-066, page 57, Table 1).
Thus, since Schönbrunn teaches compounds of the same core, as well as all the structural elements in the same positions as instantly claimed compounds, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention, to make various structural analogs by selecting and combining known structural elements, to arrive at claimed compounds. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an active pharmaceutical agent possessing similar or improved desired properties with the reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/E.V.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/SAVITHA M RAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691