Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 15-20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizmoto (U.S. Pat. No. 4,031,039) in view of Taniguchi (JP2013-141625A). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
Regarding Claim 1, Mizmoto teaches methods of treating waste polymer mixtures via selective dissolution / fractionation of polymer blends (Abstract; Examples) construed as dissolving polymer in solvent for the removal of additives (e.g. other polymers) in plastics. Mizmoto also teaches selectively dissolving polymers allows for removal of other additives/materials that are not dissolved along with the synthetic polymers (Col. 3, Line 54 to Col. 4, Line 2). Examples are taught where polymer mixture is provided, selective dissolution in solvent occurs with stirring/mixing, and insolubles separated by filtration (Col. 5-6).
Mizmoto differs from the subject matter claimed in that the particular mixing / dissolution device of the claims is not described. Taniguchi teaches agitation mixers suitable for the dissolution of polymer powders in solvent (Abstract; ¶ 22). The mixers utilize both stirring and vibratory mixing in order to prevent aggregated particles and provide uniform dispersibility (¶ 12, 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the agitation mixers of Taniguchi within the protocols of Mizmoto because doing so would provide excellent mixing/dispersibility characteristics when dissolving polymers as taught by Taniguchi.
Taniguchi teaches the mixers comprise a plurality of perforated stirring discs aligned parallel to each other in a stacked arrangement, each disc extending over a majority of the cross-sectional area of the reactor vessel; the perforations allowing the mixture to flow from a first end to second end through the disks (¶ 27, Figures 2A, 2B, 2C). A support holds the discs in position, whereby the discs are vibrated in the vertical direction upon use (¶ 27), reading on a support connected to a linear motion generator so that the discs are moved to oscillate at a frequency/amplitude, the linear motion aiding the dissolution of polymer material into solvent. While Figures 1 and 2b illustrate a funnel-shaped body where discs are vibrated, Taniguchi expressly teaches the inlet section can be cylindrical or similar shaped (¶ 23). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize mixing vessels with cylindrical bodies, thereby predictably affording workable polymer mixing/dissolution.
Regarding Claims 2-4, 12, 15, 17, 18, and 22, Mizmoto teaches embodiments where polyethylene products are dissolved in p-xylene solvent (b.p. 138 deg C) at 120 degrees C, where timeframes of roughly 5 or 14 minutes is required (Example 3).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Mizmoto teaches embodiments where 30 g of polymer mixture is treated with 400 mL p-xylene (density ~ 0.86 g/mL), suggesting roughly 8 wt% of polymer added to solvent.
Regarding Claim 7, while Taniguchi does not describe vessel volume, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the present case, the apparatus of Taniguchi is not seen to perform any differently if used at a reactor volume of 1,000 L or greater. Therefore, the disclosure of Taniguchi meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 16, Mizmoto teaches temperatures spanning 90-150 degrees C (Col. 3, Lines 40-49), which overlaps the ranges claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a range within the claimed range because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Mizmoto suggests the claimed range. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amount, based on the teachings of Mizmoto. See MPEP 2123.
Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Mizmoto teaches the polymer blends can comprise mixtures of polyolefinic polymers, such as polyethylene and polypropylene (Col. 1, Lines 18-27).
Regarding Claim 23, Taniguchi teaches a vertical arrangement (¶ 27, Figures 2A, 2B, 2C).
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizmoto (U.S. Pat. No. 4,031,039) in view of Taniguchi (JP2013-141625A) and Vesavker (US 2017/0203470 A1). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
The discussion regarding Mizmoto and Taniguchi within ¶ 6-14 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Taniguchi differs from the subject matter claimed in that particular frequencies / amplitudes is not described within the mixers. Vesavker is also directed toward vibrating plate mixers for the purpose of mixing solids and liquids (Abstract; Figure 1). Vesavker teaches the frequency/amplitude is selected so as to achieve optimal mixing/separation of dispersed solids (¶ 17). Thus, Vesavker teaches the frequency/amplitude of such mixers are known result effective variables because changing them will clearly affect the degree by which the solid/liquid blend is agitated/mixed. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Case law holds that “discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discover workable/optimal frequency/amplitude parameters within the mixers of Taniguchi by routine experimentation within the scope of the present claims so as to produce desirable agitation/mixing characteristics.
Regarding Claim 24, Taniguchi differs from the subject matter claimed in that the mixers are not illustrated horizontally. Vesavker is also directed toward vibrating plate mixers for the purpose of mixing solids and liquids (Abstract; Figure 1). Vesavker teaches it was known in the art such mixers can be positioned either vertically or horizontally, whereby effective mixing occurs in either configuration (¶ 82). It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to utilize mixers in either vertical or horizontal orientations, thereby achieving the predictable result of effective mixing of liquids and solids as taught by Vesavker.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizmoto (U.S. Pat. No. 4,031,039) in view of Taniguchi (JP2013-141625A) and Ragaert (Waste Management, 2017, 69, 24-58). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
The discussion regarding Mizmoto and Taniguchi within ¶ 6-14 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 21, Mizmoto differs from the subject matter claimed in that a first step involving mechanical separation of impurities is not described. Ragaert teaches various mechanical means of separating impurities from raw waste materials are known in the art for creating feedstocks, inclusive of separation of materials based on shape/size, removal of ferrous metal materials via magnets, or mechanical washing (Sections 2.1 through 2.1.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply conventional known mechanical separation methods to waste materials because doing so would remove contaminants/impurities in the feedstocks used.
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 15-20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake (JPS49-107070A) in view of Taniguchi (JP2013-141625A). As the cited JP publications are in a non-English language, machine-translated versions of the publications will be cited to.
Regarding Claim 1, Miyake teaches methods of treating waste polymer mixtures via dissolving polymers and separating/removing insoluble substances (Abstract; Examples) construed as dissolving polymer in solvent for the removal of additives in plastics. Miyake teaches examples where polymer mixture is provided, dissolution in solvent occurs with stirring/mixing, and insolubles separated by filtration (Page 4).
Miyake differs from the subject matter claimed in that the particular mixing / dissolution device of the claims is not described. Taniguchi teaches agitation mixers suitable for the dissolution of polymer powders in solvent (Abstract; ¶ 22). The mixers utilize both stirring and vibratory mixing in order to prevent aggregated particles and provide uniform dispersibility (¶ 12, 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the agitation mixers of Taniguchi within the protocols of Miyake because doing so would provide excellent mixing/dispersibility characteristics when dissolving polymers as taught by Taniguchi.
Taniguchi teaches the mixers comprise a plurality of perforated stirring discs aligned parallel to each other in a stacked arrangement, each disc extending over a majority of the cross-sectional area of the reactor vessel; the perforations allowing the mixture to flow from a first end to second end through the disks (¶ 27, Figures 2A, 2B, 2C). A support holds the discs in position, whereby the discs are vibrated in the vertical direction upon use (¶ 27), reading on a support connected to a linear motion generator so that the discs are moved to oscillate at a frequency/amplitude, the linear motion aiding the dissolution of polymer material into solvent. While Figures 1 and 2b illustrate a funnel-shaped body where discs are vibrated, Taniguchi expressly teaches the inlet section can be cylindrical or similar shaped (¶ 23). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize mixing vessels with cylindrical bodies, thereby predictably affording workable polymer mixing/dissolution.
Regarding Claims 2-4, 12, 15, 17, 18, and 22, Miyake teaches embodiments where polyethylene products are dissolved in p-xylene solvent (b.p. 138 deg C) at 120 degrees C, where timeframes of roughly 5 or 14 minutes is required (Page 4).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Miyake teaches embodiments where a 5 wt% mixture of polymer and solvent is attained (Page 4).
Regarding Claim 7, while Taniguchi does not describe vessel volume, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the present case, the apparatus of Taniguchi is not seen to perform any differently if used at a reactor volume of 1,000 L or greater. Therefore, the disclosure of Taniguchi meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 16, Miyake teaches temperatures spanning 100-150 degrees C (Page 2), which overlaps the ranges claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a range within the claimed range because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Miyake suggests the claimed range. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amount, based on the teachings of Miyake. See MPEP 2123.
Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Miyake teaches polypropylene, polyethylene, or mixtures thereof (Page 2).
Regarding Claim 23, Taniguchi teaches a vertical arrangement (¶ 27, Figures 2A, 2B, 2C).
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake (JPS49-107070A) in view of Taniguchi (JP2013-141625A) and Vesavker (US 2017/0203470 A1). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
The discussion regarding Miyake and Taniguchi within ¶ 23-31 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Taniguchi differs from the subject matter claimed in that particular frequencies / amplitudes is not described within the mixers. Vesavker is also directed toward vibrating plate mixers for the purpose of mixing solids and liquids (Abstract; Figure 1). Vesavker teaches the frequency/amplitude is selected so as to achieve optimal mixing/separation of dispersed solids (¶ 17). Thus, Vesavker teaches the frequency/amplitude of such mixers are known result effective variables because changing them will clearly affect the degree by which the solid/liquid blend is agitated/mixed. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Case law holds that “discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discover workable/optimal frequency/amplitude parameters within the mixers of Taniguchi by routine experimentation within the scope of the present claims so as to produce desirable agitation/mixing characteristics.
Regarding Claim 24, Taniguchi differs from the subject matter claimed in that the mixers are not illustrated horizontally. Vesavker is also directed toward vibrating plate mixers for the purpose of mixing solids and liquids (Abstract; Figure 1). Vesavker teaches it was known in the art such mixers can be positioned either vertically or horizontally, whereby effective mixing occurs in either configuration (¶ 82). It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to utilize mixers in either vertical or horizontal orientations, thereby achieving the predictable result of effective mixing of liquids and solids as taught by Vesavker.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake (JPS49-107070A) in view of Taniguchi (JP2013-141625A) and Ragaert (Waste Management, 2017, 69, 24-58). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
The discussion regarding Miyake and Taniguchi within ¶ 23-31 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 21, Miyake differs from the subject matter claimed in that a first step involving mechanical separation of impurities is not described. Ragaert teaches various mechanical means of separating impurities from raw waste materials are known in the art for creating feedstocks, inclusive of separation of materials based on shape/size, removal of ferrous metal materials via magnets, or mechanical washing (Sections 2.1 through 2.1.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply conventional known mechanical separation methods to waste materials because doing so would remove contaminants/impurities in the feedstocks used.
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 15-20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizmoto (U.S. Pat. No. 4,031,039) in view of Taniguchi-2 (JP2019-081142A). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
Regarding Claim 1, Mizmoto teaches methods of treating waste polymer mixtures via selective dissolution / fractionation of polymer blends (Abstract; Examples) construed as dissolving polymer in solvent for the removal of additives (e.g. other polymers) in plastics. Mizmoto also teaches selectively dissolving polymers allows for removal of other additives/materials that are not dissolved along with the synthetic polymers (Col. 3, Line 54 to Col. 4, Line 2). Examples are taught where polymer mixture is provided, selective dissolution in solvent occurs with stirring/mixing, and insolubles separated by filtration (Col. 5-6).
Mizmoto differs from the subject matter claimed in that the particular mixing / dissolution device of the claims is not described. Taniguchi-2 teaches mixing devices comprising a plurality of parallel perforated agitation plates within a body to allow mixture to flow from one end to the other, each disc extending over a majority of the cross-sectional area of the reactor vessel (Abstract; Figures 5 and 2A; ¶ 22). Embodiments are taught where the mixing vessel has a cylindrical body of uniform cross-sectional area (Figure 4). The shaft connected to the plates exhibits reciprocating motion (¶ 21), which creates linear motion such that the discs are moved to oscillate at a first frequency and first amplitude. Taniguchi-2 teaches the mixers efficiently obtain uniform mixtures, particularly for liquids/powders (¶ 1,15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the agitation mixers of Taniguchi-2 within the processes of Mizmoto because doing so would afford uniform mixtures efficiently as taught by Taniguchi-2.
Regarding Claims 2-4, 12, 15, 17, 18, and 22, Mizmoto teaches embodiments where polyethylene products are dissolved in p-xylene solvent (b.p. 138 deg C) at 120 degrees C, where timeframes of roughly 5 or 14 minutes is required (Example 3).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Mizmoto teaches embodiments where 30 g of polymer mixture is treated with 400 mL p-xylene (density ~ 0.86 g/mL), suggesting roughly 8 wt% of polymer added to solvent.
Regarding Claim 7, while Taniguchi-2 does not describe vessel volume, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the present case, the apparatus of Taniguchi-2 is not seen to perform any differently if used at a reactor volume of 1,000 L or greater. Therefore, the disclosure of Taniguchi-2 meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 16, Mizmoto teaches temperatures spanning 90-150 degrees C (Col. 3, Lines 40-49), which overlaps the ranges claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a range within the claimed range because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Mizmoto suggests the claimed range. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amount, based on the teachings of Mizmoto. See MPEP 2123.
Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Mizmoto teaches the polymer blends can comprise mixtures of polyolefinic polymers, such as polyethylene and polypropylene (Col. 1, Lines 18-27).
Regarding Claim 23, Taniguchi-2 illustrates the plurality of discs aligned parallel to each other in a vertical stack, where the mixture flows vertically upward through the discs (Figure 5).
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizmoto (U.S. Pat. No. 4,031,039) in view of Taniguchi-2 (JP2019-081142A) and Vesavker (US 2017/0203470 A1). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
The discussion regarding Mizmoto and Taniguchi-2 within ¶ 40-47 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Taniguchi-2 differs from the subject matter claimed in that particular frequencies / amplitudes is not described within the mixers. Vesavker is also directed toward vibrating plate mixers for the purpose of mixing solids and liquids (Abstract; Figure 1). Vesavker teaches the frequency/amplitude is selected so as to achieve optimal mixing/separation of dispersed solids (¶ 17). Thus, Vesavker teaches the frequency/amplitude of such mixers are known result effective variables because changing them will clearly affect the degree by which the solid/liquid blend is agitated/mixed. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Case law holds that “discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discover workable/optimal frequency/amplitude parameters within the mixers of Taniguchi-2 by routine experimentation within the scope of the present claims so as to produce desirable agitation/mixing characteristics.
Regarding Claim 24, Taniguchi-2 differs from the subject matter claimed in that the mixers are not illustrated horizontally. Vesavker is also directed toward vibrating plate mixers for the purpose of mixing solids and liquids (Abstract; Figure 1). Vesavker teaches it was known in the art such mixers can be positioned either vertically or horizontally, whereby effective mixing occurs in either configuration (¶ 82). It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to utilize mixers in either vertical or horizontal orientations, thereby achieving the predictable result of effective mixing of liquids and solids as taught by Vesavker.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizmoto (U.S. Pat. No. 4,031,039) in view of Taniguchi-2 (JP2019-081142A) and Ragaert (Waste Management, 2017, 69, 24-58). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
The discussion regarding Mizmoto and Taniguchi-2 within ¶ 40-47 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 21, Mizmoto differs from the subject matter claimed in that a first step involving mechanical separation of impurities is not described. Ragaert teaches various mechanical means of separating impurities from raw waste materials are known in the art for creating feedstocks, inclusive of separation of materials based on shape/size, removal of ferrous metal materials via magnets, or mechanical washing (Sections 2.1 through 2.1.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply conventional known mechanical separation methods to waste materials because doing so would remove contaminants/impurities in the feedstocks used.
Claim(s) 1-7, 12, 15-20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake (JPS49-107070A) in view of Taniguchi-2 (JP2019-081142A). As the cited JP publications are in a non-English language, machine-translated versions of the publications will be cited to.
Regarding Claim 1, Miyake teaches methods of treating waste polymer mixtures via dissolving polymers and separating/removing insoluble substances (Abstract; Examples) construed as dissolving polymer in solvent for the removal of additives in plastics. Miyake teaches examples where polymer mixture is provided, dissolution in solvent occurs with stirring/mixing, and insolubles separated by filtration (Page 4).
Miyake differs from the subject matter claimed in that the particular mixing / dissolution device of the claims is not described. Taniguchi-2 teaches mixing devices comprising a plurality of parallel perforated agitation plates within a body to allow mixture to flow from one end to the other, each disc extending over a majority of the cross-sectional area of the reactor vessel (Abstract; Figures 5 and 2A; ¶ 22). Embodiments are taught where the mixing vessel has a cylindrical body of uniform cross-sectional area (Figure 4). The shaft connected to the plates exhibits reciprocating motion (¶ 21), which creates linear motion such that the discs are moved to oscillate at a first frequency and first amplitude. Taniguchi-2 teaches the mixers efficiently obtain uniform mixtures, particularly for liquids/powders (¶ 1,15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the agitation mixers of Taniguchi-2 within the processes of Miyake because doing so would afford uniform mixtures efficiently as taught by Taniguchi-2.
Regarding Claims 2-4, 12, 15, 17, 18, and 22, Miyake teaches embodiments where polyethylene products are dissolved in p-xylene solvent (b.p. 138 deg C) at 120 degrees C, where timeframes of roughly 5 or 14 minutes is required (Page 4).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Miyake teaches embodiments where a 5 wt% mixture of polymer and solvent is attained (Page 4).
Regarding Claim 7, while Taniguchi-2 does not describe vessel volume, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the present case, the apparatus of Taniguchi-2 is not seen to perform any differently if used at a reactor volume of 1,000 L or greater. Therefore, the disclosure of Taniguchi-2 meets the claim.
Regarding Claim 16, Miyake teaches temperatures spanning 100-150 degrees C (Page 2), which overlaps the ranges claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a range within the claimed range because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Miyake suggests the claimed range. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amount, based on the teachings of Miyake. See MPEP 2123.
Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Miyake teaches polypropylene, polyethylene, or mixtures thereof (Page 2).
Regarding Claim 23, Taniguchi-2 illustrates the plurality of discs aligned parallel to each other in a vertical stack, where the mixture flows vertically upward through the discs (Figure 5).
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake (JPS49-107070A) in view of Taniguchi-2 (JP2019-081142A) and Vesavker (US 2017/0203470 A1). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
The discussion regarding Miyake and Taniguchi-2 within ¶ 56-63 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Taniguchi-2 differs from the subject matter claimed in that particular frequencies / amplitudes is not described within the mixers. Vesavker is also directed toward vibrating plate mixers for the purpose of mixing solids and liquids (Abstract; Figure 1). Vesavker teaches the frequency/amplitude is selected so as to achieve optimal mixing/separation of dispersed solids (¶ 17). Thus, Vesavker teaches the frequency/amplitude of such mixers are known result effective variables because changing them will clearly affect the degree by which the solid/liquid blend is agitated/mixed. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Case law holds that “discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discover workable/optimal frequency/amplitude parameters within the mixers of Taniguchi-2 by routine experimentation within the scope of the present claims so as to produce desirable agitation/mixing characteristics.
Regarding Claim 24, Taniguchi-2 differs from the subject matter claimed in that the mixers are not illustrated horizontally. Vesavker is also directed toward vibrating plate mixers for the purpose of mixing solids and liquids (Abstract; Figure 1). Vesavker teaches it was known in the art such mixers can be positioned either vertically or horizontally, whereby effective mixing occurs in either configuration (¶ 82). It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to utilize mixers in either vertical or horizontal orientations, thereby achieving the predictable result of effective mixing of liquids and solids as taught by Vesavker.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake (JPS49-107070A) in view of Taniguchi-2 (JP2019-081142A) and Ragaert (Waste Management, 2017, 69, 24-58). As the cited JP publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
The discussion regarding Miyake and Taniguchi-2 within ¶ 56-63 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 21, Miyake differs from the subject matter claimed in that a first step involving mechanical separation of impurities is not described. Ragaert teaches various mechanical means of separating impurities from raw waste materials are known in the art for creating feedstocks, inclusive of separation of materials based on shape/size, removal of ferrous metal materials via magnets, or mechanical washing (Sections 2.1 through 2.1.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply conventional known mechanical separation methods to waste materials because doing so would remove contaminants/impurities in the feedstocks used.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant generally argues Taniguchi uses funnel-shaped introducing portion “2”, which is not a cylindrical vessel having a uniform cross-sectional area. This is not found persuasive as Taniguchi teaches the feeding portion “2” is not required to be funnel-shaped, but can be cylindrical or similarly shaped (¶ 23). The use of cylindrical mixers would alternatively have been obvious in view of Taniguchi-2.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759