DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of renin-angiotensin inhibitors, temperature-responsive polymer, and hyaluronic acid in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Upon further considerations, the species election requirement for the different polymers (claims 9, 11, and 17) and additional immunomodulatory agents is withdrawn.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 5-7, 10, 12-16, 18-20, 25, 26, 28-32, 35, 36, 39-43, and 46-48 have been amended.
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11, 17, 21-24, 27, 33, 34, 37, 38, 44, 45, and 49 are pending and under examination.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 8 is objected to because of the recitation “TGFβR1R1”. Correction to “TGFβR1” is required.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11, 17, 21-24, 27, 32, 34, 37, 38, 45, and 49 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 11, 18, 19, 22, 25, 30, 32, 33, and 42 of copending Application No. 18/274,754 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets encompass the same method for treating cancer by administering the same composition comprising hydrogel and immunomodulatory molecules. Application claims 7 and 11 define that the immunomodulatory molecule could be an angiotensin II receptor inhibitor (i.e., a modulator of myeloid-derived suppressor/neutrophil function, as recited in the instant claims 1-3 and 8) and/or a modulator of innate immunity (such as a TLR7/8 agonist).
The application claim 1 recites a method comprising the step of administering to target site comprising a lymph dissection site; application claims 19 and 22 define that the method also comprises tumor resection and administering the composition at the tumor resection site. It is noted that the term “comprising” recited in the instant claims does not exclude the additional steps of dissecting a lymph node and administering the composition at the lymph node dissection site, as recited in the application claims.
Thus, the patent claims and the application claims are obvious variants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
6. Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “adenosine pathway (CD39, CD73, A2AR, A2BR)”. It is noted that CD39, CD73, A2AR, and A2BR are only examples of some of the multiple species belonging to the genus “adenosine pathway” (Allard, Nature, 2020, 17: 611-629; see p. 611, column 2 through p. 612, column 2). Thus, the recitation of within parenthesis renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether it is part of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 also recites “CC chemokine inhibitors (e.g., CCR inhibitors, CCL inhibitors), CXC chemokine inhibitors (e.g., CXCR inhibitors, CXCL inhibitors)”. The considerations above also apply to these recitations, as it is unclear whether the examples within the parenthesis are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 17 is indefinite as being both incomplete, by its dependence on a cancelled claim; and for lack of antecedent basis for its limitation which is not present in the cancelled base claim.
Thus, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined and the claims are indefinite.
For examination purposes, claim 17 is reasonably interpreted as depending upon claim 11. Amending claim 17 to make it dependent upon claim 11 would obviate its rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 21-24, 27, 33, 34, 37, 38, 45, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldberg et al. (WO 18/045058; cited on the IDS filed on 08/28/2023).
Goldberg et al. teach a method for treating cancer in a subject, the method comprising intraoperatively implanting a hyaluronic acid (HA) hydrogel comprising an innate immune response activator into a tumor rejection site in the subject; the method is performed without T-cell adoptive transfer; the activator of the innate immune response is a modulator of myeloid-derived suppressor cells (MDSCs) (claims 1, 21, 23, 24, 27, 34, and 49) (see [0002]; [0012]; [0017]; [0058]; [0168]-[0169]; [0174]; [0186]; [0266]-[0267]; [0630]; [0636]-[0637]; [0641]; [0717]-[0720]).
With respect to claim 22, Goldberg et al. teach implanting the hydrogel after the removal of more than 99% of the tumor, i.e., the rejection site is characterized by the absence of gross residual tumor antigen (see [0638]; [0716]).
With respect to claim 33, Goldberg et al. teach that the hydrogel has a storage modulus of 500-2000 Pa and it is biodegradable in vivo (see [0016]; [0558]; [0663]).
With respect to claims 37 and 38, Goldberg et al. teach that the hydrogel could further comprise an activator of adaptive immune responses (see [0166]; [0168]).
With respect to claim 45, Goldberg et al. teach that the hydrogel extends the modulator release and more modulator is found at the tumor rejection site at 24 h as compared to the modulator administered as a solution (see [0170]).
Thus, Goldberg et al. teach all claim limitations and anticipate the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-4, 21-24, 27, 33, 34, 37, 38, 44, 45, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al., in view of Lang et al. (Clin. Cancer Res., 2018: 24: 4834-4844).
The teachings of Goldberg et al. are applied as above for claims 1, 21-24, 27, 33, 34, 37, 38, 45, and 49. Although Goldberg et al. teach an MDSCs modulator, Goldberg et al. do not specifically teach that the MDSCs are neutrophils (claims 2 and 3). Lang et al. teach that the CD66b+/CD16+/CD16+ PMN-MDSC neutrophils have the highest arginase I expression and activity, and exhibit very strong T-cell-suppressive activity characterized by suppressed T-cell proliferation and cytokine production. Lang et al. teach that arginase I pathway is the major pathway involved in inhibition by the CD66b+/CD16+/CD16+ PMN-MDSCs; using arginase inhibitors restores T-cell activity. Lang et al. suggest treating cancer by targeting the CD66b+/CD16+/CD16+ PMN-MDSCs (see Abstract; p. 4839; p. 4843, column 1 and column 2, last paragraph).
Based on these teachings, one of skill in the art would have found obvious to use an arginase inhibitor as the MDSCs modulator in Goldberg et al. to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a composition capable of treating cancer by reversing the immunosuppressive activity of the CD66b+/CD11b+/CD16+ PMN-MDSC neutrophils. By using this composition as taught by Goldberg et al., one of skill in the art would have restored the T-cells cytokine production (claim 4).
With respect to claim 44, based on the teachings in the cited prior art, one of skill in the art would have reasonably concluded that the hydrogel comprising the arginase inhibitor capable of reversing the immunosuppressive activity of neutrophils would provide enhanced survival rate in subjects with or without metastases compared to administering the hydrogel by itself.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious at the time of its effective filing date.
11. Claims 1-4, 8, 21-24, 27, 33, 34, 37, 38, 44, 45, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al. taken with Lang et al., in further view of Nakamura et al. (Cancer Science, 2018, 109: 54-64).
The teachings of Goldberg et al. and Lang et al. are applied as above for claims 1-4, 21-24, 27, 33, 34, 37, 38, 44, 45, and 49. Goldberg et al. and Lang et al. do not teach a renin-angiotensin system inhibitor (claim 8). Nakamura et al. teach that the angiotensin II receptor blockers (ARBs) significantly reduces the immunosuppressive activity of the CD11b+ MDSCs by decreasing the production of arginase and immunosuppressive cytokines; Nakamura et al. suggests using ARBs in cancer therapy (see Abstract; p. 58, column 2, third full paragraph). Based on these teachings, one of skill in the art would have found obvious to replace the arginase inhibitor with an ARB, to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a composition capable of treating cancer by reversing the immunosuppressive activity, including the immunosuppressive activity of the CD66b+/CD11b+/CD16+ PMN-MDSC neutrophils.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious at the time of its effective filing date.
12. Claims 1, 21-24, 27, 33, 34, 37, 38, 45, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al., in view of Chen et al. (Int. J. Mol. Sci., 2018, 19: 1-17).
The teachings of Goldberg et al. are applied as above for claims 1, 21-24, 27, 33, 34, 37, 38, 45, and 49. Goldberg et al. do not teach a thermosensitive hydrogel (claims 9, 11, and 17). Chen et al. teach thermosensitive hydrogels comprising HA suitable for the in vivo controlled release of anti-cancer therapeutic agents (see Abstract). One of skill in the art would have found obvious to use the thermosensitive HA-comprising hydrogel in the method taught by Goldberg et al., to achieve the predictable result of delivering the MDSCs modulator to the tumor rejection site.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious at the time of its effective filing date.
Examiner Comments
13. It is suggested that claim 44 be amended as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the subject is an animal with spontaneous metastases and wherein administering the combination at the tumor resection site results in a higher percent survival rate compared to administering the biomaterial preparation without the modulator of myeloid-derived suppressive cell function, as assessed at 2 months or 3 months after the administration.
14. No claim is allowed. No claim is free of prior art.
/ILEANA POPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633