DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-25, 27-29, and 31-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-21, 25, 28-29 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ying et al (hereinafter “Ying”), US Pub. 2022/0116129 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 28, Ying discloses systems and methods for measuring and/or reporting UE-to-UE crosslink interference (CLI), wherein a user equipment (UE) in a system (fig. 1, UE 101a-b; fig. 2, UE 201; fig. 3, UE 301), comprising: memory (fig. 5 shows details of UE: memory 520); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (fig. 5, p. [0177]: processor(s) of application circuitry 505 coupled to the memory 520), the at least one processor and the memory configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a base station, a configuration of at least one semi-persistent (SP) resource resources for a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement or a self-interference (SI) measurement (p. [0051]:To transmit a command to a UE for the UE to perform the CLI-RS transmission, a TRP may transmit a Radio Resource Control Information Element (RRC IE) as a command for a CLI-RS transmission resource set); receive, from the base station, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) activating at least one configured SP resource for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement (Fig. 10 illustrates a block diagram of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) 1000 for CLI reference signal (CLI-RS) transmission. Table in page 3 and p. [0065]: Cell ID 1030: indicates the serving cell of the SP CLI-RS resource set; [0066] BWP ID 1040: indicates the UL BWP of the SP CLI-RS resource set; [0067] SUL 1050: indicates the SP CLI-RS resource set is on SUL or not; [0068] CLI-RS resource set ID 1060: indicates the CLI-RS resource set; [0072], [0085]-[0086]: Using these parameters, a TRP may command a UE to activate and/or deactivate a semi-persistent CLI-RS transmission); perform a measurement activity for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement in the at least one configured SP resource activated by the first MAC-CE (Fig. 12-13 illustrate a block diagram for a CLI measurement and reporting; p. [0093]-[0107]: CLI Measurement and Reporting Configuration); and report, to the base station, a CLI report or an SI report including at least one CLI component or SI component measured from at least one interference signal received in the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE (p. [0100]: UE 1310A may be configured to report a CLI measurement based on CLI-RS transmission resource set. UE 1310A may perform a mathematical approximation, aggregation, averaging, and/or other combination to report the CLI measurement for the group; [0103]-[0107]: UE 1310A may then report one or more parameters to a TRP 1320).
Regarding claims 2 and 14-15, Ying discloses further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (fig. 5, the radio front end module 515 coupled to the processor(s) of application circuitry 505), wherein the at least one configured SP resource activated by the first MAC-CE includes an SP sounding reference signal (SRS) resource for the CLI measurement (p. [0062]-[0072] and fig. 10 show a structure of a MAC-CE frame comprises A/D 1020 activate or deactivate field; Cell ID 1030: indicates the serving cell of the SP CLI-RS resource set; BWP ID 1040: indicates the UL BWP of the SP CLI-RS resource set; SUL 1050: indicates the SP CLI-RS resource set is on SUL or not; a Resource ID i 1090: indicates SSB/CSI-RS/SRS resource ID that share the spatial relationship with CLI-RS transmission resource i in the resource set. Using these parameters, a transmission reception point (TRP) may command a UE to activate and/or deactivate a semi-persistent CLI-RS transmission).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Ying discloses wherein the first MAC-CE indicates a transmission power for the SP SRS resource (p. [0052], [0055]: TRP or a base station may transmit an RRC message to a UE to command the UE to perform a CLI-RS transmission. UE may be configured by the RRC on the CLI-RS transmission resource. The resource configuration IE may contain power control parameter(s)), and to perform the measurement activity, the memory and the at least one processor are is configured to cause the UE to receive an SP SRS from an aggressor UE based on the transmission power indicated in the first MAC-CE (fig. 12, [0097]-[0098]: TRP 1220A may command UE 1210A to perform the CLI measurement using CLI-RS 1 and/or CLI-RS 2. In some embodiments, a network may use TRP 1220A to command UE 1210A to perform the measurement and/or report the CLI measurement back to TRP 1220A; fig. 13, [0100]: UE 1310A may be configured to report a CLI measurement based on CLI-RS transmission resource set 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Ying discloses wherein the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE includes an SP channel state information interference measurement (SP CSI-IM) resource (Fig. 11 illustrates a block diagram of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for CLI measurement; p. [0086]-[0092]: The field in the MAC CE are defined as follows: A/D 1120: activate or deactivate; Cell ID 1130: indicates the serving cell of the SP CLI-RS resource set; BWP ID 1140: indicates the UL BWP of the SP CLI-RS resource set; CLI measurement resource set ID 1150: indicates the CLI measurement resource set; TCI state i 1160: indicates QCL information and QCL sources for CLI measurement resource i in the resource set; [0283]: Example 13 may include a new MAC CE is defined to activate/deactivate semi-persistent CLI measurement resource set).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Ying discloses wherein the at least one configured SP resource that is activated by the first MAC-CE further includes an SP channel state information reference signal (SP CSI-RS) resource (fig. 10 illustrates a block diagram of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) 1000 for CLI reference signal (CLI-RS) transmission; p. [0062]: The fields in the MAC CE 1000 may be defined as follows: [0063]-[0070] R 1010A, 1010B, 1010C: reserved bit; A/D 1020: activate or deactivate 1020; Cell ID 1030: indicates the serving cell of the SP CLI-RS resource set; BWP ID 1040: indicates the UL BWP of the SP CLI-RS resource set; SUL 1050: indicates the SP CLI-RS resource set is on SUL or not ; CLI-RS resource set ID 1060: indicates the CLI-RS resource set; D/U 1070: indicates that CLI-RS has spatial relationship with a DL (SSB or CSI-RS) or UL RS; SSB/CSI-RS 1080: indicates the type of RS if the previous D/U bit indicates DL; [0267]: Example 7 may include a MAC CE to activate/deactivate semi-persistent CLI-RS transmission).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Ying discloses wherein the first MAC-CE activates the SP CSI-IM resource separate from activation of or deactivation of the SP CSI-RS resource ([0267]: Example 7 may include a MAC CE to activate/deactivate semi-persistent CLI-RS transmission; [0283]: Example 13 may include a new MAC CE is defined to activate/deactivate semi-persistent CLI measurement resource set).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Ying discloses wherein the first MAC-CE activating the SP CSI-IM resource includes a TCI state list for the SP CSI-IM resource that is activated by the MAC-CE ([0085]: Fig. 11 illustrates a block diagram of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for CLI measurement according to embodiments; [0092]: TCI state i 1160: indicates QCL information and QCL sources for CLI measurement resource i in the resource set).
Regarding claim 8, Ying discloses wherein the first MAC-CE activates an SP SRS resource and an SP CSI-IM resource ([0049]: NZP-CSI-RS-Resource is used to configure a UE to measure the NZP CSI-RS transmitted by the TRP, and SRS-Resource is used to define resources where UE should transmit SRS).
Regarding claim 9, Ying discloses wherein the first MAC-CE that activates the at least one configured SP resource triggers the CLI report or the SI report ([0093]-[0097]: The UE may be commanded to measure the CLI and/or report the measurement from the TRP).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Ying discloses wherein the memory and the at least one processor (see claim 1) are is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a second MAC-CE to deactivate the at least one configured SP resource (fig. 10, and [0061]-[0062], [0072]: a MAC CE may be used to activate and/or deactivate semi-persistent CLI-RS transmission; fig. 11 and [0085]-[0088]: a MAC CE frame to activate and/or deactivate semi-persistent CLI-RS transmission is defined), wherein the second MAC-CE triggers an additional CLI report; and transmit the additional CLI report, including an average CLI in an uplink MAC-CE to the base station (fig. 13, p. [0103]-[0105]: UE 1310A may then report one or more parameters to a TRP 1320 with option 2: the linear average of CLI values of resource sets specified in “CLI-ResourceSetList”).
Regarding claims 12 and 25, Ying discloses wherein the memory and the at least one processor (see claim 1) are is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) messaging including a CLI report configuration that indicates for the UE to report one or more of a most recent CLI measurement or a filtered CLI value over a set of CLI measurements in the CLI report when the first MAC-CE configures the UE with periodic (P) or SP CSI-IM resources ([0102]-[0103] L3 filtering coefficients for CLI measurement may be configured in RRC. UE 1310A, may apply the L3 filter configuration on each configured CLI measurement resource set; table 5: QualityConfig-CLI…FilterCoefficient).
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Ying discloses a base station (fig. 4), comprising: memory (memory 420); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (application circuitry 405 coupled to memory 420) and configured to cause the base station to: configure, for a first user equipment (UE), at least one semi-persistent (SP) resource for a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement or a self-interference (SI) measurement (abstract, p. [0011]: one or more transmission reception points (TRPs) may be configured to command a first transmission reception point (TRP) to transmit a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message that commands a first user equipment (UE) to transmit a crosslink interference reference signal (CLI-RS) according to a time behavior specified by the first RRC message); transmit, to the first UE, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) activating at least one configured SP resource for the CLI measurement or the SI measurement (p. [0004], [0051]:To transmit a command to a UE for the UE to perform the CLI-RS transmission, a TRP may transmit a Radio Resource Control Information Element (RRC IE) as a command for a CLI-RS transmission resource set); and receive from the first UE, a CLI report or an SI report including at least one CLI component or SI component measured from at least one interference signal received in the at least one configured SP resource activated by the first MAC-CE (p. [0100]: UE 1310A may be configured to report a CLI measurement based on CLI-RS transmission resource set. UE 1310A may perform a mathematical approximation, aggregation, averaging, and/or other combination to report the CLI measurement for the group; [0103]-[0107]: UE 1310A may then report one or more parameters to a TRP 1320).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Ying discloses wherein the MAC-CE comprises an SP channel state information interference measurement (SP CSI-IM) resource set ID field (fig. 10, field 1090).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 22-24, 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2024/212230 A1, Wu et al discloses methods and apparatuses for measuring cross-link interference can comprise the first resource corresponding to the event-triggered report type, so that it can be ensured that when a terminal needs to report the measurement result of the event-triggered report type, cross-link interference can be measured on the first resource corresponding to the event-triggered report type.
Ying et al, US Pat. 12,082,228 B2, discloses systems and methods of configuring received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements to determine crosslink interferences (CLI).
Park et al, US Pub. 2022/0386156 A1, discloses a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a method and device for measuring cross-link interference between downlink and uplink.
Zhang et al, US Pub. 2023/0156497 A1, discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE). The method may include receiving an indication of one or more layer 1 (L1) cross-link interference (CLI) measurement parameters. The method may include transmitting an L1 CLI measurement report based at least in part on the one or more L1 CLI measurement parameters.
Shim et al, WO 2024/035209 A1, discloses a method and a device comprising: a step of receiving resource configuration information including CLI measurement resources related to a CLI measurement; a step in which the CLI measurement for the CLI measurement resources is triggered; and a step of reporting measurement information about the CLI measurement to a base station, wherein the CLI measurement is triggered on the basis of indication information about the CLI measurement resources being included in downlink control information (DCI) which triggers reporting of channel state information (CSI).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THAI HOANG D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/THAI DINH HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463