DETAILED ACTION
Reopening of prosecution After Appeal Brief
In view of the “APPEAL BRIEF” filed on 04/14/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/KWANG B YAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473
Claim Objections
Claim 49 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 49 is shown as being dependent upon a cancelled claim 46. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 24, 45, 48 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter).
Here is how the reference teach the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a device (Lee, paragraph [0010], FIG. 1B depicts a system diagram of an example wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) that may be used within the communications system illustrated in FIG. 1A) comprising:
a processor circuit (Lee, Fig. 1B, element 118, “Processor”); and
a memory circuit (Lee, Fig. 1B, elements 130 and 132, “Non-Removable Memory” and “Removable Memory”),
wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor circuit (Lee, paragraph [0076], In addition, the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132),
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal a type of user equipment during a random access channel procedure (Lee, paragraph [0291], the device may transmit an additional bit with the preamble transmission (e.g. for RACH message 1 via PRACH, to indicate its device type such as a narrower BW device, the current RACH message 1 may carry 6 bits information with 5 bits for a preamble ID, 1 bit for RACH message, and 3 length indications). This extra bit may be used by the eNB to distinguish PRACH preamble reception from either a regular device or narrower bandwidth device),
wherein the processor circuit is arranged is to send a random access channel message during the random access channel procedure (Lee, paragraph [0006], For example, a device may provide a PRACH preamble to a network component such as a E-UTRAN or eNB such that the network component may receive the PRACH preamble, may determine whether the device may be a reduced bandwidth device or another special device, may provide a random access response for a special device when the device may be a reduced bandwidth device (i.e., send a random access channel message during a random access channel procedure)),
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the type of user equipment by retransmitting the random access channel message during a time period of the random access channel procedure (Lee, paragraph [0407], network such as LTE may transmit PRICH in the downlink to indicate the hybrid ARQ acknowledgements in response to UL data packet transmission. However, a device such as a UE or MTC device may be designed without an UL HARQ mechanism to reduce the signaling overhead. In this embodiment, the device may autonomously retransmit the data in consecutive or predefined subframes without waiting for ACK/NACK feedback on PRICH (i.e., retransmit the random access channel message during a time period of the random access channel procedure signalling the type of the UE). Also see paragraph [0325], A device such as a reduced BW UE or device may also add a payload to the PRACH preamble transmission (e.g. transmitted at 1 in FIGS. 39 and 40). In such an embodiment, when a eNB or cell may receive this payload from a device, the eNB or cell may understand the device to be a reduced BW device (i.e., the type of the UE is determined from the received RACH message type 3) and may act in accordance with that knowledge, for example, by acting in accordance with one or more of the solutions described herein),
wherein the processor circuit does not expect a response to the random access channel message during the time period (Lee, paragraph [0407], a device such as a UE or MTC device may be designed without an UL HARQ mechanism to reduce the signaling overhead (i.e., the MTC device does not expect a response to the random access channel message during the time period). In this embodiment, the device may autonomously retransmit the data in consecutive or predefined subframes without waiting for ACK/NACK feedback on PRICH).
Regarding claim 24, Lee discloses an apparatus (Lee, paragraph [0010], FIG. 1B depicts a system diagram of an example wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) that may be used within the communications system illustrated in FIG. 1A) comprising:
a processor circuit (Lee, Fig. 1B, element 118, “Processor”); and
a memory circuit (Lee, Fig. 1B, elements 130 and 132, “Non-Removable Memory” and “Removable Memory”),
wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor circuit (Lee, paragraph [0076], In addition, the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine if a user equipment is of a type during a random access channel procedure (Lee, paragraph [0291], the device may transmit an additional bit with the preamble transmission (e.g. for RACH message 1 via PRACH, to indicate its device type such as a narrower BW device, the current RACH message 1 may carry 6 bits information with 5 bits for a preamble ID, 1 bit for RACH message, and 3 length indications). This extra bit may be used by the eNB to distinguish PRACH preamble reception from either a regular device or narrower bandwidth device),
wherein the processor determines whether the user equipment is of the type based on whether the apparatus receives a random access channel message (Lee, paragraph [0006], For example, a device may provide a PRACH preamble to a network component such as a E-UTRAN or eNB such that the network component may receive the PRACH preamble, may determine whether the device may be a reduced bandwidth device or another special device (i.e., receive a random access channel message during a random access channel procedure), may provide a random access response for a special device when the device may be a reduced bandwidth device) and a retransmission of the random access channel message within a given time period of the random access channel procedure (Lee, paragraph [0407], network such as LTE may transmit PRICH in the downlink to indicate the hybrid ARQ acknowledgements in response to UL data packet transmission. However, a device such as a UE or MTC device may be designed without an UL HARQ mechanism to reduce the signaling overhead. In this embodiment, the device may autonomously retransmit the data in consecutive or predefined subframes without waiting for ACK/NACK feedback on PRICH (i.e., retransmit the random access channel message during a time period of the random access channel procedure signalling the type of the UE). Also see paragraph [0325], A device such as a reduced BW UE or device may also add a payload to the PRACH preamble transmission (e.g. transmitted at 1 in FIGS. 39 and 40). In such an embodiment, when a eNB or cell may receive this payload from a device, the eNB or cell may understand the device to be a reduced BW device (i.e., the type of the UE is determined from the received RACH message type 3) and may act in accordance with that knowledge, for example, by acting in accordance with one or more of the solutions described herein).
Regarding claim 45, Lee disclose a method for operating an apparatus comprising:
determining if a user equipment is of a certain type during a random access channel procedure (Lee, paragraph [0291], the device may transmit an additional bit with the preamble transmission (e.g. for RACH message 1 via PRACH, to indicate its device type such as a narrower BW device, the current RACH message 1 may carry 6 bits information with 5 bits for a preamble ID, 1 bit for RACH message, and 3 length indications). This extra bit may be used by the eNB to distinguish PRACH preamble reception from either a regular device or narrower bandwidth device);
wherein the type of user equipment is determined by whether the apparatus receives a random access channel message (Lee, paragraph [0291], the device may transmit an additional bit with the preamble transmission (e.g. for RACH message 1 via PRACH, to indicate its device type such as a narrower BW device, the current RACH message 1 may carry 6 bits information with 5 bits for a preamble ID, 1 bit for RACH message, and 3 length indications). This extra bit may be used by the eNB to distinguish PRACH preamble reception from either a regular device or narrower bandwidth device) and a retransmission of the random access channel message within a given time period during the random access channel procedure (Lee, paragraph [0407], network such as LTE may transmit PRICH in the downlink to indicate the hybrid ARQ acknowledgements in response to UL data packet transmission. However, a device such as a UE or MTC device may be designed without an UL HARQ mechanism to reduce the signaling overhead. In this embodiment, the device may autonomously retransmit the data in consecutive or predefined subframes (i.e., retransmit the random access channel message within a random access channel procedure) without waiting for ACK/NACK feedback on PRICH. Also see paragraph [0323], In an embodiment, a small payload with a PRACH preamble may be provided and/or used as described herein. For example, a narrower BW device may transmit a small payload with the PRACH preamble (i.e., narrower BW device transmit data provided with the PRACH message). The payload may follow the preamble or may be in resources associated with the preamble and/or a PRACH time and/or frequency resource carrying the preamble. For example, the narrower bandwidth device may transmit the narrower bandwidth device identity and scheduling request information (current RACH message type 3) together with the PRACH preamble. Also see paragraph [0325], A device such as a reduced BW UE or device may also add a payload to the PRACH preamble transmission (e.g. transmitted at 1 in FIGS. 39 and 40). In such an embodiment, when a eNB or cell may receive this payload from a device, the eNB or cell may understand the device to be a reduced BW device (i.e., the type of the UE is determined from the received RACH message type 3) and may act in accordance with that knowledge, for example, by acting in accordance with one or more of the solutions described herein).
Regarding claim 48, Lee discloses a computer program stored on a non-transitory medium, wherein the computer program when executed on a processor performs the method as claimed in claim 45 (Lee, paragraph [0425], In addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor).
Regarding claim 49, Lee discloses a computer program stored on a non-transitory medium, wherein the computer program when executed on a processor performs the method as claimed in claim 46 (Lee, paragraph [0425], In addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al., US 2016/0165640 A1 (Yang hereinafter).
Here is how the reference teach the claims.
Regarding claim 34, Yang discloses an apparatus (Yang, paragraph [0031], FIG. 11 illustrates a BS and a UE to which the present invention is applicable) comprising:
a processor circuit (Yang, Fig. 11, elements 1112 and 1122, “Processor”); and
a memory circuit (Yang, Fig. 11, elements 1114 and 1124, “Memory”),
wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor circuit (Yang, paragraph [0213], The memory 1114 is connected to the processor 1112 and stores various pieces of information associated with an operation of the processor 1112. The RF unit 1116 is connected to the processor 1112 and transmits/receives a radio signal. The UE 1120 includes a process 1122, a memory 1124, and an RF unit 1126. The processor 1122 may be configured to embody the procedures and/or methods proposed by the present invention. The memory 1124 is connected to the processor 1122 and stores various pieces of information associated with an operation of the processor 1122),
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine if a user equipment is of a type in response to at least two transmissions between the apparatus and the user equipment (Yang, paragraph [0208], in the case of the non-CE LC UE, the UE may select/transmit an LC PRACH resource such that an eNB identifies/recognizes an LC type. On the other hand, in the case of the CE LC UE, the eNB cannot identity/recognize an LC type only by selecting/transmitting a CE PRACH resource by the UE, and thus the CE LC UE may notify the eNB that the UE is an LC type through Msg3 (i.e., signaling the type of user equipment). Also see paragraph [0206], when a coverage-limited low-cost UE (referred to as a CE LC UE) that requires PRACH repeated transmission is also considered (i.e., determining the type of a user equipment by at least two transmission between the apparatus and the user equipment), different CE PRACH resources (referred to as CE LC PRACH resources) differentiated for respective CE levels may be allocated similarly to the above description),
wherein the at least two transmissions comprise a random access channel message and a retransmission of the random access channel message (Yang, paragraph [0208], in the case of the non-CE LC UE, the UE may select/transmit an LC PRACH resource such that an eNB identifies/recognizes an LC type. On the other hand, in the case of the CE LC UE, the eNB cannot identity/recognize an LC type only by selecting/transmitting a CE PRACH resource by the UE, and thus the CE LC UE may notify the eNB that the UE is an LC type through Msg3. In addition, the eNB may differently allocate Msg3 transmitting resources corresponding to the two respective UE types (i.e., LC type or non-LC type) to RAR (e.g., Msg3 transmitting resources may be allocated to use different RBs and/or different DMRS cyclic shifts) so as to identify/recognize a UE type according to a Msg3 receiving resource (i.e., signaling the type of user equipment). Also see paragraph [0102], In consideration of coverage enhancement in a random access procedure, (time domain) repetition may also be applied to a PRACH preamble transmission and a signal/channel transmitted in association with the PRACH preamble transmission, i.e. for example, a random access response (RAR), PUSCH ( or Msg3) scheduled from the RAR, and the like. Accordingly, for repeated transmitting operation, a number of times of applying/performing repetition need to be signaled/configured using a predetermined resource ( e.g., code/time/frequency) for each signal/channel prior to corresponding signal/channel transmission (i.e., signalling type of user equipment by repeated or transmission and a retransmission of the first and second random access channel message during a time period of the random access channel procedure),
wherein the processor determines whether the user equipment is of the type based on whether the apparatus receives the at least two transmissions during a given time period (Yang paragraph [0206], In order to support the low-cost UE, an eNB (may identify/recognize the corresponding low-cost UE and) may need scheduling so as to transmit/receive a PDSCH corresponding to RAR and Msg4 through only RBs in a scheduling bandwidth BWLC from an RACH procedure for initial access. Also see paragraph [0102], for repeated transmitting operation, a number of times of applying/performing repetition need to be signaled/configured using a predetermined resource (e.g., code/time/frequency) for each signal/channel prior to corresponding signal/channel transmission … in consideration of application of repetition to a PRACH preamble and/or RAR and/or a PDCCH for scheduling the corresponding RAR, it is necessary to consider a method for determining a RA-RNTI and an interval at which RAR can be received (and/or RA-RNTI can be detected). In this specification, the interval at which RAR can be received (and/or RA-RNTI can be detected) will be referred to as an RAR window. (i.e., determining type of the user equipment by repeated/two transmission during a given time period)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 9-13, 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Babaei, US 2021/0227451 A1 (Babaei, hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 5-7, 9-13, 26 and 27, Lee discloses the device of claim 1. Lee does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the first random access channel message is a random access channel preamble, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to obtain at least one of a plurality of random access channel resource, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send the random access channel preamble more than once using at least one of the plurality of random access channel resource sets.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the first random access channel message comprises a random access channel preamble, wherein the random access channel is associated with the type of user equipment.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to select the random access channel preamble from a plurality of random access channel preambles, wherein the plurality of random access channel preambles is associated with the type of user equipment.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the random access channel procedure is a four-step random access channel procedure or a two-step random access channel procedure.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the random access channel procedure is a two-step random access channel procedure, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to include an indication of the type of user equipment into a message, wherein the message is a portion of the two-step random access channel procedure.
Regarding claim 11, wherein the type of user equipment indicates at least one of a user equipment capability, a user equipment support for a special service, a vehicular user equipment, a pedestrian user equipment and a relay user equipment.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the type of user equipment indicates that the user equipment has a least one capability, wherein the at least one capability is less than corresponding capabilities of at least one second user equipment.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the at least one capability are selected from the group consisting of a capability of operating in a first frequency range, supporting a first maximum bandwidth, supporting a first maximum transmit power, a first data processing power, a first processing time, a first power supply capability, supporting a first number of antennas, wherein the first frequency range is less than a second frequency range, wherein a second user equipment operates in the second frequency range, wherein the first maximum bandwidth is less than a second maximum bandwidth, wherein the second user equipment operates in the second bandwidth, wherein the first maximum transmit power is less than a second maximum transmit power, wherein the second user equipment has the second maximum transmit power, wherein the first data processing power is less than a second data processing power, wherein the second user equipment has the second data processing power, wherein the first processing time is longer than a second processing time, wherein the second user equipment has the second processing time, wherein the first power supply capability is less than a second power supply capability, wherein the second user equipment has the second power supply capability, wherein the first number of antennas is less than a second number of antennas supported by one or more further user equipments in the wireless communication network.
Regarding claim 26, wherein the random access channel message comprises a random access channel preamble, wherein the random access channel is associated with the type.
Regarding claim 27, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to select the random access channel preamble from a plurality of random access channel preambles, wherein the plurality of random access channel preambles is associated with the type.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Babaei discloses a method related operating a wireless device with reduced capability that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the first random access channel message is a random access channel preamble (Babaei, paragraph [0102], FIG. 12A shows an example of four step contention-based random access (CBRA) procedure. The four-step CBRA procedure includes exchanging four messages between a UE and a base station. Msg1 may be for transmission ( or retransmission) of a random access preamble by the wireless device to the base station), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to obtain at least one of a plurality of random access channel resource (Babaei, paragraph [0103], The base station may transmit one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of the random access parameters. The random access parameters may indicate radio resources (e.g., time-frequency resources) for transmission of the random access preamble (e.g., Msg1)), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send the random access channel preamble more than once using at least one of the plurality of random access channel resource sets (Babaei, paragraph [0103], The UE may use one or more reference signals ( e.g., SSB(s) or CSI-RS(s)) and may determine the PRACH occasion to use for Msg1 transmission based on the association between the PRACH occasions and the reference signals. The UE may perform a retransmission of the random access preamble if no response is received with the RAR window following the transmission of the preamble. UE may use a higher transmission power for retransmission of the preamble. UE may determine the higher transmission power of the preamble based on the power ramping parameter).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the first random access channel message comprises a random access channel preamble (Babaei, paragraph [0199], For example, the one or more first parameters may indicate one or more first random access preamble indexes and the one or more second parameters may indicate one or more second random access preamble indexes), wherein the random access channel is associated with the type of user equipment (Babaei, paragraph [0200], The wireless device may be a first type wireless device (e.g., a reduced capability wireless device). Based on the wireless device being the first type wireless device, the wireless device may determine a first random access occasion/PRACH resource, from the plurality of random access occasions/PRACH resources, and/or the wireless device may determine a first random access preamble index).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to select the random access channel preamble from a plurality of random access channel preambles, wherein the plurality of random access channel preambles is associated with the type of user equipment (Babaei, paragraph [0200], The wireless device may determine the first random access occasion/PRACH resource form the first plurality of random access occasions/ PRACH resources. In an example, the system information may indicate one or more first random access preambles associated with the first type wireless devices. The wireless device may determine the first random access preamble form the one or more first random access preambles).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the random access channel procedure is a four-step random access channel procedure or a two-step random access channel procedure (Babaei, paragraph [0268], the first random access message may be a Msg1 in a four step random access process or a Msg A in a two-step random access process).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the random access channel procedure is a two-step random access channel procedure (Babaei, paragraph [0106], FIG. 12C shows an example of a two-step random access process comprising two messages exchanged between a wireless device and a base station. Msg A may be transmitted by the wireless device to the base station and may comprise one or more transmissions of a preamble and/or one or more transmissions of a transport block), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to include an indication of the type of user equipment into a message, wherein the message is a portion of the two-step random access channel procedure (Babaei, paragraph [0268], the first random access message may be a Msgl in a four step random access process or a Msg A in a two-step random access process. For example, a random access preamble or a random access resource used for transmission of the random access preamble may indicate that the wireless device is of a first type).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the type of user equipment indicates at least one of a user equipment capability (Babaei, paragraph [0252], The system information may indicate that a wireless device of a first type (for example a wireless device with reduced capabilities, e.g., a wireless device that supports reduced number of UE RX/TX antennas and/or reduced UE Bandwidth and/or half-Duplex-FDD and/or relaxed UE processing time and/or relaxed UE processing capability), a user equipment support for a special service, a vehicular user equipment, a pedestrian user equipment and a relay user equipment (Babaei, paragraph [0250], Different types of wireless devices, for example wireless devices with reduced capability and wireless devices that are not of reduced capability, may operate in a wireless communications network. An operator may desire to limit access and enforce access control procedures based on the wireless device type including based on whether a wireless device is with reduced capability or is not with reduced capability).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the type of user equipment indicates that the user equipment has a least one capability, wherein the at least one capability is less than corresponding capabilities of at least one second user equipment (Babaei, paragraph [0191], The system information may indicate that the first type wireless devices (e.g., reduced capability wireless devices) are barred from accessing/camping on ( e.g., are not allowed to access/camp on) the cell. For example, the system information may comprise a first parameter/IE, a first value of the first parameter/IE indicating that the barring (not allowing) the first type wireless devices (e.g., reduced capability wireless devices). A second value of the first parameter/IE may indicate barring (e.g., not allowing) wireless devices from accessing/camping on the cell irrespective of the wireless device type (e.g., wireless devices with reduced capability or wireless devices with non-reduced capability, e.g., normal wireless devices)).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the at least one capability are selected from the group consisting of a capability of operating in a first frequency range, supporting a first maximum bandwidth, supporting a first maximum transmit power, a first data processing power, a first processing time, a first power supply capability, supporting a first number of antennas, wherein the first frequency range is less than a second frequency range (Babaei, paragraph [0141], In an example, reduced capability wireless devices may support reduced number of UE RX/TX antennas, reduced UE Bandwidth, half-Duplex-FDD, relaxed UE processing time, and relaxed UE processing capability), wherein a second user equipment operates in the second frequency range, wherein the first maximum bandwidth is less than a second maximum bandwidth, wherein the second user equipment operates in the second bandwidth, wherein the first maximum transmit power is less than a second maximum transmit power, wherein the second user equipment has the second maximum transmit power, wherein the first data processing power is less than a second data processing power, wherein the second user equipment has the second data processing power, wherein the first processing time is longer than a second processing time, wherein the second user equipment has the second processing time, wherein the first power supply capability is less than a second power supply capability, wherein the second user equipment has the second power supply capability, wherein the first number of antennas is less than a second number of antennas supported by one or more further user equipments in the wireless communication network (Babaei, paragraph [0185], Reduced capability wireless devices may have lower complexity such as reduced number of TX/RX antennas, reduced UE Bandwidth, half-Duplex-FDD, relaxed UE processing time, and relaxed UE processing capability. Operation of reduced capability wireless devices in a wireless network may degrade the performance (e.g., in terms of throughput, latency, etc.) of normal (e.g., non-reduced capability) wireless devices. There is a need to enhance existing solutions for wireless devices to access/camp on cells in a wireless network. Example embodiments enhance existing processes for wireless devices to access/camp on cells in a wireless network).
Regarding claim 26, wherein the random access channel message comprises a random access channel preamble, wherein the random access channel is associated with the type (Babaei, paragraph [0200], The wireless device may determine the first random access occasion/PRACH resource form the first plurality of random access occasions/ PRACH resources. In an example, the system information may indicate one or more first random access preambles associated with the first type wireless devices. The wireless device may determine the first random access preamble form the one or more first random access preambles).
Regarding claim 27, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to select the random access channel preamble from a plurality of random access channel preambles (Babaei, paragraph [0104], Msg2 may comprise a plurality of RARs corresponding to a plurality of random access preambles transmitted by a plurality of UEs), wherein the plurality of random access channel preambles is associated with the type (Babaei, paragraph [0200], The wireless device may determine the first random access occasion/PRACH resource form the first plurality of random access occasions/ PRACH resources. In an example, the system information may indicate one or more first random access preambles associated with the first type wireless devices. The wireless device may determine the first random access preamble form the one or more first random access preambles).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee by using the features, as taught by Babaei, in order to provide the reduced capability UEs supporting coverage recovery to compensate for potential coverage reduction due to the device complexity reduction (see Babaei, paragraphs [0044] and [0143]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of SUN et al., US 2022/0264589 A1 (Sun hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the device of claim 1. Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send the first and second random access channel message in a domain, wherein the domain is selected from the group consisting of a time domain, a frequency domain, a space domain and the code domain.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Sun discloses a method related to transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system that comprises wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send the first and second random access channel message in a domain, wherein the domain is selected from the group consisting of a time domain, a frequency domain, a space domain and the code domain (Sun, Fig. 6, disclose the UE sending Msg1 and Msg3 (i.e., first and second random action channel messages). Also see paragraph [0215], the resources of Msg1 and/or MsgA include at least one of the following: RACH occasion, time domain of PRACH channel, frequency domain resource of PRACH channel, the number or set of PRACH channel preambles. The resources for transmitting PUSCH in MsgA include one or more of the following: time domain, frequency domain, antenna port, pilot preamble, spreading codeword, etc. PRACH channel includes preambles for transmitting the Msg1 and/or MsgA).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee by using the features, as taught by Sun, in order to support NR-Light that is optimally designed according to the low power consumption, small size, and low cost, and the like of IoT devices, based on the NR system (see Sun, paragraphs [0002] and [0005]).
Claim(s) 8 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), in view of Babaei, US 2021/0227451 A1 (Babaei, hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Eriksson et al., US 2015/0282215 A1 (Eriksson hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 8, Lee and Babaei disclose the device of claim 7 and the device of claim 26. Lee and Babaei do not explicitly disclose wherein the random access channel preamble or the plurality of random access channel preambles is predefined, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive an indication of the random access channel preamble or the plurality of random access channel preambles.
Regarding claim 28, wherein the random access channel preamble or the plurality of random access channel preambles associated with the type is predefined.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Eriksson discloses a method related to transmission and reception of a random access response message to a wireless user equipment that comprises wherein the random access channel RACH preamble or the plurality of random access channel preambles is predefined (Eriksson, paragraph [0041], in some embodiments, determining the channel to monitor for the indication of the random access response resource comprises determining the channel to monitor for the indication of the random access response resource according to a predefined mapping. In some embodiments, the predefined mapping is a predefined mapping between random access preamble indices and radio network temporary identifiers), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive an indication of the random access channel RACH preamble or the plurality of random access channel preambles (Eriksson, paragraph [0050], In some embodiments, the predefined mapping is such that two or more of the random access preamble indices are mapping to the random access response resource).
Regarding claim 28, wherein the random access channel preamble or the plurality of random access channel preambles associated with the type is predefined (Eriksson, paragraph [0041], in some embodiments, determining the channel to monitor for the indication of the random access response resource comprises determining the channel to monitor for the indication of the random access response resource according to a predefined mapping. In some embodiments, the predefined mapping is a predefined mapping between random access preamble indices and radio network temporary identifiers).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee and Babaei by using the features, as taught by Eriksson, in order to support random access procedure for low cost LTE user equipment targeting MTC (see Eriksson, paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Lin et al., US 2024/0422829 A1 (using the PCT application filing date of March 26, 2020 corresponding to the PCT application No. PCT/CN2020/081452; referred to as Lin hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 29, Lee disclose the apparatus of claim 24. Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the random access channel procedure is a two step random access channel procedure,
wherein the two step random access channel procedure comprises MsgA and MsgB,
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to extend a timing between MsgA and MsgB in response to receiving an indication of the type.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Lin discloses a method related to a two-step random access procedure that comprises wherein the random access channel procedure is a two step random access channel procedure (Lin, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0021], FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating a two-step random access procedure in NR),
wherein the two step random access channel procedure comprises MsgA and MsgB (Lin Fig. 2, “Message A” and “Message B” exchanged between the UE and gNB),
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to extend a timing between MsgA and MsgB in response to receiving an indication of the type (Lin, paragraph [0167], Regarding the time gap between the first preamble and the PUSCH, for example, when the gap is no less than a threshold, the RA-RNTI or modified RA-RNTI can be applied for message A and message B transmissions in the two-steps random access procedure, otherwise an RNTI independent from RA-RNTI is used. The threshold can be either predetermined or signaled in RRC signaling, which is not limited here. Also see paragraph [0048], In accordance with an exemplary embodiment, the method further comprises obtaining a response message for random access based on a second RNTI, wherein the second RNTI is determined based on an ID of the terminal device (i.e., indicating the type of the terminal device in the random access response message)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee by using the features, as taught by Lin, in order to support terminal device to efficiently differentiate message B in two-step random access procedure from message 2 in four-step random access procedure by function/mapping relationship between the first and second RNTI by the network node (see Lin, paragraphs [0002] and [0151]).
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of TAKAHASHI et al., US 2018/0139668 A1 (Takahashi hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 30-31, Lee disclose the apparatus of claim 24. Lee does not explicitly disclose the following features
Regarding claim 30, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to increase a time gap between sending a control message and sending associated data.
Regarding claim 31, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to increase a time gap between sending a control message and an associated grant for a transmission.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Takahashi discloses a method related to a terminal device communicating with a different terminal device and a base station that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 30, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to increase a time gap between sending a control message and sending associated data (Takahashi, paragraph [0072], The terminal device 1 that succeeds in the decoding checks whether or not the Random Access Preamble Identifier that corresponds to the random access preamble is included in the random access response, and, in a case where the Random Access Preamble Identifier is included, compensates for a gap in synchronization using the transmission timing adjustment information that is indicated in the random access response. The BS may transmit additional timing alignment commands and/or other communications that configure and/or instruct the UE to adjust the timing alignment (e.g., to adjust the timing offset or gap between a downlink and an uplink)).
Regarding claim 31, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to increase a time gap between sending a control message and an associated grant for a transmission (Takahashi’668, paragraph [0191], The base station apparatus 3 that receives the random access preamble generates a random access response that includes the uplink grant for instructing the terminal device 1 to perform the transmission, and transmits the generated random access response to the terminal device 1 on the PDSCH. The random access response is referred to as a message 2 or a Msg 2. Furthermore, the base station apparatus 3 calculates a gap in transmission timing between the terminal device 1 and the base station apparatus 3 from the received random access preamble, and includes transmission timing adjustment information for adjusting the gap, in the message 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee by using the features, as taught by Takahashi, in order to provide a terminal device that is capable of efficiently performing D2D communication (see Takahashi, abstract and paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 32-33 and 52-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of WONG et al., US 2020/0367294 A1 (Wong hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 32-33 and 52-53, Lee disclose the apparatus of claim 24. Lee do not explicitly disclose the following features
Regarding claim 32, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to indicate a grant or data such that the data can be transmitted or processed by the user equipment or by a second user equipment, wherein the second user equipment is not of the type.
Regarding claim 33, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to indicate at least two grants or at least two data allocations when the type is not determined, wherein the user equipment can transmit or process data associated with one of the grants or data allocations, wherein a third user equipment is of a different type, wherein the third use equipment can transmit or process data associated with a third grant or a third data allocation.
Regarding claim 52, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine if a first random access channel message is associated with the type.
Regarding claim 53, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine if a second random access channel message comprises information indicating the type.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Wong discloses a method related to operating a base station in a wireless telecommunications system to support a first random access procedure for a first terminal device of a first type and a second random access procedure for a second terminal device of a second type that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 32, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to indicate a grant or data such that the data can be transmitted or processed by the user equipment or by second user equipment, wherein the second user equipment is not of the type (Wong, paragraph [0024], it is possible that multiple UEs may transmit a random access request using the same PRACH preamble and the same time and frequency resources. The RAR of step S2 also contains an uplink grant for the preamble the network is responding to so that the UE that transmitted the preamble may use this uplink grant to transmit an RRC Connection Request message, also known as Message 3 to the eNB, in step S3. Message 3 also contains an indication of an identifier, ID, for the UE (e.g. a C-RNTI (cell radio network temporary identifier) or S-TMSI (system architecture evolution (SAE) temporary mobile subscriber identity) or a 40-bit random number generated by the UE).
Regarding claim 33, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to indicate at least two grants or at least two data allocations when the type is not determined (Wong, paragraph [0063], Thus there has been described a method of operating a base station in a wireless telecommunications system to support a first random access procedure for a first terminal device of a first type and a second random access procedure for a second terminal device of a second type, wherein a message size/amount of data for an uplink message of the second random access procedure is greater than a message size/amount of data for a corresponding uplink message of the first random access procedure), wherein the user equipment can transmit or process data associated with one of the grants or data allocations (Wong, paragraph [0063], Thus there has been described a method of operating a base station in a wireless telecommunications system to support a first random access procedure for a first terminal device of a first type), wherein a third user equipment is of a different type, wherein the third use equipment can transmit or process data associated with a third grant or a third data allocation (Wong, Fig. 3 and paragraph [0013], FIG. 3 schematically represents an example allocation of PRACH preambles for use by different types of terminal device. Also see paragraph [0027], FIG. 3 schematically represents one approach for allocating PRACH preambles for use by legacy UEs and EDT-capable UEs (which may be referred to hereon as EDT-UEs). In this example the eNB has 64 PRACH preambles, i.e., {Preamble #00, Preamble #01, ... , Preamble #63}).
Regarding claim 52, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine if a first random access channel message is associated with the type (Wong, paragraph [0063], Thus there has been described a method of operating a base station in a wireless telecommunications system to support a first random access procedure for a first terminal device of a first type).
Regarding claim 53, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine if a second random access channel message comprises information indicating the type (Wong, paragraph [0063], Thus there has been described a method of operating a base station in a wireless telecommunications system to support a first random access procedure for a first terminal device of a first type and a second random access procedure for a second terminal device of a second type, wherein a message size/amount of data for an uplink message of the second random access procedure is greater than a message size/amount of data for a corresponding uplink message of the first random access procedure).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee by using the features, as taught by Wong, in order to support new challenges for efficiently handling communications in wireless telecommunications systems providing increasing use of different types of terminal devices associated with different traffic profiles and requirements for coverage enhancement (see Wong, abstract and paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), in view of Babaei, US 2021/0227451 A1 (Babaei, hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of WONG et al., US 2020/0367294 A1 (Wong hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 54, Lee and Babaei disclose the device of claim 26. Lee and Babaei do not explicitly disclose wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive an indication of the type in the random access channel preamble or in a plurality of random access channel preambles associated with the type.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Wong discloses a method related to operating a base station in a wireless telecommunications system to support a first random access procedure for a first terminal device of a first type and a second random access procedure for a second terminal device of a second type that comprises wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive an indication of the type in the random access channel preamble or in a plurality of random access channel preambles associated with the type (Wong, Fig. 3 and paragraph [0013], FIG. 3 schematically represents an example allocation of PRACH preambles for use by different types of terminal device. Also see paragraph [0027], FIG. 3 schematically represents one approach for allocating PRACH preambles for use by legacy UEs and EDT-capable UEs (which may be referred to hereon as EDT-UEs). In this example the eNB has 64 PRACH preambles, i.e., {Preamble #00, Preamble #01, ... , Preamble #63}).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee and Babaei by using the features, as taught by Wong, in order to support new challenges for efficiently handling communications in wireless telecommunications systems providing increasing use of different types of terminal devices associated with different traffic profiles and requirements for coverage enhancement (see Wong, abstract and paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., US 2016/0165640 A1 (Yang hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Babaei, US 2021/0227451 A1 (Babaei, hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 39-40, Yang discloses the apparatus of claim 34. Yang does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 39, wherein the type indicates that the user equipment is capable to operate in accordance with at least one capability, wherein the at least one capability is less than a corresponding capabilities of at least one second user equipment.
Regarding claim 40, wherein the at least one capability is selected from the group consisting of operating in a first frequency range, supporting a first maximum bandwidth, supporting a first maximum transmit power, a first data processing power, a first processing, a first power supply capability, and supporting a first number of antennas, wherein the first frequency range is less than a second frequency range, wherein a second user equipment has the second frequency range, wherein the first maximum bandwidth is less than a second maximum bandwidth, wherein second equipment has the second maximum bandwidth, wherein the first maximum transmit power is less than a second maximum transmit power, wherein second equipment has the second maximum transmit power, wherein the first data processing power is less than a second data processing power, wherein second equipment has the second data processing power, wherein the first processing time is longer than a second processing time, wherein the second user equipment has the second processing time, wherein the first power supply capability is less than a second power supply capability, wherein the second user equipment has the second power supply capability, wherein the first number of antennas is less than a second number of antennas, wherein the second equipment supports the second number of antennas.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Babaei discloses a method related operating a wireless device with reduced capability that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 39, wherein the type indicates that the user equipment is capable to operate in accordance with at least one capability (Babaei, paragraph [0252], The system information may indicate that a wireless device of a first type (for example a wireless device with reduced capabilities, e.g., a wireless device that supports reduced number of UE RX/TX antennas and/or reduced UE Bandwidth and/or half-Duplex-FDD and/or relaxed UE processing time and/or relaxed UE processing capability), wherein the at least one capability is less than a corresponding capabilities of at least one second user equipment (Babaei, paragraph [0191], The system information may indicate that the first type wireless devices (e.g., reduced capability wireless devices) are barred from accessing/camping on ( e.g., are not allowed to access/camp on) the cell. For example, the system information may comprise a first parameter/IE, a first value of the first parameter/IE indicating that the barring (not allowing) the first type wireless devices (e.g., reduced capability wireless devices). A second value of the first parameter/IE may indicate barring (e.g., not allowing) wireless devices from accessing/camping on the cell irrespective of the wireless device type (e.g., wireless devices with reduced capability or wireless devices with non-reduced capability, e.g., normal wireless devices)).
Regarding claim 40, wherein the at least one capability is selected from the group consisting of operating in a first frequency range, supporting a first maximum bandwidth, supporting a first maximum transmit power, a first data processing power, a first processing, a first power supply capability, and supporting a first number of antennas (Babaei, paragraph [0141], In an example, reduced capability wireless devices may support reduced number of UE RX/TX antennas, reduced UE Bandwidth, half-Duplex-FDD, relaxed UE processing time, and relaxed UE processing capability), wherein the first frequency range is less than a second frequency range, wherein a second user equipment has the second frequency range, wherein the first maximum bandwidth is less than a second maximum bandwidth, wherein second equipment has the second maximum bandwidth, wherein the first maximum transmit power is less than a second maximum transmit power, wherein second equipment has the second maximum transmit power, wherein the first data processing power is less than a second data processing power, wherein second equipment has the second data processing power, wherein the first processing time is longer than a second processing time, wherein the second user equipment has the second processing time, wherein the first power supply capability is less than a second power supply capability, wherein the second user equipment has the second power supply capability, wherein the first number of antennas is less than a second number of antennas, wherein the second equipment supports the second number of antennas (Babaei, paragraph [0185], Reduced capability wireless devices may have lower complexity such as reduced number of TX/RX antennas, reduced UE Bandwidth, half-Duplex-FDD, relaxed UE processing time, and relaxed UE processing capability. Operation of reduced capability wireless devices in a wireless network may degrade the performance (e.g., in terms of throughput, latency, etc.) of normal (e.g., non-reduced capability) wireless devices. There is a need to enhance existing solutions for wireless devices to access/camp on cells in a wireless network. Example embodiments enhance existing processes for wireless devices to access/camp on cells in a wireless network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yang by using the features, as taught by Babaei, in order to provide the reduced capability UEs supporting coverage recovery to compensate for potential coverage reduction due to the device complexity reduction (see Babaei, paragraphs [0044] and [0143]).
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., US 2016/0165640 A1 (Yang hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of CHO et al., US 2018/0020431 A1 (Cho hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 36, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 34. Yang do not explicitly disclose wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide one or more grants to the user equipment,
wherein one or more grants comprises an uplink (UL) grant or a sidelink (SL) grant, wherein the one or more grant are associated with respective processing times, wherein the processing times comprise a first processing time for the user equipment of a first type and a second processing time for the user equipment of a user equipment of a second type.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Cho discloses a method related to allocating an uplink resource in a wireless communication system which supports low latency service that comprises wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide one or more grants to the user equipment (Cho, Fig. 15, step S1505 discloses providing Uplink resource grant to the UE in PDCCH. Also see Fig. 17, step S1705),
wherein one or more grants comprises an uplink (UL) grant or a sidelink (SL) grant (Cho, paragraph [0004], An object of this specification is to provide an UL resource grant method for a fast RRC connection setup in order to reduce transmission latency of a low latency service), wherein the one or more grant are associated with respective processing times (Cho, paragraph [0005], Furthermore, an object of this specification is to provide an UL resource request method using previously defined UL resource grant time information depending on the capability type of a UE), wherein the processing times comprise a first processing time for the user equipment of a first type and a second processing time for the user equipment of a user equipment of a second type (Cho, paragraph [0233], FIG. 16 shows a method of previously defining or determining an UL grant offset_UE indicative of a point of time at which a UE requests an UL resource grant by taking into consideration an RRC message processing time according to the capability type of the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yang by using the features, as taught by Cho, in order to provide an UL resource grant method for a fast RRC connection setup in order to reduce transmission latency of a low latency service (see Cho, abstract and paragraph [0004]).
Claim(s) 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., US 2016/0165640 A1 (Yang hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of LI et al., US 2017/0222862 A1 (Li hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 37-38, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 34. Yang do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 37, wherein the transmission is from the apparatus to the user equipment, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send to first data and second data to the user equipment, wherein the processor circuit is arranged determine if the user equipment is of the type based on timing of a feedback from the user equipment.
Regarding claim 38, wherein the transmission is from the apparatus to the user equipment, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send data to the user equipment, wherein the processor circuit is arranged determine if the user equipment is of the type based on a timing of a feedback from the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Li discloses a method related to D2D communication in a wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 37, wherein the transmission is from the apparatus to the user equipment, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send to first data and second data to the user equipment (Li, paragraph [0024], receiving a first message from a base station to configure a D2D discovery resource pool as a resource pool including a first zone and a second zone, wherein the first zone is a restricted D2D resource zone and the second zone is an unrestricted D2D resource zone), wherein the processor circuit is arranged determine if the user equipment is of the type based on a timing of a feedback from the user equipment (Li, paragraph [0034]-[0036], In one embodiment of the present invention, D2D neighbor discovery is user equipment determines the user equipments as a first type of user equipment or a second type of user equipment according to downlink reference signal measuring result and threshold parameter sent by the base station. Also see paragraph [0029], performing restricted downlink data scheduling within the timing associated with the configured D2D discovery resource pool if the user equipment is the user equipment in the first group, such that feedback of the data scheduling can be transmitted on the subframe in the second zone which is unrestricted D2D resource zone and/or performing normal downlink data scheduling within the timing associated with the configured D2D discovery resource pool if the user equipment is the user equipment in the second group and adjusting the feedback timing for the user equipment, which needs to transmit feedback on the subframe in the first zone according to normal ACK/NACK feedback timing, to the subframe in the nearest next second zone to transmit the feedback).
Regarding claim 38, wherein the transmission is from the apparatus to the user equipment, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send data to the user equipment (Li, paragraph [0024], receiving a first message from a base station to configure a D2D discovery resource pool as a resource pool including a first zone and a second zone, wherein the first zone is a restricted D2D resource zone and the second zone is an unrestricted D2D resource zone), wherein the processor circuit is arranged determine if the user equipment is of the type based on a timing of a feedback from the user equipment (Li, paragraph [0034]-[0036], In one embodiment of the present invention, D2D neighbor discovery is user equipment determines the user equipments as a first type of user equipment or a second type of user equipment according to downlink reference signal measuring result and threshold parameter sent by the base station. Also see paragraph [0029], performing restricted downlink data scheduling within the timing associated with the configured D2D discovery resource pool if the user equipment is the user equipment in the first group, such that feedback of the data scheduling can be transmitted on the subframe in the second zone which is unrestricted D2D resource zone and/or performing normal downlink data scheduling within the timing associated with the configured D2D discovery resource pool if the user equipment is the user equipment in the second group and adjusting the feedback timing for the user equipment, which needs to transmit feedback on the subframe in the first zone according to normal ACK/NACK feedback timing, to the subframe in the nearest next second zone to transmit the feedback).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yang by using the features, as taught by Li, in order to provide a base station of a wireless communication system to reduce impact of D2D in-band interference on cellular transmission (see Li, abstract).
Claim(s) 14, 43 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), in view of Yang et al., US 2016/0165640 A1 (Yang hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses a device (Lee, paragraph [0010], FIG. 1B depicts a system diagram of an example wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) that may be used within the communications system illustrated in FIG. 1A) comprising:
a processor circuit (Lee, Fig. 1B, element 118, “Processor”); and
a memory circuit (Lee, Fig. 1B, elements 130 and 132, “Non-Removable Memory” and “Removable Memory”),
wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor circuit (Lee, paragraph [0076], In addition, the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132),
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal a type of user equipment during a random access channel procedure (Lee, paragraph [0291], the device may transmit an additional bit with the preamble transmission (e.g. for RACH message 1 via PRACH, to indicate its device type such as a narrower BW device, the current RACH message 1 may carry 6 bits information with 5 bits for a preamble ID, 1 bit for RACH message, and 3 length indications). This extra bit may be used by the eNB to distinguish PRACH preamble reception from either a regular device or narrower bandwidth device),
Regarding claim 43, Lee discloses a method for operating a device comprising:
signaling a type of user equipment during a random access channel procedure (Lee, paragraph [0291], the device may transmit an additional bit with the preamble transmission (e.g. for RACH message 1 via PRACH, to indicate its device type such as a narrower BW device, the current RACH message 1 may carry 6 bits information with 5 bits for a preamble ID, 1 bit for RACH message, and 3 length indications). This extra bit may be used by the eNB to distinguish PRACH preamble reception from either a regular device or narrower bandwidth device);
Lee does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the type of user equipment by sending a first random access channel message and a second random access channel message during a time period of the random access channel procedure,
wherein the second random access channel message is a retransmission of the first random access channel message.
Regarding claim 43, wherein the type of user equipment is signaled by sending at least two random access channel messages within a given time period during the random access channel procedure,
wherein the at least two random access channel messages comprise a first random access channel message and a retransmission of the first random access channel message.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Yang discloses a method related to performing random access procedure in a wireless communication system that comprise the following features.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to signal the type of user equipment by sending a first random access channel message and a second random access channel message during a time period of the random access channel procedure (Yang, paragraph [0208], in the case of the non-CE LC UE, the UE may select/transmit an LC PRACH resource such that an eNB identifies/recognizes an LC type. On the other hand, in the case of the CE LC UE, the eNB cannot identity/recognize an LC type only by selecting/transmitting a CE PRACH resource by the UE, and thus the CE LC UE may notify the eNB that the UE is an LC type through Msg3. In addition, the eNB may differently allocate Msg3 transmitting resources corresponding to the two respective UE types (i.e., LC type or non-LC type) to RAR (e.g., Msg3 transmitting resources may be allocated to use different RBs and/or different DMRS cyclic shifts) so as to identify/recognize a UE type according to a Msg3 receiving resource (i.e., signaling the type of user equipment). Also see paragraph [0102], In consideration of coverage enhancement in a random access procedure, (time domain) repetition may also be applied to a PRACH preamble transmission and a signal/channel transmitted in association with the PRACH preamble transmission, i.e. for example, a random access response (RAR), PUSCH ( or Msg3) scheduled from the RAR, and the like. Accordingly, for repeated transmitting operation, a number of times of applying/performing repetition need to be signaled/configured using a predetermined resource ( e.g., code/time/frequency) for each signal/channel prior to corresponding signal/channel transmission (i.e., signalling type of user equipment by repeated or first and second transmission of the random access channel message during a time period of the random access channel procedure). Also see paragraph [0206], when a coverage-limited low-cost UE (referred to as a CE LC UE) that requires PRACH repeated transmission is also considered, different CE PRACH resources (referred to as CE LC PRACH resources) differentiated for respective CE levels may be allocated similarly to the above description),
wherein the second random access channel message is a retransmission of the first random access channel message (Yang, paragraph [0007], In an aspect of the present invention, provided herein is a method for performing a random access procedure by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system supporting repeated transmission of a same signal, the method comprising: repeatedly transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH) signal using a PRACH resource; and receiving a random access response signal in a specific time interval in response to the PRACH signal).
Regarding claim 43, wherein the type of user equipment is signaled by sending at least two random access channel messages within a given time period during the random access channel procedure (Yang paragraph [0206], In order to support the low-cost UE, an eNB (may identify/recognize the corresponding low-cost UE and) may need scheduling so as to transmit/receive a PDSCH corresponding to RAR and Msg4 through only RBs in a scheduling bandwidth BWLC from an RACH procedure for initial access. Also see paragraph [0102], for repeated transmitting operation, a number of times of applying/performing repetition need to be signaled/configured using a predetermined resource (e.g., code/time/frequency) for each signal/channel prior to corresponding signal/channel transmission … in consideration of application of repetition to a PRACH preamble and/or RAR and/or a PDCCH for scheduling the corresponding RAR, it is necessary to consider a method for determining a RA-RNTI and an interval at which RAR can be received (and/or RA-RNTI can be detected). In this specification, the interval at which RAR can be received (and/or RA-RNTI can be detected) will be referred to as an RAR window. (i.e., determining type of the user equipment by repeated/two transmission during a given time period)),
wherein the at least two random access channel messages comprise a first random access channel message and a retransmission of the first random access channel message (Yang, paragraph [0208], in the case of the non-CE LC UE, the UE may select/transmit an LC PRACH resource such that an eNB identifies/recognizes an LC type. On the other hand, in the case of the CE LC UE, the eNB cannot identity/recognize an LC type only by selecting/transmitting a CE PRACH resource by the UE, and thus the CE LC UE may notify the eNB that the UE is an LC type through Msg3. In addition, the eNB may differently allocate Msg3 transmitting resources corresponding to the two respective UE types (i.e., LC type or non-LC type) to RAR (e.g., Msg3 transmitting resources may be allocated to use different RBs and/or different DMRS cyclic shifts) so as to identify/recognize a UE type according to a Msg3 receiving resource (i.e., signaling the type of user equipment). Also see paragraph [0102], In consideration of coverage enhancement in a random access procedure, (time domain) repetition may also be applied to a PRACH preamble transmission and a signal/channel transmitted in association with the PRACH preamble transmission, i.e. for example, a random access response (RAR), PUSCH ( or Msg3) scheduled from the RAR, and the like. Accordingly, for repeated transmitting operation, a number of times of applying/performing repetition need to be signaled/configured using a predetermined resource ( e.g., code/time/frequency) for each signal/channel prior to corresponding signal/channel transmission (i.e., signalling type of user equipment by repeated or transmission and a retransmission of the first and second random access channel message during a time period of the random access channel procedure)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee by using the features, as taught by Yang, in order to provide a method for effectively transmitting and receiving a signal for machine type communication (MTC) (see Yang, abstract and paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 47, Lee discloses a computer program stored on non-transitory, wherein the computer program when executed on a processor performs the method as claimed in claim 43 (Lee, paragraph [0425], In addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor).
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), in view of Yang et al., US 2016/0165640 A1 (Yang hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of SUN et al., US 2022/0264589 A1 (Sun hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Lee and Yang disclose the device of claim 14. Lee and Yang do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 16, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to monitor at least one control channel(s) for a control message, after sending the second random access channel message, wherein the control message is scrambled with a Radio Network Temporary Identifier for the random access channel procedure.
Regarding claim 18, wherein processor circuit is arranged to send the first random access channel message in at least one of a time domain, a frequency domain, a space domain and a code domain.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Sun discloses a method related to transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 16, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to monitor at least one control channel(s) for a control message, after sending the second random access channel message (Sun, paragraph [0049], detecting a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) indicating a first System Information Block (SIB) and/or a PDCCH indicating a second SIB according to a control resource set and/or a search space indicated in the PBCH), wherein the control message is scrambled with a Radio Network Temporary Identifier for the random access channel procedure (Sun, paragraph [0049], wherein the PDCCH indicating the first SIB is scrambled by a first System Information Radio Network Temporary Identifier (SI-RNTI), and the PDCCH indicating the second SIB is scrambled by a second SI-RNTI different from the first SI-RNTI).
Regarding claim 18, wherein processor circuit is arranged to send the first random access channel message in at least one of a time domain, a frequency domain, a space domain and a code domain (Sun, Fig. 6, disclose the UE sending Msg1 (i.e., first random action channel messages). Also see paragraph [0215], the resources of Msg1 and/or MsgA include at least one of the following: RACH occasion, time domain of PRACH channel, frequency domain resource of PRACH channel, the number or set of PRACH channel preambles. The resources for transmitting PUSCH in MsgA include one or more of the following: time domain, frequency domain, antenna port, pilot preamble, spreading codeword, etc. PRACH channel includes preambles for transmitting the Msg1 and/or MsgA).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee and Yang by using the features, as taught by Sun, in order to support NR-Light that is optimally designed according to the low power consumption, small size, and low cost, and the like of IoT devices, based on the NR system (see Sun, paragraphs [0002] and [0005]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), in view of Yang et al., US 2016/0165640 A1 (Yang hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of SHARMA et al., US 2020/00288535 A1 (Sharma hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 17, Lee and Yang disclose the device of claim 14. Lee and Yang do not explicitly disclose wherein the processor circuit is arranged to support a first maximum transmit power, wherein the first maximum transmit power is less than a second maximum transmit power, wherein a second user equipment supports the second maximum transmit power.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Sharma discloses a method related to a ProSe Relay UE allowing a remote UE to connect to a base station and core network that comprises wherein the processor circuit is arranged to support a first maximum transmit power, wherein the first maximum transmit power is less than a second maximum transmit power (Sharma, paragraph [0061], As an alternative, the MTC UE 3-2 may be arranged to calculate a received signal strength for the base station signal and for the Relay UE signal and then determine which one it should try to connect to first, based on the results of comparing the two received signal strengths with respective threshold values (the threshold for the base station may be set higher than the threshold for the Relay UE-to encourage the MTC UE 3-2 to connect with the Relay UE first)), wherein a second user equipment supports the second maximum transmit power (Sharma, paragraph [0059], if a low powered MTC UE 3-2 is in a low signal area (such as in a building or in a basement or the like) then it can initially try to connect to the base station 5 via a closer ProSe Relay UE 3-1-without having to go through the normal Random Access connection procedure. This can significantly reduce the power requirements of the MTC UE 3-2-as the Random Access procedure for MTC UEs in deep coverage specifies that the MTC UE 3-2 should repeatedly try connecting to the base station 5 at maximum transmit power until a specified number of attempts (the number of attempts depending on the coverage level) have failed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee and Yang by using the features, as taught by Sharma, in order to provide further enhancements to support ProSe relaying providing coverage for the MTC UEs (see Sharma, abstract and paragraphs [0008]-[0010]).
Claim(s) 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2013/0083753 A1 (Lee hereinafter), in view of Yang et al., US 2016/0165640 A1 (Yang hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Babaei, US 2021/0227451 A1 (Babaei, hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 19-22, Lee and Yang disclose the user device of claim 14. Lee and Yang does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 19, wherein the first random access channel message is a random access channel preamble, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to obtain at least one of a plurality of random access channel resource(s), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send the random access channel preamble more than once using the at least one of the plurality of random access channel resource(s).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive a signaling, wherein the signal indicates at least one of the plurality of random access channel resource(s).
Regarding claim 21, wherein the device is able to operate in accordance with at least one capability, wherein the at least one capability is less than corresponding capabilities of at least one second user equipment.
Regarding claim 22, wherein the at least one capability is selected from the group consisting of operating in a first frequency range, supporting a first maximum bandwidth, having a first data processing power, having a first processing time having a first power supply capability supporting a first plurality of antennas, wherein the first frequency range is less than a second frequency range, wherein a second user equipment supports the second frequency range, wherein the first maximum bandwidth is less than a second maximum bandwidth, wherein the second user equipment supports the second maximum bandwidth, wherein the first data processing power is less than a second data processing power, wherein the second user equipment has the second data processing power, wherein the first data processing time is less than a second data processing time, wherein the second user equipment has the second data processing time, wherein the first power supply capability is less than a second power supply capability, wherein the second user equipment has the second power supply capability, wherein the first number of antennas is less than a second number of antennas, wherein the second user equipment supports the second number of antennas.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Babaei discloses a method related operating a wireless device with reduced capability that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 19, Babaei discloses wherein the first random access channel message is a random access channel preamble (Babaei, paragraph [0102], FIG. 12A shows an example of four step contention-based random access (CBRA) procedure. The four-step CBRA procedure includes exchanging four messages between a UE and a base station. Msg1 may be for transmission ( or retransmission) of a random access preamble by the wireless device to the base station), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to obtain at least one of a plurality of random access channel resource(s) (Babaei, paragraph [0103], The base station may transmit one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of the random access parameters. The random access parameters may indicate radio resources (e.g., time-frequency resources) for transmission of the random access preamble (e.g., Msg1)), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to send the random access channel preamble more than once using the at least one of the plurality of random access channel resource(s) (Babaei, paragraph [0103], The UE may use one or more reference signals ( e.g., SSB(s) or CSI-RS(s)) and may determine the PRACH occasion to use for Msg1 transmission based on the association between the PRACH occasions and the reference signals. The UE may perform a retransmission of the random access preamble if no response is received with the RAR window following the transmission of the preamble. UE may use a higher transmission power for retransmission of the preamble. UE may determine the higher transmission power of the preamble based on the power ramping parameter).
Regarding claim 20, Babaei discloses wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive a signaling, wherein the signal indicates at least one of the plurality of random access channel resource(s) (Babaei, paragraph [0103], The base station may transmit one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of the random access parameters. The random access parameters may indicate radio resources (e.g., time-frequency resources) for transmission of the random access preamble (e.g., Msg1)).
Regarding claim 21, Babaei discloses wherein the device is able to operate in accordance with at least one capability, wherein the at least one capability is less than corresponding capabilities of at least one second user equipment (Babaei, paragraph [0141], In an example, reduced capability wireless devices may support reduced number of UE RX/TX antennas, reduced UE Bandwidth, half Duplex-FDD, relaxed UE processing time, and relaxed UE processing capability).
Regarding claim 22, Babaei discloses wherein the at least one capability is selected from the group consisting of operating in a first frequency range, supporting a first maximum bandwidth, having a first data processing power, having a first processing time having a first power supply capability supporting a first plurality of antennas (Babaei, paragraph [0141], In an example, reduced capability wireless devices may support reduced number of UE RX/TX antennas, reduced UE Bandwidth, half-Duplex-FDD, relaxed UE processing time, and relaxed UE processing capability), wherein the first frequency range is less than a second frequency range, wherein a second user equipment supports the second frequency range, wherein the first maximum bandwidth is less than a second maximum bandwidth, wherein the second user equipment supports the second maximum bandwidth, wherein the first data processing power is less than a second data processing power, wherein the second user equipment has the second data processing power, wherein the first data processing time is less than a second data processing time, wherein the second user equipment has the second data processing time, wherein the first power supply capability is less than a second power supply capability, wherein the second user equipment has the second power supply capability, wherein the first number of antennas is less than a second number of antennas, wherein the second user equipment supports the second number of antennas (Babaei, paragraph [0185], Reduced capability wireless devices may have lower complexity such as reduced number of TX/RX antennas, reduced UE Bandwidth, half-Duplex-FDD, relaxed UE processing time, and relaxed UE processing capability. Operation of reduced capability wireless devices in a wireless network may degrade the performance (e.g., in terms of throughput, latency, etc.) of normal (e.g., non-reduced capability) wireless devices. There is a need to enhance existing solutions for wireless devices to access/camp on cells in a wireless network. Example embodiments enhance existing processes for wireless devices to access/camp on cells in a wireless network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee and Yang by using the features, as taught by Babaei, in order to provide the reduced capability UEs supporting coverage recovery to compensate for potential coverage reduction due to the device complexity reduction (see Babaei, paragraphs [0044] and [0143]).
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 06/19/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473