DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
The amendment filed on 07/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 and 11-16 have been amended, claim 15 is withdrawn from consideration, no claims have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Therefore, claims 1-16 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Applicant has amended claims 2, 5, and 16 have been amended to overcome the objections cited in the Office Action mailed on 01/15/2026. Therefore, the objection to the previously mentioned claims are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant has amended claims 1, 2, and 16 have been amended to overcome the 112(b) rejections of said claims cited in the previously mailed Office Action. Therefore, the rejection to the previously mentioned claims are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0287512 A1-Kaisermayer et al. (hereinafter Kaisermayer).
Regarding claim 1, Kaisermayer discloses a cell culture bag for cultivating cells (invention relates to cultivation of cells in bags and in particular to perfusion cultivation of cells, para. [0001], lines 1-2) under rocking conditions (rocking motion, para. [0038], lines 7-8) in a bioreactor system, the bag comprising a deformable flexible wall defining an expandable cell culture chamber for containing the cells in a cell culture medium (flexible bag 1;21, para. [0028], line 1, Fig. 1; introducing cell culture medium, microcarriers and cells to the bag, para. [0030], lines 1-2);
Kaisermayer discloses a filter arranged inside the culture chamber dividing the culture chamber in a chamber top compartment for containing cell-free culture medium and a chamber bottom compartment for maintaining the cells (filter material 2;22 is attached to a wall 3,7 of the culture bag, wherein the filter material 2;22 delimits a chamber 6;26 is fluidically connected to a first port 4;24 in a wall 3, 7;23,27 of the bag (para. [0028], lines 3-7),
Kaisermayer discloses the chamber top compartment provided with an inlet port (port 4; 24, shown in Fig. 1 disposed at a top region of bag 1;21) for filling the cell culture chamber and the chamber bottom compartment provided with an outlet port for draining of the culture chamber (the bag may also comprise further ports in the bag walls, e.g. for the flow of gases into and out of the reactor, for introduction of cell culture medium, and sample removal (para. [0050], lines 22-25),
Kaisermayer discloses wherein the filter comprises a membrane with a pore size configured to allow exchange of nutrients and gasses between the chamber bottom compartment and chamber top compartment while retaining cells in the chamber bottom compartment, characterized in that the filter is connected to the deformable flexible wall via a filter support frame (filter material clamped to a filter holder, para. [0039], lines 18-19) that supports the filter and mitigates forces acting on the filter when filling and/or expanding and/or rocking the bag (the chamber is sealed so that liquid and smaller particles such as free cells and cell debris can only pass into the chamber via the pores of the filter material 2:22:42, retaining the larger microcarrier particles in the bag outside of the chamber, para. [0034], lines 4-7). Additionally, Kaisermayer discloses an advantage of having the chamber attached to a bag wall is that when the fluid in the bag is agitated, the suspension of microcarriers and cells will flow over the filter material so that particles smaller than the pore openings of the filter material can pass through the openings (para. [0037], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Kaisermayer discloses characterized in that the flexible wall is made of a polymer material (the bag 1;21 can be prepared from flexible sheets may comprise thermoplastics such as polyethylene, para. [0033], lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 10, Kaisermayer discloses fluid conduit circuit that defines a first culture medium flow path that extends from an outlet of the cell culture chamber to the inlet port of the chamber top compartment, and a second culture medium flow path that extends from the outlet of the cell culture chamber to an inlet port of the chamber bottom compartment (the cell culture medium, the microcarriers and the cells can be introduced to the bag via tubing and suitable ports (not shown) in the bag according to methods known in the art (para. [0035], lines 1-3), thus, the more than one fluid circuit define a first culture medium and a second culture medium, the and Kaisermayer discloses the bag may also comprise further ports in the bag walls, e.g. for the flow of gases into and out of the reactor, for introduction of cell culture medium (para. [0050], lines 22-25).
Regarding claim 12, Kaisermayer discloses an oxygenator arranged in the first culture medium flow path and/or the second culture medium flow path for oxygenating the cell culture medium (the bag may also comprise further ports in the bag walls, e.g. for sample removal and for various sensors and transducers used during cultivation (para. [0050], lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 13, Kaisermayer discloses a gas source fluidly connected to the inlet port of the chamber top compartment arranged for supplying a gaseous fluid to the chamber top compartment of the cell culture bag (the bag may also comprise further ports in the bag walls, e.g. for the flow of gases into and out of the reactor, para. [0050], lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 14, Kaisermayer discloses wherein a gas source fluidly connected to the inlet port of the chamber top compartment is arranged for supplying a gaseous fluid to the chamber top compartment of the cell culture bag, the gas source being provided by the oxygenator (the bag may also comprise further ports in the bag walls, e.g. for the flow of gases into and out of the reactor, for introduction of cell culture medium, cells and microcarriers, for sample removal and for various sensors and transducers used during cultivation, para. [0050], lines 22-26).
Regarding claim 16, Kaisermayer discloses an agitator unit arranged for operative coupling with the cell culture bag to agitate the cell culture and the fluid cell medium in the cell culture chamber and a mechanism for pinching the wall of the cell culture bag to create a partially flattened section and operable for increasing the cell-culture chamber in volume by decreasing the flattened section (agitation means, para. [0031], lines 1-2). Further, Kaisermayer discloses the agitation means comprises a movable support 5 and step b) comprises mounting the bag 1;21;41 on this movable support; the movable support can e.g. be a plate, trough or container on or in which the bag is placed and, if needed, secured (securing mechanism, para. [0038], lines 2-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0287512 A1-Kaisermayer et al. (hereinafter Kaisermayer) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP0725134A2-van der Heiden.
Regarding claim 3, Kaisermayer teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. However, Kaisermayer does not explicitly teach a substantially rigid body made of the same material as the flexible wall.
For claim 3, van der Heiden teaches a flexible container for the culture of cells consisting of two compartments being separated by a semipermeable membrane (col. 4, lines 27-30) and van der Heiden teaches net 10 is disposed between the outer wall sheet 35 and the semipermeable membrane 36 can be fused to the semipermeable membrane to provide a support for it (col. 10, lines 3-6, Fig. 6), and van der Heiden teaches the outer all of the bioreactor 1 defining the cell compartment 7 of the present invention is made of a flexible material (col. 7. lines 14-16), such as poly(ethylene-vinyl acetate, col. 7, line 20-24), which read on the instant claim limitation of a substantially rigid body made of the same material as the flexible wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include a substantially rigid body made of the same material as the flexible wall as taught by van der Heiden, because van der Heiden teaches the nets 10 not only provide support for the semipermeable membrane and limit any danger of rupture in handling, but they also serve to distribute the cell culture along the semipermeable membrane and to distribute the nutrient medium along the semipermeable membrane (col. 10, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 4, Kaisermayer teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. Also, Kaisermayer discloses a filter material clamped to a filter holder, para. [0039], lines 18-19). However, Kaisermayer does not explicitly teach the support frame comprises an inner edge section that is attached to the filter and an outer edge section that is attached to the flexible wall.
For claim 4, van der Heiden teaches a flexible container for the culture of cells consisting of two compartments being separated by a semipermeable membrane (col. 4, lines 27-30) and van der Heiden teaches a support frame (protective support 10, Fig. 6) comprises an inner edge section that is attached to the filter (semipermeable membrane 36, Fig. 6) the protective support has an outer edge region which is also attached to the flexible wall outer wall sheet 35, shown in Fig. 6, when the layers are fused together (col. 10, lines 3-6, Fig. 6), which reads on the instant claim limitation of an inner edge section that is attached to the filter and an outer edge section that is attached to the flexible wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include an inner edge section that is attached to the filter and an outer edge section that is attached to the flexible wall as taught by van der Heiden, because van der Heiden teaches the nets 10 not only provide support for the semipermeable membrane and limit any danger of rupture in handling, but they also serve to distribute the cell culture along the semipermeable membrane and to distribute the nutrient medium along the semipermeable membrane (col. 10, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 5, Kaisermayer teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. However, Kaisermayer does not explicitly teach the filter comprises a stretchable support layer attached to the membrane, wherein the stretchable support layer is configured to allow stretching of the filter.
For claim 5, van der Heiden teaches a flexible container is essentially manufactured by sealing together three sheets of material: a first sheet (the outer wall of the cell compartment), made from a highly gas permeable material, a second sheet, being the semipermeable membrane, a third sheet (the outer wall of the medium compartment), made from a material having the desired properties for the specific application of the bioreactor (col. 4, lines 43-51), and van der Heiden teaches the sheet scan be fused to the semipermeable membrane to provide support (col. 10, lines 3-6, Fig. 6), which reads on the instant claim limitation of the filter comprises a stretchable support layer attached to the membrane, wherein the stretchable support layer is configured to allow stretching of the filter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include filter comprises a stretchable support layer attached to the membrane, which stretchable support layer is configured to allow stretching of the filter as taught by van der Heiden, because van der Heiden teaches the nets 10 not only provide support for the semipermeable membrane and limit any danger of rupture in handling, but they also serve to distribute the cell culture along the semipermeable membrane and to distribute the nutrient medium along the semipermeable membrane (col. 10, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 6, Kaisermayer teaches the invention discussed above in claim 5. However, Kaisermayer does not explicitly teach stretchable support layer is made of a woven material.
For claim 6, van der Heiden teaches a stretchable support layer (net or mesh support layer 37, col. 10, 6-7, Fig. 1), where Fig. 6 indicate layer 37 is comprises a mesh or woven material, which reads on the instant claim limitation of stretchable support layer is made of a woven material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include a stretchable support layer is made of a woven material as taught by van der Heiden, because van der Heiden teaches the nets 10 not only provide support for the semipermeable membrane and limit any danger of rupture in handling, but they also serve to distribute the cell culture along the semipermeable membrane and to distribute the nutrient medium along the semipermeable membrane (col. 10, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 7, Kaisermayer teaches the invention discussed above in claim 5. Also, Kaisermayer discloses a filter material clamped to a filter holder, para. [0039], lines 18-19). However, Kaisermayer does not explicitly teach stretchable support layer is attached to the support frame.
For claim 7, the layers, which includes the net 10 disposed between the outer wall sheet 35 and the semipermeable membrane 36 can be fused to the semipermeable membrane to provide a support for it; a further net or mesh support layer can be provided at 37 between the semipermeable membrane 36 can be fused together (col. 10, lines 3-8), thus, the stretchable support layer 37 is attached to the support frame (protective support 10, Fig. 6) when they are fused together, which reads on the instant claim limitation of the stretchable support layer is attached to the support frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include of the stretchable support layer is attached to the support frame as taught by van der Heiden, because van der Heiden teaches the nets 10 not only provide support for the semipermeable membrane and limit any danger of rupture in handling, but they also serve to distribute the cell culture along the semipermeable membrane and to distribute the nutrient medium along the semipermeable membrane (col. 10, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 8, Kaisermayer teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. However, Kaisermayer does not explicitly teach an anti-folding layer attached to the membrane and configured to protect the membrane against folding.
For claim 8, van der Heiden teaches a similar anti-folding layer (sheet 38, col. 10, line 8), which forms an outer wall of the compartment, and provides further support to the layers when fused (col. 10, lines 3-8, Fig. 6), which reads on the instant claim limitation an anti-folding layer attached to the membrane and configured to protect the membrane against folding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include an anti-folding layer attached to the membrane and configured to protect the membrane against folding as taught by van der Heiden. Further, van der Heiden teaches a net or mesh support layer can be provided at 37 between the semipermeable membrane 36 and the sheet 38 forming the outer wall of the medium compartment. The nets 10 and 37 thus not only provide support for the semipermeable membrane and limit any danger of rupture in handling, but they also serve to distribute the cell culture along the semipermeable membrane and to distribute the nutrient medium along the semipermeable membrane (col. 10, lines 6-15).
Regarding claim 9, Kaisermayer teaches the invention discussed above in claim 8. However, Kaisermayer does not explicitly teach an anti-folding layer comprises a rigid mesh structure.
For claim 9, van der Heiden teaches a similar anti-folding layer (sheet 38, col. 10, line 8), which forms an outer wall of the compartment, and provides further support to the layers when fused (col. 10, lines 3-8, Fig. 6), and thus, comprises a mesh structure when fused with nets or mesh 37, shown in Fig. 6), which reads on the instant claim limitation of an anti-folding layer comprises a rigid mesh structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include an anti-folding layer comprises a rigid mesh structure as taught by van der Heiden, because van der Heiden teaches the nets 10 not only provide support for the semipermeable membrane and limit any danger of rupture in handling, but they also serve to distribute the cell culture along the semipermeable membrane and to distribute the nutrient medium along the semipermeable membrane (col. 10, lines 9-15).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0287512 A1-Kaisermayer et al. (hereinafter Kaisermayer) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of KR20150004333A-Shevitz (all citations are drawn to the machine English translation).
Regarding claim 11, Kaisermayer teaches the invention discussed above in claim 10. Further, Kaisermayer teaches flow into and out of various ports of the cell culture bag. However, Kaisermayer does not explicitly teach a one-way valve of the flow path.
For claim 11, Shevitz teaches an invention relating to filtration system and
the invention relates to sampling manifolds, pump systems as well as filtration systems for biological fluids and products, and modification modules useful in such systems (para. [0001]) and Shevitz teaches the system can include connectors which may include check valves (para. [0089], lines 17-18), which reads on the instant claim limitation of one-way valve of the flow path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include a one-way valve of the flow path, as taught by Shevitz, because Shevitz suggest check valves allow for additional protection against contamination and mishandling via the incorporation of connectors such as check valves which serve to supply fluid to a filtration system (para. [0089], lines 1-3; 15-18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On the top of page 5 of applicant’s remarks, applicant discussed the status of the claims and the relied upon art cited in the previously mailed Office Action. On the bottom of page 5 and the top of page 6, applicant summarizes the amendment to the claims. On the middle of page 6, applicant discussed the objection of claims 2, 5, and 16. Applicant has amended said claims and therefore, the claim objections have been withdrawn. On the bottom of page 6 and the top of page 7, applicant has amended the claims to overcome the claims to overcome the 112(b) rejection of claims 1, 2 and 16. Therefore, the rejection of said claims are withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejection being on the middle of page 7 of applicant’s remarks.
On the middle of page 7 of applicant’s remarks, applicant recites claim 1 of the instant application. Further, applicant acknowledges the primary reference, Kaisermayer, does disclose a cell culture bag with a filter. On the bottom of page 7 and the top of page 8, applicant asserts Kaisermayer, does not disclose or suggest all of the limitations of amended claim 1. Further, applicant asserts Kaisermayer does not disclose a cell culture bag having an expandable cell culture chamber. Kaisermayer does not disclose any volume change of its cell culture chamber and particularly does not suggest that a wall of the cell culture bag defining the cell culture chamber can be deformed to expand the chamber volume. Kaisermayer is not concerned with expanding the cell culture and the cell culture chamber. As a consequence, Kaisermayer does not suggest a solution to the technical problem of maintaining similar filtration properties of the filter upon expansion of the cell culture chamber.
In response to applicant first argument, the latter argument is not found persuasive for the following reasons. Kaisermayer discloses a flexible bag 1, as shown in Fig. 1 and acknowledged by applicant. The bag 1 of Kaisermayer is flexible includes an expandable cell culture chamber, that is, the interior of bag 1 provides an interior of bag 1 and the chamber or interior of the bag is defined by flexible portions of the bag which define the walls of the bag. Kaisermayer discloses bag 1 allow for introducing cell culture medium, microcarriers and cells to the bag, para. [0030], lines 1-2). Moreover, Kaisermayer discloses the bag can be prepared from flexible sheets may comprise thermoplastics such as polyethylene, para. [0033], lines 4-6). The latter disclosure of Kaisermayer confirms the bag 1 discussed above, is disclose a cell culture bag having an expandable cell culture chamber.
Moreover, applicant argues “Kaisermayer does not disclose any volume change of its cell culture chamber and particularly does not suggest that a wall of the cell culture bag defining the cell culture chamber can be deformed to expand the chamber volume. Kaisermayer is not concerned with expanding the cell culture and the cell culture chamber. As a consequence, Kaisermayer does not suggest a solution to the technical problem of maintaining similar filtration properties of the filter upon expansion of the cell culture chamber.” In response to the latter argument, Kaisermayer explicitly discloses the bag 1 is made of can be prepared from two flexible sheets joined along their edges to form a "pillow-style bag” or it can be a three-dimensional bag pre pared from more than two sheets and having side walls (para. [0033], lines 1-4).
Also, Kaisermayer explicitly discloses the flexible bag introducing cell culture medium, microcarriers and cells to the bag (para. [0030]), where the flexible bag 1 allow for volume change to accommodate the change in volume of the bag when the introduction of culture medium, microcarriers, and cells occur in bag 1. Kaisermayer also discloses a filter material attached to a wall of the culture bag. Filter material 2 is shown attached to a wall 3, of the flexible culture bag 1, in Fig. 1a. Therefore, applicant’s argument that Kaisermayer does not disclose any volume change of its cell culture chamber and particularly does not suggest that a wall of the cell culture bag defining the cell culture chamber can be deformed to expand the chamber volume. Kaisermayer is not concerned with expanding the cell culture and the cell culture chamber Is not found persuasive for the reasons discussed above in this section.
On page 8 of applicant’s remarks, referring to the first paragraph and their second argument. Applicant asserts “Kaisermayer does not disclose a filter support frame that connects the filter to the deformable flexible wall in accordance with claim 1. In contrast, Kaisermayer discloses the filter material to be directly attached to the wall of the bag. Specifically, Kaisermayer states that "the filter material 2;22;42 is attached to a wall 3,7;23,27;43,47 of the culture bag" (para. [0028]). There is no disclosure in Kaisermayer of any intermediate support frame structure between the filter and the bag wall.” In response to applicant’s latter argument, the filter material disclosed in Kaisermayer has to be attached to a wall of the flexible bag via some kind of attachment device. Additionally, Kaisermayer discloses a filter material clamped to a filter holder, para. [0039], lines 18-19). That is, the filter holder disclosed in the document of Kaisermayer, provides support for the filter material attached to the flexible bag 1, discussed above in this section. Therefore, the latter argument is not found persuasive for the reasons previously discussed.
On the middle of page 8 of applicant’s remarks, referring to the second paragraph and their third argument. Applicant asserts “because Kaisermayer lacks a filter support frame, Kaisermayer necessarily fails to disclose a support frame that supports the filter and mitigates forces acting on the filter when filling and/or expanding and/or rocking the bag. Kaisermayer does not suggest any solution or means to prevent the filter from being subject to forces directly acting on the filter when filling and/or expanding and/or rocking the bag. In the present invention, the filter support frame is configured to enable expansion of the cell culture chamber while maintaining desired filtering properties of the membrane, and the support frame mitigates undesired deformation of the membrane which could cause the porosity of the membrane to change, thereby affecting the filtering properties thereof.” In response to applicant’s third argument, the filter material disclosed in Kaisermayer has to be attached to a wall of the flexible bag via some kind of attachment device.
Additionally, Kaisermayer discloses a filter material clamped to a filter holder, para. [0039], lines 18-19). That is, the filter holder disclosed in the document of Kaisermayer, provides support for the filter material attached to the flexible bag 1, discussed above in this section. Moreover, because a frame support, in the case of the primary reference, Kaisermayer, the filter holder provides a support for the filter material. That is, the filter holder disclosed via Kaisermayer, allow for the prevent the filter from being subject to forces directly acting on the filter when filling and/or expanding and/or rocking the bag. Therefore, the latter argument is not found persuasive for the reasons previously discussed.
Regarding paragraph 3, of applicant’s remarks, applicant asserts the additional reference, van der Heiden, does not cure the deficiencies of Kaisermayer. Moreover, applicant discussed a discusses a summary of the invention of van der Heiden and asserts “van der Heiden does not disclose an expandable cell culture chamber or a filter support frame that connects a filter to a deformable flexible wall and mitigates forces acting on the filter when filling and/or expanding and/or rocking the bag. For example, van der Heiden's net 10 cannot be considered to be a frame. Thus, there is not a filter support frame as claimed that connects the filter to the deformable flexible wall and mitigates forces during expansion of the cell culture chamber.” In response, the additional reference, van der Heiden was relied upon for teaching the features recited in claim 3-9 of the instant application, which pertained to various features such as the materials or composition of flexible wall. Moreover, as discussed above in this section, Kaisermayer discloses a flexible culture bag and a frame support (frame holder, discussed above) to hold filter material 2, where the filter material 2 id connected to the a flexible wall of culture bag 1.
Regarding the bottom of page 8 and the top of page 9, applicant asserts the additional reference of Shevitz, does not cure the deficiencies of Kaisermayer. Shevitz relates to filtration systems and sampling manifolds for biological fluids and teaches the use of check valves. However, Shevitz does not disclose an expandable cell culture chamber, a filter support frame
connecting the filter to a deformable flexible wall, or a support frame that mitigates forces acting on the filter when filling and/or expanding and/or rocking the bag. In response, Shevitz was relied upon for the teaching a one-way valve of the flow path. As discussed above in this section, Kaisermayer discloses a flexible culture bag and a frame support (frame holder, discussed above) to hold filter material 2, where the filter material 2 id connected to the a flexible wall of culture bag 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799