DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on April 30, 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 5, 11, 12, 14, and 22 have been amended and 23 and 24 have been added. Thus, claims 1-24 are presently pending in this application.
Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 18, 2026.
The examiner notes that the amendment is technical non-compliant. Per MPEP 714, Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of "new" and presented in clean version. In the instant application, claim 24 has been added but no status identifier has been included.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 15 of the Remarks that “the claimed structure causes one container to empty before any flow is delivered from the next container. Thus, flow is entirely in series, and cannot be simultaneous or alternating”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the flow being delivered entirely in series) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner notes that the function of the system being configured so that flow is entirely in series is an intended use of the system. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant situation, the examiner maintains that Virag modified with Motta and Wong teaches every limitation set forth in claim 1; as such, claim 1 is unpatentable in view of modified Virag.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Virag (US 4034754) in view of Motta (US 5032117) and in further view of Wong (US 20150018765).
Regarding claim 1, Virag discloses an infusion set or transfusion set for administering a liquid from a container using a pump (set 10 in fig. 1 is functionally capable of being used with some sort of pump),
wherein the infusion set or transfusion set comprises a branch (connection site 32 in fig. 1), wherein a fluid connection is provided via the branch between one end of each of a first supply line (flexible tubing 38 in fig. 1; see below), a second supply line (tubing 50 in fig. 1; see below), and a discharge line (tubing 50 in fig. 1; see below),
wherein the first supply line is configured to be connected to the container at its end remote from the branch (fig. 1 shows tubing 38 above fluidically connected to solution source 46),
wherein at least the second supply line comprises a check valve (one-way valve 30 in fig. 1),
wherein the check valve is closed to passage of a fluid in the direction from the branch (3:53-55).
However, Virag does not explicitly teach or disclose the check valve is configured to be closed for passage of fluid in the direction towards the branch if the pressure difference Δp = pA - pZ between a pressure pA present in the second supply line on the side of the check valve facing away from the branch and a pressure pz present in the second supply line on the side of the check valve facing towards the branch is less than a threshold value pR, wherein the check valve is configured to be open for fluid passage in the direction towards the branch if the pressure difference Δp = pA - pz between the pressure pA present in the second supply line on the side of the check valve facing away from the branch and the pressure pz present in the second supply line on the side of the check valve facing towards the branch is greater than the threshold value pR. Additionally, Virag does not teach or disclose wherein at least the first supply line comprises a liquid-retaining filter membrane having a breakdown pressure pMem, wherein pR is less than the breakdown pressure pMem of the liquid-retaining filter membrane.
Motta teaches a similar infusion set (fig. 1) comprising a check valve (check valve 18 in fig. 1) which is configured to be closed for passage of fluid in the direction towards the branch if the pressure difference Δp = pA - pz between a pressure pA present in the second supply line on the side of the check valve facing away from the branch and a pressure pz present in the second supply line on the side of the check valve facing towards the branch is less than a threshold value pR (4:12-14 discloses that the valve is closed when the pressure below the valve exceeds the pressure above the valve so that Δp is a negative value which is less than a threshold value pR of 0), and is configured to be open for fluid passage in the direction towards the branch if the pressure difference Δp = pA - pz between the pressure pA present in the second supply line on the side of the check valve facing away from the branch and the pressure pz present in the second supply line on the side of the check valve facing towards the branch is greater than the threshold value pR (4:12-14 discloses the valve is closed when the pressure below the valve exceeds the pressure above the valve so that the valve would be opened when the pressure above the valve exceeds the pressure below the valve so that Δp is a positive value which is greater than a threshold value pR of 0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the check valve of Virag to be configured to be closed for passage of fluid when Δp is less than zero and to be opened for passage of fluid when Δp is greater than zero, as taught by Motta, in order for to prevent backflow of fluid to ensure proper dosing.
Wong teaches an infusion set (infusion set 10 in fig. 1) comprising a supply line (tubing 40 in fig. 1) which comprises a spike (spike 30 in fig. 1) and a drip chamber (drip chamber 20 in fig. 1). Wong teaches that the supply line comprises a liquid-retaining filter membrane (hydrophilic membrane 21 in fig. 1), which has a breakdown pressure Pmem (paragraph 20 discloses a “bubble pressure point” of 0.3 bar; the examiner notes that the “bubble pressure point” is defined in Applicant’s specification on pg. 5, lines 1-2 as equivalent to the claimed Pmem). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drip chamber of both supply lines of modified Virag (i.e. drip chambers 26 and 42 in fig. 1) to comprise the liquid-retaining filter membrane of Wong having the claimed Pmem. Wong teaches that this modification prevents air bubbles and particles from entering the body of the patient during infusion therapy (paragraph 30).
Once modified with the teachings of Motta and Wong, modified Virag teaches wherein pR is less than the breakdown pressure pMem of the liquid-retaining filter membrane since pR is equal to 0 and pMem is equal to 0.3 bar, as discussed above.
Regarding claim 2, in the modified device of Virag, Virag discloses the branch is configured as a Y-port (fig. 1 shows connection site 32 as a Y-port).
Regarding claim 3, in the modified device of Virag, Virag discloses the infusion set for sequentially administering first the liquid as a first liquid from the container as a first container and then a further liquid as a second liquid from a further container as a second container using the pump (the infusion set 10 in fig. 1 is capable of performing the claimed function), wherein the first supply line is configured to be connected to the first container at its end remote from the branch (fig. 1 shows tubing 38 fluidically connected to solution 46), and wherein the second supply line is configured to be connected at its end remote from the branch to the second container (fig. 1 shows tubing 50 fluidically connected to solution 24).
Regarding claim 4, in the modified device of Virag, Motta discloses the threshold value pR is predetermined to be greater than or equal to a predetermined minimum threshold value pRmin and/or wherein the threshold value pR is predetermined to be less than or equal to a predetermined maximum threshold value pRmax (4:12-14 discloses that valve only opens when ΔP is greater than zero so that the pRmin and pRmax is equal to zero so that pRmin and pRmax are equal to pR).
Regarding claim 5, in the modified device of Virag, Motta discloses the predetermined maximum threshold value pRmax is determined to be at most 190 mbar (as discussed above, pRmax is 0 so that it is less than 190 mbar) and the predetermined maximum threshold value pRmax is determined to be less than pMem by at least 10 mbar (as discussed above pRmax is 0 which is 300 mbar less that the pMem set forth above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, in the modified device of Virag, Virag discloses the first supply line comprises a drip chamber (drip chamber 42 in fig. 1) which comprises an inlet through which the liquid from the container may enter in the form of drops (drop-forming member 48 in fig. 1), and which comprises an outlet through which the liquid may flow into the remaining first supply line (see below).
Regarding claim 7, in the modified device of Virag, Virag discloses the second supply line comprises a drip chamber (drip chamber 26 in fig. 1) which comprises an inlet through which the second liquid may enter from the second container in the form of drops (drop forming member 28 in fig. 1), and which comprises an outlet through which the second liquid may flow into the remaining second supply line (see below).
Regarding claim 8, in the modified device of Virag, Wong discloses the liquid-retaining filter membrane of the first supply line is an air-stop membrane (paragraph 29 discloses membrane 21 in fig. 1 preventing air bubbles from passing through).
Regarding claim 9, in the modified device of Virag, Wong discloses the liquid-retaining filter membrane of the first supply line is a hydrophilic and/or a porous membrane (paragraph 20 discloses that membrane 21 is hydrophilic and has a mean pore size, so that it is porous).
Regarding claim 15, in the modified device of Virag, Wong discloses the liquid-retaining filter membrane is arranged between the inlet and the outlet of the drip chamber (fig. 1 shows membrane 21 positioned between the drop forming member of the inlet and outlet 22).
Regarding claim 16, in the modified device of Virag, Wong discloses the liquid-retaining filter membrane is arranged in an outlet region of the drip chamber (fig. 1 shows membrane 21 in the immediate vicinity of outlet 22).
Regarding claim 17, in the modified device of Virag, Wong discloses a further liquid-retaining filter membrane is arranged between an inlet and an outlet of the drip chamber of the second supply line (the examiner notes that in the modification set forth in claim 1, both supply lines of Virag were modified to include membranes in the respective drip chambers; fig. 1 of Wong shows membrane 21 positioned between the drop forming member of the inlet and outlet 22).
Regarding claim 18, in the modified device of Virag, Wong discloses the further liquid-retaining filter membrane is arranged in an outlet region of the drip chamber of the second supply line (fig. 1 shows membrane 21 in the immediate vicinity of outlet 22).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Virag in view of Motta and in view of Wong, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hishikawa (US 20060155249).
Regarding claim 10, modified Virag teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose the first supply line comprises a check valve between the branch and the liquid-retaining membrane, wherein the check valve of the first supply line is closed to passage of a fluid in the direction from the branch.
Hishikawa teaches a similar system comprising a first supply line (tube 31 in fig. 5) comprising a check valve (check valve 36 in fig. 5) between a branch (connector 32 in fig. 5) and a roller clamp (roller klemme 33 in fig. 5), wherein the check valve of the first supply line is closed to passage of a fluid in the direction from the branch (paragraph 119).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first supply line of modified Virag to have a check valve between the branch and the liquid-retaining membrane by placing the check valve between the branch (arm 36 in fig. 1) and the roller clamp (clamp 40 in fig. 1), as taught by Hishikawa. Hishikawa teaches modification prevents transfusion from flowing to the upstream side to ensure proper dosing (paragraph 121).
Claim(s) 13, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Virag in view of Motta and in view of Wong, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ueda (US 20140100526).
Regarding claim 13, modified Virag teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above. Virag further discloses the infusion set comprises a roller clamp (roller clamp 22 in fig. 1). However, modified Virag does not teach or disclose a pump (301) for conveying liquid through the supply lines and the discharge line.
Ueda teaches an infusion set (fig. 27) comprising a roller clamp (roller clamp 7 in fig. 27). Ueda further teaches a pump (infusion pump 1 in fig. 1) which is configured to receive the roller clamp (fig. 5 shows the roller clamp 7 received within the pump 1) and which is configured for conveying liquid through supply lines and the discharge line (paragraph 15 discloses feeding infusion liquid in one direction which would include feeding through the supply lines and discharge lines).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of modified Virag to further comprise the pump of Ueda which would receive the roller clamp of Virag (roller clamp 22 in fig. 1). Ueda teaches that this infusion pump helps prevent free flow during infusion (paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 19, in the modified system of Virag, Ueda discloses the pump is a peristaltic pump (paragraph 96 discloses a “peristaltic finger infusion pump”).
Regarding claim 20, in the modified system of Virag, Ueda discloses the peristaltic pump is engaged with or configured to be engaged with a portion of an outer wall of the discharge line (fig. 1 shows pump 1 engaging to portions of tube T).
Claim(s) 14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Virag in view of Motta in view of Wong and in view of Ueda, as applied to claims 1 and 13, and further in view of Jacobson (US 20100114027).
Regarding claim 14, modified Virag teaches all of the claimed limitations set forth in claims 1and 13, as discussed above, but does not teach or disclose a pressure measuring device for detecting a measured value corresponding to a pump upstream pressure of a conveyed fluid.
Jacobson is directed towards an infusion set (fig. 1) comprising a pressure measuring device for detecting a measured value corresponding to a pump upstream pressure of a conveyed fluid (sensor assembly 100 in fig. 1; paragraph 53 discloses that the sensor assembly 100 monitors pressure of the fluid pumped by pump 12 at a location upstream from the patient; the examiner notes that the claim does not presently require that the pressure be measured upstream from the pump). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of modified Virag to include the pressure measuring device of Jacobson in order to identify and alert users to the presence of occlusions in the line (paragraph 57) which would improve patient safety.
Regarding claim 21, in the modified system of Virag, Jacobson discloses the system is configured to send an alarm signal and/or to stop conveying liquid by the pump when the pump upstream pressure falls below a threshold value palarm (paragraph 57).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 23 and 24 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 11 and 23, claim 23 has been drafted to include all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 11. The claims are allowable for the same reasons provided in the Non-Final Rejection mailed on February 18, 2026.
Regarding claims 22 and 24, the closest prior art is Virag modified with Motta and Wong. The prior art fails to teach or disclose the threshold value pAlarm is selected such that no value Δp(n) (n = 2, 3, ..., nmax) exceeds a breakdown pressure pMem(n) (n = 1, 3, ..., nmax) when the pump upstream pressure falls below the threshold value pAlarm.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783