DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-4, 8, 13-17, 30, 39, 44-47 and 137-140 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 12/8/25.
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-4, 8, 13-17, 30, 39, 44-47 and 137-140 without traverse in the reply filed on 12/8/25 has been acknowledged.
The instant application comprises 2 independent claims and relates to a liquid pharmaceutical composition comprising disialylated immunoglobulins by NeuAc-a, 2, 6, Gal linkages, 10mM acetate buffer, 0.02% polysorbate 20 and 250mM glycine or about 5% sorbitol at pH 4-7.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 12/8/25 has been acknowledged.
4. The oath filed on 8/17/23 has been acknowledged.
6. Claims 39 and 138 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Note the explanation given by the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031, 2033 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), as to where broad language is followed by "such as" and then narrow language. The Board stated that this can render a claim indefinite by raising a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Note also, for example, the decisions of Ex parte Steigewald, 131 USPQ 74 (Bd. App. 1961); Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ 38 (Bd. App. 1948); and Ex parte Hasche, 86 USPQ 481 (Bd. App. 1949). In the present instance, claims 39 and 138 recites the lower recitation the temperature between 5oC for at least 7 months, 25oC for at least 1 months, and the claims also recites 2-8oC for at least 2 years or two weeks at 15-30oC which is the higher statement of the range/limitation.
9. Claims 1-4, 8, 13-17, 39, 44-47 and 138-140 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over AU2018/207367 (IDS reference) in view of WO2015/057622.
The ‘367 publication teaches stable liquid pharmaceutical compositions comprising antibody at 50-150mg/ml antibody, about 10mM of acetate buffer, 250mM of glycine and about 0.1% of surfactant at pH about 5.5 (note claims 15-17). In addition, the ‘367 publication teaches surfactant includes polysorbate 20 at 0.02% ([0064-0065]), addition of about 5% of sorbitol ([0068-0070]). Given that the stability of formulation includes conditions of 40oC for 6 weeks (p. 15-16) that is more contingent than claimed 15-30oC for 2 weeks, claims 39 and 138 are included in this rejection.
Moreover, the ‘367 publication teaches having main peak of greater than 95% of IgG by NR-CE-SDS (p. 15-18) and having monomer content of greater than 80% recited by claims 13-17, also readable upon less than 20% of dimers and claim 140 are included in this rejection. As the antibody is expressed as IgG and it meets the limitation of “immunoglobulins” of claim 1 and claim 44 of the instant application.
The disclosure of the ‘367 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of disialylation of immunoglobulins at Fc region by NeuAc-a 2, 6, Gal terminal as in claims 1, 8, 44 and 139 of the instant application.
The ‘622 publication teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising immunoglobulin with disialylation of immunoglobulins at least of 90% at NeuAc-a 2, 6, Gal terminal linkage (p. 2-5) improves biological activities and purity during the purification process (p.20-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize disialylation of immunoglobulin taught by the ‘622 publication enhances purification method and biological activity.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of disialylation of immunoglobulin improves purity during purification and biological activity.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
10. Claims 1-4, 8, 13-17, 39, 44-47 and 138-140 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2015/057622 in view of AU2018/207367 (IDS reference).
The teachings of the ‘622 publication and ‘367 publication have been discussed, supra.
The disclosure of the ‘622 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of 10mM acetate buffer, 250mM glycine and 0.02% polysorbate as in claims 1 and 44 of the instant application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize stabilizing formulation comprising acetate buffer, glycine and polysorbate as in the ‘367 publication stability of the antibody at various temperature ranges.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of formulation comprising acetate, glycine and polysorbate improve stability of antibody.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
11. Claim(s) 30 and 137 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AU2018/207367 (IDS reference) in view of WO2015/057622 as applied to claims 1 and 44 above, and further in view of Kiese et al (Journal of Pharm Sci, vo. 97, p. 4347-4366, 2008, IDS reference).
The teachings of the ‘367 and ‘622 publication have been discussed, supra.
The disclosure of the ‘622 publication or ‘367 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach having less than 1000 particles with a diameter 10-100um after agitation at 1000RPM for 8 hours at 2-8oC as in claims 30 and 137 of the instant application.
Kiese et al. teach agitation stress at 5oC upto 168 hours at 1000 RPM in the presence polysorbate reduces subvisible particles at 2-25um (Fig 3 p. 4347-4353) and mechanical stress through agitation or shaking result in formation of protein aggregates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to induce aggregates by agitation as taught by the Kiese et al into the antibody formulation taught by the ‘367 and ‘622 publications.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the agitation induces aggregation in protein formulation and the monitoring of the agitation profile may reduce the aggregation formation in the antibody formulation to improve stability.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
13. Claims 1-4, 8, 13-17, 30, 39, 44-47 and 137-140 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 6-11, 13, 16-18, 21-24, 27, 29, 32, 33 and 35-37 of U.S. Application No.17/602,156 (US20220211849).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘156 application recites a liquid pharmaceutical composition comprising immunoglobulins disialylated by NeuAc-a 2, 6-Gal terminal linkage, 10mM acetate, 0.02% polysorbate 20 and 250mM glycine or 5% sorbitol at pH 4-7. The claims further recite the stable formulation exhibit less than 1000 particles with diameter between 10-100um after agitation at 1000RPM for 8 hours at 2-8oC.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
14. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
December 30, 2025
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641