DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-9 are rejected.
Claim 4 is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (WO 2019151813 A1, “Shin”, English equivalent US 20210074995 A1 used herein for citation purposes) in view of Yang et al. (CN 107946561 A, “Yang”, machine translation used herein for citation purposes) and Son et al. (US 20170062804 A1, “Son”).
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses a negative electrode, comprising: a current collector; and a negative electrode active material layer on at least one surface of the current collector (see abstract “anode” & see [0026] “neg. electrode active material layer positioned on at least one surface of the current collector”), wherein the negative electrode active material layer comprises: 1) a negative electrode active material comprising Mg-containing silicon oxide particles as a core and a graphene coating layer surrounding a surface of the core (see abstract “silicon oxide composite” & “Mg”, “a silicon oxide composite comprising i) Si, ii) a silicon oxide represented by SiOx (0<x≤2), and iii) a magnesium silicate containing Si and Mg” & [0043] “neg. electrode active material includes a silicon oxide composite corresponding to a core part and a carbon coating layer corresponding to a shell part covering part or all of the outside of the core part”; see [0045] “carbon coating layer corresponding to a shell portion include” “graphene”), 2) a conductive material comprising carbon nanotubes (see [0071] “conductive material” & “carbon nanotube”) and 3) a binder (see [0068] “a binder on a negative electrode current collector”). Regarding the limitation wherein an amount of the graphene coating layer is 0.5 wt% to 10 wt% based on a total weight of the negative electrode active material, Shin discloses in [0051] “content of the carbon coating layer in the neg. electrode active material according to the present disclosure may be 2.5-10 parts by weight” which lies within the claimed range.
Regarding the limitation a conductive material comprising single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs), Shin does not explicitly disclose.
Yang teaches “single-wall carbon nano tube” (see abstract) & describes “the single-wall carbon nano-tube” & describes reduces the used amount of the conductive agent used & “this reduction in conductive agent used directly increases the content of active materials, thereby improving energy density” (see [0011]).
Shin and Yang are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor namely conductive materials (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate SWCNT, as suggested by Yang (see [0011]) into the negative electrode of Shin because Yang suggests doing so greatly reduces the amount used of the conductive agent and “directly improve[s] content of active substance, so as to improve the energy density” as suggested by Yang (see [0011]).
Regarding the limitations wherein a graphene present in the graphene coating layer has a D/G band intensity ratio of 0.8 to 1.5, and wherein the D/G band intensity ratio of the graphene is an average value of a ratio of a maximum peak intensity of D band at 1360 ± 50 cm-1 based on a maximum peak intensity of G band at 1580 ± 50 cm-1, as determined by Raman spectroscopy of the graphene, Shin does not explicitly disclose, however, Shin does disclose peak intensity of the neg. electrode active material (see FIG. 1) and peak intensity is a property of the material.
Son teaches wherein the D/G band intensity ratio of the graphene is an average value of a ratio of a maximum peak intensity of D band at 1360 ± 50 cm-1 (see [0199] describes “peak at 1350 cm-1 is a peak referred to “D-mode””) based on a maximum peak intensity of G band at 1580±50 cm-1, as determined by Raman spectroscopy of the graphene (see [0199] “peak at 1580 cm-1 is a peak referred to as “G-mode”” & “graphene had peaks” & “Raman analysis” & “Spectra instrument”).
Regarding the limitation wherein a graphene present in the graphene coating layer has a D/G band intensity ratio of 0.8 to 1.5, Son teaches a range of 1.1 to about 2 (see [0069]).
Son teaches a range of 1.1 to about 2, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.8 to 1.5. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Shin and Son are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely graphene layer (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Son to include band intensity ratio of 1.1 to about 2, as suggested by Son (see [0069]), peak intensity of D band at 1350 cm-1 as suggested by Son (see [0199]) and G band peak intensity at 1580 cm-1 as suggested by Son (see [0199]) into the negative electrode of Shin because doing so describes D/G intensity ratio obtained from analyzing Raman Spectrum of graphene as suggested by Son (see FIG. 8A, [0069]) and a skilled artisan would find obvious that peak intensity is a property of the graphene material that can be obtained from spectral analysis as suggested by Son.
Regarding claim 2, Shin discloses peak intensity of the neg. electrode active material (see FIG. 1), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the D/G band intensity ratio of graphene present in the graphene coating layer ranges from 0.8 to 1.4, however, a skilled artisan would recognize that D/G band intensity ratio is a property of the material.
Son teaches “D/G intensity ratio obtained from analyzing the Raman Spectrum of the graphene may be in 2 or less, for example a range of 1.1 to about 2” (see [0069]) & FIG. 8A describes D/G band intensity ratio.
Son teaches a range of 1.1 to about 2, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.8 to 1.4. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Son to include band intensity ratio of 1.1 to about 2, as suggested by Son (see [0069]), into the negative electrode of Shin because doing so describes D/G intensity ratio obtained from analyzing Raman Spectrum of graphene as suggested by Son (see FIG. 8A, [0069]) and a skilled artisan would find obvious that peak intensity is a property of the graphene material that can be obtained using spectral analysis as suggested by Son.
Regarding claim 3, Shin discloses the negative electrode of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the Mg-containing silicon oxide particles comprise 4 wt% to 15 wt% of Mg (see [0054] “Mg may be present in an amount of 4-16 wt%, particularly 4-10 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the silicon oxide composite. When Mg content satisfies the above-defined range, it is possible to improve efficiency while minimizing a decrease in capacity”). Shin discloses 4-10 wt% which lies within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Shin discloses the negative electrode of claim 1, and discloses in [0071] “conductive material” & “carbon nanotube”, but Shin does not explicitly disclose wherein an amount of the single-walled carbon nanotube is 0.01 wt% to 0.06 wt% based on a total weight of the negative electrode active material layer.
Yang teaches “single-wall carbon nano tube” (see abstract) & describes “the single-wall carbon nano-tube” & describes reduces the used amount of the conductive agent used & “this reduction in conductive agent used directly increases the content of active materials, thereby improving energy density” (see [0011]).
Shin and Yang are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor namely conductive materials (see abstract).
Yang teaches a range of 0.01-0.1, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01-0.06 wt%. MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate SWCNT, as suggested by Yang (see [0011]) into the negative electrode of Shin because Yang suggests doing so greatly reduces the amount used of the conductive agent and directly improve[s] content of active substance, so as to improve the energy density as suggested by Yang (see [0011]).
Regarding claim 6, Shin discloses the negative electrode of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the conductive material further comprises carbon black (see [0071] “conductive material” & “carbon black”).
Regarding claim 7, Shin discloses the negative electrode of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the negative electrode active material further comprises a carbonaceous active material (see abstract describes negative electrode active material & carbon coating layer & carbonaceous material).
Regarding claim 8, Shin discloses the negative electrode of claim 7 and further discloses wherein the carbonaceous active material comprises graphitizable carbon fibers (see [0045] “graphitized carbon fibers”).
Regarding claim 9, Shin discloses the negative electrode of claim 1 and further discloses a lithium secondary battery (see title).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see P5-P6, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 20170062804 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shin et al. (WO 2019151813 A1, “Shin”, English equivalent US 20210074995 A1 used herein for citation purposes) in view of Yang et al. (CN 107946561 A, “Yang”, machine translation used herein for citation purposes) and Son et al. (US 20170062804 A1, “Son”).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/020506 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 recites a substantially similar negative electrode material.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/020506 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 recites a substantially similar negative electrode composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/020506 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 5 recites a substantially similar negative electrode composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/020506 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 8 recites a substantially similar negative electrode composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/020506 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 recites a substantially similar lithium secondary battery.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 03/16/2026