DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamura [JP 2008166625 A] provided in the IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Tamura discloses a magnetic coupling device (e.g., 50, page 4 of translation, Fig. 3), comprising:
a core unit (e.g., 40, page 4, Fig. 3) comprising an upper core (e.g., 41) and a lower core (e.g., 42); and
a coil unit (e.g., coil of the magnetic coupling device) partially disposed inside the core unit 40, the coil unit comprising a first coil unit (e.g., 13, page 3, Fig. 2) and a second coil unit (e.g., 23, page 3),
wherein the first coil unit 13 comprises a first substrate (e.g., 10, page 3, Fig. 1-3), a first upper conductive pattern (e.g., 11) disposed on an upper surface of the first substrate 10, and a first lower conductive pattern (e.g., 12) disposed on a lower surface of the first substrate 10,
wherein the second coil unit 23 comprises a second substrate (e.g., 20), a second upper conductive pattern (e.g., 21, page 3, Fig. 2) disposed on an upper surface of the second substrate 20, and a second lower conductive pattern (e.g., 22) disposed on a lower surface of the second substrate 20,
wherein each of the first upper conductive pattern 11 and the first lower conductive pattern 12 has a first spiral planar pattern (see Fig. 1a, 1b),
wherein each of the second upper conductive pattern 21 and the second lower conductive pattern 22 has a second spiral planar pattern (see Fig. 1c, 1d), and
wherein the first upper conductive pattern 11 and the first lower conductive pattern 12 are conductively connected to each other through a plurality of first via holes (e.g., via hole disposed on surface of substrate 10 where coil 11 is connected, via hole disposed on the other surface of substrate 10 where coil 12 is connected, see Fig. 1) penetrating the first substrate 10 in a vertical direction (e.g., vertical through hole 14 connects the via holes of conductor pattern 11 and 12, Fig. 2) and disposed in an extension direction of each of the first upper conductive pattern 11 and the first lower conductive pattern 12.
Regarding claim 2, Tamura discloses wherein the coil unit comprises:
a turn portion in which each of the first upper conductive pattern 11, the first lower conductive pattern 12, the second upper conductive pattern 21, and the second lower conductive pattern 22 forms a plurality of turns (see page 4, Fig. 1-3); and
a pattern lead-out portion (e.g., end portion of coil turns connected to vias) in which one end of each of the first upper conductive pattern 11, the first lower conductive pattern 12, the second upper conductive pattern 21, and the second lower conductive pattern 22 is led out from the turn portion, the pattern lead-out portion being disposed on one side of the turn portion (see Fig. 1a-1d).
Regarding claim 3, Tamura discloses wherein opposite ends of the first upper conductive pattern, the first lower conductive pattern, the second upper conductive pattern, and the second lower conductive pattern are conductively connected to each other (e.g., end of the first upper conductive pattern 11 and end of the first lower conductive pattern 12 are connected to each other via through hole 14; end of the second upper conductive pattern 21 and end of the second lower conductive pattern 22 are connected to each other via through hole 24), the opposite ends being disposed at an innermost position in the turn portion (see Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Tamura discloses wherein the second upper conductive pattern 21 and the second lower conductive pattern 22 are conductively connected to each other through a plurality of second via holes (e.g., via hole disposed on surface of substrate 20 where coil 21 is connected, via hole disposed on the other surface of substrate 20 where coil 22 is connected, see Fig. 1c, 1d, 2) penetrating the first substrate 10 in a vertical direction (e.g., vertical through hole 24 connects the via holes of conductor pattern 21 and 22, see Fig. 2) penetrating the second substrate 20 in the vertical direction and disposed in an extension direction (e.g., diameter length direction of conductor pattern) of each of the second upper conductive pattern 21 and the second lower conductive pattern 22.
Regarding claim 5, Tamura discloses wherein the turn portion (e.g., turn portion of coils 11, 12, 21 and 22) comprises:
a central portion (e.g., turns of coils 11, 12, 21 and 22 closer to the center hole 15/25 of substrate, Fig. 1 and 2) wrapped by the core unit (e.g., core 41); and
outer portions (e.g., outer turns of coils 11, 12, 21 and 22) disposed on both sides of the central portion, and
wherein, among the plurality of first via holes and the plurality of second via holes (via holes discussed in claims 1 and 4), a number of via holes per unit length in the central portion (e.g., via holes on both surfaces of substrates 10 and 20 at the central portion) is greater than a number of via holes per unit length in the outer portions (e.g., number of via holes at the central portion of the coils 11, 12, 21 and 22 has more than the number of via holes at the outer portion of the coils where coil via hole terminals A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H are disposed, see Fig. 1a-1d).
Regarding claim 6, Tamura discloses wherein the plurality of second via holes (e.g., via hole disposed on surface of substrate 20 where coil 21 is connected, via hole disposed on the other surface of substrate 20 where coil 22 is connected, via holes correspond to through holes 24, see Fig. 1c, 1d, 2) is disposed in the turn portion (e.g., inner turn) in an extension direction of the second spiral pattern at an interval corresponding to 1/10 or less of a length of the second upper conductive pattern in a long-axis direction of the turn portion (e.g., The long axis of the spiral pattern is equivalent to the diameter direction of the circular second upper spiral coil pattern 21, see annotated Fig. 1c. Length in the diameter direction is equivalent of 10 times the width of the coil conductor, for 5 turn coil, plus the diameter of hole 25. Therefore, the via holes are disposed at interval corresponds to 1/10 or less of a length of the second upper conductive pattern in a long-axis direction).
Regarding claim 8, Tamura discloses wherein the plurality of first via holes and the plurality of second via holes (e.g., via holes discussed in claims 1 and 4) have radial planar shapes (e.g., circular in structure, therefore have radial component from center in its planar shape) in a manner of being aligned in a centrifugal direction from a center leg of the core unit (e.g., core 41 has center leg, Fig. 3, with circular cross section conforming with circular through hole of substrate 20 in Fig. 1. Therefore, centrifugal direction aligned with via holes radial planar shapes).
Regarding claim 10, Tamura discloses a circuit board (e.g., circuit board of magnetic component 50), comprising:
a substrate (e.g., the circuit board comprising stacked substrates 10, 20 bonded with insulating layer 30); and
a magnetic coupling device (e.g., transformer 50) disposed on the substrate (e.g., the circuit board comprising stacked substrates 10, 20 bonded with insulating layer 30), wherein the magnetic coupling device comprises:
a core unit (e.g., 40, page 4 of translation, Fig. 2-3) comprising an upper core (e.g., E-type core 41) and a lower core (e.g., I-type core 42); and
a coil unit (e.g., comprising coils 13, 23) partially disposed inside the core unit 40, the coil unit comprising a first coil unit (e.g., 13) and a second coil unit (e.g., 23),
wherein the first coil unit 13 comprises a first substrate (e.g., 10, page 3, Fig. 1-3), a first upper conductive pattern (e.g., 11, Fig. 2, 3) disposed on an upper surface of the first substrate 10, and a first lower conductive pattern (e.g., 12) disposed on a lower surface of the first substrate 10,
wherein the second coil unit 23 comprises a second substrate (e.g., 20, Fig. 2), a second upper conductive pattern (e.g., 21, page 4, Fig. 2) disposed on an upper surface of the second substrate 20, and a second lower conductive pattern (e.g., 22) disposed on a lower surface of the second substrate 20,
wherein each of the first upper conductive pattern 11 and the first lower conductive pattern 12 has a first spiral planar pattern (page 4 of translation, Fig. 1a, 1b),
wherein each of the second upper conductive pattern 21 and the second lower conductive pattern 22 has a second spiral planar pattern (Fig. 1c, 1d), and
wherein the first upper conductive pattern 11 and the first lower conductive pattern 12 are conductively connected to each other through a plurality of first via holes (e.g., via hole disposed on surface of substrate 10 where coil 11 is connected, via hole disposed on the other surface of substrate 10 where coil 12 is connected, see Fig. 1) penetrating the first substrate 10 in a vertical direction (e.g., vertical through hole 14 connects the via holes of conductor pattern 11 and 12, Fig. 2) and disposed in an extension direction of each of the first upper conductive pattern 11 and the first lower conductive pattern 12.
Regarding claim 11, Tamura discloses wherein when viewed in a plan view, the first coil unit 13 and the second coil unit 23 are aligned with each other around first through-hole (e.g., through hole 15, page 4, Fig. 2) and second through-hole (e.g., 25, Fig. 2) which center legs of the core unit pass through (e.g., coil 40 may comprise two E-type cores, page 6 of translation, and therefore have core center legs passing through).
Regarding claim 12, Tamura discloses wherein the first upper conductive pattern 11 and the first lower conductive pattern 12 have the same planar shape as each other (see Fig. 1a, 1b).
Regarding claim 13, Tamura discloses wherein a direction in which the first spiral planar pattern of the first upper conductive pattern circles (e.g., spiral pattern of coil 11, in counterclockwise direction, Fig. 1a) is the same as a direction in which the first spiral planar pattern of the first lower conductive pattern circles (e.g., spiral pattern of coil 12, in counterclockwise direction, Fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 14, Tamura discloses wherein one end of the first upper conductive pattern is disposed on an edge portion of the first substrate (e.g., end of coil 11, see Fig. 1a, disposed at terminal A located at edge of substrate 10), and other end of the first upper conductive pattern is disposed at an innermost position in the first spiral planar pattern (e.g., other end of coil 11, see Fig. 1a, disposed at innermost position of the coil, which is at via hole 14).
Regarding claim 15, Tamura discloses wherein the second upper conductive pattern 21 and the second lower conductive pattern 22 have the same planar shape as each other (see Fig. 1c, 1d).
Regarding claim 16, Tamura discloses wherein a direction in which the second spiral planar pattern of the second upper conductive pattern circles (e.g., spiral pattern of coil 21, in counterclockwise direction, Fig. 1c) is the same as a direction in which the second spiral planar pattern of the second lower conductive pattern circles (e.g., spiral pattern of coil 22, in counterclockwise direction, Fig. 1d).
Regarding claim 17, Tamura discloses wherein one end of the second upper conductive pattern is disposed on an edge portion of the second substrate (e.g., end of coil 21, see Fig. 1c, disposed at terminal E located at edge of substrate 20), and other end of the second upper conductive pattern is disposed at an innermost position in the second spiral planar pattern (e.g., other end of coil 21, see Fig. 1c, disposed at innermost position of the coil, which is at via hole 24).
Regarding claim 18, Tamura discloses wherein ends of the second upper conductive pattern 21 and the second lower conductive pattern 22 are input terminals of current (the ends can be realized as output terminals as well, see page 4) and ends of the first upper conductive pattern 11 and the first lower conductive pattern 12 are output terminals of current (the ends can be realized as input terminals as well, see page 4 second to last Paragraph).
Regarding claim 19, Tamura discloses wherein the plurality of first via holes (e.g., via holes e.g., 24 on front surface of substrate 20, Fig. 1c) or the plurality of second via holes (e.g., via holes e.g., 24 on back surface of substrate 20, Fig. 1d) includes via holes having at least one type of a single via hole or a via hole group.
Regarding claim 20, Tamura discloses wherein the second coil unit 23 comprises:
a center portion (e.g., area where core-through hole 25 is located, Fig. 1c, 1d);
both side po(r)tions in which the extension direction is changed (e.g., side portions of the coil 23 relative to vertical diameter extension in upright position applied to Fig. 1c, 1d); and
a first portion (e.g., area where via through holes 24 are located) disposed between the center portion and the both side portions,
wherein the via hole groups (e.g., via holes 24) are disposed in the center portion, the both side portions, and the first portion, and
wherein at least one single via hole (e.g., via hole 14 of the first via holes) is disposed between two adjacent ones of the via hole groups (e.g., via holes 24, in vertical alignment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura [JP 2008166625 A] provided in the IDS.
Regarding claim 7, Tamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the plurality of second via holes is disposed in the turn portion in an extension direction of the second spiral pattern at an interval corresponding to 1/20 or less of a length of the second upper conductive pattern in a long axis direction of the turn portion.
However, Tamura discloses the via holes are disposed at interval corresponds to 1/10 or less of a length of the second upper conductive pattern in a long-axis direction, in claim 6.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the plurality of second via holes disposed in the turn portion in an extension direction of the second spiral pattern at an interval corresponding to 1/20 or less of a length of the second upper conductive pattern in a long axis direction of the turn portion, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Please note that in the instant application, Paragraph 75, Specification, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of second via holes disposed in the turn portion in an extension direction of the second spiral pattern at an interval corresponding to 1/20 or less of a length of the second upper conductive pattern in a long axis direction of the turn portion depending on the available space on the substrate of the compact magnetic coupling structure.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura [JP 2008166625 A] in view of Ferencz et al. [U.S. Patent No. 6914508].
Regarding claim 9, Tamura discloses wherein the first spiral planar pattern (e.g., spiral coil pattern 13, Fig. 1) extends in a manner of circling in a first circling direction (e.g., counterclockwise, outer turn into inner turn) when viewed in a plan view.
Tamura discloses the instant claimed invention discussed above except for wherein the second spiral planar pattern extends in a manner of circling in a second circling direction when viewed in a plan view, the second circling direction being different from the first circling direction.
Ferencz discloses second spiral planar pattern (e.g., spiral coil pattern 450-460, column 5, lines 21-35, Fig. 4) extends in a manner of circling in a second circling direction (e.g., clockwise, starting at end 452 to end 462) when viewed in a plan view, the second circling direction being different from the first circling direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second spiral planar pattern extends in a manner of circling in a second circling direction being different from the first circling direction as taught by Ferencz to the second spiral pattern of Tamura to provide the device with the desired current flow induced from the magnetic field this provides flexibility in the device intended use which helps reduce production cost.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892.
/J.S.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837