DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-17 are pending for examination in the application filed 02/27/2026. Claims 1 and 10-11 are currently amended, claims 7 and 14 are cancelled, and claims 15-17 are new.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the present application as a national stage entry of PCT/JP2020/036625, international filing date: 09/28/2020.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Takahashi and Cotte have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on page 10 of the Remarks filed 02/27/2026 that Cotte “seemed to be to determine whether an inside of an object had been unacceptably damaged during transit” which “seemed irrelevant to the claimed ‘determine whether the object is the pickup target’”. As described in the advisory action filed 02/10/2026, Cotte teaches "it is possible to check the integrity of the objects being dispatched by monitoring the outer appearance of the objects. A process is therefore obtained with a system of the invention which makes dispatch secure, ensuring reliable operation for users sending objects via the dispatching system of the invention" [0031]. For further clarification, please see Figure 2 of Cotte:
Figure 2 shows an object within a package. The sensor, or camera (4), is within the package to image the object, it is not within the object. Please see the updated 35 USC § 103 rejections below.
Applicant claims on page 13 of the Remarks filed 02/27/2026 that the advisory action filed 02/10/2026 did not respond to the argument that Cotte “regards imaging an inside of an object for whether the object becomes damaged in transit and did not regard the features of ‘whether the object is the pickup target’ much less what to do when a device ‘did not determine that the object is the pickup target’ of claim 6” on page 13 of the Remarks filed 02/27/2026. Firstly, Examiner responded to Applicant’s incorrect assertions that Cotte images the inside of an object within the Advisory Action filed 02/10/2026 and in further detail above. Secondly, in the Final Rejection filed 11/03/2025, Takahashi was mapped to the limitations described in claim 6, not Cotte, which Applicant did not address in their arguments. Please see the updated 35 USC § 103 rejections below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Takahashi, Cotte, and Goja have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
New claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, an outside appearance of an outside of the pickup target is not described in the specification. Regarding claim 17, the pickup target is a suitcase is not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 10-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High (US20180215544A1) in view of Cotte (US20200051014A1) and Woods (US20020152174A1).
Regarding claim 1, High teaches a pickup support device (Fig. 3) comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions (memory 306); and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (processor 302) to:
receive a pickup request including a pickup position, a destination address of a package, and first imaging data of a pickup target from a requester terminal ([0011] Described in detail herein is an automated fulfilment system including a computing system programmed to receive requests from disparate sources for physical objects disposed at one or more locations in a facility. [0013] The autonomous robot devices can be configured to query the database using the identifiers for the physical objects in the group to retrieve the set of object locations at which the physical objects in group are disposed; navigate autonomously through the facility to the set of object locations in response to operation of the drive motor by the controller; locate and scan one or more machine readable elements encoded with the one or more identifiers; detect, via an image captured by the image capture device, that the group of physical objects are disposed at the set of locations; pick up a quantity of physical objects in the group using the articulated arm, carry and navigate with the quantity of physical objects in the group to the storage containers located at a different location in the facility. [0026] The instructions can include an address(es) to which the storage containers are being delivered. [0039] The robotic device 260 can capture an image of the set of like physical objects and extract a set of attributes using machine vision and/or video analytics. The robotic device 260 can compare the extracted set of attributes with the stored set of attributes to confirm the set of like physical objects are same as the ones included in the instructions. The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects);
acquire first information regarding an appearance of the pickup target from the first imaging data of the pickup target ([0022] stored attributes associated with the physical objects 104 and 106. [0039] The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects);
acquire, based on obtaining second imaging data of an object placed at the pickup position, second information regarding an appearance of the object at the pickup position indicated in the pickup request, and the second imaging data is imaged by a worker terminal ([0022] The autonomous robot device 120 can capture images of the sets of like physical objects 104 and 106 and can use machine vision and/or video analytics to confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 are present on the shelving unit 102. The autonomous robot device 120 can also confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 include the physical objects associated with the identifiers by comparing attributes extracted from the images of the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 in the shelving unit and stored attributes associated with the physical objects 104 and 106. [0039] The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects);
determine whether the object is the pickup target, based on the first information regarding the appearance of the pickup target and the second information regarding the appearance of the object at the pickup position indicated in the pickup request ([0039] The robotic device 260 can compare the extracted set of attributes with the stored set of attributes to confirm the set of like physical objects are same as the ones included in the instructions);
output a determination result to the worker terminal ([0058] In some embodiments, the routing engine can determine the autonomous robot device has picked up the incorrect, damaged or decomposing physical objects based on the decoded electrical signals. The routing engine can redirect the autonomous robot device to pick up different physical objects in response to determining the picked up objects are incorrect, damaged and/or decomposing).
High does not explicitly teach receive a pickup request including a pickup date and first imaging data of a pickup target imaged by a pickup requester from a requester terminal; receive a pickup completion notification from the worker terminal; and transmit the pickup completion notification and the second imaging data used to identify the pickup target to the requester terminal.
Cotte, in the same field of endeavor of image analysis for package transfer, teaches receive a pickup request including a pickup date and first imaging data of a pickup target imaged by a pickup requester from a requester terminal ([0029] transmit a request for image capture sent to image sensor(s) at each predetermined key step of dispatch; [0030] receive images, via the computing application, relating to said object(s) taken by the image sensor(s). [0032] According to one preferred solution, the predetermined key steps are selected from the following group: [0033] handover of a package from one individual to another; [0034] opening and/or closing of the package; [0035] request by an individual; [0036] request by an administrator of the platform. [0037] It is noted that, in general, checking of the image of the object can be made at any time and in particular: [0038] on request (triggered by an authorized element in the chain: sender, deposit-holder, traveller, recipient, but also police, customs etc.). [0204] With this process, the user having an object to be dispatched connects to the computing platform of the system to access the user interface to enter: [0205] a departure date, from a geolocated place (insofar as the user has knowledge of the closest place of deposit, otherwise the computing platform can define this place of deposit in relation to the user's geolocation e.g. as a function of the user's home or workplace);
receive a pickup completion notification from the worker terminal; and transmit the pickup completion notification and the second imaging data used to identify the pickup target to the requester terminal ([0220] At the departure place of deposit, the traveller discloses his/her identity with the deposit-holder via the computing application downloaded into his/her smartphone and transmits to the deposit-holder the identification of the dispatch package that he/she has just collected. [0059] The invention also concerns a method for tracking accepted responsibility for an object dispatched using a system such as previously described, characterized in that it comprises the steps of: [0060] activating the computing application authorizing exchange of data between the computing platform and a computing unit held by an individual; [0061] receiving, by the computing platform and via the computing application contained in computing units, at least two successive images of said object(s) and corresponding to two different instants of dispatch time; [0062] comparing the two successive images; [0063] determining whether an abnormal level of variation between the two images has been reached. [0037] It is noted that, in general, checking of the image of the object can be made at any time and in particular: [0038] on request (triggered by an authorized element in the chain: sender, deposit-holder, traveller, recipient, but also police, customs etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of High with the teachings of Cotte to receive a pickup request from a requester terminal, receive a pickup completion notification from the worker terminal, and transmit the pickup completion notification and second imaging data used to identify the pickup target to the requester terminal because "it is possible to check the integrity of the objects being dispatched by monitoring the outer appearance of the objects. A process is therefore obtained with a system of the invention which makes dispatch secure, ensuring reliable operation for users sending objects via the dispatching system of the invention" [0031] "by entrusting it to one of the individuals within a collaborative system and to have it sent to a destination point via this individual alone or via relay with one or more other individuals within the collaborative system" [0015].
High does not explicitly teach transmit, to the worker terminal, information to be printed on a pickup slip to be attached to the pickup target after the pickup target is identified, the information including identification information identifying the package and the destination address of the package.
Woods, in the same field of endeavor of object pickup, teaches transmit, to the worker terminal, information to be printed on a pickup slip to be attached to the pickup target after the pickup target is identified, the information including identification information identifying the package and the destination address of the package ([0049] A part of the sales agreement, one or both of the buyer 410 and seller 420 communicate the details of the sales agreement to the facilitator 430. In this example, part of the function of the facilitator 430 is as an escrow agent for the transaction. Therefore, information sent to the facilitator 430 will include details about the product sold, the sales price, addresses of the buyer and seller, the length of any inspection period and any other terms and conditions upon which the sale may be conditioned. [0023] In accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, a shipping system is disclosed that allows a facilitator to request that a carrier pick up a package from a first location and deliver the package to a second location…and the carrier shipping application further configured to generate shipping label information based at least in part on the shipping information received from the facilitator; a printing device located at the local carrier facility configured to receive the shipping label information from the carrier shipping application, and print a shipping label based at least in part on the shipping label information; and a carrier that receives the shipping label from the printing device, affixes the shipping label to the package at the first location and delivers the package to the second location. [0056] In general, the shipping information that must be provided by the facilitator 430 to generate any shipping label includes a minimum of an origination address, a destination address and information about the size and/or weight of the package to be shipped. Other information such as the package tracking number, routing code and carrier service level will also be provided to the label generation application by the anywhere shipping application 460).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of High with the teachings of Woods to transmit information to be printed on a pickup slip to be attached to the pickup target after it is identified because "the step of printing a shipping label includes identifying a local carrier facility responsible for pickup at the first location" [0026] and "The package tracking number is included on the shipping label of the package and provided to the facilitator 430. As is known in the art, parties use the package tracking number to track the shipment status as the package moves through the carrier system. In the context of an online escrow transaction, the package tracking number is used to identify when a package is delivered to the buyer address. The date and time of delivery as identified by the package tracking number can be used to trigger the initiation of the inspection period" [0054].
Regarding claim 2, High, Cotte and Woods teach the device of claim 1. High further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine, at least by comparing the first imaging data of the pickup target with the second imaging data of the object placed at the pickup position, whether the object is the pickup target ([0013] detect, via an image captured by the image capture device, that the group of physical objects are disposed at the set of locations; pick up a quantity of physical objects in the group using the articulated arm. [0022] The autonomous robot device 120 can capture images of the sets of like physical objects 104 and 106 and can use machine vision and/or video analytics to confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 are present on the shelving unit 102. The autonomous robot device 120 can also confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 include the physical objects associated with the identifiers by comparing attributes extracted from the images of the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 in the shelving unit and stored attributes associated with the physical objects 104 and 106. [0039] The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects).
Regarding claim 4, High, Cotte and Woods teach the device of claim 1. High teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine, at least by comparing a shape of the pickup target with a shape of the object, whether the object is the pickup target ([0019] The sensors 142 can be configured to detect a set of attributes associated with the physical objects in the sets of like physical objects 104-110 disposed on the shelving unit 102. The set of attributes can be one or more of: quantity, weight, temperature, size, shape, color, object type, and moisture attributes. [0022] The autonomous robot device 120 can capture images of the sets of like physical objects 104 and 106 and can use machine vision and/or video analytics to confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 are present on the shelving unit 102. The autonomous robot device 120 can also confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 include the physical objects associated with the identifiers by comparing attributes extracted from the images of the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 in the shelving unit and stored attributes associated with the physical objects 104 and 106).
Regarding claim 5, High, Cotte and Woods teach the device of claim 1. High further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: instruct, based on the pickup request, a robot to perform pickup at the pickup position ([0012] The autonomous robot devices can be configured to receive instructions from the computing system to retrieve a group of the physical objects, determine a set of object locations of the physical objects in the group, autonomously retrieve each of the physical objects in the group from the set of object locations and deposit the physical objects in the group in storage containers);
and notify the robot of the determination result, wherein the robot is configured to transmit, to the pickup support device, the second information regarding the appearance of the object acquired at the pickup position, and to pick up the object based on the pickup support device determining that the object is the pickup target ([0039] The routing engine 220 can assign one or more groups of requested physical object to different robotic device 260 disposed in the facility…The robotic device 260 can navigate to the physical objects and…retrieve stored attributes associated with the set of like physical objects in the physical objects database 235. The robotic device 260 can capture an image of the set of like physical objects and extract a set of attributes using machine vision and/or video analytics. The robotic device 260 can compare the extracted set of attributes with the stored set of attributes to confirm the set of like physical objects are same as the ones included in the instructions. The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects. The types of machine vision and/or video analytics used by the routing module 230 can be but are not limited to: Stitching/Registration, Filtering, Thresholding, Pixel counting, Segmentation, Inpainting, Edge detection, Color Analysis, Blob discovery & manipulation, Neural net processing, Pattern recognition, Barcode Data Matrix and “2D barcode” reading, Optical character recognition and Gauging/Metrology. [0040] The robotic devices 260 can pick up a specified quantity of physical objects in the one or more group of physical objects and carry the physical objects to a location of the facility including storage containers).
Regarding claim 8, High, Cotte and Woods teach the device of claim 1. High further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine, whether the second imaging data indicates the object at the pickup position ([0013] The autonomous robot devices can be configured to query the database using the identifiers for the physical objects in the group to retrieve the set of object locations at which the physical objects in group are disposed; navigate autonomously through the facility to the set of object locations in response to operation of the drive motor by the controller; locate and scan one or more machine readable elements encoded with the one or more identifiers; detect, via an image captured by the image capture device, that the group of physical objects are disposed at the set of locations; pick up a quantity of physical objects in the group using the articulated arm).
Regarding claim 10, High teaches a pickup support method (Fig. 4) comprising:
receiving a pickup request including a pickup position, a destination address of a package, and first imaging data of a pickup target from a requester terminal ([0011] Described in detail herein is an automated fulfilment system including a computing system programmed to receive requests from disparate sources for physical objects disposed at one or more locations in a facility. [0013] The autonomous robot devices can be configured to query the database using the identifiers for the physical objects in the group to retrieve the set of object locations at which the physical objects in group are disposed; navigate autonomously through the facility to the set of object locations in response to operation of the drive motor by the controller; locate and scan one or more machine readable elements encoded with the one or more identifiers; detect, via an image captured by the image capture device, that the group of physical objects are disposed at the set of locations; pick up a quantity of physical objects in the group using the articulated arm, carry and navigate with the quantity of physical objects in the group to the storage containers located at a different location in the facility. [0026] The instructions can include an address(es) to which the storage containers are being delivered. [0039] The robotic device 260 can capture an image of the set of like physical objects and extract a set of attributes using machine vision and/or video analytics. The robotic device 260 can compare the extracted set of attributes with the stored set of attributes to confirm the set of like physical objects are same as the ones included in the instructions. The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects);
acquiring first information regarding an appearance of the pickup target from the first imaging data of the pickup target ([0022] stored attributes associated with the physical objects 104 and 106. [0039] The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects);
acquiring, based on obtaining second imaging data of an object placed at the pickup position, second information regarding an appearance of the object at the pickup position indicated in the pickup request, and the second imaging data is imaged by a worker terminal ([0022] The autonomous robot device 120 can capture images of the sets of like physical objects 104 and 106 and can use machine vision and/or video analytics to confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 are present on the shelving unit 102. The autonomous robot device 120 can also confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 include the physical objects associated with the identifiers by comparing attributes extracted from the images of the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 in the shelving unit and stored attributes associated with the physical objects 104 and 106. [0039] The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects);
determining whether the object is the pickup target, based on the first information regarding the appearance of the pickup target and the second information regarding the appearance of the object at the pickup position indicated in the pickup request ([0039] The robotic device 260 can compare the extracted set of attributes with the stored set of attributes to confirm the set of like physical objects are same as the ones included in the instructions);
outputting a determination result to the worker terminal ([0058] In some embodiments, the routing engine can determine the autonomous robot device has picked up the incorrect, damaged or decomposing physical objects based on the decoded electrical signals. The routing engine can redirect the autonomous robot device to pick up different physical objects in response to determining the picked up objects are incorrect, damaged and/or decomposing).
High does not explicitly teach receiving a pickup request including a pickup date and first imaging data of a pickup target imaged by a pickup requester from a requester terminal; receiving a pickup completion notification from the worker terminal; and transmitting the pickup completion notification and the second imaging data used to identify the pickup target to the requester terminal.
Cotte, in the same field of endeavor of image analysis for package transfer, teaches receiving a pickup request including a pickup date and first imaging data of a pickup target imaged by a pickup requester from a requester terminal ([0029] transmit a request for image capture sent to image sensor(s) at each predetermined key step of dispatch; [0030] receive images, via the computing application, relating to said object(s) taken by the image sensor(s). [0032] According to one preferred solution, the predetermined key steps are selected from the following group: [0033] handover of a package from one individual to another; [0034] opening and/or closing of the package; [0035] request by an individual; [0036] request by an administrator of the platform. [0037] It is noted that, in general, checking of the image of the object can be made at any time and in particular: [0038] on request (triggered by an authorized element in the chain: sender, deposit-holder, traveller, recipient, but also police, customs etc.). [0204] With this process, the user having an object to be dispatched connects to the computing platform of the system to access the user interface to enter: [0205] a departure date, from a geolocated place (insofar as the user has knowledge of the closest place of deposit, otherwise the computing platform can define this place of deposit in relation to the user's geolocation e.g. as a function of the user's home or workplace);
receiving a pickup completion notification from the worker terminal; and transmitting the pickup completion notification and the second imaging data used to identify the pickup target to the requester terminal ([0220] At the departure place of deposit, the traveller discloses his/her identity with the deposit-holder via the computing application downloaded into his/her smartphone and transmits to the deposit-holder the identification of the dispatch package that he/she has just collected. [0059] The invention also concerns a method for tracking accepted responsibility for an object dispatched using a system such as previously described, characterized in that it comprises the steps of: [0060] activating the computing application authorizing exchange of data between the computing platform and a computing unit held by an individual; [0061] receiving, by the computing platform and via the computing application contained in computing units, at least two successive images of said object(s) and corresponding to two different instants of dispatch time; [0062] comparing the two successive images; [0063] determining whether an abnormal level of variation between the two images has been reached. [0037] It is noted that, in general, checking of the image of the object can be made at any time and in particular: [0038] on request (triggered by an authorized element in the chain: sender, deposit-holder, traveller, recipient, but also police, customs etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of High with the teachings of Cotte to receive a pickup request from a requester terminal, receive a pickup completion notification from the worker terminal, and transmit the pickup completion notification and second imaging data used to identify the pickup target to the requester terminal because "it is possible to check the integrity of the objects being dispatched by monitoring the outer appearance of the objects. A process is therefore obtained with a system of the invention which makes dispatch secure, ensuring reliable operation for users sending objects via the dispatching system of the invention" [0031] "by entrusting it to one of the individuals within a collaborative system and to have it sent to a destination point via this individual alone or via relay with one or more other individuals within the collaborative system" [0015].
High does not explicitly teach transmit, to the worker terminal, information to be printed on a pickup slip to be attached to the pickup target after the pickup target is identified, the information including identification information identifying the package and the destination address of the package.
Woods, in the same field of endeavor of object pickup, teaches transmit, to the worker terminal, information to be printed on a pickup slip to be attached to the pickup target after the pickup target is identified, the information including identification information identifying the package and the destination address of the package ([0049] A part of the sales agreement, one or both of the buyer 410 and seller 420 communicate the details of the sales agreement to the facilitator 430. In this example, part of the function of the facilitator 430 is as an escrow agent for the transaction. Therefore, information sent to the facilitator 430 will include details about the product sold, the sales price, addresses of the buyer and seller, the length of any inspection period and any other terms and conditions upon which the sale may be conditioned. [0023] In accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, a shipping system is disclosed that allows a facilitator to request that a carrier pick up a package from a first location and deliver the package to a second location…and the carrier shipping application further configured to generate shipping label information based at least in part on the shipping information received from the facilitator; a printing device located at the local carrier facility configured to receive the shipping label information from the carrier shipping application, and print a shipping label based at least in part on the shipping label information; and a carrier that receives the shipping label from the printing device, affixes the shipping label to the package at the first location and delivers the package to the second location. [0056] In general, the shipping information that must be provided by the facilitator 430 to generate any shipping label includes a minimum of an origination address, a destination address and information about the size and/or weight of the package to be shipped. Other information such as the package tracking number, routing code and carrier service level will also be provided to the label generation application by the anywhere shipping application 460).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of High with the teachings of Woods to transmit information to be printed on a pickup slip to be attached to the pickup target after it is identified because "the step of printing a shipping label includes identifying a local carrier facility responsible for pickup at the first location" [0026] and "The package tracking number is included on the shipping label of the package and provided to the facilitator 430. As is known in the art, parties use the package tracking number to track the shipment status as the package moves through the carrier system. In the context of an online escrow transaction, the package tracking number is used to identify when a package is delivered to the buyer address. The date and time of delivery as identified by the package tracking number can be used to trigger the initiation of the inspection period" [0054].
Regarding claim 11, High teaches a program recording medium that non-transiently records a program that causes a computer to execute ([0049] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of an example computing device for implementing exemplary embodiments of the present disclosure. Embodiments of the computing device 300 can implement embodiments of the routing engine. The computing device 300 includes one or more non-transitory computer-readable media for storing one or more computer-executable instructions or software for implementing exemplary embodiments):
receiving a pickup request including a pickup position, a destination address of a package, and first imaging data of a pickup target from a requester terminal ([0011] Described in detail herein is an automated fulfilment system including a computing system programmed to receive requests from disparate sources for physical objects disposed at one or more locations in a facility. [0013] The autonomous robot devices can be configured to query the database using the identifiers for the physical objects in the group to retrieve the set of object locations at which the physical objects in group are disposed; navigate autonomously through the facility to the set of object locations in response to operation of the drive motor by the controller; locate and scan one or more machine readable elements encoded with the one or more identifiers; detect, via an image captured by the image capture device, that the group of physical objects are disposed at the set of locations; pick up a quantity of physical objects in the group using the articulated arm, carry and navigate with the quantity of physical objects in the group to the storage containers located at a different location in the facility. [0026] The instructions can include an address(es) to which the storage containers are being delivered. [0039] The robotic device 260 can capture an image of the set of like physical objects and extract a set of attributes using machine vision and/or video analytics. The robotic device 260 can compare the extracted set of attributes with the stored set of attributes to confirm the set of like physical objects are same as the ones included in the instructions. The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects);
acquiring first information regarding an appearance of the pickup target from the first imaging data of the pickup target ([0022] stored attributes associated with the physical objects 104 and 106. [0039] The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects);
acquiring, based on obtaining second imaging data of an object placed at the pickup position, second information regarding an appearance of the object at the pickup position indicated in the pickup request, and the second imaging data is imaged by a worker terminal ([0022] The autonomous robot device 120 can capture images of the sets of like physical objects 104 and 106 and can use machine vision and/or video analytics to confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 are present on the shelving unit 102. The autonomous robot device 120 can also confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 include the physical objects associated with the identifiers by comparing attributes extracted from the images of the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 in the shelving unit and stored attributes associated with the physical objects 104 and 106. [0039] The extracted and stored attributes can include, image of the physical objects, size of the physical objects, color of the physical object or dimensions of the physical objects);
determining whether the object is the pickup target, based on the first information regarding the appearance of the pickup target and the second information regarding the appearance of the object at the pickup position indicated in the pickup request ([0039] The robotic device 260 can compare the extracted set of attributes with the stored set of attributes to confirm the set of like physical objects are same as the ones included in the instructions);
outputting a determination result to the worker terminal ([0058] In some embodiments, the routing engine can determine the autonomous robot device has picked up the incorrect, damaged or decomposing physical objects based on the decoded electrical signals. The routing engine can redirect the autonomous robot device to pick up different physical objects in response to determining the picked up objects are incorrect, damaged and/or decomposing).
High does not explicitly teach receiving a pickup request including a pickup date and first imaging data of a pickup target imaged by a pickup requester from a requester terminal; receiving a pickup completion notification from the worker terminal; and transmitting the pickup completion notification and the second imaging data used to identify the pickup target to the requester terminal.
Cotte, in the same field of endeavor of image analysis for package transfer, teaches receiving a pickup request including a pickup date and first imaging data of a pickup target imaged by a pickup requester from a requester terminal ([0029] transmit a request for image capture sent to image sensor(s) at each predetermined key step of dispatch; [0030] receive images, via the computing application, relating to said object(s) taken by the image sensor(s). [0032] According to one preferred solution, the predetermined key steps are selected from the following group: [0033] handover of a package from one individual to another; [0034] opening and/or closing of the package; [0035] request by an individual; [0036] request by an administrator of the platform. [0037] It is noted that, in general, checking of the image of the object can be made at any time and in particular: [0038] on request (triggered by an authorized element in the chain: sender, deposit-holder, traveller, recipient, but also police, customs etc.). [0204] With this process, the user having an object to be dispatched connects to the computing platform of the system to access the user interface to enter: [0205] a departure date, from a geolocated place (insofar as the user has knowledge of the closest place of deposit, otherwise the computing platform can define this place of deposit in relation to the user's geolocation e.g. as a function of the user's home or workplace);
receiving a pickup completion notification from the worker terminal; and transmitting the pickup completion notification and the second imaging data used to identify the pickup target to the requester terminal ([0220] At the departure place of deposit, the traveller discloses his/her identity with the deposit-holder via the computing application downloaded into his/her smartphone and transmits to the deposit-holder the identification of the dispatch package that he/she has just collected. [0059] The invention also concerns a method for tracking accepted responsibility for an object dispatched using a system such as previously described, characterized in that it comprises the steps of: [0060] activating the computing application authorizing exchange of data between the computing platform and a computing unit held by an individual; [0061] receiving, by the computing platform and via the computing application contained in computing units, at least two successive images of said object(s) and corresponding to two different instants of dispatch time; [0062] comparing the two successive images; [0063] determining whether an abnormal level of variation between the two images has been reached. [0037] It is noted that, in general, checking of the image of the object can be made at any time and in particular: [0038] on request (triggered by an authorized element in the chain: sender, deposit-holder, traveller, recipient, but also police, customs etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the medium of High with the teachings of Cotte to receive a pickup request from a requester terminal, receive a pickup completion notification from the worker terminal, and transmit the pickup completion notification and second imaging data used to identify the pickup target to the requester terminal because "it is possible to check the integrity of the objects being dispatched by monitoring the outer appearance of the objects. A process is therefore obtained with a system of the invention which makes dispatch secure, ensuring reliable operation for users sending objects via the dispatching system of the invention" [0031] "by entrusting it to one of the individuals within a collaborative system and to have it sent to a destination point via this individual alone or via relay with one or more other individuals within the collaborative system" [0015].
High does not explicitly teach transmit, to the worker terminal, information to be printed on a pickup slip to be attached to the pickup target after the pickup target is identified, the information including identification information identifying the package and the destination address of the package.
Woods, in the same field of endeavor of object pickup, teaches transmit, to the worker terminal, information to be printed on a pickup slip to be attached to the pickup target after the pickup target is identified, the information including identification information identifying the package and the destination address of the package ([0049] A part of the sales agreement, one or both of the buyer 410 and seller 420 communicate the details of the sales agreement to the facilitator 430. In this example, part of the function of the facilitator 430 is as an escrow agent for the transaction. Therefore, information sent to the facilitator 430 will include details about the product sold, the sales price, addresses of the buyer and seller, the length of any inspection period and any other terms and conditions upon which the sale may be conditioned. [0023] In accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, a shipping system is disclosed that allows a facilitator to request that a carrier pick up a package from a first location and deliver the package to a second location…and the carrier shipping application further configured to generate shipping label information based at least in part on the shipping information received from the facilitator; a printing device located at the local carrier facility configured to receive the shipping label information from the carrier shipping application, and print a shipping label based at least in part on the shipping label information; and a carrier that receives the shipping label from the printing device, affixes the shipping label to the package at the first location and delivers the package to the second location. [0056] In general, the shipping information that must be provided by the facilitator 430 to generate any shipping label includes a minimum of an origination address, a destination address and information about the size and/or weight of the package to be shipped. Other information such as the package tracking number, routing code and carrier service level will also be provided to the label generation application by the anywhere shipping application 460).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the medium of High with the teachings of Woods to transmit information to be printed on a pickup slip to be attached to the pickup target after it is identified because "the step of printing a shipping label includes identifying a local carrier facility responsible for pickup at the first location" [0026] and "The package tracking number is included on the shipping label of the package and provided to the facilitator 430. As is known in the art, parties use the package tracking number to track the shipment status as the package moves through the carrier system. In the context of an online escrow transaction, the package tracking number is used to identify when a package is delivered to the buyer address. The date and time of delivery as identified by the package tracking number can be used to trigger the initiation of the inspection period" [0054].
Regarding claim 15, High, Cotte, and Woods teach the method of claim 10. High does not explicitly teach controlling the worker terminal to print the pickup slip.
Woods, in the same field of endeavor of object pickup, teaches controlling the worker terminal to print the pickup slip ([0023] In accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, a shipping system is disclosed that allows a facilitator to request that a carrier pick up a package from a first location and deliver the package to a second location…and the carrier shipping application further configured to generate shipping label information based at least in part on the shipping information received from the facilitator; a printing device located at the local carrier facility configured to receive the shipping label information from the carrier shipping application, and print a shipping label based at least in part on the shipping label information; and a carrier that receives the shipping label from the printing device, affixes the shipping label to the package at the first location and delivers the package to the second location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of High with the teachings of Woods to control the worker terminal to print the pickup slip because "If the buyer 410 notifies the facilitator 430 of an intent to return the product to the seller 430, the facilitator 430 will notify the seller 420 of the return and send another anywhere delivery request 485 to the carrier…The anywhere shipping application 460 assigns a separate tracking number for the return shipment and calls the shipping label application 465 to generate a new shipping label. The generated shipping label is sent to a printer of the carrier facility responsible for pickups and deliveries to the buyer address and a carrier driver takes the printed shipping label to the buyer 410. There, the carrier affixes the shipping label to the package and accepts the package for delivery to the seller 420. The package tracking number assigned to the return shipment identifies when the package is returned to the seller. And upon confirmation of delivery to the seller 420, the facilitator 430 releases the purchase funds back to the buyer 410" [0065-0067].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High in view of Cotte, Woods and Hasegawa (US20180225113A1).
Regarding claim 3, High, Cotte and Woods teach the device of claim 2. High further teaches wherein the second imaging data of the object at the pickup position both include a second background besides the pickup target ([0022] The autonomous robot device 120 can capture images of the sets of like physical objects 104 and 106 and can use machine vision and/or video analytics to confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 are present on the shelving unit 102. The autonomous robot device 120 can also confirm the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 include the physical objects associated with the identifiers by comparing attributes extracted from the images of the set of like physical objects 104 and 106 in the shelving unit and stored attributes associated with the physical objects 104 and 106).
High does not explicitly teach wherein the first imaging data of the pickup target includes a first background besides the object.
Hasegawa, in the same field of endeavor of image analysis for robotic pickup, teaches wherein the first imaging data of the pickup target includes a first background besides the object (Fig. 5. [0272] The optical system captures an image of a target object. In other words, the optical system has a configuration of an image with a region including the target object as a visual field. [0056] For example, a difference between the template data 44c and an image may be evaluated on the basis of a difference between grayscale values, and may be evaluated on the basis of a difference between features of the image (for example, gradients of the image)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of High with the teachings of Hasegawa to include the background in the imaging data "to compare a difference between the template data 44c and the image with a threshold value, and determines that detection of the target object is successful in a case where the difference is equal to or less than the threshold value" [Hasegawa 0093].
Claims 6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High in view of Cotte, Woods and Frei (US20200020093A1).
Regarding claim 6, High, Cotte and Woods teach the device of claim 1. High does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: transmit, based on a result of determining whether the object is the pickup target being that the pickup support device did not determine that the object is the pickup target, the second imaging data of the object to the requester terminal, and determine whether the object is the pickup target based on an input from the requester terminal.
Frei, in the same field of endeavor of object pick up determination, teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: transmit, based on a result of determining whether the object is the pickup target being that the pickup support device did not determine that the object is the pickup target, the second imaging data of the object to the requester terminal, and determine whether the object is the pickup target based on an input from the requester terminal ([0008] The method may include identifying the target object in the second plurality of images and instructing the object-collection system to pick up the target object by tracking movement of the target object across the second plurality of images as the object-collection system is guided toward the one or more identified objects. [0146] In the illustrated example, the first screen 502 is a current view from the camera on the object-collection system, as discussed above. In this example, the first screen 502 shows three objects being approached by the object-collection system (i.e., the object-collection system is approaching the objects. [0147] In some embodiments, bounding boxes may be added to the displayed image to illustrate which objects are being tracked via trained neural networks. If an object is not being tracked then the user may be enabled to interact with the first screen 502 to add a bounding box around a currently non-tracked object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of High with the teachings of Frei to transmit the second imaging data of the object to the requester terminal after the pick up support device did not determine that the object is the pickup target, and determine whether the object is the pickup target based on an input from the requester terminal because "a user may set or select the characteristics that define a pick-up eligible object from a not pick-up eligible objects" [0195].
Regarding claim 12, High, Cotte, Woods, and Frei teach the device of claim 6. High does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: transmit, based on determining a degree of similarity between the pickup target and the object to be less than a threshold value, the second imaging data to the requester terminal.
Cotte teaches transmit, based on determining a degree of similarity between the pickup target and the object to be less than a threshold value, the second imaging data to the requester terminal ([0202] The object dispatching process and interaction between the individuals in a dispatching system of the invention will now be described. [0203] According to first dispatching example, an object is dispatched from one place of deposit to another place of deposit, the user of the service sending the object then proceeding to the first place of deposit to deposit the object to be dispatched and the recipient individual proceeding to the second place of deposit to collect the dispatched object. [0210] The user proceeds to the first place of deposit with the object to be dispatched. Via a dedicated computing application downloaded into the user's smartphone, the user transmits data relating to the object and dispatching thereof to the deposit-holder having the same computing application on a smartphone (or computer). With these identification data, the deposit-holder identifies the dispatch package allocated to the object to be dispatched (the computing platform of the service having chosen a specific numerical identification code of the embedded device integrated in the despatch package). [0211] The deposit-holder places the object to be dispatched in the identified dispatch package. The user, via the dedicated application, validates delivery to the deposit-holder, the latter digitally accepting this handover and thereby becoming responsible for the object and dispatch package. [0046] In other words, if it is considered by the system after comparison of two images of the object taken at different time intervals that there is little or no variation in the appearance thereof, it is considered that object integrity is maintained. On the other hand, if the system detects violation or overstepping of a predetermined threshold of difference between two images of the object taken at different time intervals, it is considered that object integrity has not been heeded and different possibilities of treatment are then able to be contemplated, in particular the transmission of an alert signal to one or more individuals involved in the system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Takahashi with the teachings of Cotte to determine a degree of similarity between the images so that "it can therefore be envisaged to dispatch an object from a departure point by entrusting it to one of the individuals within a collaborative system and to have it sent to a destination point via this individual alone or via relay with one or more other individuals within the collaborative system" [Cotte 0015].
Regarding claim 13, High, Cotte, Woods, and Frei teach the device of claim 6. High does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: transmit, based on determining a plurality of candidates as the pickup target, the second imaging data to the requester terminal.
Frei, in the same field of endeavor of object pick up determination, teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: transmit, based on determining a plurality of candidates as the pickup target, the second imaging data to the requester terminal ([0008] The method may include identifying the target object in the second plurality of images and instructing the object-collection system to pick up the target object by tracking movement of the target object across the second plurality of images as the object-collection system is guided toward the one or more identified objects. [0145] FIG. 5 is an example illustration of a display 500 presented to a driver of the object-collection system. [0146] In the illustrated example, the first screen 502 is a current view from the camera on the object-collection system, as discussed above. In this example, the first screen 502 shows three objects being approached by the object-collection system (i.e., the object-collection system is approaching the objects. [0147] In some embodiments, bounding boxes may be added to the displayed image to illustrate which objects are being tracked via trained neural networks. If an object is not being tracked then the user may be enabled to interact with the first screen 502 to add a bounding box around a currently non-tracked object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of High with the teachings of Frei to transmit the second imaging data to the requester terminal based on determining a plurality of candidates as the pickup target because "a user may set or select the characteristics that define a pick-up eligible object from a not pick-up eligible objects" [0195].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High in view of Cotte, Woods and Goja (US20180197140A1).
Regarding claim 9, High, Cotte and Woods teach the device of claim 1. High does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: notify the pickup requester that pickup is cancelled, based on determining any of that the object is not determined to be the pickup target and that the second imaging data is determined to not indicate the object at the pickup position.
Goja, in the same field of endeavor of object detection for pickup, teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: notify the pickup requester that pickup is cancelled, based on determining any of that the object is not determined to be the pickup target and that the second imaging data is determined to not indicate the object at the pickup position ([0078] In one embodiment, upon detecting another one or more configurable triggers/events, the management computing entity 110, the mobile computing entity 105, or the dispatcher computing entity 117 may cancel a prescheduled pickup. The other configurable triggers/events may be no items in the drop box 110. [0081] In one embodiment, upon receiving one or more configurable trigger signals, the IoT computing entity 130 associated with the drop box 100 may record an error message…The IoT computing entity 130 may further generate and transmit an error signal for use by the management computing entity 110. The error signal from the IoT computing entity 130 may include the drop box's unique identifier, the IoT computing entity's unique identifier, error message associated with the IoT computing entity 130 and/or the drop box 100, and/or other information/data. As an alternative embodiment, the IoT computing entity 130 may also transmit the error signal to mobile computing entities 105, dispatcher computing entities 117, and/or other appropriate computing entities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of Takahashi with the teachings of Goja to notify a pickup requester that a pickup is cancelled so that "after receiving the error signal associated with the drop box 100 and/or the associated IoT computing entity 130, the mobile computing entity 105, or the dispatcher computing entity 117 may schedule appropriate maintenance for the drop box 100 and/or associated IoT computing entity 130, and/or transmit a maintenance schedule signal to appropriate computing entities associated with a maintenance personnel and/or a pickup driver." [Goja 0085].
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High in view of Cotte, Woods and Bhatia (US20200193368A1).
Regarding claim 16, High, Cotte, and Woods teach the device of claim 1. High does not explicitly teach wherein the appearance of the pickup target is an outside appearance of an outside of the pickup target.
Bhatia, in the same field of endeavor of object pickup, teaches wherein the appearance of the pickup target is an outside appearance of an outside of the pickup target (see Fig. 14A-B. [0148] FIGS. 14A and 14B show the use of sensors to scan and measure objects in a storage space 1400 of AV 1306. At the pick-up location 1308, and after the passenger authenticates with the AV 1306, the storage space 1400 is unlocked. Referring to FIG. 14A, the AV 1306 is an automated taxi and the storage space 1400 is a trunk in the back of the AV. The trunk 1400 includes sensors 1403 and 1407. In the example shown, sensor 1403 is a camera and sensor 1407 is an RFID reader. [0149] In an embodiment, the dimensions of the suitcases 1409, 1410 can be measured by determining a pixels-per-metric ratio (e.g., pixels-per-inch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of High with the teachings of Bhatia for the appearance of the pickup target to be the outside appearance because "The step of determining a match between the object data and object descriptions can performed by the AV computer system and/or by the transportation service provider computer system. In an embodiment, the transportation service provider computer system can be a distributed computer system accessible over the Internet or other wide area network. Physical characteristics (e.g., height, width, length, weight, color) can be compared with the physical characteristics provided by the customer when the reservation was made" [0161].
Regarding claim 17, High, Cotte, and Woods teach the device of claim 16. High does not explicitly teach wherein the pickup target is a suitcase.
Bhatia, in the same field of endeavor of object pickup, teaches wherein the pickup target is a suitcase ([0004] Objects transported by autonomous vehicles may vary in shape, size, weight, fragility and other characteristics. For example, autonomous vehicles may be used to transport bags, suitcases, groceries, furniture, plants, animals, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the device of High with the teachings of Bhatia for the pickup target to be a suitcase because "With autonomous vehicles (e.g., autonomous taxi or rentals) there is typically no driver present at the passenger pick-up and drop-off locations that can supervise the loading and unloading of objects to and from the vehicle. If multiple passengers share a ride, there is a possibility that a passenger mistakenly or intentionally takes another passenger's luggage/cargo at a drop-off location. It is also possible that unsafe or illegal objects are transported by the autonomous vehicle without the knowledge or consent of the transportation service provider" [0005].
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jacqueline R Zak whose telephone number is (571) 272-4077. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/JACQUELINE R ZAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666