FINAL OFFICE ACTION
This final Office action addresses U.S. Application Serial No. 18/022,191, entitled TIE PLATE FOR A TRANSFORMER CORE ASSEMBLY.
Claims 1, 4-12, 15 and 17-22 are pending.
Claims 1, 4-12, 15 and 17-20 and 22 are rejected.
Claim 21 is objected to.
I. STATUS OF APPLCIATION
Applicant’s amendment and remarks filed August 4, 2026 (hereinafter the “Aug 2026 Amendment”) have been entered and have been fully considered. In the Aug 2026 Amendment, claims 1, 12, 15, 17 were amended, claims 2, 3, 13, 14 and 16 were cancelled, claims 4-11 and 17-20 were unchanged and new claims 21 and 22 were added. Thus, claims 1, 4-12, 15 and 17-22 are pending in this application.
In view of the Aug 2026 Amendment, particularly the substantial amendments to all the claims via the amendments to at least independent claims 1 and 12, all previous objections and rejections are withdrawn. However, new grounds are provided in this Final Office action as provided below.
II. PRIORITY
Examiner recognizes the Applicant’s claim that this application is a 35 U.S.C. §371 of PCT/EP2021/078101, filed October 12, 2021, which claims priority to European Patent Office application EP20210766.0, filed November 30, 2020.
III. CLAIM INTERPRETATION
After careful review of the original specification, the prosecution history, and unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiners, the Examiners find that they are unable to locate any lexicographic definitions (either express or implied) with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision with regard to pending and examined claims. Because the Examiners are unable to locate any lexicographic definitions with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision, the Examiners conclude that Applicant is not his own lexicographer for the pending and examined claims. See MPEP §2111.01(IV).
The Examiners further find that because the pending and examined claims herein recite neither “step for” nor “means for” nor any substitute therefore, the examined claims fail Prong (A) as set forth in MPEP §2181(I). Because all examined claims fail Prong (A) as set forth in MPEP §2181(I), the Examiners conclude that all examined claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f). See also Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1215-16 (B.P.A.I. 2008)(precedential)(where the Board did not invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because “means for” was not recited and because applicant still possessed an opportunity to amend the claims).
Because of the Examiners’ findings above that Applicant is not his own lexicographer and the pending and examined claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f) the pending and examined claims will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification since patentee has an opportunity to amend claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP §2111.01(I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See MPEP §2111.01(II).
IV. CLAIM OBJECTIONS
Claim 22 is objected to because it is replete with antecedent basis issues. For example, this claim recites “The non-magnetic tie plate” and “the plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets” which lack any clear antecedent basis. For purposes of this action, Examiners will assumed they recite “A” and “a” instead of “The” and “the.”
V. CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 U.S.C. 103
V.A. Obviousness Rejection Applying McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar
Claims 1, 4-12 and 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 3,349,357 to W.J. McNutt et al. (hereinafter “McNutt”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,753,187 to George Seitanakis (hereinafter “Seitanakis”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/019048 to Subhas Sarkar (hereinafter “Sarkar”).
Regarding claim 1, McNutt teaches:
1. A transformer core assembly, comprising:
See McNutt FIG. 1, reprinted below, illustrating a transformer assembly
McNutt FIG. 1
a transformer core having a limb extending along a longitudinal axis, a first yoke and second yoke;
See McNutt FIG. 1 above wherein the transformer core comprises, assuming a longitudinal axis point up in the figure, having three limbs 1-3 and a first yoke 4 at the top and the lower second yoke 5.
two first yoke clamping plates for clamping plate for clamping a first yoke of a transformer core;
See McNutt FIG. 1 above, first yoke clamping plates 10a/10b on a top side of the transformer core for clamping the first yoke 4.
two second yoke clamping plates for clamping a second yoked of the transformer core; and
See McNutt FIG. 1 above, second yoke clamping plates 11a/11b on a bottom side of the transformer core for clamping the second yoke 5.
a plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets composed of high manganese steel, the plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets forming a non-magnetic tie plate, the non-magnetic tie plate having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is connected to a first one of the first yoke clamping plates and the second end is connected to a first one of the second yoke clamping plates, wherein the high manganese steel has a manganese content between 20% by mass and 30% by mass.
See McNutt FIG. 1 above and FIGS. 6 and 7, reprinted below wherein the tie
McNutt FIG. 6 McNutt FIG. 7
plate comprising sheets, 18 and 21 which are connected to the first yoke clamping plate end 10a and the second yoke clamping plate 11a end as shown in FIG. 1 above.
However, McNutt does not explicitly teach the material for the tie plates 18/21. Nevertheless, Seitanakis teaches a housing/casing for a transformer comprising a high Manganese steel alloy comprising between 25-26% Manganese. See Seitanakis Abstract and col. 2, lines 6-20. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to use the high Manganese steel alloy as taught by Seitanakis for the tie plates of McNutt. Such an application of the teachings of Seitanakis would imply that the tie bars 18/21 of McNutt would have the high Manganese steel alloy as taught by Seitanakis. One having ordinary skill in the art would make such modification, or simply using the steel alloy as taught by Seitanakis in the transformer of McNutt in order to “provide transformers contained within reliable nonmagnetic steel casing materials” and to “not become excessively heated during operation of the transformer.” See Seitanakis col. 1, lines 5-64. Furthermore, such a combination is predictable in view of Sarkar which further teaches that the material for tie plates can be constructed from “a non-conducting material” and further can be wood “or another non-conductive and/or non-magnetically-permeable material.” See Sarkar ¶¶0016-0017. Furthermore, Sarkar teaches the material for such clamp brackets/tie plates are “typically made from steel” and can further be “other materials, like other metals, plastics, and organic or inorganic composites.” See Sarkar ¶0002 and ¶0014.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 1 and further:
4. The transformer core assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets have a thickness between 0.5 mm and 6 mm.
5. The transformer core assembly of claim 1, wherein the non-magnetic tie plate has a thickness between 10 mm and 20 mm.
Note combination proposed for claim 1 above. Regarding these claims, Examiners find that McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach all the structural limitations of claim 1. However, Examiners do not find that the combination discloses or discusses the precise relative dimensions of the transformer assembly or its components. Nevertheless, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP §2144(IV)(A). Based on this rationale, Examiners find that claims 4 and 5 consists of limitations directly solely to relative dimensions. Examiners further find that the tie bars of McNutt in view of Seitanakis and Sarkar, having the relative dimensions, would not perform differently than the claimed dimension. Accordingly, the transformer of McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar reads on the relative dimensions of claims 4 and 5.
Regarding claim 6, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 1 as evidenced above and further wherein
6. The transformer core assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets are connected to each other by a plurality of welding spots and/or a plurality of bolts.
Note combination proposed for claim 1 above. See McNutt FIGS. 1, 6 and 7 above, note stacked assembly of sheets 30, 18, 31 and 21 are connected together via bolts 23.
Regarding claim 7, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 1 as evidenced above and further wherein
7. (Previously Presented) The transformer core assembly of claim 1, wherein the non-magnetic tie plate includes a plurality of holes configured for positioning an attachment member, for attaching the non-magnetic tie plate to the first and second yoke clamping plates and/or for attaching the plurality of sheets to one another for forming the non-magnetic tie plate.
Note combination proposed for claim 1 above. See McNutt FIGS. 1, 6 and 7 above, note each tie plate comprising layers 30, 18, 31 and 21 has plurality of holes for positioning an attachment member, i.e., bolts 23, for attaching the tie plate to the yoke clamping plates 10a and 11a.
Regarding claim 8, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 7 as evidenced above and further wherein
8. (Previously Presented) The transformer core assembly of claim 7, wherein the non-magnetic tie plate is elongate, extending along a longitudinal axis, wherein the holes are formed in a series along the longitudinal axis of the non-magnetic tie plate.
Note combination proposed for claim 1 above. See McNutt FIGS. 1, 6 and 7 above, note each tie plate comprising layers 30, 18, 31 and 21 has plurality of holes, of which two are in series at each end of the tie plate.
Regarding claim 9, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 7 as evidence above and further wherein
9. (Previously Presented) The transformer core assembly of claim 7, wherein the plurality of holes is laser beam cut, or water jet cut, or machined.
Note combination proposed for claim 1 above. See McNutt FIGS. 1, 6 and 7 above, note each tie plate comprising layers 30, 18, 31 and 21 has plurality of holes, which would necessarily be made one of the noted processes. Furthermore, Examiners find claim 9 is merely a product-by-process limitation, i.e., claim 9 is a product claim directed to the tie plate and the limitation is directed to the process of making it. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. Since McNutt otherwise discloses the structures of the tie plate, its tie plate reads on claim 9, regardless of the manner to which it is made.
Regarding claim 10, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 1 as evidenced above and further wherein
10. (Previously Presented) The transformer core assembly of claim 1, wherein the non-magnetic tie plate comprises at least one slot.
Note combination proposed for claim 1 above. See McNutt FIGS. 1, 6 and 7 above, note each tie plate comprising a slot down the middle thereof.
Regarding claim 11, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 1 as evidenced above and further wherein
11. (Previously Presented) The transformer core assembly of claim 1, wherein the non-magnetic tie plate has a width between 20 mm and 80 mm, and/or a length between 1 m and 5 m.
Note combination proposed for claim 1 above. Regarding these claims, Examiners find that McNutt and Sarkar teach all the structural limitations of claim 1. However, Examiners do not find that the combination discloses or discusses the precise relative dimensions of the transformer assembly or its components. Nevertheless, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP §2144(IV)(A). Based on this rationale, Examiners find that claim 11 consists of limitations directly solely to relative dimensions. Examiners further find that the tie bars of McNutt made from non-magnetic material as taught by Sarkar, having the relative dimensions, would not perform differently than the claimed dimension. Accordingly, the transformer of McNutt reads on the relative dimensions of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 1 and similarly in combination teach:
12. A non-magnetic tie plate for use with a transformer core assembly, the non-magnetic tie plate comprising a plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets composed of high manganese steel, wherein the high manganese steel has a manganese content between 20% by mass and 30% by mass.
See combination proposed for claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 12 as evidenced above and further wherein
15. (Previously Presented) The non-magnetic tie plate of claim 12, wherein the non- magnetic tie plate includes a plurality of holes configured for positioning an attachment member for attaching the non-magnetic tie plate to a first yoke clamping plate and a second yoke clamping plate and/or for attaching the plurality of sheets to one another for forming the non- magnetic tie plate.
Note combination proposed for claim 1 above. See McNutt FIGS. 1, 6 and 7 above, note each tie plate comprising layers 30, 18, 31 and 21 has plurality of holes for positioning an attachment member, i.e., bolts 23, for attaching the tie plate to the yoke clamping plates 10a and 11a.
Regarding claim 17, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the tie plate of claim 12 and further:
17. The non-magnetic tie plate of claim 13 (12), wherein the high manganese steel has a manganese content between 21 % by mass and 28 % by mass.
Note combination proposed for claims 1 and 12 above. Further see Seitanakis Abstract and col. 2, lines 6-20 which teaches a housing/casing for a transformer comprising a high Manganese steel alloy comprising between 25-26% Manganese.
Regarding claim 18, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 12 as evidenced above and further wherein
The non-magnetic tie plate is elongate, extending along a longitudinal axis, wherein the holes are formed in a series along the longitudinal axis of the tie plate.
Note combination proposed for claims 1 and 12 above. See McNutt FIGS. 1, 6 and 7 above, note each tie plate comprising layers 30, 18, 31 and 21 has plurality of holes, of which two are in series at each end of the tie plate.
Regarding claim 19, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 12 as evidenced above and further wherein
the non-magnetic tie plate has a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is connected to a first yoke clamping plate of the transformer core assembly and the second end is connected to a second yoke clamping plate of the transformer core assembly.
Note combination proposed for claims 1 and 12 above. Further see McNutt FIG. 1 above and FIGS. 6 and 7, reprinted above, showing the tie plate comprising plates, 30, 18, 31 and 21. Further note claim is directed to “the non-magnetic tie plate” and thus the remainder of this claim recites an intended use of the tie plates, i.e., for use with and connection to some structures (transformer core assembly) outside the scope of the tie plate, and thus are not further limiting of the tie plate. Thus, since Seidel teaches the tie plate structures, it reads on the intended use thereof.
Nevertheless, see McNutt FIG. 1 above and FIGS. 6 and 7, reprinted above, showing the tie plate comprising plates, 30, 18, 31 and 21 which are connected to the first yoke clamping plate 10a and the second yoke clamping plate 11a as shown in FIG. 1 above.
Regarding claim 20, McNutt, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the assembly of claim 12 as evidenced above and further wherein
the transformer core assembly comprises a limb, wherein a winding is wound around the limb, and wherein the non-magentic tie plate is positioned at least partly between the limb and the winding, and wherein the limb may be elongate, extending along a longitudinal axis, and wherein the tie plate may extend substantially parallel to said limb axis.
Note combination proposed for claims 1 and 12 above. Examiner again notes this claim is directed to “the non-magnetic tie plate” and thus the remainder of this claim recites an intended use of the tie plates, i.e., “for use with” some structures (transformer core assembly) outside the scope of the tie plate, and thus are not further limiting of the tie plate. Thus, since Seidel teaches the tie plate structures, it reads on the intended use thereof.
Nevertheless, see McNutt FIG. 1, reprinted above, note core legs/limbs 1, 2 and 3, on which tie plates 15 comprising sheets 30, 18, 31 and 21 are provided, and the tie plates 15 are positioned between the core legs/limbs 1, 2 and 3 and winding wrapped therearound shown in phantom in FIG. 1.
V.B. Obviousness Rejection Applying Seidel, Seitanakis and Sarkar
Claims 12, 17, 19, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over EP3667687 to Stefan Seidel (hereinafter “Seidel”) in Seitanakis and Sarkar.
Regarding claim 12, Seidel teaches a non-magnetic tie plate for use with a transformer core assembly (See Seidel FIGS 1 and 4, reprinted below),
Seidel FIG. 1 Seidel FIG. 4
the non-magnetic tie plate comprising a plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets composed of high manganese steel, wherein the high manganese steel has a manganese content between 20 % by mass and 30 % by mass.
See Seidel FIG. 4 above, note tie plate 20 comprises a plurality of stacked (albeit sideways) sheets. However, Seidel does not explicitly teach the material for the sheets 25 forming the tie plate 20. Nevertheless, Seitanakis teaches a housing/casing for a transformer comprising a high Manganese steel alloy comprising between 25-26% Manganese. See Seitanakis Abstract and col. 2, lines 6-20. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to use the high Manganese steel alloy as taught by Seitanakis for the tie plates of Seidel. Such an application of the teachings of Seitanakis would imply that the tie bars/stacked sheets 20 of Seidel would have the non-magnetic high Manganese steel alloy as taught by Seitanakis. One having ordinary skill in the art would make such modification, or simply using the steel alloy as taught by Seitanakis in the transformer of Seidel in order to “provide transformers contained within reliable nonmagnetic steel casing materials” and to “not become excessively heated during operation of the transformer.” See Seitanakis col. 1, lines 5-64. Furthermore, such a combination is predictable in view of Sarkar which further teaches that the material for tie plates can be constructed from “a non-conducting material” and further can be wood “or another non-conductive and/or non-magnetically-permeable material.” See Sarkar ¶¶0016-0017. Furthermore, Sarkar teaches the material for such clamp brackets/tie plates are “typically made from steel” and can further be “other materials, like other metals, plastics, and organic or inorganic composites.” See Sarkar ¶0002 and ¶0014.
Regarding claim 17, Seidel, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the tie plate of claim 12 and further:
17. The non-magnetic tie plate of claim 13 (12), wherein the high manganese steel has a manganese content between 21 % by mass and 28 % by mass.
Note combination proposed for claims 1 and 12 above. Further see Seitanakis Abstract and col. 2, lines 6-20 which teaches a housing/casing for a transformer comprising a high Manganese steel alloy comprising between 25-26% Manganese.
Regarding claim 19, Seidel, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the tie plate of claim 12 and further:
19. (Previously Presented) The non-magnetic tie plate of claim 12, wherein the non- magnetic tie plate has a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is connected to a first yoke clamping plate of the transformer core assembly and the second end is connected to a second yoke clamping plate of the transformer core assembly.
Note combination proposed for claim 12 above. Further Seidel FIGS. 1 and 4 above, tie plates 20 have first and second ends. Further note claim is directed to “the non-magnetic tie plate” and thus the remainder of this claim recites an intended use of the tie plates, i.e., for use with and connection to some structures (transformer core assembly) outside the scope of the tie plate, and thus are not further limiting of the tie plate. Thus, since Seidel teaches the tie plate structures, it reads on the intended use thereof.
Regarding claim 20, Seidel, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the tie plate of claim 12 and further:
20. (Previously Presented) The non-magnetic tie plate of claim 12, wherein the transformer core assembly comprises a limb, wherein a winding is wound around the limb, and wherein the non-magnetic tie plate is positioned at least partly between the limb and the winding, and wherein the limb may be elongate, extending along a longitudinal axis, and wherein the non- magnetic tie plate may extend substantially parallel to said limb axis.
Examiner again notes this claim is directed to “the non-magnetic tie plate” and thus the remainder of this claim recites an intended use of the tie plates, i.e., “for use with” some structures (transformer core assembly) outside the scope of the tie plate, and thus are not further limiting of the tie plate. Thus, since Seidel teaches the tie plate structures, it reads on the intended use thereof.
Regarding claim 22, Seidel, Seitanakis and Sarkar teach the tie plate of claim 12 and further:
22. (New) The non-magnetic tie plate for use with a transformer core assembly, wherein the plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets is stacked such that a width and a length of each non-magnetic sheet is equal to a length and a width of the plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets.
See discussion of claim 12 above. Further see Seidel FIG. 4 above wherein the sheets 25 are stacked laterally and have equal lengths and widths.
VI. ALLOWABLE SUBJECT MATTER
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent on a base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to include the subject matter of the claim 1, from which it depends. Regarding this claim, Examiner does not find the prior art of record teaches in combination, the “plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets is stacked such that a width and a length of each non-magnetic sheet is equal to a length and a width of the plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets” in specific combination with the features of claim 1.
VII. EXAMINER’S RESPONSES TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
The Examiner has fully considered the Applicant’s arguments provided in the Aug 2026 Amendment. However, they are generally moot in view of the new grounds of rejection provided in this Office action, which were necessitated by the substantial amendments to the claims in the Aug 2026 Amendment. Nevertheless, Examiner will address those arguments that would apply to the rejections in this Office action.
On page 6 of the Aug 2026 Amendment, Applicant argues a definition that “’stacking’ as arranging things in an ordered pile, for example, stacking something ‘up.’” Examiner find in this argument, Applicant is arguing a product by process, i.e., arguing a distinction in a product claim by how it is made. Examiner finds no distinction in the products. Examiner finds Seidel teaches a stacked assembly of strips to form its tie plate, regardless of its orientation in the final product.
On pages 7-10 of the Aug 2026 Amendment, Applicant argues that “simply substituting magnetic steel with non-magnetic steel has several disadvantages that would not be addressed by the proposed combination absent additional modification not taught by either reference.” Applicant then cites ¶0011 of the specification that states some disadvantages of using non-magnetic steel. While Examiner acknowledges these arguments, Examiner does not find them persuasive to overcome the proposed combination or to the ordinary skill in the art as evidenced in the references cited above. Examiners do not find a requirement that the prior art must address any disadvantage asserted by the Applicant. Rather the test for obvious is what the references would have suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. Examiner finds both Seidel and McNutt teach the generally claimed structures of the transformer, except for the material of the tie bars and the housing. Sarkar suggests that a variety of materials for the tie plates, including steel, wood etc. and can be magnetic or non-magnetic. Finally, Seitanakis teaches using high manganese steel in transformer housings and reasons for doing so. This combination of teachings reads on the claims, regardless of any disadvantages that may or may not exist. Any choice of materials would have advantages and disadvantages.
Furthermore, Examiner finds Applicant’s argument is an attempt to assert that the Applicant’s own specification teaches away from the combination. However, Examiner does not find any reference, including the Applicant’s specification, amounts to an attempt to “criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed.”
On page 9 of the Aug 2026 Response, Applicant argues that “McNutt does not disclose a ‘non-magnetic tie plate’ formed from ‘a plurality of stacked non-magnetic sheets.’” Examiner disagrees. Examiner notes that McNutt alone is not being applied in the rejections, but a combination with other references, which in combination teach the feature of the claims.
VIII. CONCLUSION
Claims 1, 4-12, 15 and 17-20 and 22 are rejected.
Claim 21 is objected to.
Applicant's substantial amendments to the claims provided in the Aug 2026 Amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. §1.136(a).
/KENNETH WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992