Claims Status
The amendments and remarks filed 06/08/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 3-13 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 9 are amended.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claims 11 and 12 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/04/2025.
Therefore, claims 1, 3-10 and 13 are under examination.
Withdrawn
The objections to the specification are withdrawn. Applicant has amended the specification to overcome the objection.
The objections to claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 9 are withdrawn. Applicant has amended claims 1, 5, 6, and 9, and cancelled claim 2 to overcome the objections.
The rejections of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) written description are withdrawn. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 5 to overcome the rejections.
The rejections of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) enablement are withdrawn. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 5 to overcome the rejections.
The rejections of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 5 to no longer require that the peptide is 14 amino acids having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, but rather, the amended claims now only require that the peptide have (i.e. comprise) the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, which necessitates the new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102. See below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liotta (WO2013065078; 06/30/2023 IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 8, and 9, Liotta teaches that the topical administration to the skin of preparations containing Nerve Growth Factor (NGF) is effective in achieving an intensification of skin color, i.e. an increase in pigmentation, and improvement (treatment) of dermatological conditions involving skin achormias or hypochromias, such as in vitiligo [page 9, lines 14-20]. Liotta further teaches that a re-pigmentation of de-pigmentated areas was observed in patients suffering from vitiligo following treatment with a preparation of topical base cream containing NGF [page 9, lines 21-25]. Liotta also teaches that the solution, suspension or emulsion containing NGF according to the invention may contain various additional biologically active components, and/or NGF can be conjugated with carrier molecules or with molecules known to facilitate the permeation through the epidermis, or with cosmetically acceptable vehicles [page 13, lines 3-14]. Liotta additionally teaches that the NGF can be NGF of human origin (i.e. hNGF) [page 12, lines 8-9].
As evidenced by UniProt, 2019 (instant PTO-892), the sequence of human NGF comprises SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant claim (i.e. residues 122-135 of hNGF) [see page 9, sequence listing and page 10, sequence alignment]. Thus, the NGF peptide of Liotta necessarily comprises SEQ ID NO: 1 as claimed, and therefore, the teachings of Liotta anticipate the instant claims.
Regarding claim 6, Liotta teaches that the preparation containing NGF contains 10 to 1000 ug/mL of NGF [page 18, lines 1-4]. MPEP 2144.05 (I) states “in the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facia case of obviousness exists.”
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Liotta teaches that that the preparation containing NGF is for topical application [page 11, lines 6-11] and can be in the form of a lotion, spray, cream, ointment, or gel [page 13, lines 23-25].
Regarding claim 10, Liotta teaches that in that the method for therapy of dermatological dyschromic disorders by applying a preparation containing NGF on the skin are to be treated is combined with a topical steroid preparation [page 18, lines 21-25 and page 24; claims 10 and 13].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liotta (WO2013065078; 06/30/2023 IDS), as applied to claims 1, 5-10, and 13 above, and further in view LifeTein, 2008 (03/11/2026 PTO-892).
The teachings of Liotta are above.
However, Liotta does not teach chemically modifying or protecting the N and/or C terminal of the peptide with an acyl compound to create a peptide derivative.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, LifeTein teaches that N-terminal acetylation can increase the stability of the peptide, increasing the peptides ability to resist enzymatic degradation, and the N-terminal acetylation generates a closer mimic of the native protein, and thus, increases the biological activity of the peptide and increases its ability to enter cells [see pages 2-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the NGF peptide, as taught by Liotta, to comprise an N-terminal acetylation, as taught by LifeTein. One would have been motivated to make this modification because LifeTein teaches that N-terminal acetylation can increase the stability of the peptide, increasing the peptides ability to resist enzymatic degradation, and generates a closer mimic of the native protein, thus increasing the biological activity of the peptide and its ability to enter cells.
Response to Arguments
The rejections of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been withdrawn as Applicant has amended claims 1 and 5 to no longer require that the peptide is 14 amino acids having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, but rather, the amended claims now only require that the peptide have (i.e. comprise) the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, which necessitates the new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102. However, the remarks will be addressed to the extent they apply to the new rejections. On page 7 of the remarks, Applicant argues unexcepted results of NGF1-14 compared to full-length NGF, pointing to Examples 2a and 2b of the instant specification for support. This is not persuasive because the results of Examples 2a and 2b are not commensurate in scope. The claims are directed to a peptide comprising SEQ ID NO:1 (i.e. NGF1-14), and are not limited to consisting of NGF1-14. Therefore, the results of Examples 2a and 2b of the instant application that Applicant relies upon to demonstrate unexpected results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. See MPEP 716.02(d).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/JEFFREY STUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1675