DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendment filed 12/19/2025 has been entered and is currently under consideration. Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blomer (US 2022/0371255 of record) in view of Schmid et al. (US2010/0203187 of record) hereinafter Schmid and Yokobayashi et al. (US2012/0294974) hereinafter Yokobayashi.
Regarding claim 1, Blomer teaches:
A blow molding apparatus (Fig 1-3) for manufacturing a resin container by blow molding a preform ([0008]), the blow molding apparatus comprising:
a blow molding portion configured to blow-mold the preform into the resin container (Fig 1-3; [0042]);
the blow molding portion has:
a pair of mold clamping plates (Fig 1-3: unlabeled plates to the exterior of tool halves 2, 3) that openably and closably supports a pair of blow split molds accommodating the preform (Fig 1-3: tool halves 2, 3; [0042]);
a linear motion mechanism that drives one of the mold clamping plates in an opening and closing direction and applies a mold clamping force to the mold clamping plates at a time of mold closing (Fig 1-3: drive 7; [0042]).
Blomer does not teach linear motion mechanisms that drive the pair of mold clamping plates in an opening and closing direction and apply a mold clamping force to the mold clamping plates at a time of mold closing.
However, it has been broadly held that duplication of parts is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Blomer to duplicate the linear motion mechanism for the motivation of applying opening and closing forces to both tool halves.
Blomer does not teach a pair of lock members that engages with a lower end side of the mold clamping plates at a mold closing position of the blow split molds and restricts movement of the mold clamping plates in a mold opening direction.
In the same field of endeavor regarding blow moulding, Schmid teaches a pair of lock members (Fig 2: locking elements 24, 26) that engages with a lower end side of a mold clamping plate (Fig 2: outer plate of mould sections 4, 6) at a mold closing position of the blow split mold (Fig 2: inner moulds of mould sections 4, 6) and restricts movement of the mold clamping plate in a mold opening direction (Fig 2; [0052]) for the motivation of providing improved locking mechanisms ([0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Blomer to include the lock members as taught by Schmid in order to provide improved locking mechanisms.
Blomer further teaches wherein all attachment positions in the height direction of the linear motion mechanisms to the mold clamping plates are set entirely above a center position of the mold clamping plates (Fig 1-3).
Schmid further teaches that when the mold sections 4, 6 are locked in a closed position, they cannot be opened until the locking elements 24, 26 are removed or lowered ([0052]), i.e., a lower mold opening amount and an upper mold opening amount of the blow split molds are both zero in this state. Schmid also teaches a linear motion mechanism that is located at the bottom of the molds, i.e., significantly below the center line of the molds in a height direction, in a position where a lower mold opening amount and an upper mold opening amount of the blow split molds are balanced (Fig 4d: coupling element 54; [0057])
It would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that Blomer in view of Schmid further teaches that wherein all attachment positions in the height direction of the linear motion mechanisms to the mold clamping plates are set entirely above a position where a lower mold opening amount and an upper mold opening amount of the blow split molds are balanced.
Blomer in view of Schmid does not teach a preform having a bottomed cylindrical shape,
an injection molding portion configured to injection mold the preform;
a temperature adjusting portion configured to adjust the temperature of the preform;
a blow molding portion configured to blow-mold the temperature-adjusted preform into the resin container; and
a conveyance mechanism configured to sequentially convey the preform to the injection molding portion, the temperature adjusting portion, and the blow molding portion while holding a neck portion of the preform with a neck mold applied in the injection molding portion,
wherein the injection molding portion, the temperature adjusting portion, and the blow molding portion are fixed at positions rotated by a predetermined angle around the conveyance mechanism.
Yokobayashi teaches:
A blow molding apparatus for manufacturing a resin container by blow molding a preform having a bottomed cylindrical shape (Fig 1-2; preform 1A; [0072]), the blow molding apparatus comprising:
an injection molding portion configured to injection mold the preform (Fig 1: injection molding station 12; [0103, 0106]);
a temperature adjusting portion configured to adjust the temperature of the preform (Fig 1: temperature control station 14; [0103, 0107]);
a blow molding portion configured to blow-mold the temperature-adjusted preform into the resin container (Fig 1: blow molding station 16; [0103, 0109]); and
a conveyance mechanism configured to sequentially convey the preform to the injection molding portion, the temperature adjusting portion, and the blow molding portion while holding a neck portion of the preform with a neck mold applied in the injection molding portion (Fig 1-8: transfer plates 20A-20D, neck mold 42; [0103]; preforms are transported via neck molds between each station),
wherein the injection molding portion, the temperature adjusting portion, and the blow molding portion are fixed at positions rotated by a predetermined angle around the conveyance mechanism (Fig1) for the motivation of providing an apparatus for carrying out an injection molding step, a temperature control step, and a blow molding step ([0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Blomer in view of Schmid to include the injection molding station, temperature control station, and conveyance mechanism as taught by Yokobayashi in order to provide an apparatus for carrying out an injection molding step, a temperature control step, and a blow molding step.
Regarding claim 2, Blomer in view of Schmid and Yokobayashi teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Schmid further teaches wherein each of the lock members is disposed on a lower side of the mold clamping plates and is movable forward and backward in a vertical direction ([0052]).
Regarding claim 3, Blomer in view of Schmid and Yokobayashi teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
Schmid further teaches wherein each of the lock members has an inclined surface that converts upward movement of the lock members into a force in a direction of the mold closing (Fig 2: sloped surfaces 24a, 26a; [0052]).
Regarding claim 6, Blomer in view of Schmid and Yokobayashi teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Blomer further teaches wherein the linear motion mechanisms apply a mold clamping force to the mold clamping plates at a position where an upper mold opening amount of the blow split molds is equal to or less than a threshold value (Fig 1-3; [0042, 0044]; Blomer teaches that drive 7 closes the tool halves 2, 3 until they are abutting i.e., when an upper mold opening amount of the blow split molds is equal to or less than 0).
Regarding claim 7, Blomer in view of Schmid and Yokobayashi teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Schmid further teaches wherein the preform is accommodated in the blow split molds from an upper side ([0050]).
Regarding claim 8, Blomer teaches:
A blow molding apparatus (Fig 1-3) for manufacturing a resin container by blow molding a preform ([0008]), the blow molding apparatus comprising:
a pair of mold clamping plates (Fig 1-3: unlabeled plates to the exterior of tool halves 2, 3) that openably and closably supports a pair of blow split molds accommodating the preform (Fig 1-3: tool halves 2, 3; [0042]);
a linear motion mechanism that drives one of the mold clamping plates in an opening and closing direction and applies a mold clamping force to the mold clamping plates at a time of mold closing (Fig 1-3: drive 7; [0042]).
Blomer does not teach linear motion mechanisms that drive the pair of mold clamping plates in an opening and closing direction and apply a mold clamping force to the mold clamping plates at a time of mold closing.
However, it has been broadly held that duplication of parts is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Blomer to duplicate the linear motion mechanism for the motivation of applying opening and closing forces to both tool halves.
Blomer does not teach a pair of lock members that interferes with a lower end side of the mold clamping plates at a mold closing position of the blow split molds and restricts movement of the mold clamping plates in a mold opening direction.
In the same field of endeavor regarding blow moulding, Schmid teaches a pair of lock members (Fig 2: locking elements 24, 26) that interferes with a lower end side of a mold clamping plate (Fig 2: outer plate of mould sections 4, 6) at a mold closing position of the blow split mold (Fig 2: inner moulds of mould sections 4, 6) and restricts movement of the mold clamping plate in a mold opening direction (Fig 2; [0052]) for the motivation of providing improved locking mechanisms ([0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Blomer to include the lock members as taught by Schmid in order to provide improved locking mechanisms.
Blomer further teaches wherein all attachment positions in the height direction of the linear motion mechanisms to the mold clamping plates are set entirely above a center position of the mold clamping plates (Fig 1-3).
Schmid teaches that when the mold sections 4, 6 are locked in a closed position, they cannot be opened until the locking elements 24, 26 are removed or lowered ([0052]), i.e., an upper mold opening amount of the blow split molds is equal to or less than a threshold value of 0. Schmid also teaches a linear motion mechanism that is located at the bottom of the molds, i.e., significantly below the center line of the molds in a height direction, in a position where an upper mold opening amount of the blow split molds is equal to or less than a threshold value of 0 (Fig 4d: coupling element 54; [0057])
It would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that Blomer in view of Schmid further teaches that wherein all attachment positions in the height direction of the linear motion mechanisms to the mold clamping plates are set above a position where an upper mold opening amount of the blow split molds is equal to or less than a threshold value.
Blomer in view of Schmid does not teach a preform having a bottomed cylindrical shape,
an injection molding portion configured to injection mold the preform;
a temperature adjusting portion configured to adjust the temperature of the preform;
a blow molding portion configured to blow-mold the temperature-adjusted preform into the resin container; and
a conveyance mechanism configured to sequentially convey the preform to the injection molding portion, the temperature adjusting portion, and the blow molding portion while holding a neck portion of the preform with a neck mold applied in the injection molding portion,
wherein the injection molding portion, the temperature adjusting portion, and the blow molding portion are fixed at positions rotated by a predetermined angle around the conveyance mechanism.
Yokobayashi teaches:
A blow molding apparatus for manufacturing a resin container by blow molding a preform having a bottomed cylindrical shape (Fig 1-2; preform 1A; [0072]), the blow molding apparatus comprising:
an injection molding portion configured to injection mold the preform (Fig 1: injection molding station 12; [0103, 0106]);
a temperature adjusting portion configured to adjust the temperature of the preform (Fig 1: temperature control station 14; [0103, 0107]);
a blow molding portion configured to blow-mold the temperature-adjusted preform into the resin container (Fig 1: blow molding station 16; [0103, 0109]); and
a conveyance mechanism configured to sequentially convey the preform to the injection molding portion, the temperature adjusting portion, and the blow molding portion while holding a neck portion of the preform with a neck mold applied in the injection molding portion (Fig 1-8: transfer plates 20A-20D, neck mold 42; [0103]; preforms are transported via neck molds between each station),
wherein the injection molding portion, the temperature adjusting portion, and the blow molding portion are fixed at positions rotated by a predetermined angle around the conveyance mechanism (Fig1) for the motivation of providing an apparatus for carrying out an injection molding step, a temperature control step, and a blow molding step ([0103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus as taught by Blomer in view of Schmid to include the injection molding station, temperature control station, and conveyance mechanism as taught by Yokobayashi in order to provide an apparatus for carrying out an injection molding step, a temperature control step, and a blow molding step.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12/19/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For at least the above reasons, the application is not in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER A WANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741