DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 12/03/2025. Claim(s) 1–17 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16–17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim at this time. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/03/2025. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the shared technical feature makes a contribution over the prior art. This is not found persuasive because, as the PCT Written Opinion discusses in detail, the claims are not novel. Therefore, there is no contribution over the prior art and, thus, no shared technical feature that makes a contribution over the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears claim 12 should depend from claim 11 to avoid lack of antecedent basis issues. Examiner will assume, for purposes of examination under §§ 102 & 103 that claim 12 depends from claim 11. If this assumption is not correct, claim 12 may be subject to a § 112(b) rejection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–9 & 11–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0273428 to Nicolson et al.
With regard to claim 1, Nicolson discloses an attachment (10) for a haircare appliance (abstract) comprising: an inlet (12) for receiving an airflow (Fig. 1; ¶ 0056); a plurality of outlets (94–97) through which the airflow is discharged (Figs. 6, 6c; ¶¶ 0073, 0075, 0079–0080); and one or more members (16, 18) moveable between a first position and a second position (Figs. 6, 6a, 6c; ¶ 0057, 0060, 0073, 0075–0076), wherein the airflow is discharged from the outlets (96, 97) in a clockwise direction when the members (16, 18) are in the first position (Fig. 6c; ¶ 0073), and the airflow is discharged from the outlets (94, 95) in a counterclockwise direction when the members are in the second position (Fig. 6a; ¶ 0076).
With regard to claim 2, Nicolson further discloses the outlets (94–97) comprise first outlets through which the airflow is discharged in a clockwise direction (Fig. 6c; ¶ 0073) and second outlets through which the airflow is discharged in a counterclockwise direction (Fig. 6a; ¶ 0076), the members occlude the airflow to the second outlets when in the first position (Fig. 6c; ¶ 0073), and the members occlude the airflow to the first outlets when in the second position (Fig. 6a; ¶ 0076).
With regard to claim 3, Nicolson further discloses each of the members (16, 18) rotates between the first position and the second position (Figs. 6, 6a, 6c; ¶ 0057, 0060, 0073, 0075–0076).
With regard to claim 4, Nicolson further discloses each of the members (16, 18) rotates about a different, respective axis (Figs. 1, 6a, 6c).
With regard to claim 5, Nicolson further discloses each outlet (94–97) comprises a slot that extends substantially along the length of the attachment (10) (Figs. 1, 6a, 6c; ¶¶ 0073–0074).
With regard to claim 6, Nicolson further disclose the airflow is discharged from each outlet (94–97) in a direction substantially tangential to an external surface of the attachment (Figs. 6a, 6c; arrows are shown depicting tangential air movement).
With regard to claim 7, Nicolson further discloses the airflow discharged from each outlet is attracted to an external surface of the attachment (10) (Figs. 6a, 6c; arrows are shown depicting tangential air movement and the Coanda effect would inherently cause the air to be attracted to the external surface).
With regard to claim 8, Nicolson further discloses the attachment (10) is generally cylindrical (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 9, Nicolson further discloses the attachment (10) has a longitudinal axis and each outlet (94–97) comprises a slot that extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (Figs. 1, 6a, 6c; ¶¶ 0073–0074).
With regard to claim 11, Nicolson further discloses each moveable member comprises a louvre (16, 18) (Figs. 6a, 6c), the attachment (10) comprises a plurality of columns (22, 42) (Figs. 6a, 6c), and each louvre (16, 18) contacts a first column (22, 42) when in the first position (Figs. 6a, 6c), and contacts a second, different column (22, 42) when in the second position (Figs. 6a, 6c).
With regard to claim 12, Nicolson further discloses each louvre (16, 18) contacts the first column (22, 42) along a first edge of the louvre (16, 18) and a first outlet is created along a second edge of the louvre (16, 18) when in the first position (Figs. 6a, 6c), each louvre (16, 18) contacts the second column along the second edge and a second outlet is created along the first edge when in the second position (Figs. 6a, 6c), the airflow is discharged from the first outlet in a clockwise direction (Figs. 6a, 6c), and the airflow is discharged from the second outlet in a counterclockwise direction (Figs. 6a, 6c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 & 13–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolson in view of US 2015/0265024 to Maclaine.
Nicolson fails to disclose the attachment comprises an inner sleeve and an outer sleeve; the inner sleeve comprises a plurality of openings; the outer sleeve comprises a plurality of first openings and a plurality of second openings; the member is one of the inner sleeve and the outer sleeve and rotates relative to the other of the inner sleeve and the outer sleeve; when the member is in the first position, the openings of the inner sleeve align with the first openings of the outer sleeve such that the airflow is discharged in a clockwise direction; and when the member is in the second position, the openings of the inner sleeve align with the second openings of the outer sleeve such that the airflow is discharged in a counterclockwise direction. Maclaine teaches the attachment comprises an inner sleeve (330) and an outer sleeve (310); the inner sleeve (330) comprises a plurality of openings (318) (Figs. 10a-b, 11a-c, 12a-b, 13a-b; ¶¶ 0107–0117); the outer sleeve comprises a plurality of first openings (322) and a plurality of second openings (322) (Figs. 10a-b, 11a-c, 12a-b, 13a-b; ¶¶ 0107–0117); the member is one of the inner sleeve (330) and the outer sleeve (310) and rotates relative to the other of the inner sleeve (330) and the outer sleeve (310) (Figs. 10a-b, 11a-c, 12a-b, 13a-b; ¶¶ 0107–0117); when the member is in the first position, the openings (318) of the inner sleeve (330) align with the first openings (322) of the outer sleeve (310) such that the airflow is discharged in a clockwise direction (Figs. 10a-b, 11a-c, 12a-b, 13a-b; ¶¶ 0107–0117); and when the member is in the second position, the openings (318) of the inner sleeve (330) align with the second openings (322) of the outer sleeve (310) such that the airflow is discharged in a counterclockwise direction (Figs. 10a-b, 11a-c, 12a-b, 13a-b; ¶¶ 0107–0117). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the haircare appliance of Nicolson with the inner and outer cylinders of Maclaine because such a combination would have had the added benefit of a way to manually adjust the flow of the air.
With regard to claim 13, Nicolson as previously combined with Maclaine further discloses the attachment comprises a user-actuated selector (Maclaine: 336, 338) for moving the member between the first position and the second position (Maclaine: Figs. 10a-b, 11a-c, 12a-b, 13a-b; ¶¶ 0107–0117; movement of the triangle part (330) moves the member between the first and second positions).
With regard to claim 14, Nicolson as previously combined with Maclaine fails to disclose the selector comprises a dial that rotates to move the member between the first position and the second position. However, the use of dials to adjust ventilation output is old and well-known in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, at the time of filing, to use a dial to adjust the ventilation output, since a dial is one of a limited number of known acceptable options.
With regard to claim 15, Nicolson as previously combined with Maclaine further discloses the selector is latched and has two stable positions corresponding to the first and second positions of the members (¶ 0114; “latched” has been interpreted in its broadest form to mean “held in place”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
January 2, 2026