DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 should read “wherein the detection element waits a verification period” for grammatical purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first operation mode" and “the second operation mode” in lines 2 and 4, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted there are plural modes for the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 2014/0268652).
Regarding claim 1, Li (US 2014/0268652) discloses –
Device for diffusing volatile substances, comprising:
- a diffuser (Figs. 6-7 heating element for activating the scent mode of the scented cartridge 40, see pars. 58-59) for diffusing the volatile substances; and
- a controller (fig. 4 circuit board 54 for controlling the device, pars. 43-44) connected to the diffuser that controls the operation of the diffuser (pars. 60-61), characterized in that
the device for diffusing volatile substances also comprises
a detection element configured to provide an indication of whether the device is worn by a user or placed on a surface (pars. 30 and 59, the bottom surface includes control switches for initiation of an operation of the device including an LED light source that would indicate an operation, the control switch corresponding to the switch disclosed as the detection element in the specification where the switch controls the operation of the device) connected with the controller wherein the controller operates the device:
- in a personal operation mode, when the device is worn by a user (the switch will not be in contact with a surface if it is picked up off a surface and therefore the device would necessarily be in a personal operation mode): or
- in an environmental operation mode, when the device is used in a room placed on a surface (par. 30, the switch on the bottom would be well capable of being activated by the surface it is located on).
The device disclosed by Li is reasonably capable of and expected to perform the claimed functions of providing an indication of whether the device is worn by a user or placed on a surface as claimed, and discloses all the claimed structure. Therefore, all the limitations of the claim are met. See MPEP 2114, II.
Regarding claim 2, Li further teaches the detection means (3) comprises a contact switch (the switches 30 and 32 for activation are described as switches for actuation, reading on the limitation of a contact switch; pars. 58, 61).
Regarding claim 5, Li further teaches the detection element (3) is placed in the bottom part of the device (par. 30 discloses the switch being in the bottom of the device).
Regarding claim 6, Li further teaches the detection element sends a signal to the controller indicating whether the device is worn by a user or placed on a surface (the control switch as set forth in par. 59 is analogous to the detection element disclosed in the specification and would reasonably perform this function, therefore the limitation is met, see MPEP 2114, II).
Regarding claim 7, Li further teaches in the first operation mode the length of the activation period of the diffusion means and/or the time between activation periods of the diffusion means is/are different from the second operation mode (pars. 52, 60-61 the depression of the switch 32 affects the duty cycle of heating and duration which affects both the length of activation and the time between activation periods, which compared to a control state where the device is off also changes these parameters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2014/0268652) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above and further in view of Hoppe (WO 2013/043696).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Li is set forth above with regards to claim 1 but appears to be silent with regards to a light sensor and a proximity sensor.
Hoppe (WO 2013/043696) discloses a diffuser (title, abstract) wherein detection element include a photodetector or light sensor, and also a proximity sensor (par. 166, 304 disclose light sensors and motion sensors which detect objects within a preset range, reading on the limitation of a proximity sensor). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Li such that the detection element include a light sensor and proximity sensor as taught by Hoppe to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to detect and operate the diffuser when users are in proximity and when the device is in an operational position as desired, and to intelligently and automatically control the device as is known in the art to arrive at an improved diffusion device. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including diffusers and conventional sensors, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 8, Li is set forth above with regards to claim 6 but appears to be silent with regards to a verification period before sending the signal.
Hoppe discloses a diffuser (title, abstract) wherein the detection means wait a verification period before sending the signal to control means for activating (par. 14, 216). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Li such that the detecting element wait a verification period before sending the signal to the control means as taught by Hoppe to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid accidental activations of the device to arrive at a more user-friendly device. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including buttons and common button control protocols, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/25 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s remarks directed towards the 101 rejections and the 112(b) rejections are persuasive and those rejections are obviated in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant’s remarks filed 11/19/25 directed towards the 102 rejection of claim 1 are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 that Li fails to teach a detection element for providing an indication of whether the device is worn by a user or placed on a surface, which is not persuasive. The detection element claimed is supported in the specification on p. 2 lines 15-18 as a switch on a bottom part of the device, and Li clearly discloses that in pars. 30 and 59. Further, the “indication” provided is construed as being either a signal for operation of the device or an indication to a user of state of the device, both of which are taught by Li in those same paragraphs, as the device is operated by and having an LED illuminated in response to the switch that is located on a bottom of the device being toggled by contact.
Further, Applicant argues the device does not teach different modes that read on a personal mode or an environmental mode, which is further not persuasive. Li discloses in par. 30 different modes of both the light part of the device and the scenting mode of the device being controlled by the control switch, any one of these modes reading on the limitation of an “environmental” mode or a “personal mode” because the modes, as claimed, do not have any particular function required of them and are generic operations of the device.
Furthermore, Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the intended operation of the device, and a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The device disclosed by Li is well capable of performing the functions as claimed and discloses all the structure as claimed. Therefore, all the limitations of claim 1 are met.
The remaining claims remain rejected similarly, as Applicant does not present any particular arguments specific to the dependent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN A HENSEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1758