A Combined Sample Collection and Filtration Device Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “a closure” is unclear if the closure refers to the closure of claim 1 or something else. For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets limitation as “the closure”. The dependent claims are likewise interpreted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fruchter (US 20210215585, “Fruchter”).
Regarding claim 1, Fruchter discloses, in figures 1-4, a combined sample collection and filtration device (20) for collecting and filtering a fluid sample (22), the device comprising: a sample collection location (36); a filter module (32) configured to remove particulate matter from the fluid sample (22), the filter module (32) having a bubble point and a burst pressure (the examiner asserts a wetted filter has an inherent bubble point and filters have an inherent burst pressure); a closure for sealing off and pressurizing (¶ 0139, examiner notes the plunger head is shaped for form a seal with the wall of the housing to pressurize the liquid container and force liquid through the filter) the device (20); and one or more voids (30, 46) in communication with the sample collection location (30), the one or more voids (30, 46) each comprising a compressible gas (see fig. 1, examiner notes Fruchter depicts the liquid receptacle and filter chamber to be initially filled with a gas), wherein the one or more voids (30, 46) are configured to accommodate a fluid sample during pressurization (see fig. 1B, examiner notes Fruchter’ s liquid receptacle and filter chamber receives liquid pushed by the plunger through the filter), and wherein the device (20) is configured to compress or expel the compressible gas from the one or more voids during pressurization, such that the pressure within the device remains below the bubble point and the burst pressure of the filter module (examiner notes that the limitation, “configured to compress or expel… from the one or more voids during pressurization, such that the pressure… remains below the bubble point and the burst pressure of the filter module” is a functional language type limitation. Applicant is reminded that functionality must be distinguished from the prior art structure's inherent functionality. In the instant case, Fruchter’s device is capable of compressing gas in the liquid receptacle and filter chamber so that the pressure remains below the bubble point and the burst pressure of the filter, See MPEP 2114.).
Regarding claim 3, Fruchter discloses, in figures 1-4, there is a plurality of voids (30, 46, 36, 344) separated by a plurality of partitions (see fig. 4, Fruchter depicts a cross-section of the filter chamber partition separating the filter chamber from the liquid receptacle, further Fruchter depicts the vials separated by the plunger shaft).
Regarding claim 5, Fruchter discloses, in figures 1-4, a compressible absorptive pad (58).
Regarding claim 6, Fruchter discloses, in figures 1-4, the compressible absorptive pad (58) is removable (¶ 0354, examiner notes the swab can be inserted into and removed from the liquid).
Regarding claim 12, Fruchter discloses, in figures 1-4, a check-valve (51, 60) in fluid communication with the filter module (32).
Regarding claim 17, Fruchter discloses, in figures 1-4, the one or more voids (30, 46, 344) further comprises a plunger element (40) for separating fluid sample (22) from gas in the one or more voids (30, 46, 344) and for preventing the fluid (22) sample from flowing off the filter module (32).
Regarding claim 18, Fruchter discloses, in figures 1-4, the one or more voids (30, 46, 344) comprise an air vent (361) configured to allow air (¶ 0306, Fruchter’s second pressure relief valve is capable of relieving air pressure to the environment) to escape the device (90).
Regarding claim 19, Fruchter discloses, in figures 1-4, a deformable (¶ 0306, Fruchter’s second pressure relief valve open when exposed to a pressure gradient greater than a threshold) barrier (361) to the one or more voids (30, 344) for separating fluid sample (22) from gas (¶ 0306, Fruchter’s second pressure relief valve is capable of relieving air pressure to the environment) in the one or more voids (30) and for preventing the fluid sample(22) from flowing off the filter module (32).
Regarding claim 20, Fruchter discloses, in figures 1-4, the one of the voids (344) comprises an air vent configured to allow air to escape (see fig. 4B) the device (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fruchter (US 20210215585, “Fruchter”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andeshmand (US 20210047678; “Andeshmand”).
Regarding claim 8, Fruchter fails to disclose porosity details of the filter.
Andeshmand teaches the filter module (¶ 0338, “size-exlusion filter”) comprises a plurality of filter- membranes and wherein porosity is graded to prevent membrane clogging (¶ 0338, Andeshmand’s filter retains particles larger than its pore size on the upstream surface of the filter and captures particles with a diameter below the rated pore size by mechanisms within the membrane structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Andeshmand’s size-exclusion filter design with internal mechanisms for retaining smaller size particles to define Fruchter’s filter. Doing so reduces the rate of filter fouling.
Regarding claim 9, Fruchter and Andeshmand disclose, in Fruchter’s figures 1-4, a support structure (Fruchter, ¶ 0055, “filter-support surface”) residing between the filter membrane (¶ 0228, Fruchter’s filter comprises membranes) and a compression compartment (Fruchter (36)).
Regarding claim 10, Fruchter and Andeshmand disclose, in Fruchter’s figures 1-4, a guard (not enumerated, see fig. 1, examiner notes the sides of the liquid container at the filter level act to center and guard the filter against movement).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fruchter (US 20210215585, “Fruchter”) and Andeshmand (US 20210047678; “Andeshmand”), as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Webster (US 20200009554; “Webster”).
Regarding claim 11, Fruchter and Andeshmand fail to disclose the wetting coefficient of the filter.
Webster teaches, in figure 2, the filter membrane (140) of the filter module (112, 140) has a positive wetting coefficient (¶ 0059, Webster’s wetted filter prevents pressurized gas from passing through therefore liquid spreads over the entire surface and is construed to have a positive wetting coefficient) and is configured to wick (Webster, ¶ 0059, “excess sample material 102 in the sample well port 112 may be allowed to wick into the fluidic channel 120”) in the fluid sample (102) and to thereby form a seal (Webster, ¶ 0059, “the filter 140 may effectively act as a seal for gas”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Webster’s positive wetting coefficient filter as Fruchter and Andeshmand’s filter since it is well known to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Doing so provides a reliable way of preventing additional gas from moving into the filter chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, examiner notes a search has not revealed art teaching or suggesting the device of Fruchter wherein each void comprises a sealed volume that is compressed upon closure of the device. The examiner concludes prior existence of the combination is improbable.
Regarding claim 21, examiner notes a search has not revealed art teaching or suggesting the device of Fruchter wherein one of the voids comprises a bladder of compressible gas for separating fluid sample from gas in the one or more voids and for preventing the fluid sample from flowing off the filter module. The examiner concludes prior existence of the combination is improbable.
Claims 7 and 13-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY P GRAVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855