DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species of Fig.1 and claims 1-2,5-35 in the reply filed on 07/02/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2,3,7,36-42 ARE withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species other than A, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/02/2025, since no mention of traversal or without traverse, the election is considered without traverse. Claims 7, 36, 41-42 are withdrawn. RESTRICTION IS FINAL. Withdrawn claims have been rejected as provision.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to ALL have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. FURTHERMORE, MOVING THE MATTER OF PREVIOUS CLAIM 23 TO ANY INDEPENDNT CLAIM DOES NOT MAKE THE CLAIM ALLOWABLE. ONLY ALLOWABLE AS INDICATED IN PREVIOUSE OFFICE ACTION WITH COMBINATION OF ALL LIMITTIONS OF PREVIOUS CLAIM 22. ALL CLAIMS HAVE BEEN REJECTED EXECPT CLAIM 22 HAS BEEN INDICATED AS ALLOWABLE WITH ALL ITS DEPENDENT CLAIMS.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “MAGNIFIED LINEAR POWER GENERATION SYSTEM WITH MOVER AND STATOR”
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,2, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the document entitled "Energy Harvesting Shock Absorber with Electromagnetic and Fluid Damping" to SATPUTE et al. (hereinafter "SATPUTE") in view of Shahosseini (US PG Pub 20170117775 hereinafter “Shahosseini”) in further view of Tryon (US 20080027639 hereinafter “Tryon”).
Regarding Claim 1, SATPUTE discloses a magnified linear power generation system for use with a vehicle (abstract "This paper presents design and analysis of an efficient energy harvesting hydraulic electromagnetic shock absorber with least weight penalty on the vehicle. The conceived shock absorber uses mechanical amplification and linear generator ..."), the system comprising:
a linear power generator including: a stator (Fig 2, pg. 3 right column, Sec 2.1: "Linear generator assembly comprises two concentric permanent magnets (PMs) columns, as illustrated in Figure 2 With superimposition of magnetic flux, double column structure used in the
prototype results in more improved flux density than that of single column. Magnets are assembled with same polarities facing each other. Two-phase armature coil is moving in the radial air gap between the two columns" (note: the stator is the non-moving permanent magnet columns)): and
a mover (Fig 2, pg. 3 right column, Sec 2.1 " Two-phase armature coil is moving in the radial air gap between the two columns" note:
mover is the moving armature coil.); and a mechanical magnification component coupled to the mover (Fig 1, pg. 3 left column, Sec 2.1 "The shock absorber uses linear generator, fluid damper, and linkage mechanism for motion amplification. Linkage mechanism amplifies shock absorber displacement and operates the linear generator with increased velocity and displacement."), and coupled to a force receiving surface of the vehicle (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "Harvesting systems discussed in the past literature have magnet and pole array connected to the wheel, whereas coils are connected to the vehicle body (1, 3,6]. Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets. Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold. Thus, both harvesting efficiency and damping effect of the linear generator can be significantly improved by operating the linear generator with amplified velocity."), wherein the mechanical magnification component receives an input power from the force receiving surface (pg. 2, right column last para: Mechanical linkage mechanism used in the shock absorber operates the horizontally located linear generator with improved efficiency: pg 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "...magnet and pole array connected to the wheel, whereas coils are connected to the vehicle body (1, 3,6], Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold."), wherein the input power includes an input force and an input velocity (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "magnet and pole array connected to the wheel, whereas coils are connected to the vehicle body [1, 3,6] Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold." note it is understood that suspension receives force vehicle body which receives force from road and a force implies a changing velocity.),the input force applied in a first direction (direction of movement of movement of suspension, p.2), wherein the mechanical magnification component magnifies the input velocity to become a magnified velocity (pg.5, right column, Sec 2.4. " Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold."), wherein the mechanical magnification component transfers the magnified velocity to the linear power generator (pg.5, right column, Sec 2.4. "Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets. Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold. Thus, both harvesting efficiency and damping effect of the linear generator can be significantly improved by operating the linear generator with amplified velocity."), and wherein the linear power generator translates the magnified velocity into electrical energy (pg 2, right column last para: Mechanical linkage mechanism used in the shock absorber operates the horizontally located linear generator with improved efficiency; pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "...Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets significantly improved by operating the linear generator with amplified velocity."), wherein the direction of the input mechanical force and the direction of motion of the mover are different directions (pg. 2 right column Sec 1 "Attempts are being made to build lighter energy harvesting shock absorbers with the use of rotary generator. Ball screw arrangement or rack and pinion is used to convert linear motion into rotary [11, 12). For increasing transmission ratio a number of helical and bevel gears are also included in the system.").
Satpute fails to explicitly show the directions, wherein the linear power generator is attached to the vehicle such that the mover extends in a second direction different from the first direction.
However, Shahosseini teaches the directions, wherein the linear power generator is attached to the vehicle such that the mover ( in Y direction, see Fig.13) extends in a second direction (Y) different from the first direction (first direction can be direction of movement of 304, therefore can be in X or Z direction as seen in fig.14, 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute wherein show the directions, wherein the linear power generator is attached to the vehicle such that the mover extends in a second direction different from the first direction as suggested by Shahosseini to amplify an amplitude of motion received form vibration source (Shahosseini, P[0007]).
Satpute fails to explicitly teach And including a profile system for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator, the system capable of continuously recording road profile data for at least one of the input force and the electrical energy produced as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle.
However, Tryon teaches including a profile system (14, 10, fig.1) for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator (34 controls and monitors power generator, inputs and outputs which include input force), the system capable of continuously recording road profile data (Route computer system records data into controller) for at least one of the input force (vehicle location, vehicle distance via sensor or different database route to computer system, into memory) and the electrical energy produced (16, power generator converter input to electrical power controller) as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle (using speed sensor in 46, other location sensor into computer system48), also P[0041, product driving patter of vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute wherein including a profile system for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator, the system capable of continuously recording road profile data for at least one of the input force and the electrical energy produced as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle as suggested by Tyron to anticipate vehicle destination and provide contrl of power generation and energy storage of hybrid vehicle can be controlled responvie to anticipated driving patter and responsive info from the environment (Tyron, Abstract, P[41, P44).
Regarding Claim 2, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 1
Satupute fails to explicitly teach the profile system generates a road profile for a section of road based on the recorded road profile data.
Tyron suggests the profile system generates a road profile for a section of road based on the recorded road profile data (P[0028], The energy management system 10 further comprises a route computer system 48 which receives data from the vehicle location sensor 42 and the map database 44, and which incorporates and/or is operatively coupled to a memory 50 that records vehicle driving patterns. Responsive to the location of the vehicle 14, and the current driving pattern thereof associated with the latest trip, the route computer system 48 attempts to predict the ultimate destination of the vehicle 14 by comparing the present driving pattern with previous driving patterns stored in memory 50, and if a destination can be predicted, provides for controlling the hybrid vehicle system 12 in accordance with the energy and other requirements associated with the remainder of the trip. More particularly, the route computer system 48 provides for controlling the generation of power with the power generator 16 and the transfer of power to or from the energy storage device 22 so as to accomplish a particular objective or set of objectives, such a minimizing fuel consumption subject to reaching the destination or destinations subject to operator control of speed and braking of the vehicle]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute the profile system generates a road profile for a section of road based on the recorded road profile data as suggested by Tyron to anticipate vehicle destination and provide control of power generation and energy storage of hybrid vehicle can be controlled responsive to anticipated driving patter and responsive info from the environment (Tyron, Abstract).
REGARDING WITHDRAWN ClaimS 3-6, PROVISIONALLY are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SATPUTE et al. (hereinafter "SATPUTE") in view of Shahosseini in further view of Tryon and Choi (US PG Pub 20120203428 hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding WITHDRAWN Claim 3, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 2.
Satupute fails to explicitly teach the profile system includes a communications module to transmit the road profile data to an external server.
Choi suggests the profile system (fig.1a-2a) includes a communications module Data Profile RF Transmitter) to transmit the road profile data (206) to an external server (202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where the profile system includes a communications module to transmit the road profile data to an external server as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding WITHDRAWN Claim 4, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 3
Satupute fails to explicitly teach including transmitting the road profile data from the external server to a second vehicle within a vehicle network.
Choi suggests transmitting the road profile data (206) from the external server (202) to a second vehicle within a vehicle network (see Fig.2a, 2b,first and second vehicles 110,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where including transmitting the road profile data from the external server to a second vehicle within a vehicle network as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding WITHDRAWN Claim 5, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 1
Satupute fails to explicitly teach an operation of the second vehicle is controlled based on the transmitted road profile data..
Choi suggests an operation of the second vehicle is controlled based on the transmitted road profile data (202).(see Fig.2a, 2b, second vehicles 110),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where an operation of the second vehicle is controlled based on the transmitted road profile data as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding WITHDRAWN Claim 6, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 1
Satupute fails to explicitly teach a route of travel for the second vehicle is determined based on the transmitted road profile data.
Choi suggests a route of travel for the second vehicle is determined based on the transmitted road profile data(202).(see Fig.2a, 2b, second vehicles 110),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where a route of travel for the second vehicle is determined based on the transmitted road profile data as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Claim 16,17,36,37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the document entitled "Energy Harvesting Shock Absorber with Electromagnetic and Fluid Damping" to SATPUTE et al. (hereinafter "SATPUTE") in view of Tryon (US 20080027639 hereinafter “Tryon”).
Regarding Claim 16, SATPUTE discloses a power generation system for use with a vehicle (abstract "This paper presents design and analysis of an efficient energy harvesting hydraulic electromagnetic shock absorber with least weight penalty on the vehicle. The conceived shock absorber uses mechanical amplification and linear generator"), the system comprising: a power generator (abstract "...The conceived shock absorber uses mechanical amplification and linear generator") including: a stator inlucindg a a plurality of electrical (Fig 2 pg. 3 right column "Coil assembly is wound on a nylon tube to eliminate eddy currents."): a mover including a plurality of magnets (Fig 2, pg. 3 right column, Sec 2.1 "Linear generator assembly comprises two concentric permanent magnets (PMs) columns, as illustrated in Figure 2" note: Fig 2 shows a plurality of magnets (called "poles" in the figure) spaced apart with a soft magnetic composite
material (called "magnets" in the figure) between each pair of the plurality of magnets.),
a acomponent coupled to the mover (Fig 1, pg. 3 left column, Sec 2.1 "The shock absorber uses linear generator, fluid damper, and linkage mechanism for motion amplification. Linkage mechanism amplifies shock absorber displacement and operates the linear generator with increased velocity and displacement."), and coupled to a force receiving surface of the vehicle at a second end (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "Harvesting systems discussed in the past literature have magnet and pole array connected to the wheel, whereas coils are connected to the vehicle body [1, 3,6). Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets. Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold. Thus, both harvesting efficiency and damping effect of the linear generator can be significantly improved by operating the linear generator with amplified velocity."), wherein the component receives an input mechanical power from the force receiving surface (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "...magnet and pole array connected to the wheel, whereas coils are connected to the vehicle body [1, 3,6) Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold."), wherein the mechanical magnification component transfers the magnified mechanical velocity to the mover (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets. Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold. Thus, both harvesting efficiency and damping effect of the linear generator can be significantly improved by operating the linear generator with amplified velocity."), and wherein the mover moves along the plurality of electric coils thereby translating the mechanical velocity into electrical energy (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets...significantly improved by operating the linear generator with amplified velocity."). While SATPUTE fails to specifically disclose wherein the stator includes a plurality of electrical windings, and wherein the mover includes a plurality of magnets, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art without undue experimentation to reverse which of the components is the stator and which is the mover based on optimization and since SATPUTE discloses the mover includes a plurality of electrical windings and the stator includes a plurality of magnets (Fig 2, pg. 3 right column, Sec 2.1: "Linear generator assembly comprises two concentric permanent magnets (PMs) columns, as illustrated in Figure 2With superimposition of magnetic flux, double column structure used in the prototype results in more improved flux density than that of single column. Magnets are assembled with same polarities facing each other. Two-phase armature coil is moving in the radial air gap between the two columns" note: the stator is the non-moving permanent magnet columns); since SATPUTE further discloses the relative velocity between coils and magnets (and therefore not an absolute velocity, pg. 4 left column, text above Eq(4) "Armature coil moves with the following velocity relative to the magnets:", pg. 5 right column Sect 2.4 "Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets.") so it is a reference frame choice to treat the coils at rest and the magnets moving. Satpute fails to explicitly show the directions, wherein the linear power generator is attached to the vehicle such that the mover extends in a second direction different from the first direction.
Satpute fails to explicitly teach And including a profile system for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator, the system capable of continuously recording road profile data for at least one of the input force and the electrical energy produced as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle.
However, Tryon teaches including a profile system (14, 10, fig.1) for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator (34 controls and monitors power generator, inputs and outputs which include input force), the system capable of continuously recording road profile data (Route computer system records data into controller) for at least one of the input force (vehicle location, vehicle distance via sensor or different database route to computer system, into memory) and the electrical energy produced (16, power generator converter input to electrical power controller) as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle (using speed sensor in 46, other location sensor into computer system48), also P[0041, preduct driving patter of vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute wherein including a profile system for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator, the system capable of continuously recording road profile data for at least one of the input force and the electrical energy produced as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle as suggested by Tyron to anticipate vehicle destination and provide contrl of power generation and energy storage of hybrid vehicle can be controlled responvie to anticipated driving patter and responsive info from the environment (Tyron, Abstract, P[41, P44).
Regarding Claim 17, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 16
Satupute fails to explicitly teach the system generates a road profile for a section of road based on the recorded road profile data.
Tyron suggests the system generates a road profile for a section of road based on the recorded road profile data (P[0028], The energy management system 10 further comprises a route computer system 48 which receives data from the vehicle location sensor 42 and the map database 44, and which incorporates and/or is operatively coupled to a memory 50 that records vehicle driving patterns. Responsive to the location of the vehicle 14, and the current driving pattern thereof associated with the latest trip, the route computer system 48 attempts to predict the ultimate destination of the vehicle 14 by comparing the present driving pattern with previous driving patterns stored in memory 50, and if a destination can be predicted, provides for controlling the hybrid vehicle system 12 in accordance with the energy and other requirements associated with the remainder of the trip. More particularly, the route computer system 48 provides for controlling the generation of power with the power generator 16 and the transfer of power to or from the energy storage device 22 so as to accomplish a particular objective or set of objectives, such a minimizing fuel consumption subject to reaching the destination or destinations subject to operator control of speed and braking of the vehicle]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute the profile system generates a road profile for a section of road based on the recorded road profile data as suggested by Tyron to anticipate vehicle destination and provide control of power generation and energy storage of hybrid vehicle can be controlled responsive to anticipated driving patter and responsive info from the environment (Tyron, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 36, SATPUTE discloses a power generation system for use with a vehicle (abstract "This paper presents design and analysis of an efficient energy harvesting hydraulic electromagnetic shock absorber with least weight penalty on the vehicle. The conceived shock absorber uses mechanical amplification and linear generator"), the system comprising: a power generator (abstract "...The conceived shock absorber uses mechanical amplification and linear generator") including: a stator inlucindg a a plurality of electrical (Fig 2 pg. 3 right column "Coil assembly is wound on a nylon tube to eliminate eddy currents."): a mover including a plurality of magnets (Fig 2, pg. 3 right column, Sec 2.1 "Linear generator assembly comprises two concentric permanent magnets (PMs) columns, as illustrated in Figure 2" note: Fig 2 shows a plurality of magnets (called "poles" in the figure) spaced apart with a soft magnetic composite
material (called "magnets" in the figure) between each pair of the plurality of magnets.),
a acomponent coupled to the mover (Fig 1, pg. 3 left column, Sec 2.1 "The shock absorber uses linear generator, fluid damper, and linkage mechanism for motion amplification. Linkage mechanism amplifies shock absorber displacement and operates the linear generator with increased velocity and displacement."), and coupled to a force receiving surface of the vehicle at a second end (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "Harvesting systems discussed in the past literature have magnet and pole array connected to the wheel, whereas coils are connected to the vehicle body [1, 3,6). Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets. Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold. Thus, both harvesting efficiency and damping effect of the linear generator can be significantly improved by operating the linear generator with amplified velocity."), wherein the component receives an input mechanical power from the force receiving surface (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "...magnet and pole array connected to the wheel, whereas coils are connected to the vehicle body [1, 3,6) Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold."), wherein the mechanical magnification component transfers the magnified mechanical velocity to the mover (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets. Double increase of coil relative velocity gives quadratic rise in the harvested energy with the damping force increasing by twofold. Thus, both harvesting efficiency and damping effect of the linear generator can be significantly improved by operating the linear generator with amplified velocity."), and wherein the mover moves along the plurality of electric coils thereby translating the mechanical velocity into electrical energy (pg. 5, right column, Sec 2.4. "Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets...significantly improved by operating the linear generator with amplified velocity."). While SATPUTE fails to specifically disclose wherein the stator includes a plurality of electrical windings, and wherein the mover includes a plurality of magnets, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art without undue experimentation to reverse which of the components is the stator and which is the mover based on optimization and since SATPUTE discloses the mover includes a plurality of electrical windings and the stator includes a plurality of magnets (Fig 2, pg. 3 right column, Sec 2.1: "Linear generator assembly comprises two concentric permanent magnets (PMs) columns, as illustrated in Figure 2With superimposition of magnetic flux, double column structure used in the prototype results in more improved flux density than that of single column. Magnets are assembled with same polarities facing each other. Two-phase armature coil is moving in the radial air gap between the two columns" note: the stator is the non-moving permanent magnet columns); since SATPUTE further discloses the relative velocity between coils and magnets (and therefore not an absolute velocity, pg. 4 left column, text above Eq(4) "Armature coil moves with the following velocity relative to the magnets:", pg. 5 right column Sect 2.4 "Voltage is induced in the coils as they move relative to the magnets.") so it is a reference frame choice to treat the coils at rest and the magnets moving. Satpute fails to explicitly show the directions, wherein the linear power generator is attached to the vehicle such that the mover extends in a second direction different from the first direction.
Satpute fails to explicitly teach And including a profile system for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator, the system capable of continuously recording road profile data for at least one of the input force and the electrical energy produced as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle.
However, Tryon teaches including a profile system (14, 10, fig.1) for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator (34 controls and monitors power generator, inputs and outputs which include input force), the system capable of continuously recording road profile data (Route computer system records data into controller) for at least one of the input force (vehicle location, vehicle distance via sensor or different database route to computer system, into memory) and the electrical energy produced (16, power generator converter input to electrical power controller) as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle (using speed sensor in 46, other location sensor into computer system48), also P[0041, preduct driving patter of vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute wherein including a profile system for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator, the system capable of continuously recording road profile data for at least one of the input force and the electrical energy produced as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle as suggested by Tyron to anticipate vehicle destination and provide contrl of power generation and energy storage of hybrid vehicle can be controlled responvie to anticipated driving patter and responsive info from the environment (Tyron, Abstract, P[41, P44).
Regarding Claim 37, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 36
Satupute fails to explicitly teach the system generates a road profile for a section of road based on the recorded road profile data.
Tyron suggests the system generates a road profile for a section of road based on the recorded road profile data (P[0028], The energy management system 10 further comprises a route computer system 48 which receives data from the vehicle location sensor 42 and the map database 44, and which incorporates and/or is operatively coupled to a memory 50 that records vehicle driving patterns. Responsive to the location of the vehicle 14, and the current driving pattern thereof associated with the latest trip, the route computer system 48 attempts to predict the ultimate destination of the vehicle 14 by comparing the present driving pattern with previous driving patterns stored in memory 50, and if a destination can be predicted, provides for controlling the hybrid vehicle system 12 in accordance with the energy and other requirements associated with the remainder of the trip. More particularly, the route computer system 48 provides for controlling the generation of power with the power generator 16 and the transfer of power to or from the energy storage device 22 so as to accomplish a particular objective or set of objectives, such a minimizing fuel consumption subject to reaching the destination or destinations subject to operator control of speed and braking of the vehicle]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute the profile system generates a road profile for a section of road based on the recorded road profile data as suggested by Tyron to anticipate vehicle destination and provide control of power generation and energy storage of hybrid vehicle can be controlled responsive to anticipated driving patter and responsive info from the environment (Tyron, Abstract).
Claim 18-21,38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SATPUTE et al. (hereinafter "SATPUTE") in view of Shahosseini in further view of Tryon and Choi (US PG Pub 20120203428 hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding Claim 18, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 17.
Satupute fails to explicitly teach the system includes a communications module to transmit the road profile data to an external server.
Choi suggests the profile system (fig.1a-2a) includes a communications module Data Profile RF Transmitter) to transmit the road profile data (206) to an external server (202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where the profile system includes a communications module to transmit the road profile data to an external server as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding Claim 19, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 18
Satupute fails to explicitly teach including transmitting the road profile data from the external server to a second vehicle within a vehicle network.
Choi suggests transmitting the road profile data (206) from the external server (202) to a second vehicle within a vehicle network (see Fig.2a, 2b,first and second vehicles 110,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where including transmitting the road profile data from the external server to a second vehicle within a vehicle network as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding Claim 20, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 19
Satupute fails to explicitly teach an operation of the second vehicle is controlled based on the transmitted road profile data..
Choi suggests an operation of the second vehicle is controlled based on the transmitted road profile data (202).(see Fig.2a, 2b, second vehicles 110),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where an operation of the second vehicle is controlled based on the transmitted road profile data as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding Claim 21, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 16
Satupute fails to explicitly teach a route of travel for the second vehicle is determined based on the transmitted road profile data.
Choi suggests a route of travel for the second vehicle is determined based on the transmitted road profile data(202).(see Fig.2a, 2b, second vehicles 110),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where a route of travel for the second vehicle is determined based on the transmitted road profile data as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding Claim 38, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 37.
Satupute fails to explicitly teach the system includes a communications module to transmit the road profile data to an external server.
Choi suggests the profile system (fig.1a-2a) includes a communications module Data Profile RF Transmitter) to transmit the road profile data (206) to an external server (202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where the profile system includes a communications module to transmit the road profile data to an external server as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding Claim 39, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 38
Satupute fails to explicitly teach including transmitting the road profile data from the external server to a second vehicle within a vehicle network.
Choi suggests transmitting the road profile data (206) from the external server (202) to a second vehicle within a vehicle network (see Fig.2a, 2b,first and second vehicles 110,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where including transmitting the road profile data from the external server to a second vehicle within a vehicle network as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding Claim 40, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 39
Satupute fails to explicitly teach an operation of the second vehicle is controlled based on the transmitted road profile data..
Choi suggests an operation of the second vehicle is controlled based on the transmitted road profile data (202).(see Fig.2a, 2b, second vehicles 110),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where an operation of the second vehicle is controlled based on the transmitted road profile data as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Regarding Claim 41, SATPUTE as modified discloses the system of claim 40
Satupute fails to explicitly teach a route of travel for the second vehicle is determined based on the transmitted road profile data.
Choi suggests a route of travel for the second vehicle is determined based on the transmitted road profile data(202).(see Fig.2a, 2b, second vehicles 110),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Satpute where a route of travel for the second vehicle is determined based on the transmitted road profile data as suggested by Choi to advance communication of vehicle road conditions and avoid obstacle and a provide better driving experience (Choi, P[0019-0022]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is allowable, reasons of allowance due to merging 23 to claim 22 making ALL of the COMBINATION of limitations OF CLAIM 22 AND 23 allowable.
Claims 24-28 are allowed based on dependency from allowed claim 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 22, recites, “Inter alia”, claim 22 22. (Previously Presented) A magnified linear power generation system for use with a vehicle, the system comprising: a linear power generator including: a mover including a plurality of magnets and a material between each of the plurality of magnets separating each magnet from the next magnet by a fixed distance; a stator including a plurality of electrical coils, a plurality of stator cups, and a fixed shaft, wherein the coils are bobbin-wound coils and each coil is placed between two of the plurality of stator cups, wherein the stator cups are positioned along the fixed shaft, and wherein the stator at least partially surrounds the mover; Anda housing, the housing surrounding the mover and the stator, the housing having a non-magnetic outer surface; a casing, the casing surrounding the linear power generator; a mechanical magnification component coupled to the mover at a first end and coupled to a force receiving surface of the vehicle at a second end; and a biasing component comprising: a compressible material, wherein the compressible material is coupled to the mover on the distal end from the mechanical magnification component, the biasing component applying a biasing force to the mover to position the mover at a neutral location in the system; wherein the mechanical magnification component receives an input mechanical power from the force receiving surface, wherein the input mechanical power includes an input mechanical force and input mechanical velocity, the input force applied in a first direction, wherein the mechanical magnification component magnifies the input mechanical velocity to become a magnified mechanical velocity wherein the mechanical magnification component transfers the magnified mechanical velocity to the mover, wherein the magnified mechanical velocity overcomes the biasing force on the mover, wherein the mover moves within the stator in a second direction different from the first direction, the mover thereby translating the magnified mechanical velocity into electrical energy, and wherein the biasing component repositions the mover to the neutral location, 23. (Previously Presented) The magnified linear power generation system of claim 22 including a system for monitoring the amount of the input force and the amount of electrical energy produced by the linear power generator, the system capable of continuously recording road profile data for at least one of the input force and the electrical energy produced as a function of at least one of the weight of the vehicle, the location of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle.”
The combination of claim 23 with all the limitations of claim 22 makes the combination allowable, it is not suggested or taught by any of the references of record, and would not be reasonable to add more references to come up with the combination as explicitly laid out by claims 22 and 23 together. The combination is unique and is found to be allowable only if all limitations are combined together.
Claims 24-32 are objected based on dependency from claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834