Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 7 – 12, 14 and 15 in the reply filed on 06/30/25 is acknowledged. Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, a method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/30/25.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 7 – 8 and 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 1,127,771)
Regarding claim 7 and 14, Jones teaches a filter (meeting claim 14) for a pipe [Title]. Jones teaches that the filter is made of a metal wool [Page 1, line 15 – 20], meeting the claimed limitation of a metal porous body with a three-dimensional mesh-like skeleton. Jones states that the shape of filter can made into whatever shape is desired/suitable [Page 1, line 42 – 45].
While Jones does not explicitly teach the size in mm of the metal porous body or its shape, changes to size/proportion and shape are a matter of choice to an ordinarily skilled artisan and are prima facie obviousness in view of the prior art (MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B), absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Jones teaches a filter (meeting claim 15) for a pipe [Title]. Jones teaches that the filter is made of a metal wool [Page 1, line 15 – 20], meeting the claimed limitation of a metal porous body with a three-dimensional mesh-like skeleton. Jones states that the shape of filter can made into whatever shape is desired/suitable [Page 1, line 42 – 45].
Jones explicitly shows that the filter can be formed into a shape with a circular bottom that arches/curves to an apex point [Fig 2, 3, and 4], meeting the claimed shape.
While Jones does not explicitly teach the size in mm of the metal wool filter, changes to size/proportion are a matter of choice to an ordinarily skilled artisan and are prima facie obviousness in view of the prior art (MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B), absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results.
Claims 7 – 12 and 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno (US2017/069918)
Regarding claims 7 – 10, Okuno teaches a metal porous body with a three-dimensional mesh-like structure [0007, 0008], meeting the claimed limitation of a metal porous body with a three-dimensional mesh-like skeleton. Okuno teaches that the metal porous body has composition of a majority nickel with the inclusion of at least tin and chromium [0078], meeting the claimed limitation/composition of claims 9 – 10.
While Okuno does not explicitly teach the size in mm of the metal porous body or its shape (as claimed in claims 7 and 8), changes to size/proportion and shape are a matter of choice to an ordinarily skilled artisan and are prima facie obviousness in view of the prior art (MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B), absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 11 – 12, Okuno teaches the invention as applied in claims 7 – 8. Okuno teaches an example in which the metal porous body has an average pore size of 400 – 600 µm [0026], which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 14 – 15, Okuno teaches the invention as applied in claims 7 – 8. Okuno states that the metal porous body can be used in filters [0135], meeting claims 14 – 15.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5,449,459 – Metal filter system with hemispherical dome
CN208287657 – Additive manufacturing of dome filter with multiple layers and pore size
KR100804142 – Metal foam structure for exhaust gas based on nickel alloy with overlapping pore size. The filter controlled to minimize pressure drop.
KR2019/0033127 – Metal filter with hemispherical shape or hexahedron shape
Conclusion
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738