Priority date of 08/17/2020 based on AU2020902914 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3-6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. “the or each rail member of the second portion” has no antecedent basis. Should change to “the at least one rail member of the second portion”, “the or each rail member of the other luggage” has no antecedent basis and it is unclear what the rail member (of first or second portion) is referring to.
SET I:
Claims 1, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasebe (20040007483).
[0033] That is, a portable housing case 10 is basically constituted by a base board 1 and a top board 2, which are accompanied with frames 1a and 2a respectively at prescribed peripheral end portions thereof. The base board 1 and the top board 2 having hollow space are combined together using hinges 3 so as to form a shell, which can be freely opened or closed. The hinges 3 are arranged opposite to the frames 1a and 2a, between which a handle 4 having an appropriate shape suiting a human hand, and lock mechanisms 5 are arranged. In addition, legs 6 can be also arranged in proximity to the exterior surfaces of the hinges 3 in order to allow the case 10 to be vertically arranged on the floor and the like as necessary.
[0038] The present embodiment is basically designed in such a way that the band-shaped hollow 11 is extended in the longitudinal direction of the base board 1 approximately about the center axis X.sub.1, and the band-shaped projection 21 is extended in the longitudinal direction of the top board 2 approximately about the center axis X.sub.2. Of course, this invention is not necessarily limited to the present embodiment; that is, it is possible to adequately modify or change the hollow 11 and the projection 21 in positions. In addition, the base board 1 does not necessarily arrange a single hollow 111 thereon, and the top board 2 does not necessarily arrange a single projection 21 thereon. That is, it is possible to arrange multiple hollows on the base board 1 and multiple projections on the top board 2. Therefore, it is possible to adequately determine the positions and the number of the hollow and projection formed on the base and top board in response to the overall design of the case and its manufacturing cost.
Alternative 1:
A luggage unit comprising a substantially rigid body having a first portion (2) at least partially releasably attached to a second portion (1) to define a storage space for storing items therein; the first portion having an outer surface with a plurality of rail members (21) extending longitudinally thereon:
[0038] … That is, it is possible to arrange multiple hollows on the base board 1 and multiple projections on the top board 2.
Each rail member projecting above the outer surface of the first portion to form at least one channel therebetween; and the second portion having an outer surface with at least one rail member extending longitudinally thereon, the or each rail member projecting above the outer surface of the second portion, and configured to conform to the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the first portion and wherein both the first portion and the second portion have a chamfered edge formed along opposing ends thereof (see above).
With respect to the limitation that wherein the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the first portion extends into the chamfered edge and is configured to slidingly receive and locate the or each rail member that extends into the chamfered edge of the outer surface of the second portion of another luggage. Note that the stacking features, i.e, the rails on both the first and second portion in Hasebe extending to the chamfered edge at the ends in fig. 1A:
such that the or each rail member (112) of the other luggage unit is able to slide within the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the luggage unit such that the other luggage unit slides longitudinally over the first portion of the luggage unit along a length of the luggage unit
Alternative 2:
Hasebe teaches a substantially rigid body having a first portion (bottom portion 1) at least partially releasably attached to a second portion (top 2) to define a storage space for storing items therein; the first portion having an outer surface with a plurality of rail members extending longitudinally thereon, each rail member projecting above the outer surface of the first portion to form at least one channel (11) therebetween; and the second portion having an outer surface with at least one rail member (21), and configured to conform to the at least one channel (11) formed in the outer surface of the first portion; wherein the first portion and the second portion have a chamfered edge formed along an end thereof, the chamfered edge of the first portion being located at an opposite end of the substantially rigid body to the chamfered edge of the second portion and wherein the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the first portion extends into the chamfered edge and is configured to slidingly receive and locate the or each rail member that extends into the chamfered edge of the outer surface of the second portion of another luggage unit such that the or each rail member of the other luggage unit is able to slide within the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the luggage unit such that the other luggage unit slides longitudinally over the first portion of the luggage unit along a length of the luggage unit. Regarding the limitation “each rail member of the other luggage unit is able to slide within the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the luggage unit such that the other luggage unit slides longitudinally over the first portion of the luggage unit along a length of the luggage unit.” note that a) this limitation does not impart any structure over the structures of the two mating structures in Hasebe, b) the structure in Hasebe is capable of such functionality, i.e., there is nothing obstruction the sliding of the two surfaces Hasebe when the protrusions and channels are mated or when the protrusions are in contact with another protrusions, and/or c) the protrusions on the bottom of the top case can longitudinally or laterally slide when the protrusions of the top in contact with another protrusion until the mating and then the top case and slide with the bottom case in the longitudinal direction since there is nothing obstruct the movement of the two cases in the longitudinal direction and/or d) the chamfer edge of the top unit can freely slide on the top of the bottom unit.
Regarding claim 6, note multiple luggage unit.
Set II:
Claims 1, 3-6, and 11are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forrest (20110147385), or in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasabe or Smith (D248015).
[0016] FIGS. 1A and 1B illustrate a container assembly 10 configured according to one embodiment of the present invention as seen from the top (FIG. 1A) and bottom (FIG. 1B) of the container 10, respectively. Container 10 comprises a two-piece molded, stackable container comprising a top section (or lid) 20 and a bottom section (or base) 40. A plurality of latch assemblies 120 are disposed around the perimeter of the container 10 to allow a user to secure the lid 20 to the base 40.
[0019] The lid 20 comprises sidewalls 22 that extend downward from a periphery of a top surface 24. The top surface 24 includes a plurality of molded stacking features that allow one container 10 to be stacked with one or more other containers 10. In this embodiment, the stacking features comprise a plurality of raised members 26 and a plurality of raised ribs 28. The raised members 26 are generally octagonal in shape and are arranged on the top surface 24 in rows and columns; however, other arrangements are equally suitable. The raised ribs 28 extend between each raised member 26 and impart strength to the container 10. Together, the raised members 26 and the raised ribs 28 form a plurality of recesses 30 on the top surface 24 of lid 20. As seen in more detail below, the distribution of the recesses 30, as well as their size and shape, are formed to receive a plurality of complementary stacking features extending from a bottom surface of another container 10.
Forrest teaches a luggage unit comprising a substantially rigid body having a first portion (20) at least partially releasably attached to a second portion (20) to define a storage space for storing items therein; the first portion having an outer surface with a plurality of rail members (28) extending longitudinally thereon, each rail member projecting above the outer surface of the first portion to form at least one channel therebetween; and the second portion having an outer surface with at least one rail member (46) extending longitudinally thereon, the or each rail member projecting above the outer surface of the second portion, and configured to conform to the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the first portion and wherein both the first portion and the second portion have a chamfered edge formed along opposing ends thereof (note the chamfered edges surrounding the edges of the container in figs.).
With respect to the limitation that wherein the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the first portion extends into the chamfered edge and is configured to slidingly receive and locate the or each rail member that extends into the chamfered edge of the outer surface of the second portion of another luggage. Note that the channel is basically the recess portion surrounding the rail protrusion. Note that there are recess portions that extending into the chamfered edges.
In the alternative, Hasebe, as set forth supra or Smith,
each teaches that it is known in the art to provide channel extend into the chamfered edge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide channel extendingto chamfered edge to provide a smoother edge and to enable manufacturing the lid easily, i.e., less corners for the mold.
Regarding the limitation “each rail member of the other luggage unit is able to slide within the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the luggage unit such that the other luggage unit slides longitudinally over the first portion of the luggage unit along a length of the luggage unit.” a) this limitation does not impart any structure over the structures of the two mating structures in Forrest, b) the structure in Forrest is capable of such functionality, i.e., there is nothing obstruction the sliding of the two surfaces Forrest when the protrusions and channels before they are mated similar to the applicant’s own invention when before the ridge are mated, and/or) when the bottom are tilted at the chamfered portion and slided over the protrusion rail members and/or d) the chamfer edge of the top unit can freely slide on the top of the bottom unit.
Regarding claim 3 the at least one channel formed in the first portion has a locking ridge extending orthogonally therein and the at least one rail member formed in the second portion has a recess extending orthogonally therein, such that when the upper luggage unit is mounted on the lower luggage unit the locking ridge of the lower luggage unit engages with the recess formed in the upper luggage unit to prevent sliding movement between the upper luggage unit and the lower luggage unit (see examiner notes in drawings). With respect to the sliding, note that the upper container can be slided until upper portion of the bottom container mates with the bottom portion of the upper container as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, note the angular retractable handle on the second portion at 16 retractable into recesses.
Regarding claim 5. Note two wheels at 90 are mounted to the body to facilitate movement of the luggage unit.
Note the plurality of stacking units as cited above.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest in view of Evans (20140197059). In the alternative, Evans teaches that it is known in the art to provide a retractable handle for a container at 123. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a retractable handle as taught by Evans to enable one to transport the device easily.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest in view of Becklin (7537119). In claim 12, Forrest meets all claimed limitations except for the arrangement when each luggage unit is arranged in the vertical stack such that an upper luggage unit is supported between a pair of lower luggage units.
Becklin teaches that it is known in the art to provide the vertical stack such that an upper luggage unit is supported between a pair of lower luggage units in fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the arrangement of an upper luggage unit is supported between a pair of lower luggage units as taught by Becklin to enable one to stack additional containers in a stable manner and/or to allow one to accommodate additional sized containers in the vertical stack.
Set III:
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andochick (8561769).
(29) FIG. 5 shows an alternative interlocking mechanism in which recesses 502 in the underside of the upper case 122 interlock with protrusions 504 on the top of the base case 100. One or more protrusion/recess pairs may be used. The protrusion/recess pairs may be elongated, running almost the full length of the cases, or the protrusions may be mound-like. The shape, size, number and location of the protrusion/recess pairs may be varied without departing from the present invention.
Andochick teaches luggage unit comprising: a substantially rigid body having a first portion (22 top portion of 1st luggage) at least partially releasably attached to a second portion to define a storage space for storing items therein; the first portion having an outer surface with a plurality of rail members (504 or rails on both sides of 302, fig. 7) extending longitudinally thereon, each rail member projecting above the outer surface of the first portion to form at least one channel therebetween; and the second portion having an outer surface with at least one rail member extending longitudinally thereon, the or each rail member projecting above the outer surface of the second portion, and configured to conform to the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the first portion wherein both the first portion and the second portion have a chamfered edge formed along opposing ends thereof (fig. 1).
With respect to the limitation that wherein the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the first portion extends into the chamfered edge and is configured to slidingly receive and locate the or each rail member that extends into the chamfered edge of the outer surface of the second portion of another luggage. Note that the stacking features, i.e, the rails on both the first and second portion in Andochick extending to the entire length and in fig. 11.
In the alternative, Hasebe, or Smith, as set forth supra, each teaches that it is known in the art to provide channel extend into the chamfered edge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide channel extending to chamfered edge to provide a smoother edge and to enable manufacturing the lid easily, i.e., less corners for the mold.
With respect to the new limitation: “each rail member of the other luggage unit is able to slide within the at least one channel formed in the outer surface of the luggage unit such that the other luggage unit slides longitudinally over the first portion of the luggage unit along a length of the luggage unit.”, note that: a) this limitation does not impart any structure over the structures of the two mating structures in Andochick, b) the structure in Andochick is capable of such functionality, i.e., there is nothing obstruct the sliding of the two surfaces Andochick prior to or when the protrusions and channels are mated or when the protrusions are in contact with another protrusions, and before the locking mechanism are engaged. and/or c) the protrusions on the bottom of the top case can longitudinally or laterally slide when the protrusions of the top in contact with another protrusion until the mating and then the top case and slide with the bottom case in the longitudinal direction since there is nothing obstruct the movement of the two cases in any direction prior to the mating, and/or d) the chamfer edge can freely slide on the top of the bottom unit.
Regarding claim 5, note the wheels.
Regarding claims 6 and 11, note the plurality of suitcase in vertical stacking.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andochick in view of Harvey (6585090). Andochick meets all claimed limitations except for the retractable handle. Harvey teaches that it is known in the art to provide a handle member retractably mounted to the second portion so as to be received within a recess formed between each rail member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a retractable handle as taught by Harvey to enable one to wheel the suitcase easily.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the claimed a luggage system that improves the handling of luggage by enabling a more automated process, whereby individual luggage items are configured to be positioned adjacent to one another and moved horizontally to slide over and be positioned on the surface of a lower luggage item. This allows for a simple and automated arrangement without the need to lift and vertically stack the luggage items, which is labor-intensive. This is achieved by the individual luggage items having chamfered ends and formed upper and lower surfaces that enable the luggage items to move horizontally in a sliding manner to form a stack of items. This is achieved by the chamfered leading and trailing edges of the luggage items, along with the provision of channels and rails formed in the upper and lower surfaces of the items that extend into the chamfered edges, thereby facilitating alignment of the channels and rails for longitudinal sliding movement. The examiner submits that the claimed subject matter is directed to a luggage in claim 1 and tow stackable luggage in claim 2, there is nothing the claim that direct to any automated process.
The Applicant disagrees with Hasebe and maintains that a) the presently amended claims does impart structure in the arrangement of the mating structures, namely that the rail member must slide within the channel in a longitudinal manner over the length of the luggage unit. Still, Applicant has not provided any structure in the claimed that distinguish over the structure cited in Hasebe. Applicant generally argues over the sliding functionality which is capable as set forth by the examiner.
Similar Applicant asserts that the Forrest does not teach the sliding of the luggage unit, as set forth above, the examiner submits: a) this limitation does not impart any structure over the structures of the two mating structures in Forrest, b) the structure in Forrest is capable of such functionality, i.e., there is nothing obstruction the sliding of the two surfaces Forrest when the protrusions and channels before they are mated similar to the applicant’s own invention when before the ridge are mated, and/or) when the bottom are tilted at the chamfered portion and slided over the protrusion rail members and/or d) the chamfer edge of the top unit can freely slide on the top of the bottom unit.
Similar Applicant asserts that the Andochick does not teach the sliding of the luggage unit, as set forth above, the examiner submits: a) this limitation does not impart any structure over the structures of the two mating structures in Andochick, b) the structure in Andochick is capable of such functionality, i.e., there is nothing obstruct the sliding of the two surfaces Andochick prior to or when the protrusions and channels are mated or when the protrusions are in contact with another protrusions, and before the locking mechanism are engaged. and/or c) the protrusions on the bottom of the top case can longitudinally or laterally slide when the protrusions of the top in contact with another protrusion until the mating and then the top case and slide with the bottom case in the longitudinal direction since there is nothing obstruct the movement of the two cases in any direction prior to the mating, and d) the chamfer edge can freely slide on the top of the bottom unit, Andochick teaches the sliding of top luggage until it is stopped by the catches 804.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733