DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 49, 54, 55, 59-66 are pending, of which claims 4-10 were previously withdrawn and claims 60-66 are new.
The previous claim objections and 35 USC 112 claim rejections have been withdrawn due to the amendment.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 62-66 are directed to an invention that lacks unity with the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: they do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons: even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a bioreactor including a fixed bed; a sensor system for sensing a cell density comprising at least one of the following: a sensor for measuring impedance, the sensor comprises a pair of electrodes arranged with the fixed bed positioned therebetween, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of CASTILLO (GB2465282) as previously cited. CASTILLO discloses a culture device with a fixed bed bioreactor (page 2, lines 23-24)(an apparatus for culturing cells comprising a bioreactor including a fixed bed for culturing cells); a sensor containing an electrode arrangement to measure culture parameters especially biomass (cell density)(page 6, lines 18-20)(a sensor system for sensing a cell density); the cell density is determined by electrical impedance analysis (page 6, lines 25-26)(a sensor for measuring impedance across at least a portion of the fixed bed); Castillo further teaches the electrical impedance analysis is done using an electrode arrangement of at least four measuring electrodes (pair of electrodes)(page 6, lines 26-28) and as seen in Fig. 7, the sensor element containing the electrodes are arranged with a portion of the fixed bed positioned between. Therefore, the shared technical features lack novelty and does not make a contribution over the prior art and does not constitute a special technical feature.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 62-66 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 61 recites “at least one electrode of the pair of electrodes is located between layers of the fixed bed”, however there is no antecedent basis for the limitation of “layers of the fixed bed”. Therefore, it is unclear if this limitation is intended to be a further limiting positive recitation of an additional feature of the fixed bed or if the limitation is intended to only apply in an instance where layers happen to be present and therefore is not further limiting of the currently claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 49, 54-55, 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by CASTILLO (GB2465282).
Regarding claim 1, Castillo teaches the following:
A culture device with a fixed bed bioreactor (page 2, lines 23-24)(an apparatus for culturing cells comprising a bioreactor including a fixed bed for culturing cells);
A sensor containing an electrode arrangement to measure culture parameters especially biomass (cell density)(page 6, lines 18-20)(a sensor system for sensing a cell density of at least a portion of the fixed bed);
The cell density is determined by electrical impedance analysis (page 6, lines 25-26)(a
sensor for measuring impedance across at least a portion of the fixed bed);
The electrical impedance analysis is done using an electrode arrangement of at least four measuring electrodes (pair of electrodes)(page 6, lines 26-28) and as seen in Fig. 7, below, the sensor element containing the pair of electrodes that are arranged at different locations within the cell culture area and arranged with a portion of the fixed bed positioned between (page 27, lines 5-9). Note: Castillo teaches the particular features, structures or characteristics may be combined in any suitable manner in one or more embodiments.
Regarding Claim 2, Castillo teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 (see above). Castillo further
teaches the cell density is determined by electrical impedance analysis (page 6, lines 25-26)(the sensor system comprises the sensor for measuring impedance across at least a portion of the fixed bed). The sensor must measure the impedance across some portion of the fixed bed in order to be able to measure the impedance. Therefore, the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
Regarding Claim 49, Castillo teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 (see above). The portion of
the fixed bed must be located in a common chamber with the fixed bed as it is a portion of the fixed bed. Therefore, Castillo teaches all of the limitations of Claim 49.
Regarding Claim 54, Castillo teaches the following:
A culture device with a fixed bed bioreactor (page 2, lines 23-24) (an apparatus for
culturing cells comprising a bioreactor including a fixed bed for culturing cells);
A sensor containing an electrode arrangement to measure culture parameters especially biomass (cell density)(page 6, lines 18-20)(a sensor system for sensing a cell density of at least a portion of the fixed bed);
The cell density is determined by electrical impedance analysis (page 6, lines 25-26)(a
sensor for measuring impedance across at least a portion of the fixed bed);
The electrical impedance analysis is done using an electrode arrangement of at least four measuring electrodes (pair of electrodes)(page 6, lines 26-28) and as seen in Fig. 7, the sensor element containing the pair of electrodes that are arranged at different locations within the cell culture area and arranged with a portion of the fixed bed positioned between (page 27, lines 5-9). Note: Castillo teaches the particular features, structures or characteristics may be combined in any suitable manner in one or more embodiments.
Regarding Claim 55, Castillo teaches all of the limitations of Claim 54 (see above). The portion of
the fixed bed must be located in a common chamber with the fixed bed as it is a portion of the fixed bed. Therefore, Castillo teaches all of the limitations of Claim 55.
Regarding claim 60, Castillo discloses the electrodes of the pair of electrodes are located on opposite sides of the fixed bed (see Fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 59, 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CASTILLO (GB2465282) in view of MAIRESSE (CA3106661).
Regarding claim 59, Castillo teaches all of the limitations of claim 55 (see above). Castillo does not explicitly teach the fixed bed to comprise a spiral bed. However, Mairesse teaches a fixed bed perfusion bioreactor (page 9, lines 34-38) that can contain sensors for monitoring different parameters including a cell density sensor (page 16, lines 34-38) in which each bed comprises a spiral bed (page 32, line 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Castillo with the spiral bed as taught by Mairesse. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would help retain the cells being grown (page 32, line 14). Further, it would have been an obvious selection for the purposes of growing cell culture in a fixed bed and a selection based on its suitability for its intended purpose has been held prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 61, Castillo teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 (see above). Castillo further discloses the electrode may be in contact with the culture medium and preferably arranged in the cell culture zone, or integrated in the culture vessel e.g. on or in a cell culture substrate within the culture zone, or in other words in contact with a cell culture substrate present in the culture zone (page 6, lines 6-15), but does not explicitly disclose the fixed bed has layers with the electrode located between the layers.
However, Mairesse teaches a fixed bed perfusion bioreactor (page 9, lines 34-38) that can contain sensors for monitoring different parameters including a cell density sensor (page 16, lines 34-38) in which each bed comprises a spiral material forming layers (page 32, line 13; Fig 5-5a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Castillo with the spiral layered bed as taught by Mairesse. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would help retain the cells being grown (page 32, line 14) and provide a greater surface area for cellular attachment. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when combining these prior art features to locate the electrodes arranged on or in a cell culture substrate taught by Castillo in between the layers as taught by Mairesse to accurately sense culture density throughout each layer of the spiral substrate to ensure uniform cell distribute or determine the effects of layer location on cellular density. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art place the electrodes between layers of the fixed bed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, filed 7/29/26, with respect to the rejection in view of Mairesse of claims 1, 2, 49 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 a1 rejection of claims 1, 2, 49 over Mairesse has been withdrawn.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 4, that Castillo does not teach two electrodes forming a pair or the fixed bed portion between the pair as in amended claim 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Figure 7 of Castillo clearly depicts two (a pair of) sensor elements (electrodes) 11 located with at least a portion of the fixed bed positioned therebetween (portion right of the leftmost sensor 11 and/or portion left of the rightmost sensor 11). As discussed in the above rejection, Castillo meets all the positively recited limitations of the bioreactor system as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See references on attached PTO892 that relate to layered fixed beds and are therefore considered relevant to the state of the art of applicant’s endeavor.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799