DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 3/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 2 and 10-21 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-9 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 2/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoshige et al. (US 2022/0302507, hereinafter "Tomoshige") in view of Ito et al. (JP H117983, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Ito").
Regarding claim 1, Tomoshige teaches a solid-state battery (“all-solid-state battery”) comprising a solid-state battery laminate (“battery body”) having a solid electrolyte layer 300 interposed between a positive electrode layer 100 and a negative electrode layer 200 [Abstract, 0041]. Tomoshige teaches that the solid-state battery laminate may have rectangular parallelepiped shape [0070, “As can be seen from the embodiment illustrated in the upper view of FIG. 2, in the solid-state battery of the present invention, the solid-state battery laminate 500 may have a rectangular parallelepiped as a whole”]. The rectangular parallelepiped shape has 6 surfaces, including first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction (left-to-right direction in Fig. 2), third and fourth surfaces opposing each other in a second direction (front-to-back direction in Fig. 2), and fifth and sixth surfaces opposing each other in a third direction (up-and-down direction in Fig. 2) [Tomoshige Fig. 2]. Tomoshige further teaches that the positive electrode layer, negative electrode layer, and solid electrolyte layer are stacked in the third direction [Tomoshige Figs. 2 and 4].
Tomoshige also teaches a positive electrode external terminal 400A (“first positive terminal”) connected to the positive electrode layer and a negative electrode external terminal 400B (“first negative terminal”) connected to the negative electrode layer [0060, “a positive electrode external terminal 400A connected to the positive electrode layer 100 and a negative electrode external terminal 400B connected to the negative electrode layer 200 are provided”]. Fig. 2 shows the positive electrode external terminal and negative electrode external terminal disposed on the first surface (right surface in Fig. 2) and spaced apart from each other [0064, “the positive electrode external terminal 400A and the negative electrode external terminal 400B are positioned with respect to the same side surface”]. Tomoshige discloses that the positive electrode layer includes a positive electrode narrowed portion 115 (“first positive electrode lead portion”) and the negative electrode layer includes a negative electrode narrowed portion 225 (“first negative electrode lead portion”) [0078, Tomoshige Fig. 4]. Fig. 2 shows that the positive electrode narrowed portion and the negative electrode narrowed portion extend from the positive electrode layer and negative electrode layer, respectively, to the first surface to connect with their respective external terminals [0079, “This is because the positive electrode narrowed portion and the negative electrode narrowed portion do not face each other in the lamination direction in the battery laminate, and thus a short circuit between the positive electrode external terminal and the negative electrode external terminal can be suitably prevented also in the ‘arrangement on the same side surface’”].
1: Tomoshige Fig. 2, annotated by examiner
Fig. 4 of Tomoshige shows that the positive electrode narrowed portion 115 and negative electrode narrowed portion 225 are led out to the first surface of the solid state battery laminate. In one embodiment, Tomoshige teaches that the active material contour portion in which an electrode active material in negative electrode layer is provided to extend to a plan-view contour of the solid-state battery laminate or, in other words, is led out to the second to fourth surfaces of the solid-state battery laminate [Tomoshige Fig. 4, “In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 4, an active material contour portion 240 in which an electrode active material is provided to extend to a plan-view contour of the solid-state battery laminate in the negative electrode layer 200”]. Tomoshige teaches that the negative electrode active material is involved in the conduction of ions in the solid-state battery, meaning that the active material contour portion of the negative electrode layer is conductive [0044].
Tomoshige does not specifically teach conductive portions of the positive electrode layer being led out to the second to fourth surfaces of the solid-state battery laminate.
Ito teaches analogous art of a solid electrolyte battery in which a positive electrode and a negative electrode are stacked with a solid electrolyte sandwiched between them [0001; entire disclosure relied upon]. The positive electrode (5) comprises a current collector (1) made of aluminum foil, coated with an active material layer (3) on one side, and a terminal portion (1a) [0015]. The negative electrode comprises a current collector (2) made of a copper foil, coated with an active material layer (4) on one side, and a terminal portion (2a) [0016]. Figs. 3 and 4 of Ito show that terminals portions of the positive electrode and negative electrode are disposed on the same side surface, and that the current collectors of both the positive electrode and negative electrode are led out to the remaining three side surfaces which are adjacent to each other. Ito teaches that the current collectors of the positive electrode and negative electrode are made of metals [0015, 0016], which are conductive, therefore the current collectors may constitute a “conductive portion” of the positive electrode and negative electrode.
Ito teaches that the solid electrolyte battery of the disclosure is easy to house in electrical equipment, is compact, has less dead space, and has excellent volumetric energy efficiency [0022-0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the solid-state battery of Tomoshige to include conductive current collectors for the a positive electrode layer and negative electrode layer which are led out to the second to fourth surfaces of the solid-state battery laminate as taught by Ito, in order to provide a solid-state battery that is easy to house, is compact, has less dead space, and has excellent volumetric energy efficiency.
Furthermore, Tomoshige teaches that there are various applications of the solid-state battery that would require housing the battery in a battery housing space or mounting the battery on various substrates [0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute the known positive electrode layer of Tomoshige with the known positive electrode of Ito in order to yield the predictable result of a solid-state battery that is easy to house or mount in various applications [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Further regarding claim 5, Tomoshige teaches the positive electrode external terminal covering at least a portion of the positive electrode narrowed portion, and the negative electrode external terminal covering at least a portion of the negative electrode narrowed portion [Tomoshige Figs. 2 and 3].
Regarding claim 7, modified Tomoshige teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Tomoshige teaches that in one of the electrode layers, the active material contour portion extends to a plan-view contour, or outermost peripheral edge, of the solid state battery laminate, which overlaps and is aligned with the non-active material contour portion of the other electrode layer [0065, Tomoshige Fig. 4]. For example, Fig. 4 shows that the active material contour portion 240 of the negative electrode layer has the same contour as the non-active material contour portion 160 of the positive electrode layer, meaning that the electrode layers are the same size. Since the active material contour portion of the negative electrode layer extends to the contour of the solid state battery laminate, the negative electrode layer and positive electrode layers must both extend to the contour of the solid state battery laminate, including the third and fourth surfaces of the solid state battery laminate. Tomoshige does not specifically teach the electrode assembly including a second positive electrode lead portion and a second negative electrode lead portion led out to the second surface, a second positive terminal, or a second negative terminal. However, Tomoshige does teach that the solid-state battery allows external terminals to be relatively freely arranged, and that the installation position of the external terminals can be relatively easily changed [0013, “a main object of the present invention is to provide a solid-state battery having a higher degree of freedom in terms of arrangement of external terminals”, 0067, “the installation position of the external terminal can be relatively easily changed without greatly changing the design of the solid-state battery”]. Tomoshige teaches that due to the various applications of solid-state batteries, the arrangement required for the external terminals of solid-state batteries is not constant, and may be changed depending on the battery applications [0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified the solid-state battery taught by modified Tomoshige by duplicating the positive electrode narrowed portion, the negative electrode narrowed portion, the positive electrode external terminal, and the negative electrode external terminal of the first surface to include a second positive electrode narrowed portion and a second negative electrode narrowed portion being led out to the second surface, with a second positive electrode external terminal disposed and a second negative electrode external terminal disposed on the second positive electrode narrowed portion and second negative electrode narrowed portions, respectively. The mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced [see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)]. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to duplicate the narrowed portions and external terminals of the first surface to the second surface in order to ensure that the battery is attachable to an intended device, or usable in the intended application.
Regarding claim 8, modified Tomoshige teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 7. Tomoshige teaches that the positive electrode narrowed portion may be led out from a region adjacent to the back surface in the front-to back direction in Fig. 14 (“fourth surface”) and that the negative electrode narrowed portion may be led out from a region adjacent to the front surface in the front-to back direction in Fig. 14 (“third surface”) [Tomoshige Figs. 2, 14]. As described previously in the rejection of instant claim 7, Tomoshige teaches that due to the various applications of solid-state batteries, the arrangement required for the external terminals of solid-state batteries is not constant, and may be changed depending on the battery applications [0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified the solid-state battery taught by modified Tomoshige by duplicating the positive electrode narrowed portion, the negative electrode narrowed portion, the positive electrode external terminal, and the negative electrode external terminal of the first surface to include the second positive electrode narrowed portion being led out to the second surface from a region adjacent to the fourth surface, and the second negative electrode narrowed portion being led out to the second surface from a region adjacent to the third surface. The mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced [see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)]. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Tomoshige in this manner in order to ensure that the battery is attachable to an intended device, or usable in the intended application.
Regarding claim 9, modified Tomoshige teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 7. Tomoshige teaches that the positive electrode narrowed portion may be led out from a region adjacent to the back surface in the front-to back direction in Fig. 14 (“fourth surface”) and that the negative electrode narrowed portion may be led out from a region adjacent to the front surface in the front-to back direction in Fig. 14 (“third surface”) [Tomoshige Figs. 2, 14]. As described previously in the rejection of instant claim 7, Tomoshige teaches that due to the various applications of solid-state batteries, the arrangement required for the external terminals of solid-state batteries is not constant, and may be changed depending on the battery applications [0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified the solid-state battery taught by modified Tomoshige to include the second positive electrode narrowed portion being led out to the second surface from a region adjacent to the third surface, and the second negative electrode narrowed portion being led out to the fourth surface from a region adjacent to the third surface. The mere rearrangement of the narrowed portions is not patentable over the prior art as it does not modify the operation of the device [see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)]. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Tomoshige in this manner in order to ensure that the battery is attachable to an intended device, or usable in the intended application. Furthermore, Baba et al. (US 2020/0303780, hereinafter “Baba”) provides evidence that is known to provide terminals for solid-state batteries, or external electrodes, for solid-state batteries in this configuration. Baba discloses a battery body comprising a first positive electrode terminal electrode 14a and a first negative electrode terminal 15a directly facing each other on opposite side surfaces [Baba Fig. 1, 0028-0029]. Baba further discloses a second positive electrode terminal electrode 14b disposed on the same surface as the first negative electrode terminal 15a, and a second negative electrode terminal electrode 15b disposed on the same surface as the first positive electrode terminal electrode [Baba Fig. 1, 0031-0032].
Claims 3, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoshige (US 2022/0302507) in view of Ito (JP H117983) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shimura et al. (US 2021/0066771, hereinafter "Shimura").
Regarding claim 3, modified Tomoshige teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Tomoshige is silent regarding an insulating member disposed on the second surface, the third surface, and the fourth surface of the electrode assembly.
Shimura teaches analogous art of a solid-state battery comprising a battery element , or laminated body, (“battery body”) including alternating positive electrode layers and negative electrode layers each separated by a respective solid electrolyte layer interposed in between [Abstract]. The laminated body has a box-like shape with six side surfaces [Shimura Figs. 2-3]. Shimura teaches an insulating coating 240 (“insulating member”) covering the periphery of the laminated body, which would include all of the side surfaces, with only a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal led to the outside of the insulating coating [Abstract, 0094, “The coating layer 240 is an insulating coating that covers the periphery of the laminated body”]. Shimura teaches that the laminated body may even be immersed in the solution for forming the insulating coating [0164, “the solution may be applied to the laminated body 210, or the laminated body 210 may be immersed in the solution”].
Shimura teaches that the insulating coating covers the periphery of the laminated body in order to protect the laminated body physically and chemically [0094].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the all-solid-state battery taught by modified Tomoshige to include an insulating coating on the second, third, and fourth surfaces of the electrode assembly as taught by Shimura, in order to protect the electrode assembly physically and chemically.
Further regarding claim 4, modified Tomoshige teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 3. As described in the rejection of claim 3, Shimura teaches that the insulating coating covers the periphery of the laminated body with only the electrode terminals led to the outside of the insulating coating [0094], meaning that all of the surfaces and positive and negative electrode layers contained within them are completely covered by the insulating coating.
As previously described, Shimura teaches that the insulating coating covers the periphery of the laminated body in order to protect the laminated body physically and chemically [0094].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the all-solid-state battery taught by modified Tomoshige to include an insulating coating completely covering the second, third, and fourth surfaces of the electrode assembly which do not comprise the electrode terminals as taught by Shimura, in order to protect the electrode assembly physically and chemically.
Regarding claim 6, modified Tomoshige teaches the all-solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Tomoshige is silent regarding an insulating member disposed between the first positive terminal and the first negative terminal.
Shimura teaches analogous art of a solid-state battery comprising a battery element , or laminated body, (“battery body”) including alternating positive electrode layers and negative electrode layers each separated by a respective solid electrolyte layer interposed in between [Abstract]. The laminated body has a box-like shape with six side surfaces [Shimura Figs. 2-3]. Shimura discloses a positive electrode terminal 220 comprising a connection surface 220M and a negative electrode terminal 230 comprising a connection surface 230M [0091, 0093]. The positive and negative terminal connection surfaces are disposed on the same surface [Shimura Fig. 12, 0091, 0093]. Shimura also teaches an insulating coating 240 (“insulating member”) covering the periphery of the laminated body, which would include all of the side surfaces, with only the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal being led to the outside of the insulating coating [Abstract, 0094, “The coating layer 240 is an insulating coating that covers the periphery of the laminated body”, “the coating layer 240 covers the laminated body 210 such that each of the positive electrode terminal 220 and the negative electrode terminal 230 is led out”]. Fig. 11b shows that the insulating coating is disposed between the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal.
Shimura teaches that the insulating coating covers the periphery of the laminated body in order to protect the laminated body physically and chemically [0094].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the all-solid-state battery taught by modified Tomoshige to include an insulating coating covering the electrode assembly including in between the first positive terminal and the first negative terminal as taught by Shimura, in order to protect the electrode assembly physically and chemically.
2: Shimura Fig. 11b, annotated by examiner
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Further regarding the applied reference of Tomoshige, applicant alleges that Tomoshige leads away from the claimed subject matter [Remarks, pg. 2]. In response to this argument, it is noted that “[d]isclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments”. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971) [MPEP 2123(II)]. Furthermore, "[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004) [MPEP 2123(II)]. While Tomoshige does teach that one of the positive electrode layer and negative electrode layer may have its conductive active material portions spaced apart from the second to fourth surfaces of the solid-state battery laminate, Tomoshige does not explicitly criticize, discredit, or discourage having the conductive portions of both the positive electrode layer and negative electrode layer be led out to the second to fourth surfaces.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729