DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks dated 08/27/2025) with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered, but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
2) Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
3) Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
4) Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
5. Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Grupp (US 5608567 A, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Grupp discloses a sun protection device (Fig. 1) comprising:
at least one optical sun protection filter (column 1 lines 10-13) which has at least one liquid crystal cell (Fig. 2, 12; column 3 lines 20-26) and at least one photochromatic protection element whose transmittance changes depending on the solar irradiation (column 2 lines 4-52, photochromic substance),
a sensor unit (Fig. 2, 22), which is configured at least for detecting solar irradiation (column 3 lines 39-47), and
a control and/or regulating unit (Fig. 2, 18), which is configured at least for controlling and/or regulating a transmittance of the liquid crystal cell depending on the detected solar irradiation (Abstract), wherein the sun protection device further comprises a sensor cover (Fig. 2, 6), covering a sensor surface of the sensor unit (Fig. 2, 6 covers 22) and having a transmittance which corresponds to the transmittance of the photochromatic protection element (Abstract, the transmittance of 6 corresponds to the transmittance of the photochromic substance).
Grupp fails to disclose wherein the liquid crystal cell is not covering the sensor surface.
However, it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The rearrangement in this case does not modify the operation of the device because Grupp discloses that the sensor may either be arranged in front of or behind all of the optical layers (column 3 lines 53-62). Thus, Grupp’s sensor 22 is capable of accounting for different intensities/wavelengths of light, depending on its placement within the device. In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to place 22 between 6 and 12 (Fig. 2), motivated by achieving a more compact design.
Regarding claim 2, Grupp discloses wherein the optical sun protection filter has a total transmittance which is formed at least by a transmittance of the liquid crystal cell and the transmittance of the photochromatic protection element (claim 5).
Regarding claim 3, Grupp discloses the sun protection device comprising a protective layer which is arranged as the outermost layer on the optical sun protection filter (Fig. 2, 6), the photochromatic protection element being applied on the protective layer or being embedded in the protective layer (column 2 lines 50-52).
Regarding claim 6, Grupp discloses the sun protection device wherein the sensor unit is at least partially arranged between the photochromatic protection element and the liquid crystal cell (Figs 1-2; case law rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Grupp discloses the sun protection device comprising a spectacle frame configured for receiving the optical sun protection filter (Fig. 1, frame 2).
Regarding claim 8, Grupp discloses a method of operating the sun protection device (column 2 lines 64-67, “equipping the glasses”).
Regarding claim 9, Grupp discloses wherein the transmittance of the liquid crystal cell is adjusted in at least one method step at least in dependence on the transmittance of the photochromatic protection element (Fig. 2, control circuit 18 & sensor 22).
6. Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Grupp in view of Cano et al. (US 20180210233 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 4, Grupp fails to disclose wherein the optical sun protection filter has at least one polarisation layer, wherein the photochromatic protection element is applied on the polarisation layer or is embedded in the polarisation layer.
However, Cano teaches a similar pair of photochromic sunglasses ([0074]), and discloses wherein an optical sun protection filter ([0042] and [0061]) has at least one polarisation layer ([0074]), wherein the photochromatic protection element is applied on the polarisation layer or is embedded in the polarisation layer ([0074])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Grupp and Cano such that the optical sun protection filter had at least one polarisation layer, motivated by mitigating glare.
Regarding claim 10, Grupp fails to disclose a method for manufacturing a sun protection device.
However, Cano teaches a similar pair of photochromic sunglasses ([0074]), and discloses a method for manufacturing a sun protection device ([0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Grupp and Cano such that a method of manufacturing was used to manufacture the sun protection device, motivated by allowed for manipulation of parameters of the cell ([0085]).
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D. J. J./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872