DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Benjaminson (WO2017/024132) in view of Samir (US 2018/0337074).
With respect to the limitations of claim 20, Benjaminson teaches a wafer temperature control device (title, abstract) comprising: a temperature control sheet configured to include a plurality of temperature control portions that are divided from each other via a division region in the same plane (Figs 1-5, inner heaters 220-1, outer heaters 220-2, 0024); and a top plate configured to include a plate body (Figs 2-3, puck 200, 0022) which is stacked on the temperature control sheet (220-1, 220-2), and of which a surface serves as a placement surface for a semiconductor wafer (wafer workpiece 50, 0022), the surface being opposite the temperature control sheet, the top plate includes a heat insulating portion (Fig 3, lower radial thermal break 210 with bottom opening located at division region between heaters 220-1, 220-2, 0023) disposed at a position corresponding to the division region in the plate body, when viewed in a stacking direction of the temperature control sheet and the top plate and having a thermal conductivity lower than (thermal breaks 210 are filled with air and has a lower thermal conductivity than aluminum alloy puck 200, 0030) a thermal conductivity of the plate body; the placement surface is a smooth surface intersecting the stacking direction (Fig 2, flat, smooth surface of puck 200). Benjaminson discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of temperature control portions are each independently controllable in temperature.
However, Samir discloses the plurality of temperature control portions are each independently controllable in temperature (Figs 1-4, first heater 42, second heater 427, 0050, may be operated independently of one another, and may be capable of adjusting temperatures across the top puck 405) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the wafer temperature control device of Benjaminson having a plurality of temperature control portions silent to independent temperature control with the plurality of temperature control portions are each independently controllable in temperature of Samir for the purpose of providing a known temperature control configuration that allows for the pedestal to be controlled in multiple independent zones in a finite temperature range, whereby improved operations may be performed because a substrate residing on the pedestal can be maintained at a more uniform temperature profile across the entire surface (0025).
With respect to the limitations of claims 22 and 23, Benjaminson teaches the temperature control sheet includes a plurality of sheet pieces forming each of the temperature control portions (inner heaters 220-1, outer heaters 220-2).
Claim 21 is also rejected because it is dependent upon claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 14, 15 and 19 are allowed.
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 5 and 7 have been amended.
Claims 2-4, 8-10, 12, 13 and 16-18 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 14, 15 and 19-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/13/2026 directed to claims 1, 5-7, 11, 14, 15 and 19 are moot in view of the allowed claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 20-23 been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has argued on page 12 of the Remarks about claim 20 that Benjaminson in view of Samir fails to disclose providing a heat insulating portion on the top plate, which has a smooth mounting surface, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not require a heat insulating portion on the top plate but rather “the top plate includes a heat insulating portion disposed at a position corresponding to the division region in the plate body” and as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 above, Benjaminson teaches “the surface being opposite the temperature control sheet, the top plate includes a heat insulating portion (Fig 3, lower radial thermal break 210 with bottom opening located at division region between heaters 220-1, 220-2, 0023) disposed at a position corresponding to the division region in the plate body” and where “the placement surface is a smooth surface intersecting the stacking direction (Fig 2, flat, smooth surface of puck 200)” and therefore fully discloses recited claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 4/13/2026