DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 07/31/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 66-77, and 80-83 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al. (US 2020/0048530 A1) and Claims 66-77, and 80- 83 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US 2014/0144639 A1) and further in view of Drake et al. (US 2016/0333260 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 66-77, and 80-83 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al. (US 2014/0144639 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made set forth below.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the consolidation of loose particles to mitigate sand production and stabilize formations) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With regards to claim 1 the applicant further argues that “Nguyen's "aggregates" are temporary clusters used for proppant placement or fracture conductivity and do not represent consolidation of loose particles;” (See arguments, page 6, 1st para.)
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim recites “the loose particles comprise uncotated proppants” , therefore, Nguyen clearly recites the claim language as argued the applicant., furthermore, Nguyen recites (i.e. proppant aggregates are formed for use in the embodiments described herein, .they may be formed by any means known to adhere individual proppant particulates together such that they form a coherent body) also see different ways types of biding agents on para ¶0041-0051. [0026, 0041-0051, 0075- 0076] Therefore, Ngueyn discloses the limitation as written.
Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim 66. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation consolidating loose particles is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
It is elementary that the mere recitation of a newly discovered function or property, possessed by things in the prior art, does not cause a claim drawn to distinguish over the prior art. Additionally, were the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed invention may, in fact be a characteristic of the prior art, it possess the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226 ( CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The examiner believes that it would be beneficial for the case if an interview is scheduled with the examiner to further the prosecution of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 66-77, and 80-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nguyen et al. (US 2014/0144639 A1) ("Nguyen" herein - cited previously).
Claim 66 Nguyen discloses a method of consolidating loose particles in a formation, (i.e. proppant aggregates are formed for use in the embodiments described herein, they may be formed by any means known to adhere individual proppant particulates together such that they form a coherent body) [0026, 0044-0051, 0075- 0076] the method comprising injecting a composition comprising
a metal particle,(i.e.… Suitable examples of hydrogen gas-generating materials may include, but are not limited to, aluminum metal; zinc metal; magnesium metal; iron metal; tin metal; and any combinations thereof.) [0070]
an oxidization promoter,(i.e.… the gas-generating chemical is a fuel and the activator is an oxidizing agent. …Metals that may be used in forming the oxidizing agents may include, but are not limited to, alkali metals; alkali earth metals; and any combination thereof. )[0071-0072] and
water into the formation. (i.e. The treatment fluids for use in the embodiments described herein may include any treatment fluids suitable for use in a subterranean formation, provided that they do not interfere with the operation of the gas-generating mechanism (i.e., the gas-generating chemicals or the activators) disclosed herein. Suitable treatment fluids may include, but are not limited to, aqueous-based fluids; aqueous-miscible fluids; and any combination thereof. Suitable aqueous-based fluids may include fresh water; saltwater (e.g., water containing one or more salts dissolved therein); brine (e.g., saturated salt water); seawater; and any combination thereof.) [0027], wherein the loose particles are uncoated proppants or unconsolidated formation sand, or a combination thereof. (i.e. sand, bauxite, ceramic materials, nut shell pieces) [0035] and wherein the oxidation promoter promotes oxidation of the metal particle in the water to generate hydrogen gas. (i.e. the gas-generating chemical produces hydrogen ) [0027, 0069]
Since Nguyen discloses the same composition comprising a metal particle – aluminum metal, an oxidizer- alkali metals, water, and proppant -sand, it would be an oxidizer promoter, an uncoated proppant or unconsolidated loose sand, that would consolidate or aggregate the loose particles wherein the oxidation promoter promotes oxidation of the metal particle in the water to generate hydrogen gas.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.07 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (FedCir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newtield Co, 7F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Or a different interpretation of Nguyen
Claims 66-77, and 80-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al. (US 2014/0144639 A1) ("Nguyen" herein - cited previously)
Claim 66 Nguyen discloses a method of consolidating loose particles in a formation, (i.e. proppant aggregates are formed for use in the embodiments described herein, they may be formed by any means known to adhere individual proppant particulates together such that they form a coherent body) [0026, 0044-0051, 0075- 0076] the method comprising injecting a composition comprising
a metal particle,(i.e.… Suitable examples of hydrogen gas-generating materials may include, but are not limited to, aluminum metal; zinc metal; magnesium metal; iron metal; tin metal; and any combinations thereof.) [0070]
an oxidization promoter,(i.e.… the gas-generating chemical is a fuel and the activator is an oxidizing agent. …Metals that may be used in forming the oxidizing agents may include, but are not limited to, alkali metals; alkali earth metals; and any combination thereof. )[0071-0072] and
water into the formation. (i.e. The treatment fluids for use in the embodiments described herein may include any treatment fluids suitable for use in a subterranean formation, provided that they do not interfere with the operation of the gas-generating mechanism (i.e., the gas-generating chemicals or the activators) disclosed herein. Suitable treatment fluids may include, but are not limited to, aqueous-based fluids; aqueous-miscible fluids; and any combination thereof. Suitable aqueous-based fluids may include fresh water; saltwater (e.g., water containing one or more salts dissolved therein); brine (e.g., saturated salt water); seawater; and any combination thereof.) [0027], wherein the loose particles are uncoated proppants or unconsolidated formation sand, or a combination thereof. (i.e. sand, bauxite, ceramic materials, nut shell pieces) [0035]
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose the terminology as recited within the claimed invention: wherein the oxidation promoter promotes oxidation of the metal particle in the water to generate hydrogen gas. However, Nguyen discloses that suitable oxidizing agents may be non-salts including, but not limited to, hydrogen peroxide; an organic peroxyacid; and any combinations thereof. Suitable high pH compounds may include, but are not limited to, a hydroxide of an alkali metal; a hydroxide of an alkaline earth metal; and any combinations thereof. [0071], the gas-generating chemical may generate ammonia, hydrogen, nitrogen, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, a hydrocarbon gas, and the like. [0069] Suitable examples of hydrogen gas-generating materials may include, but are not limited to, aluminum metal; zinc metal; magnesium metal; iron metal; tin metal; and any combinations. [0070], and Suitable treatment fluids may include, but are not limited to, aqueous-based fluids; aqueous-miscible fluids; and any combination thereof. [0027] which serves as wherein the oxidation promoter promotes oxidation of the metal particle in the water to generate hydrogen gas. Therefore, the Examiner interprets this disclosure to read on the claimed invention.
Since Nguyen discloses the same composition comprising a metal particle – aluminum metal, an oxidizer- alkali metals, water, and proppant -sand, it would be an oxidizer promoter, an uncoated proppant or unconsolidated loose sand, that would consolidate or aggregate the loose particles wherein the oxidation promoter promotes oxidation of the metal particle in the water to generate hydrogen gas.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.07 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (FedCir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newtield Co, 7F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Claim 67
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 66, wherein the metal particle is an aluminum particle, a silicon particle, or an iron particle, or any combination thereof. [0026, 0035,
0070] .
Claim 68.
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 66, wherein the metal particle has a size no larger than 20 mesh. [0033]
Claim 69
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 66, wherein the metal particle has a size no larger than 100 mesh. [0033]
Claim 70
Nguyen disclosed the method of claim 66, wherein the metal particle is an aluminum particle. [(0033, 0071]
Claim 71-72
Nguyen disclosed the method of claim 70, wherein the aluminum particle having an average particle size of no larger than 20 mesh or no larger than 100 mesh. [0033, 0071]
Since Nguyen discloses the aluminum particle, it would be an atomized aluminum powder.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties'. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newtield Co, 7F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Claim 73
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 66, wherein the oxidization promoter is a hydroxide promoter, a metal oxide promoter, an acid, or a salt promoter, or any combination thereof. [0071-0072]
Claim 74
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 66, wherein the oxidization promoter is a hydroxide promoter. [0071]
Claim 75
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 74, wherein the hydroxide promoter is Ca(OH)2, Mg(OH)2, NaOH, or KOH. [0071]
Claim 76
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 75, wherein the hydroxide promoter is Ca(OH), in an amount from about 0.001% (wt.) to about 50% (wt.) of the metal particle. [0074]
Claim 77 .
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 75, wherein the hydroxide promoter is Ca(OH): in an amount from about 0.1% (wt.) to about 10% (wt.) of the metal particle. [0074]
Claim 80
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 66, wherein the uncoated proppants are sand, a ceramic, or sintered bauxite, or any combination thereof. [0026, 0035]
Claim 81
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 66, wherein the uncoated proppants are sand. [0012, 0035]
Claim 82
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 80, wherein the sand is fracturing sand. [0012, 0035]
Claim 83
Nguyen discloses the method of claim 66, wherein the injected composition comprises comprising-water, sand, aluminum powder, and Ca(OH)2. [0012, 0035, 0070-0075].
Conclusion
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616 09/29/2026