DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/US2021/049432 filed 09/08/2021, which claims the benefit of the priority of US Provisional application 63/075,638 filed 09/08/2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 02/16/2023 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 21-22, 25, and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/12/2025. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to a composition, in the reply filed on 11/12/2025
is acknowledged. After further consideration, the species election requirement is withdrawn.
Claim Status
Claims 1-7, 9, 13-22, 25, 34-37 are pending. Claims 8, 10-12, 23-24, 26-33 are canceled. Claims 35-37 are new. Claims 21-22 , 25, and 34 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-7, 9, 13-20 and 35-37 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites “…inter-alpha (globulin) inhibitor H4….”. The claim should be amended to recite “…inter-alpha globulin inhibitor H4….”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 9, 13-20, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to natural phenomenon without significantly more. Claim 1 recites a composition comprising peptide fragments of naturally occurring proteins. Examiner notes that the fragments (also known as matrikines) are derived or isolated from the enzymatic fragmentation of the extracellular matrix (ECM) which comprises proteins such collagen, and proteoglycans. Examiner notes that this assertion is supported by the instant specification where it discloses that “…the matrikines are isolated from a single tissue specific extracellular matrix (TS-ECM)”, and that “…the mixture of matrikines and relative concentrations of matrikines are included in the composition…”. Examiner notes that the peptide fragments are derived from proteins such as collagen, glycoproteins, proteoglycans etc. (see claim 9). Independent claim further recites that the peptide fragments are in a composition, and further comprise pharmaceutically or cosmetically acceptable excipients. The instant specification discloses that “term “excipients” as used herein encompasses carriers and diluents, meaning a material, composition or vehicle, such as a liquid or solid filler, diluent, excipient, solvent or encapsulating material involved in carrying or transporting a pharmaceutical, cosmetic or other agent across a tissue layer” and that diluents include “water” [0116], which is also naturally occurring.
With regards to the limitation “thereby promoting one or more of tissue homeostasis, tissue repair, and tissue regeneration” Examiner notes that this limitation does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, prior art, Montanari et al. (WO2008080443A2 – hereinafter “Montanari”) teaches a composition comprising matrikines and teaches that the matrikine glycine-glutamine-proline- arginine tetrapeptide is a natural fragment of the immunoglobulin IgG (Page 10, line 12-14) and that the matrikines promote the cellular proliferation of keratinocytes and fibroblasts and are consequently effective in the reconstruction of the extracellular dermal matrix (Page 10 , line 1-4) and that the composition is for stimulating the cellular reproduction of the connective tissue and relative production of collagen fiber suitable for restoring the damaged tissue (Page 8, line 12-15). The disclosure of Montanari teaches that the fragments are naturally occurring and further teach at least one of the thereby limitation.
Therefore, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the above reasons. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the peptide fragments being claimed are fragments of naturally occurring proteins. The rationale for this determination is explained below and is based on the analysis presented in the USPTO's “Interim Eligibility Guidance" as set forth in the MPEP 2106
Step 1 : Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? The instant claims are directed to a statutory patent-eligible subject matter category, a composition of matter.
Step 2a Prong 1 : Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (Product of nature), or an abstract idea? The claims are directed to a natural phenomenon, specifically a natural-based product limitation.
Step 2a Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the peptide fragments being claimed are naturally occurring. The composition comprises the peptide fragments of the naturally occurring proteins and a pharmaceutically or cosmetically acceptable excipient such as water, which is also naturally occurring. As evidenced by Blum et al. (Experimental Dermatology, 2014, 23, 457–463), the process of enzymatic cleavage of naturally occurring extracellular proteins and glycosaminoglycans results in the release of fragments (also called matrikines) exerting a biological activity. The matrikines are therefore fragments from the naturally occurring proteins of the ECM. The limitation “thereby promoting one or more of tissue homeostasis, tissue repair, and tissue regeneration” does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, prior art, Montanari et al. teaches at least one or more of the limitations claimed.
Step 2b: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? The claims, as a whole, do not recite any additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, the claims do not include any elements in addition to the natural product.
In sum, when the relevant steps are analyzed, they weigh against a significant difference. Accordingly, claims 1-6, 9, 13-20, and 35-37 does not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 13-20 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montanari et al. (WO2008080443A2 – hereinafter “Montanari”) in view of Lintner et al. (US20040132667A1 – hereinafter “Lintner”) and Blum et al. (Exp. Dermatol. 2014 Jul; 23(7): 457-63).
Claim Interpretation
“deconstructed matrisome” is defined in the instant invention as one or more peptides (i.e., matrikines) and that matrikines are derived from tissue-specific extracellular matrix [0072-0073]. Examiner notes that a composition comprising matrikines or a composition comprising peptides derived from tissue-specific extracellular matrix would thus read on the claimed invention.
Montanari teaches a cosmetic composition comprising matrikines, wherein said matrikine is a peptide of Glycyl-Histidyl- Lysine or Glycyl-Glutaminyl-Prolyl-Arginine or a mixture thereof and a cosmetically acceptable carrier (claims 1-2), and that matrikines are peptide fragments formed by the proteolysis of the extracellular matrix and are cараble of regulating the cellular activity (Page 9, line 1-20). Montanari teaches that the matrikines promote the cellular proliferation of keratinocytes and fibroblasts and are consequently effective in the reconstruction of the extracellular dermal matrix (Page 10 , line 1-4) and that the composition for stimulating the cellular reproduction of the connective tissue and relative production of collagen fiber suitable for restoring the damaged tissue (Page 8, line 12-15).
Montanari does not teach the % weight of the peptides of 0.1 to 15% and does not teach all the peptide fragments recited in dependent claim 16.
Lintner teaches a topical composition comprising between about 0.00001% and about 0.5% w/w of at least one rigin-based tetrapeptide and about 0.00001% and about 1.0% w/w of at least one GHK-tripeptide (claim 1) and further comprising dermatologically acceptable carrier (claim 11).
Blum teaches matrikines which are biologically active fragments of the extracellular matrix and that numerous extracellular proteins and glycosaminoglycans (GAGs) undergo limited enzymatic cleavage resulting in the release of fragments exerting biological activities (Abstract), that the fragments regulate a number of physiopathological processes including angiogenesis, cancer, fibrosis, inflammation, neurodegenerative diseases and wound healing (Abstract). Blum teaches the matrikines released from human extracellular proteins such as collagen, fibronectin, laminins (See Table 1), growth factors, endostatin, EGF, tenascin (Page 460, right col., 2nd and 3rd paragraph). Blum teaches that the fragments with kDa including 85 kDa for aggrecan core protein fragments, 240 kDa for Collagen XIII α1 chain, or 85 kDa for Perlecan (See Table 1). Blum teaches compositions 20 µg/ml of peptide fragments and other compositions having 0.2% peptide fragments and teaches that composition for topical administration( See Table 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Montanari and Lintner and include the matrikine peptides in the amounts taught by Lintner since Lintner teaches the same peptides taught by Montanari and teaches the composition has the benefit in tissue regeneration [0011, 0326-0327]. Further, it would have been obvious to modify the composition of Montanari to include the fragments of Blum since Blum teaches that the fragments have been successful for wound healing and skin repair (Abstract; page 457, left col. Last paragraph; page 460, left col., 1st paragraph). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the matrikine peptides in the amounts taught by Lintner and Blum, since Lintner the composition has the benefit in tissue regeneration [0011, 0326-0327]. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully combining the cited prior art teachings, because the cited references hail from the same field of endeavor, i.e. compositions comprising matrikine peptides. The disclosures render obvious claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Lintner teaches a topical composition comprising between about 0.00001% and about 0.5% w/w of at least one rigin-based tetrapeptide and about 0.00001% and about 1.0% w/w of at least one GHK-tripeptide (claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Montanari and Lintner and include the matrikine peptides in the amounts taught by Lintner since Lintner teaches the same peptides taught by Montanari and teaches the composition has the benefit in tissue regeneration [0011, 0326-0327].
Regarding claims 3-4, Montanari teaches that the composition is applied on the skin on stretch marks and that the composition is massaged until complete absorption (Page 28, line 12-19), that the effect is on the epidermis and dermis (Page 5, line 1-10). Further, Blum teaches a composition comprising syndecan binding sequence KKLRIKSKE of the LG4 domain of laminin a3, used for epidermal repair and which induces keratinocyte adhesion and promotes keratinocyte migration (Page 460, left col. 1st paragraph).
Regarding claims 5-6, Blum teaches that the fragments with kDa including 85 kDa for aggrecan core protein fragments, 240 kDa for Collagen XIII α1 chain, or 85 kDa for Perlecan (See Table 1). Examiner notes that the amounts are all less than 250 or 500 da. It would have been obvious to modify the composition of Montanari to include the fragments of Blum since Blum teaches that the fragments have been successful for wound healing and skin repair (Abstract; page 457, left col. Last paragraph; page 460, left col., 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, Lintner teaches the composition with a pH of about 6 [0303, 0312, 0036]. It would have been obvious to modify the composition of Montanari to a pH taught by Lintner since Lintner teaches the same composition taught by Montanari and teaches the composition has the benefit in tissue regeneration [0011, 0326-0327].
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Montanari teaches that the peptides are derived from collagen I (Page 10, line 5-6). Further, Blum teaches peptide fragments from collagens, glycosaminoglycans, proteoglycans, laminins, cytokines, chemokines, fragments of ECM regulators (MMPs, a disintegrin and metalloproteinases, ADAMs, cross-linking enzymes) and ECM-affiliated proteins (e.g. mucins, galectins, semaphorins) (Abstract; Page 457, right col.,1st and 2nd paragraph; Page 459, left col., 1st paragraph). It would have been obvious to modify Montanari to include the fragments taught by Blum since Blum suggests drugs that comprise other bioactive fragments to improve efficacy (Page 461, left col., 4th paragraph).
Regarding claims 14-15, Montanari teaches that the peptide fragments have an effect in production of elastin and collagen (Page 22, line 14-15). Further, Lintner teaches the peptide fragments have a concentration of 500ppm [0052], which is equivalent to 500 µg/ml. Further, Blum teaches compositions 20 µg/ml of peptide fragments and other compositions having 0.2% peptide fragments and teaches that composition for topical administration( See Table 2). It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the cited references and have the peptide fragments in the concentrations taught by Lintner since both reference teach composition comprising the same peptides.
Regarding claims 16-20, Montanari teaches that the peptides are derived from the alpha 2 chain of collagen I and that the peptide fragments have shown an increase in the synthesis of collagen and glycosaminoglycans (Page 10, line 5-10). Further, Blum teaches fragments comprise heparan sulphate proteoglycan and growth factor receptors (Page 460, right col.,2nd paragraph), Collagen VI α3 chain, Tenascin-C, ECM regulators (MMPs, a disintegrin and metalloproteinases, ADAMs, cross-linking enzymes) and ECM-affiliated proteins (e.g. mucins, galectins, semaphorins), Bone Morphogenetic Protein-1, BMP-1, laminin, hyaluronan binding complex (Table 1; Table 2; Page 457, right col.,1st and 2nd paragraph; Page 459, left col., 1st paragraph, Page 459, left col., last paragraph). It would have been obvious to modify Montanari to include the fragments taught by Blum since Blum suggests drugs that comprise other bioactive fragments to improve efficacy (Page 461, left col., 4th paragraph).
Regarding claim 35, Montanari teaches a cosmetic composition comprising matrikines, wherein said matrikine is a peptide of Glycyl-Histidyl- Lysine or Glycyl-Glutaminyl-Prolyl-Arginine or a mixture thereof and a cosmetically acceptable carrier (claims 1-2), and that matrikines are peptide fragments formed by the proteolysis of the extracellular matrix and are cараble of regulating the cellular activity (Page 9, line 1-20). Further, Blum teaches that proteins of the core matrisome, GAGs, ECM regulators and ECM-affiliated proteins are sources of bioactive fragments (Figure S1), that collagens and proteoglycans, elastin and laminins are major sources of the bioactive peptides and that matricellular proteins, e.g. secreted protein acidic and rich in cysteine (SPARC), osteopontin are additional sources of bioactive fragments (Page 459, 2nd paragraph). It would have been obvious to modify Montanari to include the fragments taught by Blum since Blum suggests drugs that comprise other bioactive fragments to improve efficacy (Page 461, left col., 4th paragraph). Montanari further teaches that the matrikines promote the cellular proliferation of keratinocytes and fibroblasts and are consequently effective in the reconstruction of the extracellular dermal matrix (Page 10 , line 1-4) and that the composition for stimulating the cellular reproduction of the connective tissue and relative production of collagen fiber suitable for restoring the damaged tissue (Page 8, line 12-15).
Regarding claim 36, the instant composition is rendered obvious by the teachings of Montanari, Lintner and Blum. Examiner notes that Blum teaches the instant peptide fragments and compositions comprising the fragments. Blum teaches the fragments for use in treating scarring (Page 460, left col., last paragraph; Table 2, Page 461, left col., 4th paragraph). It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of the cited references and use the composition to treat scarring. Examiner further notes the limitations of claim 36 recite an intended use and a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the prior art composition contains the same active ingredient and is in the same form as the claimed composition, and as a result, is capable of performing the claimed intended use (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Regarding claim 37, Montanari teaches that the peptides are derived from the alpha 2 chain of collagen I and that the peptide fragments have shown an increase in the synthesis of collagen and glycosaminoglycans (Page 10, line 5-10). Further, Blum teaches fragments comprise heparan sulphate proteoglycan and growth factor receptors (Page 460, right col.,2nd paragraph), Collagen VI α3 chain, Tenascin-C, ECM regulators (MMPs, a disintegrin and metalloproteinases, ADAMs, cross-linking enzymes) and ECM-affiliated proteins (e.g. mucins, galectins, semaphorins), Bone Morphogenetic Protein-1, BMP-1, laminin, hyaluronan binding complex (Table 1; Table 2; Page 457, right col.,1st and 2nd paragraph; Page 459, left col., 1st paragraph, Page 459, left col., last paragraph). It would have been obvious to modify Montanari to include the fragments taught by Blum since Blum suggests drugs that comprise other bioactive fragments to improve efficacy (Page 461, left col., 4th paragraph).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654