Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least two superimposed flow guiding arrangements” of claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the ventilation holes being obliquely provided on the mounting plate to for the air guiding passages” which renders the claim indefinite as “the ventilation holes” lacks proper antecedent basis and it is unclear if the ventilation holes are intended to refer to the ventilation cavity in claim 1 or to something else.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 4668855) in view of Chen (US 20130228232).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches a heat gun having (Fig. 11 and 1:6-15) a flow guiding arrangement (diffuser 24), comprising (Figs. 1-8 and 11; heat gun 20):
a main body (21), inside the main body being disposed a heating element (heating assembly 25 shown in Figure 11, downstream of fan 23 and diffuser 24) configured to generate hot air and a hot air tube (steel tube 30) from which the hot air generated by the heating element is expelled out (via outlet 29), wherein the heating element comprises a heating core disposed in the hot air tube (Figure 11), the heating core (see Figures 4-6) comprising a mounting bracket (Figs. 1-4 show a heating element support) and a heating filament (resistance coil 13) disposed on the mounting bracket (Fig. 4), on the mounting bracket being disposed a venting cavity (center of core 1; 6: 20-29, air flows through the center of the core 1 and through passageways 16, as well as, through any gap between case 10 and wall sections 3) and a heating cavity (cavity in which coil 13 resides, the venting cavity and the heating cavity running through the mounting bracket (Figs. 1-4), the heating cavity being disposed surrounding the venting cavity (Figs. 1-4), the heating filament (13) being disposed in the heating cavity (Fig. 4).
Wilson is silent on the flow guiding arrangement being disposed at an end of the mounting bracket facing an air outlet of the hot air tube, a plurality of air guiding passages being obliquely provided on the flow guiding arrangement, the plurality of air guiding passages being arranged about a center of the flow guiding arrangement; and a mixing cavity is further provided in the hot air tube, the mixing cavity being disposed between the flow guiding arrangement and the air outlet of the hot air tube.
Chen relates to a hot air blower (e.g., a heat gun) and is concerned with providing air flow in a more focused manner to allow a user to effectively control the air flow (para. 0003).
Figure 4 of Chen (annotated)
Chen teaches (Figs. 1-8) a heater (combustion device 40) mounted on a mounting bracket (see above fig. 4) and downstream of fan (31). Chen also teaches a flow guiding arrangement (vane 50; para. 0042) being disposed at an end of the mounting bracket facing an air outlet of a hot air tube (outlet of tube 80 shown in fig. 7), a plurality of air guiding passages (passageways defined between adjacent guiding vanes 54) being obliquely provided on the flow guiding arrangement (Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 7) (para. 0042), the plurality of air guiding passages being arranged about a center of the flow guiding arrangement (the guiding vanes 54 are obliquely arranged relative to a center of the vane mechanism 50 and, as such, the passages formed by the guiding vanes are obliquely arranged); and
Figure 8 of Chen (annotated)
a mixing cavity (see above) [The Examiner considers the annotated region to be a mixing cavity as heated air leaving the vane mechanism 50 is capable of mixing with air residing in this cavity] is further provided in the hot air tube (80), the mixing cavity being disposed between the flow guiding arrangement (50) and the air outlet of the hot air tube (see above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Wilson with Chen, by adding to the end of the mounting bracket facing the air outlet of the hot air tube and downstream of the fan of Wilson, with the flow guiding arrangement and mixing cavity of Chen, for in doing so would prevent turbulence from forming, thereby providing a flow regulating effect and improving air flow through the hot air tube (see para. 0042 of Chen).
Furthermore, the combination, as articulated, suggests adding the flow guiding arrangement of Chen to the hot air tube and heater of Wilson in order to regulate the flow of heated air through the hot air tube and out of the gun. This arrangement would, similarly, include a mixing cavity between the flow guiding arrangement and the air outlet.
Regarding claim 2, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the flow guiding arrangement [Chen; 50] comprises a mounting plate (51) mounted on the mounting bracket [The combination suggests adding the flow guiding arrangement of Chen to the hot air tube of Wilson. This combination would produce an arrangement in which mounting plate 51 is indirectly mounted on the mounting bracket of Wilson] and a plurality of air bafflers (vanes 54) surrounding a peripheral side of the mounting plate, the air bafflers being obliquely arranged such that an air guiding passage is formed between two neighboring air bafflers (as detailed in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 2, and further teaches wherein the flow guiding arrangement [Chen; 50] further comprises a mounting ring (53) disposed concentrically with the mounting plate (51) (Fig. 4 shows 53 and 51 having a common center), an inner wall of the mounting ring being coupled with respective outer peripheral side of the air bafflers (54).
Regarding claim 4, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the flow guiding arrangement [Chen, 50] comprises a mounting plate (53) mounted on the mounting bracket [The combination suggests adding the flow guiding arrangement of Chen to the hot air tube of Wilson. This combination would produce an arrangement in which mounting plate 53 is indirectly mounted on the mounting bracket of Wilson], the ventilation holes being obliquely provided on the mounting plate to form the air guiding passages (passageways defined by obliquely oriented vanes 54. The location of these passageways where air enters and exits the passageways is considered to correspond to the ventilation holes).
Regarding claim 5, the primary combination teaches the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches [Wilson] wherein the mounting bracket (support shown in Figure 1-3) comprises a central column (defining core 1) and a sleeve (sleeve 10; Figs. 5-6) sleeved outside the central column (Fig. 7), the venting cavity running through the central column axially (Figs. 1-3 and 7, centrally defined opening in core 1), the heating cavity being formed between the sleeve and the central column (Figs. 1-3 and 7).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 4668855) in view of Chen (US 20130228232) and in further view of Tackitt (US2010/0008655).
Regarding claim 6, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 5, and further teaches wherein the flow guiding arrangement is mounted on the central column [The combination suggests adding the flow guiding arrangement of Chen to the hot air tube of Wilson. This combination would produce an arrangement in which the flow guiding arrangement 50 of Chen is indirectly mounted on the mounting bracket, and thus the central column, of Wilson].
The combination is silent on the flow guiding arrangement having an outer diameter identical to an outer diameter of the central column such that the venting cavity is aligned with the air guiding passages.
Figure 2 of Tackitt (annotated)
Tackitt relates to a hot air gun (para. 0002; Figs. 1-5) and teaches the hot air gun comprising a central column and a sleeve outside the central column, where the central column defines a mounting bracket for heating coils (134; Fig. 3) (downstream of fan 108 to heat airflow flowing therethrough).
Fig. 3 of Tackitt (annotated)
Tackitt teaches a flow guiding arrangement having an outer diameter identical to an outer diameter of the central column (Figs. 2 and 3) such that a venting cavity is aligned with air guiding passages (as shown in annotated Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Wilson, as modified by Chen, with Tackitt by modifying the size of the flow guiding arrangement, relative to the central column, and the positioning of the air guiding passages relative to the venting cavity of modified Wilson, with the flow guiding arrangement having an outer diameter identical to an outer diameter of the central column such that the venting cavity is aligned with the air guiding passages of Tackitt, for in doing so would provide a flow path through the venting cavity and flow guiding arrangement that is substantially clear of obstacles which would further improve the flow of air from the venting cavity towards the air outlet.
Furthermore, having the flow guiding arrangement having an outer diameter identical to an outer diameter of the central column would amount to an obvious engineering choice. See MPEP 2144.04-IV-A. In this case, having the flow guiding arrangement and the central column to have identical outer diameters would produce an arrangement which limits, or prevents, air flow to regions outside of defined passages, which would further improve air flow towards the air outlet.
Regarding claim 7, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 6, except for wherein a plurality of venting cavities are provided, the plurality of venting cavities being uniformly distributed about a central axis of the central column.
However, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Wilson, as modified by Chen, with Tackitt by duplicating the number of venting cavities of modified Wilson, to have a plurality of venting cavities uniformly distributed about a central axis of the central column, as in doing so would amount to the mere duplication of parts, which has not patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04-VI-B. Additionally, Wilson, Chen, and Tackitt all disclose providing uniformly arranged cavities and passageways for air flow. Providing uniformly distributed venting cavities would further improve air flow by duplicating the number of venting cavities with uniform distribution providing uniform air flow, which would further reduce or prevent turbulent flow.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 4668855) in view of Chen (US 20130228232).
Regarding claim 8, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for wherein the end of the mounting bracket is provided with at least two superimposed flow guiding arrangements.
In this case, the combination teaches using a single flow guiding arrangement at the end of the mounting bracket.
However, the combination, as articulated, suggests adding the flow guiding arrangement of Chen to the end of the mounting bracket (within the hot air tube and downstream of the heater) of Wilson in order to regulate the flow of heated air through the hot air tube and out of the gun. The combination, therefore, suggests having the flow guide arrangement of Chen arranged on the mounting plate, downstream of the heating coils, of Wilson. This arrangement would also provide the flow guiding arrangement downstream of the diffuser (24) of Wilson, which is, itself, a flow guiding arrangement. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “superimposed” is defined as “to lay or place (something) on or over something else” (see www.thefreedictionary.com/superimpose, viewed on 12/4/2025). Under this interpretation, the flow guiding arrangement of modified Wilson is “placed on or over” the diffuser.
The claim language does not recite, nor is limited to, arrangements in which the flow guiding arrangements have identical structures.
However, assuming that the claim language should be interpreted to mean that the flow guiding arrangements have identical structures, those of ordinary skill in the art would consider such to be an obvious engineering choice.
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Wilson, as modified by Chen, by duplicating the flow guiding arrangements of modified Wilson, to have at least two superimposed flow guiding arrangements, as in doing so would amount to the mere duplication of parts, which has not patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04-VI-B. Additionally, Chen teaches that the provided flow guiding arrangement improves air flow by reducing or preventing turbulence. Providing an additional flow guiding arrangement superimposed with another would further improve air flow by duplicating the number of flow guiding arrangements, which would further reduce or prevent turbulent flow.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 4668855) in view of Chen (US 20130228232) and in further view of Stewart (US 3610881).
Regarding claim 9, the primary combination teaches substantially the claimed invention, as applied in claim 1, except for wherein a baffle plate is further provided in the mixing cavity, the baffle plate being disposed concentrically with the flow guiding arrangement, an annular air outlet gap being formed between a peripheral side of the baffle plate and an inner wall of the hot air tube.
Stewart relates to an air-heating gun (Title; Fig. 2) and teaches a baffle plate (66) provided in a mixing cavity (where air mixes between space 35 and nozzle 60), and an annular air outlet gap formed between a peripheral side of the baffle plate and an inner wall of a hot air tube (3: 11-22; “An air blocking or directing plate 66 is secured to the center of the screen and has a circular shape with a smaller area than the opening 64 a chamber exists between the forward end of the heating coil 40 and the blocking plates 66. Thus air flow out the outlet opening 64 passes through the screen material 65 between the outer edge of the plate 66 and the inner e edge of the opening in the cylindrical member 52. This circumferential discharge opening with space 35 and with the discharge nozzle 60, mixes the air into an airstream having a uniform temperature.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Wilson, as modified by Chen, with Stewart by adding to the mixing chamber and concentrically with the flow guiding arrangement of modified Wilson, with the baffle plate provided in the mixing cavity, the baffle plate being disposed concentrically with the flow guiding arrangement, and an annular air outlet gap being formed between a peripheral side of the baffle plate and an inner wall of the hot air tube taught by Stewart, for in doing so would provide a means for blocking or directing airflow from the mixing chamber and through the air outlet, which would allow for the air flow to through the air outlet to be regulated.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761