DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119
(a)-(d). Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for benefit to foreign applications CN202010826899.8 and CN202011004197.8 filed 08/17/2020 and 09/22/2020 respectively.
This application claims the benefit of priority to Patent Application PCT/CN2021/121350.
Acknowledgement is made of Applicants’ claim for benefit to prior filed to Patent Application
Number PCT/CN2021/121350, filed on 09/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 05/11/2023, 09/23/2024, 02/27/2025, and 08/18/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3-20 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection to claim 2 has been withdrawn in view of the applicant canceling the claim in the reply filed 12/30/2025.
Rejection to claims 1, 3-8 and 10-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (Molecular Therapy: Methods & Clinical Development, 2018) in view of Aslanidi et al. (PNAS, 2009) have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendment filed 07/06/2026.
New rejections necessitated by amendment:
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (Molecular Therapy: Methods & Clinical Development, 2018) in view of Aslanidi et al. (PNAS, 2009) and in view of Gomez Sebastian et al. (US2015/0307899).
Regarding claim 1, Wu et al. teach a nucleic acid construct, wherein the nucleic acid construct comprises: AAV elements comprising a polynucleotide encoding Cap proteins and a polynucleotide encoding Rep proteins (page 38, abstract). Wu et al. teach the nucleic acid construct further comprises inverted terminal repeats (ITRs), which reads on AAV cis-acting elements (page 38, introduction).
Wu et al. do not teach the construct further comprises a nucleotide sequence encoding IE protein or a p6.9p10 promoter operably linked to the polynucleotide encoding the Cap protein.
Aslanidi et al. teach the inclusion of a nucleotide sequence encoding IE protein (page 5059, abstract). Aslanidi et al. teach after an IE-1 binding target sequence, homologous region 2 (HR2), is inserted into an expression cassette for producing rAAV, the production of rAAV can be increased (page 5059, abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Wu et al. for a nucleic acid construct with the teachings of Aslanidi et al. for enhancing expression by adding a nucleotide sequence encoding IE protein and HR2 region for insertion. Aslanidi et al. provide motivation by teaching adding IE-1 to the nucleic acid expression cassette increases expression of the rAAV vector (page 5059, abstract). One of skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at combining Wu et al. and Aslanidi et al. because both teach production of rAAV in Sf9 cells following infection with a recombinant baculovirus.
Wu et al. and Aslanidi et al. do not teach p6.9p10 promoter operably linked to the polynucleotide encoding the Cap protein.
Gomez Sebastian et al. teach improved production of recombinant proteins in insect cells or insect larvae as biofactories by expression cassette (cover page, abstract). Gomez Sebastian et al. teach an expression cassette that expresses the IE-1 /IE-0 proteins above endogenous levels have an increased viability and an increase in the integrity of the molecular cell machinery and cell morphology (page, paragraph 0009). Gomez Sebastian et al. teach the promoter sequence may be composed of different promoter fragments (either different or the same fragments) that are localized closely in the DNA sequence and may be separated by linkers or spacers (page 7, paragraph 0201). Gomez Sebastian et al. teach the baculovirus of the invention expressed the Cap,VP60 and L1 proteins under the control of the p6.9p10 chimeric promoter that was previously synthesized (page 11, paragraph 0288). Gomez Sebastian et al. teach the expression cassette is more efficient in expressing the Cap protein which is driven by p6.9p10 (page 12, paragraph 0289).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Wu et al. and Aslanidi et al. for a nucleic acid construct, wherein the nucleic acid construct comprises: AAV elements comprising a polynucleotide encoding Cap proteins and a polynucleotide encoding Rep proteins, inverted terminal repeats (ITRs), and enhancing expression by adding a nucleotide sequence encoding IE protein and HR2 region for insertion with the teachings of Gomez Sebastian et al. for a p6.9p10 promoter to drive expression of Cap. Gomez Sebastian et al. provide motivation by teaching that the expression cassette is more efficient in expressing the Cap protein which is driven by p6.9p10. One of skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at combining Wu et al. and Aslanidi et al. and Gomez Sebastian et al. because they all teach methods for improved production of virus-like particles in insect cells.
Regarding claim 3, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the nucleic acid construct according to claim 2. Aslanidi et al. further teach the IE protein is encoded by Autographa californica IE-1 (Acie01) gene and the recombination homologous region is hr2 (page 5059, abstract). Regarding claim 4, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the nucleic acid construct of claim 1. Wu et al. further teach the nucleic acid construct further comprises a promoter of an IE protein coding gene, where the promoters are PH and P10 promoters (page 42, discussion).
Regarding claim 5, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the nucleic acid construct of claim 1. Wu et al. further teach optimal expression of AAV Rep and Cap proteins downstream of the PH and P10 promoters (page 42, discussion). Aslanidi et al. teach homologous region 2 (HR2), is inserted into an expression cassette for producing rAAV (page 5059, abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the nucleic acid construct of claim 1. Wu et al. teach the nucleic acid construct further comprises: inverted terminal repeats (ITRs) which reads on AAV cis-acting elements (page 38, introduction).
Regarding claim 7, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the nucleic acid construct of claim 1. Wu et al. further teach the genome of the rAAV vector includes the exogenous gene of interest (GOI) flanked by inverted terminal repeats (ITRs), with the AAV Rep and Cap proteins being supplied in trans (page 38, introduction). The gene of interest (GOI) is placed between AAV elements which are the Cap and REP elements.
Regarding claim 8, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the nucleic acid construct of claim 7. Wu et al. further teach the genome of the rAAV vector includes the exogenous gene of interest (GOI) flanked by inverted terminal repeats (ITRs), with the AAV Rep and Cap proteins being supplied in trans (page 38, introduction). The gene of interest (GOI) is placed between the AAV Cap and REP elements. Aslanidi et al. teach the addition of a sequence for the IE protein as the gene of interest (page 5059, abstract). Furthermore, Wu et al. and Aslanidi et al. make obvious the following nucleic acid construct IE gene expression cassette-Cap gene expression cassette-ITR-exogenous gene of interest expression cassette-ITR- Rep gene expression cassette.
Regarding claim 10, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the nucleic acid construct of claim 1. Wu et al. teach the construct is a recombinant baculovirus vector-and the recombinant baculovirus vector is a recombinant baculovirus shuttle vector (page 42, discussion).
Regarding claim 11, Wu et al. teach a recombinant baculovirus (page 38, abstract). Wu et al. teach the recombinant baculovirus is obtained by constructing a nucleic acid through the baculovirus system (page 38, abstract). Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. teach the nucleic acid is the nucleic acid as described above in regard to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Wu et al. teach an adeno-associated virus is obtained by infecting cells with the recombinant baculovirus of claim 11 and further packaging (page 43, discussion).
Regarding claim 13, Wu et al. teach a cell line (Sf9) where the cell line is infected with a recombinant baculovirus (page 42, discussion). Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the recombinant baculovirus is the recombinant baculovirus as described in regard to claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious an adeno-associated virus vector system and the nucleic acid construct described above in regards to claim 1. Wu et al. teach the adeno-associated virus vector system comprises a baculovirus system (page 42, discussion).
Regarding claim 15, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious a method for constructing the nucleic acid construct of claim 1. Wu et al. teach the method comprises integrating AAV elements carrying an exogenous gene of interest (page 36, introduction). Aslanidi et al. teach a polynucleotide encoding an IE protein (page 5059, abstract). Aslanidi further teaches nucleic acid construct comprises a polynucleotide encoding hr2 (page 5059, abstract), and a recombination homologous region of baculovirus.
Regarding claim 16, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the method according to claim 15. Wu et al. teach the wherein the method includes 1) AAV elements including a polynucleotide encoding Cap proteins and a polynucleotide encoding Rep proteins (page 38, abstract). 2) Aslanidi et al teach and AAV cis-acting elements where the AAV cis-acting elements are ITR sequences (page 5059, abstract). Aslanidi et al. further teaches the protein IE is encoded by Autographa californica IE-1 (Acie01) genes and hr2 (page 5059, abstract). 3) Wu et al. teach the backbone of the baculovirus vector is the pFast.Bac.Dual (pFD) (page 39, Generation of rAAVs from Single Novel BEV-Infected Sf9 Cells). 4) Aslanidi further teaches nucleic acid construct further comprises a polynucleotide encoding hr2 (page 5059, abstract), a recombination homologous region of baculovirus.
Regarding claim 17, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious a method for producing adeno-associated virus. Wu et al. teach the method comprises the step of infecting an insect cell line (page 42, discussion) with a recombinant baculovirus. Wu et al. and Aslanidi et al. make obvious the recombinant baculovirus is the recombinant baculovirus described above in regard to claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the nucleic acid construct of claim 5. Wu et al. further teach the nucleic acid construct further comprises baculovirus promoters which are PH and P10 (page 42, discussion).
Regarding claim 19, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the nucleic acid construct of claim 10. Wu et al. teach the construct is a recombinant baculovirus vector which is a shuttle vector (page 42, discussion).
Regarding claim 20, Wu et al., Aslanidi et al., and Gomez Sebastian et al. make obvious the method according to claim 16. Wu et al. teach the nucleic acid construct comprises inverted terminal repeats (ITRs), which reads on AAV cis-acting elements are ITR sequences (page 38, introduction).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-12, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-8 and 10-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of applicant’s amendments filed. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s arguments filed 07/06/2026.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Anna Skibinsky/
Primary Examiner, AU 1635