DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 20220124531 A1) (hereinafter Miao).
Regarding Claim 28, Miao teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (Miao, Fig. 7, [0163]; [0004], [0203]– [0205]: Miao discloses a wireless communication method using UE in a 5G system with improved CLI and SI measurements via SP resources. It teaches configuration and reporting mechanisms to mitigate interference and shows, through Fig. 7 and [0203]– [0205], that the UE receives measurement object configurations for SP CSI-IM and SRS.):
receiving, from the base station, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) activating at least one configured SP resource for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement (Miao, [0059], [0145]: Miao teaches that MAC-CEs are used to activate semi-persistent measurement resources, with MAC signaling from the base station enabling SP CSI-IM or SRS activation.);
performing a measurement activity for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement in the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE (Miao, [0081], [0180]) Miao teaches that after MAC-CE activation, the UE performs CLI or SI measurements using the allocated SP resources such as CSI-IM and SRS. Paragraphs [0081] and [0180] detail the scheduling and processing of these measurements.);
reporting, to the base station, a CLI report including at least one CLI component measured from at least one interference signal received in the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE (Miao, [0029]– [0036]: Miao teaches that the UE transmits CLI reports to the base station after performing interference measurements, triggered by events such as threshold crossings. The reports include metrics like RSSI or SRS-RSRP from activated SP resources, satisfying the claimed step of reporting based on measured interference.);
Regarding Claim 29, Miao teaches a method of wireless communication at a base station, comprising (Miao, [0004], [0203]– [0205]: Miao teaches that the base station configures the UE for interference measurements to address CLI and SI impact on uplink performance. Paragraphs [0203]– [0205] detail configuring SP CSI-IM and SRS resources to determine CLI or SI levels.):
transmitting, to the first UE, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) activating at least one configured SP resource for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement (Miao, [0059], [0145]: Miao states that MAC-CEs are used to activate configured measurement resources, and further explains that these control elements trigger measurement activities for CSI-IM or SRS used in CLI or SI assessment, confirming base station transmission of the MAC-CE to activate the resource.);
receiving, from the first UE, a CLI report including at least one CLI component measured from at least one interference signal received in the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE (Miao, [0024], [0030]– [0031]: Miao teaches that the UE performs CLI measurements using SRS and RSSI and reports the results to the base station. It supports semi-static configuration, interference measurement using cross-link resources, and event-triggered reporting, satisfying the step of receiving a CLI report with measured components.);
Regarding Claim 30, Miao further teaches the method of Claim 29:
comprising configuring a second UE for a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission over multiple slots as the at least one interference signal (Miao, [0024]– [0025], [0067]– [0069]: Miao teaches that the second UE can be configured with SRS resources for UE-to-UE CLI measurement, including time-frequency parameters and periodicity. It further describes uplink scheduling and CA across multiple slots, supporting configuration of the second UE as the interference source.);
estimating a CLI at the second UE from the first UE based on an average CLI received from the first UE (Miao, [0026]: Miao teaches that CLI can be quantified using averaged RSSI and SRS-RSRP values over received signals, enabling the second UE or base station to estimate interference from the first UE.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (US 20220124531 A1) (hereinafter Miao). In the view of Ibrahim et al. (US 20220014954 A1) (hereinafter Ibrahim)
Regarding Claim 1, Miao teaches an apparatus for wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising (Miao, Figure 7, [0163]: Miao discloses a UE for wireless communication comprising multiple protocol layers for 5G NR and LTE operation. where the UE structure includes functions supporting wireless transmission and reception.):
a memory; at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor and the memory configured to (Miao, [0107–0108]: Miao discloses a processor coupled to memory, where the processor executes instructions and controls system operations, including application execution and communication behavior.);
receive, from a base station, a configuration of at least one semi-persistent (SP) resource for a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement or a self-interference (SI) measurement (Miao, [0203], [0207]: Miao teaches receiving, from a base station, a configuration of semi-persistent resources for CLI measurement, including cross-link SRS and RSSI resource parameters that are reused periodically.):
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach activation via a MAC-CE.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches receive, from the base station, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) activating at least one configured SP resource for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement (Miao, [0059], [0145], Fig. 1)(Ibrahim, [0096]–[0100]: Miao discloses that a UE is configured with semi-persistent CLI measurement resources such as cross-link SRS and RSSI parameters, and Figure 1 shows that RAN nodes (e.g., base stations 111a/111b) provide configuration over air interfaces to the UE. While Miao implies that the base station provides these configurations. Ibrahim teaches that a base station transmits a MAC-CE to the UE to activate configured resources.)
perform a measurement activity for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement in the at least one configured SP resource activated by the first MAC-CE (Miao, [0024]– [0029], Fig 11); (Ibrahim, [0096]– [0100]): Miao teaches that the UE performs CLI measurements using configured and reused SRS and RSSI resources, with measurement results used for reporting and triggering mechanisms. Ibrahim teaches that a base station transmits a MAC control element (MAC-CE) to the UE to activate configured resources, thereby supporting the claimed measurement activity using resources activated by a MAC-CE.);
report, to the base station, a CLI report or an SI report including at least one CLI component or SI component measured from at least one interference signal received in the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE (Miao, [0029–0036]) (Ibrahim, [0096]–[0100]): Miao teaches that the UE generates and reports CLI measurement reports to the base station, including components such as CLI RSSI and SRS-RSRP measured from interference signals received on configured resources. Ibrahim teaches that a base station transmits a MAC control element (MAC-CE) to the UE to activate configured resources.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the MAC-CE-based activation mechanism taught by Ibrahim to the semi-persistent measurement resource configuration in Miao to enable efficient and standardized control of measurement activation. Combining Miao and Ibrahim allows for dynamic management of interference measurement resources using established NR MAC-layer signaling procedures, thereby improving protocol consistency and reducing control overhead.
Regarding Claim 2, Miao teaches the apparatus of Claim 1:
further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (Miao, [0128]: Miao teaches that the UE includes transceivers, such as ultrasonic and audio capture devices, which are part of the sensor circuitry and are configured to transmit data to processing units.)
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach SRS resource is activated by a MAC-CE.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches wherein the at least one configured SP resource activated by the first MAC-CE includes an SP sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for the CLI measurement (Miao, [0145], Ibrahim, [0096]– [0100]: Miao teaches that the protocol stack includes MAC and PHY layers that support CLI measurement using SRS resources, and describes the use of configured measurement resources such as SRS for interference detection. Ibrahim teaches that a MAC control element (MAC-CE) is transmitted from the base station to activate configured resources.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the MAC-CE-based activation mechanism taught by Ibrahim to the SRS measurement configuration in Miao to enable standardized and efficient control of measurement resource activation. Using a MAC-CE to activate SRS resources for CLI measurement improves resource management flexibility and aligns with NR protocol design practices for semi-persistent scheduling.
Regarding Claim 3, Miao teaches the apparatus of Claim 2:
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach SRS resource is activated by a MAC-CE.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches wherein the first MAC-CE indicates a transmission power for the SP SRS resource, and to perform the measurement activity, the memory and the at least one processor are configured to receive an SP SRS from an aggressor UE based on the transmission power indicated in the first MAC-CE (Miao, [0024]–[0026], [0061]–[0063], [0085], [0148])(Ibrahim, [0098], [0100], [0103]–[0104]: Miao teaches that the UE is configured to perform CLI measurements using SRS signals from an aggressor UE, where SRS configuration includes sequence, frequency, cyclic shift, and transmission power, and such parameters are processed by the memory and processor. While Miao references MAC-layer signaling and system control for managing SRS scheduling and power, it does not explicitly tie this to a MAC-CE; Ibrahim teaches that a MAC-CE transmitted from the base station can include control parameters such as power control fields and is used to activate and manage configured resources.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Ibrahim’s MAC-CE-based power control signaling to Miao’s SRS-based CLI measurement framework to centralize control and reduce signaling overhead. Incorporating the transmission power field into the MAC-CE improves coordination between UEs by ensuring that aggressor UEs transmit SRS at appropriate power levels, thereby enhancing measurement accuracy and system performance.
Regarding Claim 4, Miao teaches the apparatus of Claim 1:
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach CSI-IM resource.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches wherein the at least one configured semi-persistent (SP) resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE includes an SP channel state information interference measurement (CSI-IM) resource (Miao, [0024]– [0026], [0206]–[0207], [0225]) (Ibrahim, [0096]– [0100], [0103]– [0104]: Miao teaches that the UE is configured with semi-persistent physical-layer measurement resources such as RSSI for interference detection, which perform functions analogous to CSI-IM in NR systems. Ibrahim teaches that a MAC-CE transmitted from the base station can activate configured measurement resources, thereby supporting use of a semi-persistent CSI-IM resource activated by the first MAC-CE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the use of CSI-IM resources into Miao’s interference measurement system to leverage NR-standardized reference signals for more precise interference detection. Applying Ibrahim’s teaching of MAC-CE-based activation to CSI-IM enables efficient configuration and control of semi-persistent measurement resources, aligning with 5G protocol design and improving measurement consistency across UEs.
Regarding Claim 5, Miao teaches the apparatus of Claim 4:
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach SP-configured CSI-RS activated by a MAC-CE.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches wherein the at least one configured semi-persistent (SP) resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE further includes an SP channel state information reference signal (SP CSI-RS) resource (Miao, [0046]– [0051], [0072], [0108], [0120]) Ibrahim, [0096]– [0100], [0103]– [0104]: Miao discloses that the UE performs interference measurements using semi-persistent SRS resources and supports flexible scheduling for interference reporting. Ibrahim, however, teaches that CSI-RS resources can be configured semi-persistently and activated via MAC-CE signaling.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ibrahim’s MAC-CE-based activation of SP CSI-RS into Miao’s interference measurement architecture to support periodic channel quality evaluation and interference mitigation using flexible and efficient control signaling. This combination would promote consistent measurement behavior and align with 5G NR mechanisms for SP resource reuse without excessive reconfiguration.
Regarding Claim 6, Miao teaches the apparatus of Claim 5:
wherein the first MAC-CE activates the SP CSI-IM resource separately from activation or deactivation of the SP CSI-RS resource (Miao, [0046]– [0051], [0072], [0108], [0112], [0120]: Miao supports independent configuration and activation of SP measurement resources—including SRS, RSSI, CSI-IM, and CSI-RS—by referencing flexible triggering conditions, separate RF modules, and protocol-level decoupling, thereby indicating that the MAC-CE can activate the SP CSI-IM resource independently from the SP CSI-RS resource.).
Regarding Claim 7, Miao teaches the apparatus of Claim 6:
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach SP-configured CSI-RS activated by a MAC-CE.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches wherein the first MAC-CE activating the SP CSI-IM resource includes a TCI (Transmission Configuration Indicator) state list for the SP CSI-IM resource. (Miao, [0081], [0180]) Ibrahim, [0100], [0103]– [0104]: Miao supports MAC-layer signaling for CSI resource configuration and references control signaling carrying TCI state information, while Ibrahim explicitly teaches that a MAC control element can include TCI-related configuration fields and is used to activate interference measurement resources, including CSI-IM, thereby satisfying the claimed inclusion of a TCI state list within the MAC-CE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Miao to include the MAC-CE structure taught by Ibrahim, wherein the MAC-CE includes a TCI state list for activating SP CSI-IM resources. The motivation arises from the desire to enable more flexible and efficient interference measurement configuration by allowing the MAC layer to directly convey spatial transmission parameters (e.g., TCI states) associated with CSI-IM resources through standardized control elements.
Regarding Claim 8, Miao teaches the apparatus of Claim 1:
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach SP-configured CSI-RS activated by a MAC-CE.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches
wherein the first MAC-CE activates a semi-persistent (SP) sounding reference signal (SRS) resource and an SP channel state information interference measurement (CSI-IM) resource (Miao, Figure 11, [0204]– [0205], [0207], [0225]) Ibrahim, [0100], [0103]: Miao teaches joint configuration and scheduling of SRS and RSSI-based interference measurements within a common measurement object, and while it does not explicitly disclose activation via MAC-CE, Ibrahim teaches that a MAC-CE transmitted from the base station can activate multiple semi-persistent measurement resources, including SRS and CSI-IM.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Miao to incorporate the MAC-CE-based activation of both SP SRS and SP CSI-IM resources as taught by Ibrahim. The motivation stems from the need to efficiently manage multiple interference measurement resources within the same scheduling and signaling framework, enabling coordinated and semi-persistent measurement activities via a unified MAC-layer control mechanism.
Regarding Claim 9, Miao teaches the apparatus of Claim 1:
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach MAC-layer signaling for configuration and activation.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches wherein the first MAC-CE that activates the at least one configured semi-persistent (SP) resource also triggers the CLI report or the SI report (Miao, Figure 11, [0029]– [0031], [0046], [0087], [0091]) (Ibrahim, [0100], [0103]: Miao teaches that CLI reporting is triggered based on threshold conditions associated with SP measurement resources like SRS and RSSI, and while Miao implies MAC-layer signaling for configuration and activation, Ibrahim explicitly discloses that a MAC-CE can activate measurement resources and initiate reporting procedures, thus supporting the dual role of activation and report triggering by the MAC-CE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miao’s system to adopt the MAC-CE structure of Ibrahim that performs both activation and report triggering for SP measurement resources. The motivation is to streamline control signaling by using a single MAC-layer element to manage both the initiation of measurements and the reporting process, thereby reducing latency and improving coordination efficiency between the UE and the base station.
Regarding Claim 10, Miao explicitly teaches the apparatus of Claim 1:
wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to (Miao, [0107]– [0108]: Miao describes that the UE’s application circuitry includes a processor coupled with memory components that are configured to execute protocol functions, measurement processing, and other control task.):
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach MAC control signaling for CLI reporting.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches receive a second MAC-CE to deactivate the at least one configured SP resource, wherein the second MAC-CE triggers an additional CLI report (Miao, [0029]– [0035], [0081], [0087], [0091])(Ibrahim, [0103]– [0104]: Miao teaches that CLI reports are triggered by threshold-based events and changes in measurement configuration, and while Miao implies deactivation via MAC-layer control, Ibrahim explicitly teaches that a MAC-CE can include instructions to deactivate SP resources and trigger follow-up reporting behavior.)
transmit the additional CLI report, including an average CLI in an uplink MAC- CE to the base station (Miao, [0024]– [0026], [0070], [0090, Fig 11]) (Ibrahim, [0103]– [0104], Fig.3, Fig.5): While Miao implies MAC control signaling for CLI reporting, Ibrahim explicitly discloses that a MAC control element (MAC-CE) can be used to carry measurement data, including average CLI metrics, in uplink transmissions to the base station.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the memory and processor to manage both activation and deactivation of SP measurement resources using MAC-CE signaling, as such integration streamlines control and reporting processes. The motivation is to ensure efficient CLI reporting by consolidating configuration changes (e.g., deactivation) and associated average interference metrics into a unified uplink MAC-CE transmission, thereby reducing signaling overhead and improving system responsiveness.
Regarding Claim 11, Miao teaches that the apparatus of claim 1:
wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to execute instructions for enabling various applications or operating systems (Miao, [0107]– [0108]: Miao teaches application circuitry with processors and various memory types configured to execute stored instructions, including specialized processors like CPUs, GPUs, DSPs, FPGAs, and ASICs, supporting the claimed operational logic performed by the memory and processor.).
receive, from the base station, an average transmission power of the at least one interference
signal from an aggressor UE (Miao, [0024]- [0026], [0058], [0069]: Miao emphasizes local measurement, the reference also describes that these averaged signal strength values may be transmitted via signaling across multiple cells, implying scenarios where average transmission power data from an aggressor UE could be received by the UE from a base station for CLI evaluation.).
estimate an average coupling loss (CL) with the aggressor UE based on the at least one CLI
component measured in the at least one SP resource activated by the first MAC- CE and the
average transmission power received from the base station, wherein the at least one
interference signal includes interference signals received over multiple slots (Miao, [0024], [0025], [0056], [0059]: Miao supports semi-persistent resource activation via MAC-layer control ([0059]) and describes NR-based RAN architectures that enable averaged interference processing and UE-specific reporting, allowing the UE to estimate average CL using both local measurements and average transmission power received from the base station.)
Regarding Claim 12, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 1:
wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to (Miao, [0107]– [0108]: Miao teaches application circuitry includes various processor types—such as CPUs, GPUs, DSPs, FPGAs, and ASICs—working with memory units to support execution of specialized functions in communication systems, satisfying the claimed configuration.).
receive a radio resource control (RRC) messaging including a CLI report configuration that indicates for the UE to report one or more of a most recent CLI measurement or a filtered CLI value over a set of CLI measurements in the CLI report when the first MAC-CE configures the UE with periodic (P) or SP CSI-IM resources (Miao, [0024], [0025], [0029]–[0035], [0057], [0091]: Miao teaches semi-static, UE-specific CLI measurement and reporting using explicitly configured SRS resources, with trigger events and report association handled via a measurement ID framework. It also supports dynamic RRC interactions, aligning with CLI reporting configurations that include filtered or recent values.).
Regarding Claim 13, Miao teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a memory (Miao, Fig. 7, [0163]: Miao explicitly illustrates in FIG. 7 various protocol functions that may be implemented in a wireless communication device in compliance with 5G/NR and LTE standards. The description explains how different protocol entities and layers interact within a wireless communication system, and this includes components such as memory.).
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor and the memory configured to (Miao, [0107]– [0108]: Miao describes application circuitry including various memory types and processor architectures (e.g., CPUs, DSPs, GPUs, ASICs) that are configured to execute software instructions for enabling system operations, directly supporting the claimed processing configuration.):
configure, for a first user equipment (UE), at least one semi-persistent (SP) resource for a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement or a self-interference (SI) measurement (Miao, [0203], [0207]: Miao discloses that the network may configure SP resources for interference measurements, including CLI and SI measurements, using resource allocation strategies suitable for ongoing monitoring of interference patterns.).
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach MAC-CE for resource control.
Similar to the system of Miao transmit, to the first UE, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) activating at least one configured SP resource for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement (Miao, [0059], [0145]) (Ibrahim, [0096]–[0100]): Miao describes MAC-layer signaling used to activate and manage semi-persistent resources for interference measurements, including CLI and SI measurements, and refers to system control via MAC procedures. While Miao implies the use of MAC-CE for resource control, Ibrahim explicitly teaches that a MAC control element (MAC-CE) is transmitted from the base station to activate pre-configured measurement resources.).
receive from the first UE, a CLI report or an SI report including at least one CLI component or SI component measured from at least one interference signal received in the at least one configured SP resource activated by the first MAC-CE (Miao, [0029]–[0036]) (Ibrahim, [0103]–[0104]): Miao explicitly teaches that the UE performs CLI or SI measurements using RSSI and SRS-RSRP values associated with semi-persistent configured resources, and transmits these reports to the base station for network optimization. While Miao implies that the measurements are performed on activated resources, Ibrahim confirms that these resources are activated by a MAC-CE, supporting that the reported interference components stem from SP resources activated via MAC-layer control.).
The combination of Miao and Ibrahim renders Claim 13 obvious, as Miao teaches configuring and managing semi-persistent interference measurement resources via MAC-layer signaling and reporting mechanisms, while Ibrahim explicitly confirms that such resource activation is performed through MAC control elements (MAC-CEs). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to enable precise control and triggering of interference measurements and reporting via standardized MAC-layer procedures.
Regarding Claim 14, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 13:
further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (Miao, [0128], [0131]: Miao teaches interface circuitry supporting NFC communication via a processor-controlled transceiver system, demonstrating coordination between transceivers and processing elements. It also integrates components like ultrasonic transceivers and audio devices, reinforcing transceiver-system functionality within the platform.),
the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE includes an SP sounding reference signal (SRS) resource (Miao, [0025], [0037], [0129], Fig. 5, Fig. 7, [0166]: Miao teaches explicit configuration of SRS resources with parameters for UE-to-UE CLI measurement and reporting. It further describes MAC-to-PHY interactions via transport and logical channel mapping, supporting activation of SP SRS resources through MAC control elements.).
Regarding Claim 15, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 14:
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach activation via MAC control.
Similar to the system of Miao wherein the first MAC-CE indicates that the SP SRS resource is activated for the CLI measurement (Miao, [0128], [0145]) (Ibrahim, [0096]– [0100]): Miao describes MAC-layer signaling and scheduling that activates SRS resources for CLI measurement, along with protocol layer interactions involving transceivers and processors. While Miao implies activation via MAC control, Ibrahim explicitly teaches that a MAC-CE is transmitted by the base station to activate pre-configured SRS resources for CLI measurement.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Miao with Ibrahim because both references are directed to systems performing CLI measurement using configured SRS resources activated via MAC-layer control. Ibrahim explicitly provides the missing detail that MAC-CE messages from the base station can be used to activate SRS resources for CLI measurement, thereby reinforcing and clarifying the MAC-based activation mechanism implied by Miao.
Regarding Claim 16, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 14:
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach activation via power in CLI measurement.
Similar to the system of Miao wherein the first MAC-CE indicates a transmission power for the SP SRS resource, wherein the CLI report is based on an SP SRS of a second UE based on the transmission power in the SP SRS resource (Miao, [0024], [0025]– [0026], [0203]) (Ibrahim, [0100]–[0104]): Miao discloses that CLI reporting is based on explicitly configured SRS resources, with metrics like SRS-RSRP and RSSI reflecting received signal power. While Miao discusses the use of power in CLI measurement, Ibrahim explicitly teaches that the MAC-CE may include transmission power configuration for SRS resources, enabling the UE to measure interference from another UE accordingly.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include transmission power information in the MAC-CE for the SP SRS resource as taught by Ibrahim, in combination with Miao’s disclosure of CLI reporting based on received SRS from an aggressor UE. Doing so allows the receiving UE to accurately assess coupling and interference effects based on the known transmit power, thereby improving the precision of CLI measurements and optimizing interference mitigation.
Regarding Claim 17, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 13:
wherein the at least one configured SP resource activated by the first MAC-CE includes at least one of an SP SRS resource or an SP channel state information interference measurement (SP CSI-IM) resource (Miao, [0165]– [0166]: Miao teaches that the PHY layer performs measurements foundational to CSI-IM usage and coordinates with the MAC layer via service access points to manage SRS and CSI-related data. These interactions support activation of SP SRS and SP CSI-IM resources through MAC-CEs.).
Regarding Claim 18, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 17:
wherein the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE further includes an SP channel state information reference signal (SP CSI-RS) resource (Miao, [0025]– [0026], [0037]– [0038], [0050]– [0051]: Miao teaches that measurement configurations include CSI-RS, SRS, and CLI reference signals within an event-triggering framework, using metrics like RSRP and RSSI with configurable thresholds. These disclosures support explicit configuration and triggering of SP CSI-RS resources as part of MAC-CE-activated reporting events.)
Regarding Claim 19, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 18:
wherein the first MAC-CE activates the SP CSI-IM separate from activation of or deactivation of the SP CSI-RS resource (Miao, [0029], [0046]– [0052]) (Ibrahim, [0096]– [0100], [0103]– [0104]): Miao discloses that CSI-IM and CSI-RS are associated with distinct reporting triggers under the EventTriggerConfig and Meas-ID framework, enabling separate configuration and control. While Miao implies separation of event triggers, Ibrahim explicitly teaches that a MAC-CE can include individual control fields for activating or deactivating specific SP resources, supporting separate activation paths for CSI-IM and CSI-RS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a MAC-CE to separately activate SP CSI-IM and SP CSI-RS resources, as suggested by the distinct triggering mechanisms and configuration IDs taught by Miao. Ibrahim reinforces this by explicitly teaching that MAC-CEs can include individual control fields for managing specific SP resources independently, thereby enabling selective activation or deactivation.
Regarding Claim 20, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 19:
Thus, Miao does not explicitly teach that a MAC-CE includes a TCI list specifically for activating a CSI-IM resource.
Similar to the system of Miao, Ibrahim teaches wherein the first MAC-CE activating the SP CSI-IM includes a TCI list for the SP CSI-IM resource activated by the first MAC-CE (Miao, [0081], [0180]) (Ibrahim, [0103]– [0104]): Miao teaches that CSI-IM and SRS resources are part of measurement configurations associated with identifiers and reference signal types (Miao, [0081], [0180]). Miao further describes that TCI states and lists are used with CSI reference signals and can be delivered via MAC-layer control signaling. Ibrahim explicitly teaches that MAC control elements may include configuration parameters such as TCI fields, enabling activation of reference signals like CSI-IM with direction-specific control.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ibrahim’s explicit teaching of including TCI list configuration in a MAC-CE into Miao’s framework, to enable directional management of CSI-IM-based reporting and optimize spatial filtering in cross-link interference scenarios. This combination would support enhanced interference measurement and flexible beamforming, consistent with the objectives of NR-based CLI architectures.
Regarding Claim 21, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 13:
wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: (Miao, Fig. 7, [0163]: Miao’s layered architecture, as shown in Figure 7, includes PHY, MAC, and higher-layer protocols that support MAC-CE processing, signaling, and measurement reporting, demonstrating that the processor and memory are configured to perform the specified operations.)
transmit a second MAC-CE to deactivate the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE, wherein the second MAC-CE triggers an additional CLI report (Miao, [0029]– [0035], [0081], [0087], [0091]: Miao discloses that MAC control elements manage the configuration, activation, and deactivation of SP resources such as CSI-IM and SRS and teaches that deactivation events can trigger updated CLI reporting. These teachings support that a second MAC-CE can deactivate previously activated SP resources and initiate an additional CLI report in response to such deactivation.)
Receive the additional CLI report including an average CLI in an uplink MAC-CE from the first UE (Miao, [0024]– [0026], [0070], [0090]): Miao teaches that UEs perform CLI measurements like SRS-RSRP and RSSI as averaged values over configured resources and transmit these reports via uplink MAC-CEs to the base station, supporting the claimed receipt of averaged CLI reports through uplink signaling.)
Regarding Claim 22, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 13:
wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to (Miao, Fig. 7, [0163]: Miao’s Figure 7 illustrates protocol layer interconnections enabling the processor and memory to handle MAC-CE signaling, interference management, and measurement reporting, supporting coordination of measurement-related control message transmission and reception as claimed.):
Transmit, to the first UE, an average transmission power of the at least one interference signal (Miao, [0024]– [0026]): Miao teaches that the base station transmits to the UE linear average measurements such as SRS-RSRP and RSSI, which represent the average transmission power of interference signals used for CLI evaluation.).
Receive, from the first UE, an average coupling loss (CL) based on the at least one CLI component measured in the at least one configured SP resource and the received average transmission power (Miao, Fig. 11, [0021], [0026]: Miao’s process in Fig. 11 shows the base station configuring measurement objects, determining CLI levels between UEs, and receiving reports based on averaged metrics like SRS-RSRP and RSSI, enabling coupling loss estimation from known transmission power and received signal strength.)
Wherein the at least one interference signal includes interference signals received over multiple slots (Miao, [0026]: Miao teaches that CLI measurements are averaged over time and frequency resources, including OFDM symbols across multiple slots, supporting the claim that interference signals span multiple time intervals.)
Regarding Claim 23, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 22:
wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to (Miao, Fig. 7, [0163]: Miao’s Figure 7 shows a protocol stack where processing entities coordinate measurement configuration, resource control, and signaling, supporting execution of resource allocation and interference estimation across UEs and time slots as claimed.):
Configure a second UE for an SRS transmission or a PUSCH transmission over the multiple slots as the at least one interference signal (Miao, [0067]– [0069]: Miao teaches that a UE may transmit uplink signals like PUSCH over multiple slots using UL grants across serving cells, with timing governed by LBT mechanisms. These disclosures support configuring a second UE to generate interference signals across multiple time slots via PUSCH or SRS.).
Estimate a CLI at the second UE caused by the first UE based on an average CLI received from the first UE (Miao, [0026]: Miao teaches that CLI reports include averaged SRS-RSRP and RSSI values used to assess interference from one UE to another, enabling the base station to estimate CLI effects at a second UE based on values received from a first UE.).
Regarding Claim 24, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 23:
wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to (Miao, Fig. 7, [0163]: Figure 7 in Miao shows interconnections among protocol layers and logical functions, enabling coordination between measurement control, reporting, and interference management across multiple UEs.):
Configure the second UE to report an additional CLI report including one or more CLI components measured from at least one interference signal received from the first UE in the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE (Miao, [0203]: Miao teaches that the base station configures cross-link SRS or RSSI resources at a second UE to measure interference from a first UE, and triggers CLI report generation based on those configured measurements, supporting the claimed detection and reporting process.),
Receive the additional CLI report from the second UE (Miao, [0203], [0217]– [0227]: Miao teaches that after the second UE performs CLI measurements using configured resources, it generates and transmits a CLI report to the base station, including measured components used for interference mitigation and optimization.),
Check a CLI reciprocity between the first UE and the second UE by comparing the estimated CLI and the additional CLI report received from the second UE (Miao, [0217]– [0222]: Miao teaches a comparison mechanism to assess CLI reciprocity between UEs by evaluating whether interference observed at one UE aligns with that reported by another, supporting dynamic scheduling and interference management based on reciprocity.).
Regarding Claim 25, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 13:
wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to (Miao, Fig. 7, [0163]: Miao’s Figure 7 illustrates functional interactions among the PHY, MAC, and RRC protocol layers that support signaling and configuration procedures relevant to CLI measurement and reporting. The memory and processor structure are shown to enable tasks such as report configuration and RRC message handling.):
Transmit a radio resource control (RRC) messaging including a CLI report configuration that indicates for the first UE to report one or more of a most recent CLI measurement or a filtered CLI value over a set of CLI measurements in the CLI report when the first MAC-CE configures the first UE with periodic (P) or SP CSI-IM resources (Miao, [0024], [0045], [0057]–[0059]: Miao teaches that CLI measurement and reporting, including CSI-IM-based reporting, can be configured through RRC messages, supporting both semi-static and dynamic setups. It further explains that control procedures enable configuration of filtered or recent values using periodic or semi-persistent CSI-IM resources.).
Regarding Claim 26, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 25:
wherein the filtered CLI value over the set of the CLI measurements includes an average CLI value over the set of CLI measurements (Miao, [0038], [0209]: Miao teaches that filtered CLI values are computed using filtering or averaging over multiple measurements, with averaged values representing reliable link-level interference, directly supporting the claim that filtered CLI includes an average over a set of measurements.)
Regarding Claim 27, Miao teaches the apparatus of claim 13:
wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to (Miao, Fig. 7, [0163]): Miao’s Figure 7 shows a layered protocol stack with memory and processors supporting PHY, MAC, and higher-layer operations, enabling configuration signaling, measurement processing, and MAC-CE handling.):
receive an indication from the first UE during a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, whether the first UE supports at least one of (Miao [0045], [0187]: Miao teaches that during RRC configuration, signaling exchanges determine and communicate UE support for advanced measurement features. It describes negotiation of measurement capabilities and resource activation through control signaling between entities like RRC and MAC.):
MAC-CE activation of a sounding reference signal (SRS) for the CLI or SI measurement with a
maximum transmission power (Miao [0225]: Miao teaches that configuration signaling can indicate UE support for activating measurement resources like SRS, including use of maximum transmission power for accurate interference evaluation, aligning with the claimed MAC-CE-based SRS activation capability.),
the MAC-CE activation of an SP channel state information interference measurement (CSI-IM) for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement (Miao [0024] - [0026], [0206]- [0207], Miao teaches that CSI-IM-based CLI measurements can be configured semi-statically and UE-specifically, with measurement objects including CSI-IM resources activated through MAC signaling, supporting the claimed MAC-CE-based activation of SP CSI-IM for interference measurements.),
Use of a different quasi co-location D (QCL D) for an SP CSI-IM measurement occasion (Miao [0038], [0045], [0050]: Miao discusses signal characteristics tied to quasi co-location configurations across CSI resources, including timing, beam, and frequency relationships. While not explicitly naming QCL type D, these disclosures support the application of different QCL types during SP CSI-IM measurement occasions.),
The MAC-CE activation of SP SRS and SP CSI-IM resources for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement (Miao [0165]- [0166]: Miao teaches that the MAC layer activates SP resources like SP SRS and SP CSI-IM through interactions with the PHY layer via SAPs, managing channel mappings, scheduling, and error correction. These functions support MAC-CE-based configuration and triggering of resources for CLI and SI measurements.);
layer 2 (L2) CLI reporting (Miao [0162] [0035]: Miao teaches Layer 2 (L2) CLI reporting through MAC layer mechanisms that handle cross-layer communication and event-triggered reporting. Miao teaches that CLI reports with SRS-RSRP and RSSI components are triggered by configured events (C1–C3) and processed at the MAC layer. It further shows that RLC communicates with MAC via MAC-SAPs, supporting L2-based generation and transport of interference measurement reports.);
a joint MAC-CE triggering SP CSI-IM and CLI reporting (Miao, [0046]- [0051]: Miao teaches that CLI reports are triggered by events such as RSSI and SRS-RSRP thresholds (C1–C3), and that EventTriggerConfig supports rsType parameters for SRS, CSI-IM, and CSI-RS. This supports joint MAC-CE functionality for activating SP CSI-IM and triggering CLI reporting.);
computing and reporting coupling loss (CL) with an aggressor UE based on an average transmission power of interference signal (Miao, [0024]- [0026], [0058], [0069]: Miao teaches computing and reporting coupling loss using average interference power values such as SRS-RSRP and RSSI, derived from resource elements and OFDM symbols. It also describes periodic SRS-based measurement and cross-cell reporting, supporting CL estimation with an aggressor UE.).
Conclusion
/ANNABELLA CHRISTOPHE/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415