DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, 10, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (JP H10324804, “Inoue” a machine translation of which is of record, submitted 2/15/23, and is used as the citation copy) further in view of Sawazato et al. (JP 201820368, “Sawazato”).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue teaches a polyarylene sulfide resin composition comprising a polyarylene sulfide resin ([0009] – [0011]) and an antiviral agent ([0003], [0009] – [0011]), and wherein the antiviral agent may comprise a borate glass containing a metal ion (see [0013] – [0015], borosilicate glass including an oxide of boron, please also see present specification at [0033] describing borate glass components; Inoue additionally teaches the inclusion of phosphate components and thus a phosphate glass that includes, e.g., a silver ion, see [0023], [0014]). The Examiner notes that while Inoue describes its metal ions as antibacterial and antifungal, they would be expected to have concurrent antiviral properties at least insofar as they read on the language “metal ion-containing phosphate and/or borate glass” (Inoue, [0006] – [0008]; and please see present specification at [0004] – [0011], [0041]). The Examiner further notes that borosilicate glass may be considered a type of “borate glass.” Please also see evidentiary reference Sawazato, which teaches that the combination of a silver ion in a B2O3 network (that is, such as that described by Inoue) serves to function as an antiviral agent (Sawazato, pp. 1-3), thus such an inclusion would have been taught and/or obvious and expected to serve as an antiviral agent. While Inoue fails to specifically teach more than 15 parts by mass of the antibacterial or antiviral glass, Sawazato teaches that the inclusion of such a glass as an antiviral agent in amounts of up to 20% based on the resin component and thus the inclusion in this amount in the resin of Inoue would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing in order to create an effective antibacterial or antiviral agent (see Sawazato, p. 2). The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Inoue additionally teaches that the antiviral agent may be a borate glass ([0010], borosilicate glass; additionally may include a phosphate and silver ion, [0023], [0014]).
Regarding claims 9, 17, and 18, Inoue additionally teaches that the resin composition may be a molten blend (i.e., may be melted and blended, see [0026], describing that the resin may be melt kneaded).
Regarding claim 10, Inoue additionally teaches that the resin composition may be molded into an article (e.g., [0026], molded into a desired shape, [0013], resin molded article).
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Sawazato as applied to claim 6, above, and further in view of Seneschal et al. (JP 2005-255517, “Seneschal”).
Regarding claims 21-24, Inoue fails to specifically teach a glass having a phosphate oxide composition of from 40 to 75 mol%, however, in the same field of endeavor of glass compositions for use as antiviral components in resin compositions, Seneschal teaches that a P2O5 composition from 45 to 90% in order to balance corrosive qualities of the glass with good chemical resistance (p. 5) and a B2O3 composition from 0 to 60% in order to provide good chemical resistance (p. 6). Seneschal further teaches that having a silver component of from 0.1% to 3% (p. 4) and that this may be useful in making a glass that has good antibacterial properties while reducing the likelihood of the silver tinting the glass (p. 4). It therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have adopted these amounts of the specified components in order to provide a glass component having good antibacterial properties and good chemical resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/10/26 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Therefore, claims 6, 7, 9, 10, 17, 18, and 21-24 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782