Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 4/13/2026.
Cancellation of claim 21, filed 4/13/2026, is acknowledged and accepted.
Amendments to claims 1 and 18, filed 4/13/2026, are acknowledged and accepted.
Cancellation of claim 2, filed 7/31/2025, remains in effect.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant makes several arguments regarding the first inclined angle range of 60° to 90° – as recently amended into claims 1 and 18 from the previously claim 21 (now cancelled). These arguments are not persuasive for reasons given as follows.
Examiner first finds Applicant’s initial statement, that
“Ruzicka describes shape memory alloy actuators. However, Ruzicka does not describe an inclined angle […] See Ruzicka, paragraph [0184].” – Remarks pg. 11,
is not particularly relevant to matters of prosecution. ¶ 43 of the previous Non-Final Rejection, filed 2/19/2026, plainly refers to Ruzicka’s FIG. 50 to address the relevant limitations. And as seen below, Applicant does acknowledge FIG. 50 later in their Remarks – however, this adds no relevance to the above digression.
Following this, Applicant continues with their Remarks, but does not appear to proceed in a particularly coherent manner – apparently mischaracterizing the actual facts of record, only then to produce rather improper strawmen arguments. In particular, Applicant argues that
“Applicant further notes that even the inferred angle from FIG. 50 of Ruzicka is not within the claimed range of between 60° to 90°. At best, the Office infers a single point of overlap between the claimed range of incline angle and the angles inferred from Ruzicka […] Even assuming arguendo that the overlap point of 90° […]” – Remarks pg. 11.
However, such arguments indicate Applicant's neglect of Examiner’s interpretation of Ruzicka, with a first inclined angle that is “close to, but does not explicitly overlap with, the claimed range” – see ¶ 44 of the previous Non-Final Rejection. Examiner never identified any “overlap point”, despite Applicant’s apparently misdirected arguments otherwise.
Examiner notes, in fact, that in the paragraph just prior to the excerpt quoted above, Applicant does acknowledge some of the actual grounds of rejection (underlined):
“the Office correctly concedes, in the context of claim 21, that there is no explicit overlap between the claimed range of the first inclined angle and the inclined angle range that may be inferred” – Remarks pg. 11.
Examiner thus remains unclear as to why Applicant went on to contradict this point later, only to raise other issues that misrepresent the relevant details of the previous office action and hinder prosecution efforts. Nonetheless, due to the lack of relevant substance in all such arguments, Examiner shall note them therefore to be unpersuasive.
Examiner lastly acknowledges Applicant taking issue with Examiner finding no criticality associated with the claimed range of first inclined angles. Applicant argues
‘the Office's characterization of the claimed angle as a "mere geometric detail" or a function of available space is not supported by the art. The first inclined angle is not an arbitrary or incidental feature, but rather directly affects the mechanical behavior of the
shape memory alloy (SMA) wire, including the direction and magnitude of force transmission during actuation.’ – Remarks pg. 11
However, Examiner finds nothing here to be particularly convincing – reiterating that while even mere geometric details may of course affect mechanical behavior (note: Examiner never argued otherwise), those associated with the inclined angle do not appear to substantially impact the behavior in any unexpected or critical manner (as already noted in the Non-Final Rejection ¶ 45). Moreover, Applicant has yet to make any appropriate argument to the contrary.
Applicant is thus advised that relevant principles of geometry and its role in force application/transmission, generation of torque, etc., are all rather primitive physical concepts that humans develop an early intuition for – simply by interacting with the world around them. If this is not to Applicant’s satisfaction, consider also that one can even expect some formal instruction on these matters at a secondary-level of schooling. Examiner thus finds such trivial concepts remain entirely within the grasp of an ordinary practitioner (hence Examiner’s previous rationale given in ¶ 45 of the Non-Final Rejection – “to provide […] torque”).
Examiner also finds Applicant’s protest that the “characterization of the claimed angle […] is not supported by the art” to be of little meaningful concern – given that such matters would appear to land squarely within the realm of common sense, knowledge, and experience.
It is therefore maintained that it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to simply/slightly reorient the SMA wire placement/fixture – i.e. such that the first inclined angle that was ~90° falls below 90°, and hence within the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 11-13 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al (US 20160353029 A1, hereinafter “Hwang”) in view of Liu et al (CN 112399054 A, hereinafter “Liu”), Chen et al (CN 112702503 A, hereinafter “Chen”), and Ruzicka and Sakamoto (US 20210190046 A1, hereinafter “Ruzicka”).
Regarding claims 1, 18, and 20, Hwang discloses (see FIGs. 1-4, ¶s 54-71) a driving apparatus (moving frame 200) for driving a lens (lens group 11) of a camera assembly (“camera module”) to move, the driving apparatus (moving frame 200) comprising:
a bearing member (second sub-moving frame 240, included in moving frame 200); and
a driving structure (moving frame 200), wherein the lens (lens group 11) is fixed (via lens barrel 10 and mounting portion I in FIG. 2) to the bearing member (second sub-moving frame 240), wherein the driving structure (moving frame 200) comprises:
a guide member (first sub-moving frame 230);
a fixing member (first moving frame 210); and
at least two groups of driving assemblies (second driving coil 120 with second magnet 231; third driving coils 130(a,b) with third magnets 241(a,b));
wherein the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) and the fixing member (first moving frame 210) are sequentially arranged (see FIG. 2) on a light outlet side of the lens (lens group 11) in a direction of an optical axis of the lens (lens group 11);
Hwang does not disclose
wherein a first driving assembly among the at least two groups of driving assemblies is connected between the fixing member and the guide member, the first driving assembly is configured to drive the guide member to move in a first direction, the first driving assembly comprising a first elastic rod and a first shape memory alloy wire, one end of the first elastic rod is connected to the fixing member and the other end of the first elastic rod is connected to the guide member, and the first shape memory alloy wire is connected between the fixing member and the first elastic rod, wherein the first shape memory alloy wire drives the other end of the first elastic rod to bend and deform through expansion and contraction of the first shape memory alloy wire, and the first elastic rod deforms and drives the guide member to move;
wherein the first shape memory alloy wire contracts in a first contraction direction that forms a first inclined angle with the first direction to amplify displacement of the guide member in the first direction, wherein the first inclined angle is greater than 0°;
wherein a second driving assembly among the at least two groups of driving assemblies is connected between the guide member and the bearing member, the second driving assembly is configured to drive the bearing member to move in a second direction, the second driving assembly comprising a second elastic rod and a second shape memory alloy wire, one end of the second elastic rod is connected to the guide member and the other end of the second elastic rod is connected to the bearing member, and the second shape memory alloy wire is connected between the guide member and the second elastic rod, wherein the second shape memory alloy wire drives the other end of the second elastic rod to bend and deform through expansion and contraction of the second shape memory alloy wire, and the second elastic rod deforms and drives the bearing member to move;
wherein the second shape memory alloy wire contracts in a second contraction direction that forms a second inclined angle with the second direction to amplify displacement of the bearing member in the second direction, wherein the second inclined angle is greater than 0°; and
wherein the first inclined angle formed between the first contraction direction and the first direction is between 60° and 90°.
Hwang and Liu commonly relate to optical image stabilization for camera modules.
Liu discloses (see FIG. 3, ¶s 63-71):
wherein a first driving assembly (“X-axis actuating assembly”) among the at least two groups of driving assemblies is connected between the fixing member (substrate (or base plate) 1) and the guide member (X-axis flip (or turnover) plate 2), the first driving assembly (“X-axis actuating assembly”) is configured to drive the guide member (X-axis flip plate 2) to move in a first direction
wherein a second driving assembly (“Y-axis actuating assembly”) among the at least two groups of driving assemblies is connected between the guide member (X-axis flip plate 2) and the bearing member (Y-axis flip (or turnover) plate 31), the second driving assembly (“Y-axis actuating assembly”) is configured to drive the bearing member (Y-axis flip plate 3) to move in a second direction
Hwang and Chen commonly relate to optical image stabilization for camera modules.
Chen discloses (see FIGs. 1-2, ¶s 31-36):
the first driving assembly (SMA actuating assembly 100) comprising a first elastic rod (elastic arm 132) and a first shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120), one end of the first elastic rod (elastic arm 132) is connected (via fixing plate 131) to the fixing member (frame 200) and the other end of the first elastic rod (elastic arm 132) is connected (via connecting plate 133 and driving block 134) to the guide member (“driven part”), and the first shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) is connected between the fixing member (frame 200) and the first elastic rod (elastic arm 132), wherein the first shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) drives the other end of the first elastic rod (elastic arm 132) to bend and deform through expansion and contraction of the first shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) (note that while Chen only explicitly mentions contraction, shape memory alloys are self-restoring materials, and SMA wire 120 must naturally expand to restore its original state), and the first elastic rod (elastic arm 132) deforms and drives the guide member (“driven part”) to move;
wherein the first shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) contracts in a first contraction direction that forms a first inclined angle with the first direction to amplify displacement of the guide member (“driven part”) in the first direction;
the second driving assembly (SMA actuating assembly 100) comprising a second elastic rod (elastic arm 132) and a second shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120), one end of the second elastic rod (elastic arm 132) is connected (via fixing plate 131) to the guide member (frame 200) and the other end of the second elastic rod (elastic arm 132) is connected (via connecting plate 133 and driving block 134) to the bearing member (“driven part”), and the second shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) is connected between the guide member (frame 200) and the second elastic rod (elastic arm 132), wherein the second shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) drives the other end of the second elastic rod (elastic arm 132) to bend and deform through expansion and contraction of the second shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120), and the second elastic rod (elastic arm 132) deforms and drives the bearing member (“driven part”) to move; and
wherein the second shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) contracts in a second contraction direction that forms a second inclined angle with the second direction to amplify displacement of the bearing member (“driven part”) in the second direction.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1 of Chen is annotated to illustrate the first/second contraction direction and its parallel alignment with the first/second direction. )](Regarding items B and D above, see the annotated FIG. 50 below illustrating parallel alignment between the first/second direction and first/second contraction direction. Such parallelism suggests first/second inclined angles equal to 0°.)
Hwang and Ruzicka commonly relate to optical image stabilization for camera modules.
Ruzicka discloses
wherein the first inclined angle is greater than 0°;
wherein the second inclined angle is greater than 0°; and
wherein the first inclined angle formed between the first contraction direction and the first direction is 90°.
(See FIG. 50, annotated below, and ¶ 184. Ruzicka discloses an SMA bimorphic actuator for which the annotated FIG. 50 shows an inclined angle that would be roughly equal to 90° when the SMA material is relaxed and exceeds 90° upon contraction.)
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 50 of Ruzicka is annotated to highlight the geometry of an SMA bimorphic actuator.)]
The combination of references thus discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including a first inclined angle range that is close to, but does not explicitly overlap with, the claimed range where the first inclined angle is between 60 and 90 degrees. Examiner finds, however, no evidence of criticality for this range. Instead, the first inclined angle is a mere result of how the first shape memory alloy wire is oriented in the camera assembly – i.e. minor/uncritical geometric details associated with SMA wire ends’ fixture to the guide member and fixing member, which is further a mere function of the dimensions of related components and the space available to fit/arrange the SMA wire.
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hwang (having magnetic voice coil motors) with Chen’s SMA actuating assembly, in order to make the camera module and associated electronic equipment thinner (Chen ¶ 6).
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Hwang with design aspects and arrangements of Liu’s actuating assemblies, as this would enable simpler circuit connections with improved stability/reliability (Liu ¶ 6).
It would have then been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to also modify Hwang with design aspects of Ruzicka’s SMA bimorphic actuator, in order to achieve actuation (“stroke”) with high actuation height and compact footprint (¶ 134).
It would have finally been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to then modify Ruzicka-incorporated Hwang by adjusting the geometry associated with SMA wire placement/fixture (such that the first inclined angle falls within the claimed range), in order to accommodate other components (e.g. for stabilizing the fixture, electrical connection, etc.) or simply to provide more drive-aligned torque with SMA wire contraction – since it has been held that, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Further regarding claims 18 and 20, Hwang discloses (see FIGs. 1-2) a camera assembly (“camera module”), comprising:
a housing (fixed frame 100 with base 20 and cover 30);
wherein a surface (cover 30) of a side of the housing (fixed frame 100 with base 20 and cover 30) is provided with a mounting hole, the lens (lens group 11) is partially accommodated in the housing (fixed frame 100 with base 20 and cover 30) through the mounting hole (i.e. of cover 30), and the driving apparatus (moving frame 200) is located in the housing (fixed frame 100 with base 20 and cover 30).
Further regarding claim 20, Hwang discloses (see ¶s 4-5) an electronic device (“digital camera”) comprising: at least one camera assembly (“(digital) camera module”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1.
Hwang further discloses (see FIGs. 2-4) wherein the first driving assembly (second driving coil 120 with second magnet 231) and the second driving assembly (third driving coils 130(a,b) with third magnets 241(a,b)) are located on different sides of the fixing member (first moving frame 210) respectively, and an extension direction (i.e. the “x-axis direction” parallel to second magnet 231) of the first driving assembly (second driving coil 120 with second magnet 231) and an extension direction (i.e. the “y-axis direction” parallel to third magnets 241(a,b)) of the second driving assembly (third driving coils 130(a,b) with third magnets 241(a,b)) are staggered (i.e. about the optical axis).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 3.
Hwang further discloses (see FIGs. 2-4) wherein the first driving assembly (second driving coil 120 with second magnet 231) and the second driving assembly (third driving coils 130(a,b) with third magnets 241(a,b)) are located on two adjacent sides of the fixing member (first moving frame 210), respectively.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1.
Chen further discloses (see FIGs. 1-2, annotated below) wherein the first elastic rod (elastic arm 132) in the first driving assembly (SMA actuating assembly 100) extends along a side wall of the fixing member (frame 200).
[AltContent: textbox (FIGs. 1 and 2 of Chen are annotated to highlight various features)]
Regarding claim 7, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 5.
Chen further discloses (see FIG. 1, ¶ 36) wherein a connecting portion (connecting plate 133) is arranged between the two ends of the first elastic rod (elastic arm 132), and the first shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) is connected to the connecting portion (connecting plate 133).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1.
Chen further discloses wherein an included angle between the first shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) and a deformed end of the first elastic rod (elastic arm 132) is greater than 90° (see annotated FIGs. 1+2 above and ¶s 31-36 – while the annotated FIGs. 1+2 show an included angle equal to 90° in a relaxed state, contraction of SMA wire 120 would increase the included angle beyond 90°).
Regarding claim 12, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1.
Hwang further discloses (see FIG. 3, ¶s 69-71) wherein the first direction (“x-axis direction”) and the second direction (“y-axis direction”) are perpendicular to each other.
Regarding claim 13, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1.
Hwang also discloses the driving apparatus further comprising (see FIGs. 2-3, ¶s 70-71):
a first guiding structure (guide groove 214 with ball bearings B2); and
a second guiding structure (guide groove 233 with ball bearings B3);
wherein the first guiding structure (guide groove 214 with ball bearings B2) comprises a first guide groove (guide groove 214), the first guide groove (guide groove 214) is provided in a surface of the fixing member (first moving frame 210) and the surface of the fixing member (first moving frame 210) faces the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230), or the first guide groove (guide groove 214) is provided in a surface of the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) and the surface of the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) faces the fixing member (first moving frame 210);
wherein the first guide groove (guide groove 214) extends in the first direction (“x-axis direction”), and the fixing member (first moving frame 210) and the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) move relative to each other in an extension direction (“x-axis direction”) of the first guide groove (guide groove 214);
wherein the second guiding structure (guide groove 233 with ball bearings B3) comprises a second guide groove (guide groove 233), the second guide groove (guide groove 233) is provided in a surface of the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) and the surface of the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) faces the bearing member (second sub-moving frame 240), or the second guide groove (guide groove 233) is provided in a surface of the bearing member (second sub-moving frame 240) and the surface of the bearing member (second sub-moving frame 240) faces the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230); and
wherein the second guide groove (guide groove 233) extends in the second direction (“y-axis direction”), and the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) and the bearing member (second sub-moving frame 240) move relative to each other in an extension direction (“y-axis direction”) of the second guide groove (guide groove 233).
Regarding claim 17, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 1.
Hwang also discloses the driving apparatus further comprising (see FIGs. 2-4, ¶s 70-71):
a first displacement detection assembly; and
a second displacement detection assembly;
wherein the first displacement detection assembly comprises a first Hall sensor (second sensor 150) and a first magnetic block (second magnet 231), wherein one of the fixing member (first moving frame 210) and the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) is provided with the first Hall sensor (second sensor 150), the other is provided with the first magnetic block (second magnet 231), and the first Hall sensor (second sensor 150) and the first magnetic block (second magnet 231) are arranged opposite to each other; and
wherein the second displacement detection assembly comprises a second Hall sensor (third sensors 161,162) and a second magnetic block (third magnets 241(a,b)), wherein one of the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) and the bearing member (second sub-moving frame 240) is provided with the second Hall sensor (third sensors 161 and 162), the other is provided with the second magnetic block (third magnets 241(a,b)), and the second Hall sensor (third sensors 161,162) and the second magnetic block (third magnets 241(a,b)) are arranged opposite to each other.
Regarding claim 19, modified Hwang discloses the camera assembly according to claim 18.
Hwang also discloses the camera module further comprising (see FIGs. 2-4): a focusing assembly (first driving coil 110 with first magnet 211), wherein the focusing assembly comprises a focusing coil (first driving coil 110) and at least one magnetic member (first magnet 211), the focusing coil (first driving coil 110) is sleeved on an outer wall (first side wall 101) of the lens (lens group 11), the at least one magnetic member is fixed in the housing, and the at least one magnetic member is arranged opposite to the focusing coil.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Chen and Liu, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Que et al (WO 2020029821 A1, hereinafter “Que”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 5.
Modified Hwang does not disclose wherein two ends of the first elastic rod extend to two ends of the side wall of the fixing member, respectively.
Hwang and Que commonly relate to optical image stabilization for camera modules.
Que discloses (see FIG. 32, annotated below, and ¶s 437-441) wherein two ends of the first elastic rod (cantilever 81) extend to two ends of the side wall of the fixing member (movable component 83), respectively.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 32 of Que is annotated to highlight various features)]
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Hwang by extending the elastic rods, as taught by Que, in order to provide space for wiring and remove the need to set up additional lines elsewhere (Que ¶ 441).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Chen and Liu, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Chen et al (WO 2021208724 A1, hereinafter “Chen2”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 7.
Chen further discloses (see FIG. 1) wherein a section of the first shape memory alloy wire (SMA wire 120) is connected to the connecting portion (connecting plate 133).
Modified Hwang does not disclose wherein a middle section of the first shape memory alloy wire is connected to the connecting portion, and two ends of the first shape memory alloy wire are located on a same side of the connecting portion.
Hwang and Chen2 commonly relate to optical image stabilization for camera modules.
Chen2 discloses (see FIG. 6, ¶s 76-78) wherein a middle section (“folded portion”) of the first shape memory alloy wire (SMA push rod 52) is connected to the connecting portion (push rod block 53), and two ends of the first shape memory alloy wire (SMA push rod 52) are located on a same side of the connecting portion (push rod block 53 – to the left of which, in FIG. 6, lies support shaft 70, where both ends of the folded SMA push rod 52 would be located, per ¶ 78).
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Hwang with design aspects of Chen2’s anti-shake structure including the folded SMA rod, which has strong designability and is conducive to mass production (Chen2 ¶ 44).
Regarding claim 9, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 8.
Liu further discloses (see FIG. 3, ¶s 69-71) wherein each of the fixing member (substrate 1) and the guide member (X-axis flip plate 2) is provided with a first conductive portion (control block 561) and a second conductive portion (control block 561), and the two ends of the first shape memory alloy wire (“SMA wire”) are fixed to the first conductive portion (control block 561) and the second conductive portion (control block 561), respectively.
Regarding claim 10, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 9.
Liu further discloses (see FIG. 3, ¶s 69-71) wherein the first conductive portion (control block 561) and the second conductive portion (control block 561) are spaced apart along the side wall of the fixing member (substrate 1).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Chen and Liu, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Shikama et al (CN 103186010 A, hereinafter “Shikama”).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 13.
Modified Hwang does not disclose:
wherein the first guiding structure further comprises a first guide post, and part of the first guide post is located in the first guide groove and moves along the first guide groove; and
wherein the second guiding structure further comprises a second guide post, and part of the second guide post is located in the second guide groove and moves along the second guide groove.
Hwang and Shikama commonly relate to optical image stabilization for camera modules.
Shikama discloses (see FIG. 2, ¶s 43-48):
wherein the first guiding structure (limiting/restriction mechanism 15) further comprises a first guide post (pin 7), and part of the first guide post (pin 7) is located in the first guide groove (groove 10b) and moves along the first guide groove (groove 10b); and
wherein the second guiding structure (limiting/restriction mechanism 15) further comprises a second guide post (pin 7), and part of the second guide post (pin 7) is located in the second guide groove (groove 10b) and moves along the second guide groove (groove 10b).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Hwang with Shikama’s limiting/restriction mechanism, in order to prevent undesirable rotations and enable high-precision image shake correction (Shikama ¶ 10).
Regarding claim 15, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 14.
Hwang further discloses (see FIGs. 2-3, ¶s 70-71):
wherein the first guiding structure (guide groove 214 with ball bearings B2) further comprises a first limiting groove (guide groove 214), the first limiting groove (guide groove 214) is formed in the surface of the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230) or in the surface of the fixing member (first moving frame 210), the first limiting groove (guide groove 214) extends in the first direction (“x-axis direction”) and is opposite to the first guide groove (guide groove 214) (note per ¶70: guide groove 214 “may be formed in at least one of the first sub-moving frame 230 and the first moving frame 210”; if the grooves are formed in both frames and are both guiding ball bearing B2 as disclosed, then the grooves must oppose one another); and
wherein the second guiding structure (guide groove 233 with ball bearings B3) further comprises a second limiting groove (guide groove 233), the second limiting groove (guide groove 233) is formed in the surface of the bearing member (second sub-moving frame 240) or in the surface of the guide member (first sub-moving frame 230), the second limiting groove (guide groove 233) extends in the second direction (“y-axis direction”) and is opposite to the second guide groove (guide groove 233) (note per ¶ 71: guide grove 233 “may be formed in at least one of the second sub-moving frame 240 and the first sub-moving frame 230”; if the grooves are formed in both frames and are both guiding ball bearing B3 as disclosed, then the grooves must oppose one another).
Shikama further discloses (see FIG. 2, ¶s 43-48):
the first guide post (pin 7) is slidably arranged in the first limiting groove (hole 2g); and
the second guide post (pin 7) is slidably arranged in the second limiting groove (hole 2g).
Regarding claim 16, modified Hwang discloses the driving apparatus according to claim 14.
Shikama further discloses (see FIG. 2, ¶s 43-48):
wherein the first guide post (pin 7) is fixed to a first part (hole 2g), the first part (hole 2g) is opposite to the first guide groove (groove 10b) and the first part (hole 2g) is on the guide member (movable member 10) or the fixing member (base 2) (see also ¶ 78); and
wherein the second guide post (pin 7) is fixed to a second part (hole 2g), the second part (hole 2g) is opposite to the second guide groove (groove 10b) and the second part (hole 2g) is on the bearing member (movable member 10) or the guide member (base 2) (see also ¶ 78).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872