DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 1, element 116 is used to designate the rear surface and the working surface. In addition, Fig. 1 utilizes elements 116 and 114 to identify the same top/working surface
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akabane et al. (US20200081542, hereinafter Akabane) in view of Takeuchi (US5430344, hereinafter Takeuchi).
Regarding claim 1, Akabane discloses a haptic device (Fig. 2) comprising: a vibration plate (10) including a plate body (20) and a working surface thereof, and a piezoelectric actuator (24) attached to the vibration plate, configured to generate a standing wave on the working surface of the vibration plate at an ultrasonic frequency greater than 20 kHz (paragraphs [0026-27]).
Akabane discloses the vibration plate comprising a glass plate or a composite substrate, but fails to disclose the vibration plate comprising a shaped zirconia ceramic plate. Takeuchi discloses the use of a ceramic vibration membrane comprising zirconia in combination with a piezoelectric actuator. The zirconia substrate vibrates in response to the vibration of the piezoelectric actuator and provides a greater strength and larger displacement than the glass material used by Akabane. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to improve the haptic device disclosed by Akabane by providing a shaped zirconia composite substrate, which provides improved strength and displacement.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Akabane shows in Fig. 8 different features formed on the vibration plate.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the claimed limitations are directed to the method of making the zirconia plate. The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has been given little patentable weight.
Regarding claim 8, the plate body includes at least one of a flat structure, a curved structure, or a contoured structure, as shown in Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 9, Akabane discloses the use of a display (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 10, Akabane discloses providing a display under the touch panel and the plate comprising mounting features. However, Akabane fails to disclose the display being received by a frame and the zirconia plate being mounted via one or more mounting features. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to mount the display on the frame as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application.
Regarding claim 11, Akabane discloses a control circuit (52) and a drive circuit (54). Please refer to paragraph [0031]. Controlling the frequency and the amplitude of the standing wave generated by the piezoelectric actuator is well known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The references of the Prior Art fail to teach or disclose, alone or in obvious combination, the claimed invention as described in independent claim 12. Specifically, the references of the Prior Art fail to teach the method of making the haptic device comprising the steps of providing a reaction mixture within a mold cavity, the mixture comprising 20-60 weight percent zirconia based particles, polymerizing the reaction mixture, removing the shaped gel plate, forming a dried shaped gel plate, heating the dried shaped gel plate and providing a piezoelectric actuator attached to the shaped zirconia ceramic plate.
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the references of the Prior Art fail to teach or disclose, alone or in obvious combination, the claimed invention wherein the shaped zirconia ceramic plate comprises at least 70 mole percent zirconia-based material, and wherein at least 80 weight percent of the zirconia-based material have a cubic crystalline structure, a tetragonal crystalline structure, or a combination thereof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shimoda discloses a touch panel comprising a zirconia panel (2), a piezoelectric vibration element (190).
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837