DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group B, Claims 24-27, in the reply filed on January 7th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US20050260491) in view of Lorenz (DE102020111765, see US National Stage Entry, US20230120705, for citations).
Regarding Claim 24, Cho discloses a stack (Fig. 4, [0047]) comprising:
At least two pouch cells (pouch cells, [006], first and second terminal lugs acts as positive and negative contact lugs, [009]), wherein the pouch cells are each equipped with a positive contact lug and a negative contact lug (first and second terminal lugs acts as positive and negative contact lugs, [009]), electrical contact and a charging and discharging achievable for the pouch via the positive and negative contact lugs (battery is rechargeable, [0015], terminals are coupled with electric connection to each other, [0051]), the pouch cells being of planar design defining a cell top side and a cell bottom side situated opposite the cell top side (Fig. 1 shows shape of pouch cell which has planar structure, with top side and bottom cell side, [0023]);
Complementary contact lugs of the at least two pouch cells respectively overlapping (Fig. 4 shows contact lugs of adjacent pouch cells overlap with each other, [0047]).
Cho does not directly disclose wherein the first of the at least pouch cells having a positive contact lug having a conductive coating on the cell top side and an insulating coating on the cell bottom side and the negative contact lug having an insulating coating on the cell top side and a conductive coating on the cell bottom side, or vice versa, the positive contact lug having an insulating coating on the cell top side and a conductive coating on the cell bottom side and the negative contact lug having a conductive coating on the cell top side and an insulating coating on the cell bottom side.
Lorenz discloses wherein the positive contact lug having a conductive coating on the cell top side and an insulating coating on the cell bottom side and the negative contact lug having an insulating coating on the cell top side and a conductive coating on the cell bottom side, or vice versa, the positive contact lug having an insulating coating on the cell top side and a conductive coating on the cell bottom side and the negative contact lug having a conductive coating on the cell top side and an insulating coating on the cell bottom side (conductive coating material on connection lug, [0040], insulating layer coating on connection lug, [0019]). Lorenz teaches that this structure provides improved electrical contact with the connection lugs and connecting element ([0115]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho with the teachings of Lorenz to have wherein the positive contact lug having a conductive coating on the cell top side and an insulating coating on the cell bottom side and the negative contact lug having an insulating coating on the cell top side and a conductive coating on the cell bottom side, or vice versa, the positive contact lug having an insulating coating on the cell top side and a conductive coating on the cell bottom side and the negative contact lug having a conductive coating on the cell top side and an insulating coating on the cell bottom side. This modification would yield the expected result of improved electrical contact with connection lugs and connecting elements.
Regarding Claim 25, Cho in view of Lorenz discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Cho does not directly disclose wherein the second of the at least two pouch cells does not have the insulating and the conductive coatings of the first of the at least two pouch cells.
Lorenz further discloses wherein the outer portion may be insulated and/or coated and provided with terminals for contacting with other circuit elements ([0016]). Conductors can be partially coated ([0018]). Lorenz further discloses wherein the connection lugs may at least partially have an insulation layer on the outer portion and partially on the inner portion and may be at least partially stripped of insulation on the inner portion ([0019]).
The examiner notes that since Lorenz teaches that the insulation and conductive coating can be adjusted, that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that one pouch could have the insulating and conductive coating and an adjacent pouch does not.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho with the teachings of Lorenz to have wherein the second of the at least two pouch cells does not have the insulating and the conductive coatings of the first of the at least two pouch cells. This modification would yield the expected result of improved electrical contact with connection lugs and connecting elements.
Regarding Claim 26, Cho in view of Lorenz discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Cho discloses wherein the plurality of first and second pouch cells are provided and are stacked alternately (Fig. 4 shows the pouch cells are stacked alternatively).
Regarding Claim 27, Cho in view of Lorenz discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Cho discloses wherein the pouch cells are electrically contact-connected to one another via respective contact lugs (connect member-20 connects contact lugs together from adjacent pouch cells, Fig. 4, [0049]).
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728