Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 has been amended to recite acquiring (130) a backscattered light signal from the fluid sample (9) via the optical fiber with the microlens, at a detector (16). The detector (16) is not connected to the optical fiber with the microlens. Photodetector (7) as seen in fig. 1 is the photodetector that is connected to the optical fiber. It is unclear to which detector is being referred to in claim 1 as the detector 16 is mapped to the photodetector which is not connected to the fiber optic. The specification refers to “detector” as the detector (16) in the drawings and “photodetector” as the photodetector (7) in the drawings. Applicant should positively recite a photodetector is connected with the optical fiber as is recited in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “extracting a plurality of features from the light signals” which is drawn to process/mathematical concepts, and “comparing the extracted plurality of features with a model in a database to determine the amino acid residues in the fluid sample” which can be done in via a generic computer through data comparison. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because collecting data using generic elements (laser/lens/probe), and then analyzing and comparing the data to a reference to obtain a result is considered insignificant extra-solution activity. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these elements are well known, conventional and routine based on Yatagai et al. (US 2009/0079993) in view of Kull (US 2012/0092663) and since they are recite a high level of generality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yatagai et al. (US 2009/0079993) in view of Kull et al. (US 2012/0092663).
Regarding claim 1, Yatagai discloses a method of employing a backscattering detector (fig. 1) comprising:
producing a light signal from a laser (laser 15; para 82);
illuminating (laser is connected to a the optical fiber to illuminate a sample) the fluid sample (22) with the light signal through an optical fiber (18) with a sensing probe (200) with a microlens (21a or 21b) for illuminating the sample (22), the microlens (200 which includes lens 21a or 21b) being provided at the end of the fiber (see fig. 1);
acquiring a backscattered light signal (para 19) from the fluid sample via the optical fiber (18) with the microlens, at a detector (41);
extracting (computer having program therein) a plurality of features from the backscattered light signal acquired at the detector (41), by a computational system further comprising a storage unit (27c) including recorded program instructions (para 79, arithmetric portion 27b/ i.e. CPU); and
comparing by the computational system the extracted plurality of features with a model in a database (collecting signals are processed by the CPU and outputted to a user which indicates various tooth germ or periodontal tissue issues, para 241).
Yatagai does not teach comparing extracted features with a model to determine the amino acid residues in a sample.
Kull teaches a method of identification of amino acid residues in a fluid sample (amino acids are determined of seed oil) comprising providing a laser, a fiber optic and a detector and extracting a plurality of features from the light signal (the collection device collects the light and signals and then processes them to produce data (chemical specificity is the ability to discern one chemical species from another by means of spectral peaks/bands. A spectrum consists of a signal response termed bands/peaks as a function of wavelength. The number and combination of unique spectral bands along with the bandwidth of each band are general markers that can be used to compare chemical specificity between spectral methods. This method is used to determine the amino acids by comparing to known databases). Further Kull teaches comparing the extracted plurality of features with a model in a database to determine the amino acid residues in the fluid sample (para 39-40, seed analysis database para 49-51; identifying spectral peaks/bands that correspond to amino acid content of sample which is compared to known amino acids peaks/bands in wet chemistry settings; see para. 80-85; 94-96). Yatagai employs the sample structures as the instant claims and it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Yatagai to employ an computational system that extracts a plurality of features from a signal and compares the features with a model in a database to determine amino acid residues in a a fluid sample.
Regarding claim 2, the method of claim 1, further comprising filtering (66) the acquired light signal to remove noisy low-frequency components (para 272-273).
Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, further comprising normalizing the light signal (para 77, Kull).
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 1, further comprising modulating the light signal from the laser (para 257).
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 1, wherein the extraction of the plurality of features in the light signal is carried out over periods of time (para 14, images are carried out over periods of time).
Regarding claim 6, the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of features are time domain and frequency derived features (a Fourier domain optical coherence apparatus is disclosed, para 76-77).
Regarding claim 7, the method of claim 1, Yatagai does not teach a measurement of the temperature of the fluid sample. Kull teaches measuring a temperature of the fluid sample in para 64. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Yatagai to make a temperature measurement as temperature can change the optical properties of a fluid as is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 8, the method of claim 1, wherein the model is created by one of a support vector machine or a clustering algorithm (para 117).
Regarding claim 20, the method of claim 1, wherein the detector is a sensing photodetector (para fig. 1, ref. 41, para 79).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Pertinent prior art:
West et al. (US 2005/0014134) teaches systems and processes for the collection and identification of macromolecules, such as biologically-derived macromolecules (e.g., proteins and nucleic acids), by measuring and comparing the molecular weight signatures of macromolecular samples. Reproducible molecular weight signatures provides reliable sample identification. In the case of viruses, proteomic molecular weight signatures can be used for identifying viral agents.
Jenkins “Characterization of amino acids using Raman spectroscopy” Spectochima acta Part A: Molecular and biomolecular spectroscopy Vol. 61, issue 7, May 2005, pp. 1585-1594. Jenkins teach the use of visible light Raman spectroscopic methods to investigate amino acids and related biopolymers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL P SIEFKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758