DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 17-19 have been amended, claims 4, 12, 14 have been cancelled, and claims 1-3, 5-11, 13, 15-22 are pending as amended on 04/23/26.
4. Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2020/032014 08/25/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
7. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/17/26 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office action on 02/23/26. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
8. Applicant's amendment filed on 04/23/26, has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments with respect to rejection of claims 1-11, 13, 16-17, 19, 22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGee (US 5336797), claims 15, 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGee, and claims 20-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGee in view of Satake (US 2016/ 0289368) filed on 04/23/26, have been fully considered but are moot in view of amendment. Accordingly, previous rejections have been withdrawn. In view of amendment to claims and response, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. McGee does not disclose hydrophilic polymer.
However, Ueyama discloses ophthalmic lenses composition comprising polysiloxanes and hydrophilic polymer additives such as polyvinyl pyrrolidone, wherein the hydrophilic polymer additives added to improve the wettability (para [0001, [0010], [0051]). McGee and Ueyama are pertinent to eye lenses composition comprising polysiloxanes.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify McGee with hydrophilic polymer additives such as polyvinyl pyrrolidone, as taught by Ueyama. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Ueyama that to do so would improve the wettability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13, 15-19, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGee (US 5336797; IDS filed on 05/04/23) in view of Ueyama (US 2009/0234089).
Regarding claims 1-3, 10-11, 16-17, 19, 22, McGee discloses an ocular lens such as contact lens (column 3, lines 15-24) comprising a polymer obtained by polymerizing a polymerizable monomer such as siloxane monomer having a siloxane bond, wherein the siloxane monomer has single polymerizable group and 2-25 siloxane, and a siloxane-fee crosslinkable monomer free of any siloxane bond, wherein the siloxane-free crosslinkable monomer includes an alkylene glycol chain-containing crosslinkable monomer having: a chain moiety containing 6 or more alkylene glycol repeating units; and polymerizable groups arranged at both terminals of the chain moiety such as polyethyleneglycol dimethacrylate, and additional siloxane monomer and/or the hydrophilic polymeric monomers such as N-vinyl lactams (e.g. N-vinyl pyrrolidone (NVP)) (average chain molecular weight of 1K; column 3, lines 25-43, column 5, lines 59-62, column 6, lines 6, 1-13, column 7, lines 13-40, column 10, lines 22-25, claims 1, 5, 11-12). McGee does not disclose hydrophilic polymer.
However, Ueyama discloses ophthalmic lenses composition comprising polysiloxanes and hydrophilic polymer additives such as polyvinyl pyrrolidone, wherein the hydrophilic polymer additives added to improve the wettability (para [0001, [0010], [0051]). McGee and Ueyama are pertinent to eye lenses composition comprising polysiloxanes.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify McGee with hydrophilic polymer additives such as polyvinyl pyrrolidone, as taught by Ueyama. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Ueyama that to do so would improve the wettability.
Regarding claims 5-7, McGee discloses 70.5 mol% siloxane monomer (Mn =2500 and polydispersity 2.3; example 2, table 1, column 9, lines 25-27), 15.1 mol% dimethylacrylamide, and 14.4 mol% PPGDMA (4K) (table 1, example 2), result in 6 wt% of PPGDMA (4K), fall into claim 5 range of 2 wt% or more or 0.9 wt% or more, claim 6 range of 2 wt% or more, or claim 7 range of from 3 to 25 wt%.
Regarding claim 8, McGee discloses PEGDMA (1K) (column 10, lines 23-25, table 1, example 1). Formula used for HLB = 20 x Mh/M (Griffin’s equation used for the non-ionic surfactant). Mh = molecular weight of hydrophilic portion (PEG chain). M = total molecular weight. In PEGDMA (1K), MDMA =172 and Mh = 828.
HLB = 20 x 828/1000 = 16.56, fall into claimed range of from 5 to 20.
Regarding claim 9, McGee discloses the amount of siloxane monomer is from about 20 to 70 wt% (column 7, lines 54-55), fall into claimed range of from 10 to 70 wt%.
Regarding claim 13, McGee discloses the siloxane monomer has Mw = 3,109 (column 9, lines 65-68), fall into claimed weight average molecular weight of 10,000 or less.
Regarding claim 15, McGee discloses siloxane monomer represented by formula
wherein m is integers from 2 to 25, chain transfer agent is thioglycolic acid, and B is polymerizable group such as glycidyl(meth)acrylate (column 2, lines 35-, column 5, lines -13), results in the molecular weight overlapping the claimed requirements of 1,000 or less, wherein the copolymerizable siloxane monomer represented by formula
(column 7, lines 30-38), read on claimed molecular weight of more than 1,000, wherein the siloxane monomer is present in an amount of about 1 to about 90 wt%, and copolymerizable siloxane monomer is present in an amount of up to 80 wt% (column 7, lines 51-58), overlapping range of claims ratio of siloxane monomer B to total of the siloxane monomers is 20 wt% or less.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the composition, wherein McGee discloses siloxane monomer represented by formula above, and siloxane monomer is present in an amount of about 1 to about 90 wt%, and copolymerizable siloxane monomer is present in an amount of up to 80 wt%, overlapping the requirement of claim 15. See In re Wertheim regarding prima facie cases with overlapping ranges (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) See MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 18, McGee discloses the copolymerizable siloxane monomer in an amount of up to about 60 wt% (column 7, lines 13-58), overlapping claimed range of from 20 to 70 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the composition, wherein McGee discloses the copolymerizable siloxane monomer in an amount of up to about 60 wt%, overlapping the requirement of claim 18. See In re Wertheim regarding prima facie cases with overlapping ranges (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) See MPEP § 2144.05).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGee view of Ueyama as applied to claim 1, above and further in view of Satake (US 2016/ 0289368).
MaGee includes the features of claim 1, above.
Regarding claims 20-21, MaGee does not disclose claimed stress relaxation rate and Young’s modulus.
However, Satake discloses an ocular lens such as contact lens (column 3, lines 15-24) comprising a polymer obtained by polymerizing a polymerizable monomer such as siloxane monomer having a siloxane bond, hydrophilic monomer, and crosslinking agent (para [0010], [0031], [0053],) wherein the composition has stress relaxation rate of from 10-20% (para [0025]) fall into claimed range of from 10 to 40 wt% and Young’s modulus of from 0.3 to 1 MPa (para [0025]), fall into claimed range of 0.3 to 2.3 MPa for providing excellent wearing comfort required for its use as the contact lens, and has sufficiently high flexibility and an adequate degree of deformation recovery property required for its use as the intraocular lens (para [0024]). MaGee and Sakate are pertinent to the ocular lens such as contact lens comprising a polymer obtained by polymerizing a polymerizable monomer such as siloxane monomer having a siloxane bond, hydrophilic monomer, and crosslinking agent.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify MaGee composition to obtain stress relaxation rate of from 10-20% and Young’s modulus of from 0.3 to 1 MPa, as taught by Satake. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Satake that to do so would provide excellent wearing comfort required for its use as the contact lens, and has sufficiently high flexibility and an adequate degree of deformation recovery property required for its use as the intraocular lens.
Conclusion
References Robertson (US 5770669) and Ford (US 2007/0138692) were cumulative in nature to the above rejection and thus not set forth.
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766