DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7-9 recite the limitation "general formulas (3a) to (3z) given above" in lines 15-16, 12-13 and 7-8 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For purposes of further examination, the “general formulas (3a) to (3z) given above” are being interpreted as those recited in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0186106).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11: Li et al. teaches a composition comprising a polymer having a molecular weight of 5,000-2,000,000 (high molecular weight compound) and a crosslinkable low-molecular weight compound with two crosslinkable groups, wherein the composition crosslinks by heating (thermally crosslinkable) ([0010], [0019]-[0021], and [0026]).
Regarding Claim 2: Li et al. teaches the crosslinkable low-molecular weight compound having two acrylate structures ([0026]).
Regarding Claims 3-4: Li et al. teaches the crosslinkable low-molecular weight compound as a compound such as bisphenol A diacrylate, a compound of the following structure ([0026]):
reading on a compound of general formula (1) wherein A is a group of formula A1, L1 is an alkylene group, and L2 is an a phenylene group.
Regarding Claim 12: Li et al. teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising a pair of electrodes and an organic layer between the electrodes, the organic layer formed from the composition comprising the polymer and crosslinkable low-molecular weight compound ([0009]).
Regarding Claims 13-16: Li et al. teaches that the organic layer may be a hole transporting layer, an electron blocking layer, a hole injection layer, or a light emitting layer ([0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0186106) in view of Togashi et al. (Intl. Pub. No. WO 2018/168667A1, English equivalent US Pub. No. 2019/0378989 used for citation purposes).
Li et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as set forth above.
Regarding Claims 5-7: Li et al. teaches the polymer having a molecular weight of 5,000-2,000,000 ([0019]). Li et al. teaches the polymer having a repeating units of ([0049]):
reading on general formula (2) wherein Ar1-2 are arylene, R3-4 are H, and X,Y, and Z are H. and general formula (3a) wherein R5-6 are H.
Li et al. does not teach with sufficient specificity the claimed range of 10,000-1,000,000. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05). At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select MW values within the claimed range with a reasonable expectation of success as such values are disclosed by Li et al. as being suitable for the invention.
Li et al. does not teach the polymer wherein in general formula (2) at least one of X, Y, and Z represents an aryl group, or comprising a structural unit of one of general formulas (4a)-(4z). However, Togashi et al. teaches polymers of the following structure (Pg. 26 of English equivalent):
containing a structural unit reading on general formula (2) wherein Ar1-2 are arylene, R3-4 are H, and X and Z are phenyl and Y is H and a structural unit reading on general formula (4e) wherein R5 is H. Li et al. and Togashi et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polymeric materials for organic electroluminescent devices having transport capability. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include the polymer of Togashi et al. in the composition of Li et al. and would have been motivated to do so because Li et al. suggests that the polymer is not particularly limited as long as it has a carrier transporting ability ([0012]) and Togashi et al. teaches that the polymer of the invention have high transport capability, heat resistance, and thin film stability ([0017] and [0033]-[0043]). Furthermore, unit corresponding to general formula (4e) in the polymer of Togashi et al. would serve to improve thermal crosslinking ([0569] of English equivalent), and Li et al. teaches that the polymer preferably contains a reactive group which reacts with a functional group of a crosslinking agent ([0034]).
Regarding Claims 8-9: Li et al. teaches the polymer having a molecular weight of 5,000-2,000,000 ([0019]).
Li et al. does not teach with sufficient specificity the claimed range of 10,000-1,000,000. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05). At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select MW values within the claimed range with a reasonable expectation of success as such values are disclosed by Li et al. as being suitable for the invention.
Li et al. does not teach the polymer with the specific monomer units as claimed. However, Togashi et al. teaches polymers having repeating units such as
in 30-90 mol% and
in 5 mol% or greater, wherein R is H, alkyl, cyano, halogen ([0156]-[0171] and Figs. 1 and 47). Li et al. and Togashi et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polymeric materials for organic electroluminescent devices having transport capability. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include polymers of Togashi et al. having the claimed monomers and would have been motivated to do so because Li et al. suggests that the polymer is not particularly limited as long as it has a carrier transporting ability ([0012]) and Togashi et al. teaches that the polymer of the invention comprising such monomers have high transport capability, heat resistance, and thin film stability, and solvent solubility ([0017], [0033]-[0043], and [0159]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0186106).
Li et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as set forth above.
Li et al. does not teach the composition comprising two or more of the high molecular weight compounds. However, at the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include more than one of the high molecular weight compounds of Li et al. and would have been motivated to do so because it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 September 18, 2025