DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
4. In response to the amendment received on 7/6/2026:
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-14 are pending in the current application. Claims 1 and 10 have been amended and Claims 2 and 11 are cancelled.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been maintained and are modified below to reflect the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
5. All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR2017-0066896 (hereinafter “Kim ‘896”) in view of Schaefer US PG Publication 2014/0087231.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim ‘896 discloses a battery module 400 comprising a battery cell stack comprising a plurality of battery cells 201 and a plurality of electrode leads 213/214 protruding from the battery cell stack, a first sensing block (voltage sensing block) 101 and a second sensing block (voltage sensing block) 102 that cover a front surface and a rear surface of the battery cell stack with protruding electrode leads 213/214, respectively, wherein at least two of the plurality of electrode leads are bent and jointed after passing through a slit (lead penetration hole) 171/172 in the first or second sensing block to form an electrode lead assembly (see entire disclosure and especially Figs and paras 0058-0059, 0068-0077, 0098, 0102-0111).
Kim ‘896 fails to specifically disclose wherein an elastic member covers two side surfaces of each of the first and second sensing blocks and the battery cell stacks and the electrode lead assembly. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery module design, Schaefer discloses wherein an elastic member (vertical clamping straps and/or lateral/further clamping strap) 8/9 which is used to secure elements (such as cooling plates and pressure plate, see e.g. paras 0058-0074) to the stack of battery cells 2, and teaches that this design provides a beneficial cooling mechanism for the battery stack of the module (see entire disclosure and especially all Figs and e.g. paras 0009-0014, 0020, 0058-0074). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the clamping strap arrangement of Schaefer to the battery module of Kim ‘896 such that an elastic member covers two side surfaces of each of the first and second sensing blocks and the battery cell stacks and the electrode lead assembly because Schaefer teaches that this is part of a system the provides a beneficial cooling mechanism for the battery stack of the module. The skilled artisan would understand that in the combined invention of Kim ‘896 and Schaefer, the elastic member including clamping straps 8 and 9 would cover and be continuously connected along the two side surfaces of each of the first and second sensing blocks 101/102 and electrode leads 213/214 (since they are behind the first and second sensing blocks) and the battery cell stack, since the clamps are tightly embracing the battery cell stack (para 0020) even if the coverage may not be complete coverage, for example by envisioning Fig 4 of Schaefer where end plates 6/7 are replaced by first and second sensing blocks 101/102.
Regarding Claim 3, the skilled artisan would understand that in the combined invention of Kim ‘896 and Schaefer, the elastic member including clamping straps 8 and 9 would cover two side surfaces of each of the first and second sensing blocks 101/102 and electrode leads 213/214 (since they are behind the first and sensing blocks) and the battery cell stack, for example by envisioning Fig 4 of Schaefer where end plates 6/7 are replaced by first and second sensing blocks 101/102, and this combination would provide for exposure of some of the upper and lower surfaces of the battery cell stack since the straps do not cover the entire surfaces.
Regarding Claim 10, (incorporating the rejection of Claim 1 herein) Kim ‘896 discloses a method of manufacturing battery module 400 comprising a battery cell stack comprising:
- Stacking a plurality of battery cells 201 (via stacking their enclosing cartridges) with a plurality of protruding electrode leads 213/214 to manufacture a battery cell stack/cartridge assembly (para 0045).
- Arranging (mounting) a first sensing block and a second sensing block to cover the front surface and the rear surface (both ends) of the battery cell stack, respectively (para 0018).
- Passing at least two electrode leads through slits of the first sensing block or a slit in the second sensing block and joining the at least two leads to each other to form an electrode lead assembly (Figs 2, 5; para 0087, e.g. Fig 2 shows electrode leads passing through slits to join to adjacent battery leads), and although Kim ‘896 doesn’t specifically disclose wherein at least two electrode leads pass through “a slit”, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery module of Kim ‘896 and the manufacturing method thereof such that at least two electrode leads pass through a slit to be joined in order to better secure the leads to one another by increasing the area of leads that can be mutually attached since this would require only a rearrangement of parts. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Kim ‘896 fails to specifically disclose wherein the method includes:
- covering the electrode lead assembly and two side surfaces of each of the first and second sensing blocks and the battery cell stacks and the electrode lead assembly with an elastic member. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery module design, Schaefer discloses wherein an elastic member (vertical clamping straps and/or lateral/further clamping strap) 8/9 which is used to secure elements (such as cooling plates and pressure plate, see e.g. paras 0058-0074) to the stack of battery cells 2, and teaches that this design provides a beneficial cooling mechanism for the battery stack of the module (see entire disclosure and especially all Figs and e.g. paras 0009-0014, 0020, 0058-0074). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the clamping strap arrangement of Schaefer to the battery module of Kim ‘896 such that the method includes covering the electrode lead assembly and two side surfaces of each of the first and second sensing blocks and the battery cell stacks and the electrode lead assembly with an elastic member because Schaefer teaches that this is part of a system the provides a beneficial cooling mechanism for the battery stack of the module. The skilled artisan would understand that in the combined invention of Kim ‘896 and Schaefer, the elastic member including clamping straps 8 and 9 would cover and be continuously connected (meeting Claim 11) along the two side surfaces of each of the first and second sensing blocks 101/102 and electrode leads 213/214 (since they are behind the first and second sensing blocks) and the battery cell stack, since the clamps are tightly embracing the battery cell stack (para 0020) even if the coverage may not be complete coverage, for example by envisioning Fig 4 of Schaefer where end plates 6/7 are replaced by first and second sensing blocks 101/102.
7. Claims 4-6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR2017-0066896 (hereinafter “Kim ‘896”) in view of Schaefer US PG Publication 2014/0087231, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yan US PG Publication 2022/0166238.
Regarding Claims 4-5 and 12-13, Kim ‘896 modified by Schaefer discloses the claimed battery module as described in the rejection of Claim 1, above, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Kim ‘896 discloses a voltage sensing assembly (PCB for voltage detection and a connector for transmitting detection voltage to a battery management system, as well as PCB receiving portion) located in at least one of the first and second sensing blocks and discloses connecting this structure to the electrode lead assembly (meeting Claims 5 and 13) (see at least para 0067, 0075). Modified Kim ‘896 does not specifically recite that the voltage sensing assembly is specifically low voltage (LV). However, in the same field of endeavor of electric vehicle battery module design, Yan discloses that electric vehicles include both high voltage batteries to power the traction system and low voltage batteries to provide power to devices in the vehicle (see e.g. para 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the battery pack of Kim ‘896 modified by Schaefer to power e.g. devices in a vehicle such that a low voltage sensing system is used in the sensing assembly for transmitting voltage in formation of the battery cell to for the application needed in the device being powered by the battery module of Kim ‘896 modified by Schaefer since Yan teaches that low voltage batteries are used in vehicles e.g. to power devices in the vehicles, and the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Kim ‘896 discloses wherein the voltage sensing assembly includes a voltage connector (connector that transmits detection voltage to a BMS, para 0067), a connection member (PCB) that connects the connector to the electrode lead assembly (para 0067), and a joining plate (e.g. one of the bus bars) located at one end of the connection member and joined to the electrode lead assembly (para 0067) . Kim ‘896 modified by Schaefer and Yan does not specifically disclose wherein the connector is an LV connector. However, the skilled artisan would expect that any voltage connector (whether designated for high or low voltage) would be capable of handling low voltage.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR2017-0066896 (hereinafter “Kim ‘896”) in view of Schaefer US PG Publication 2014/0087231 and Yan US PG Publication 2022/0166238, as applied to Claim 6, and further in view of Jeon US PG Publication 2020/0365844.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim ‘896 modified by Schaefer and Yan discloses the claimed battery module as described in the rejection of Claim 6, above, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Kim ‘896 discloses the connection member which is a PCB but fails to specifically disclose that it is a flexible PCB or a flexible flat cable. However, in the same field of endeavor of electric vehicle (and other devices) battery module design, Jeon teaches that a FPCB is used to connected busbars to other parts of the battery electronics and outside entities (para 0015). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a FPCB for the PCB of Kim ‘896 modified by Schaefer and Yan because Jeon teaches that this is a known embodiment for such a connection and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
9. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR2017-0066896 (hereinafter “Kim ‘896”) in view of Schaefer US PG Publication 2014/0087231, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim US PG Publication 2019/0280355 (hereinafter “Kim ‘355”).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Kim ‘896 discloses a battery pack 600 comprising the battery module of Claim 1, a housing for the battery module (including upper and lower plates, see e.g. Figs 4 and 5 which show un-labeled upper and lower housing members) and Kim ‘896 modified by Shaefer discloses wherein a lower part of the elastic member is open such that it provides for exposure of some of the upper and lower surfaces of the battery cell stack since the straps do not cover the entire surfaces (see rejection of Claim 3). Kim ‘896 does not disclose a thermal conductive resin layer located between the battery module and a bottom part of the housing. However, Schaefer teaches that the beneficial cooling arrangement includes a lower housing member, i.e. a cooling plate 3, which is joined to the battery cell stack 2 by a thermally conductive layer (heat conducting film) 4 that contacts the lower surface of the battery cell stack for beneficial thermal management (see e.g. para 0095-0097, Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a lower housing member that is a cooling plate and to interpose a thermally conductive layer between (and contacting, meeting Claim 9) the lower surface of the battery cell stack and a bottom of the housing of Kim ‘896 since Schaefer teaches that this provides for beneficial cooling of the battery module. Kim ‘896 modified by Schaefer fails to specifically disclose wherein the thermally conductive layer is a resin layer. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery module design, Kim ‘355 teaches the use of a heat transfer material (thermal conductive member) 30 between battery cells in a module and adjacent cooling plate and teaches that heat radiation effect is enhanced by using a thermally conductive adhesive based on a resin (see e.g. paras 0064-0066). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a thermally conductive resin adhesive as the thermal conductive layer material of Kim ‘896 and Schaefer because this material is taught by Kim ‘355 as being a material that enhances heat radiation effect when used between battery cells in a module and adjacent cooling plate.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed July 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Arguments directed at claim 1
11. Applicant argues that Kim and Schaefer do not disclose the elastic member “continuously connected along the two side surfaces of” the first sensing block, the second sensing block, and the battery cell stack” because the prior art’s straps are individual bands that encircle the assembly at specific locations, leaving gaps between them, as opposed to being a single elastic member continuously connected along the components recited in Claim 1, and so the cited prior art does not render obvious the claimed invention.
The Office has considered this argument and respectfully disagrees. It is submitted that Applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the claim. The claim does not require a single, e.g. unitary, elastic element to continuously connect along the two side surfaces of the sensing blocks and battery cell stack. Rather, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the clamping straps/elastic member of the prior art is/are continuously connected along the first and second side surfaces and the battery cell stack since there is contact and coverage along all of the surfaces/side surfaces as shown in the figs 3/5 of Schaefer provided by Applicant in the arguments. Accordingly, the argument is not found convincing, and the rejection of record is maintained.
Conclusion
/LISA S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729