DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on May 5, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-24, 31-40, and 46-48 are presently pending with claims 1, 16, 31, and 46 being independent. Claims 3-10, 12-14, and 18-24 are original claims. Claims 1,16, 31, and 46 are currently amended. Claims 2, 11, 15, 17, 32-40 and 47 are previously presented. Claims 25-30 and 41-45 are canceled. Claim 48 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, 31, and 46 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 16 and 24 are given its broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-14, 16-17, 22, 24, 31-32, 37, 39-40, and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karmoose et al. (US 2022/0045789 A1; hereinafter Karmoose) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0389280 A1; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Karmoose teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, element 116 UE; ¶ [0002] Wireless communication systems.; ¶ [0067] UE that may be a mobile device.),
comprising:
determining a transport block size (TBS) of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission based at least in part on a set of PUSCH resources (read as allocated resources) corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions for transmission over a repetition unit comprising a plurality of slots (read as multiple slots) (¶ [0107] A transmitter for up and downlinks of a physical shared channel (PUSCH/PDSCH). An allocation may be made in the form of resources. The allocation may be in the form of resources in multiple slots, in which case the allocation corresponds to the transmission of a physical shared channel with repetitions.; ¶ [0109] A transmitter determines the Transport Block Size (TBS) based on the allocated resources.; ¶ [0110] Physical shared channel is scheduled with repetitions.; ¶ [0126] For PUSCH repetition Type A, in case K>1, the same symbol allocation is applied across the K consecutive slots. The UE shall repeat the TB across the K consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot.);
determining a starting bit location of each code block (read as CB) of the PUSCH transmission for a first slot of the plurality of slots (read as multi-slot) (page 17, Table 5.4.2.1-2: Starting position of different redundancy versions k0; ¶ [0125] Table 5.4.2.1-2 is found in 3GPP TS 38.212. ko is given by Table 5.4.2.1-2 according to the value of rvid and LDPC base graph.; ¶ [0248] For a given set of N slots in one multi-slot physical shared channel transmission, Ei is the RM size of slot number i for a CB, and pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot (this may be the starting position corresponding to a particular RV index).);
Table 1
Karmoose - Page 17 – Table 5.4.2.1-2
(Note: The instant application also includes Table 1, ¶ [0059] that states “starting bit location may be defined as follows:” Table 1)
Karmoose does not explicitly teach determining a different starting bit location of each code block of the PUSCH transmission for each slot of the plurality of slots following the first slot,
wherein each of the different starting bit locations for each slot following the first slot is associated with a same redundancy version (RV) as the first slot and based on applying a respective offset to the starting bit location for the first slot; and
transmitting the PUSCH repetitions, each slot comprising encoded data based on the same RV as the first slot and respective starting bit locations.
In analogous art, Li teaches determining a different starting bit location of each code block of the PUSCH transmission for each slot of the plurality of slots following the first slot, wherein each of the different starting bit locations for each slot following the first slot is associated with a same redundancy version (RV) as the first slot and based on applying a respective offset to the starting bit location for the first slot (¶ [0034] The nominal TTI (transmission time interval) is divided into two parts, with the time resource of each part being within each slot.; ¶ [0039] The two TTIs could use the same RV. A single RV is generated. The first part of the RV is mapped to the first TTI, while the remaining part of the RV is mapped to the second TTI. The number of bits in the first part of the RV is determined by the total number of data REs of the first TTI.); and
transmitting the PUSCH repetitions, each slot comprising encoded data based on the same RV as the first slot and respective starting bit locations (¶ [0034] The nominal TTI is divided into two parts, with the time resource of each part being within each slot.; ¶ [0037] The two parts are treated as different TTIs but transmit the same TB. In other words, it works as PUSCH repetition.; ¶ [0039] Rate matching for the TB can be done according to the indicated redundancy version (RV) index by the DCI. A reference RV index could be indicated for a nominal TTI by the DCI. The two TTIs could use the same RV. The first part of the RV is mapped to the first TTI, while the remaining part of the RV is mapped to the second TTI.; ¶ [0146] Encoding the PUSCH for transmission based on the DCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TTI scheduling for PUSCH transmissions taught by Li with PUSCH repetition transmission method taught by Karmoose. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink transmission reliability and scheduling flexibility by applying Karmoose’s PUSCH repetition technique to Li’s multi-TTI PUSCH scheduling framework, thereby allowing repeated PUSCH transmissions over scheduled time intervals while maintaining efficient use of uplink resources and reducing the likelihood that data must be retransmitted after a failed reception (Li: ¶¶ [0021-0031 and ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Karmoose teaches further comprising applying a cyclic offset between code block starting bits of consecutive slots within the plurality of slots (¶ [0206] A sequence of RV indices may be specified based on which RV indices of the consecutive CB parts are determined. An RV index sequence of each part of the CB sequentially (and cyclically) iterates over this sequence starting from the RV index of the original CB.; ¶ [0248] The RV index for a CB in each slot may be the largest RV index for which its starting position is smaller than the ending position of the RM output from the previous slot.; ¶ [0249] The RV index of each consecutive slot incremented by T.).
Regarding claim 7, Karmoose teaches wherein the cyclic offset (read as starting position) is based at least on a number of resource elements (REs) (read as coded bits) within each slot (¶ [0248] For a given set of N slots in one multi-slot physical shared channel transmission, Ei is the RM size of slot number i for a CB, and pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot.; ¶ [0322] Ei is the number of coded bits in the ith slot.).
Regarding claim 9, Karmoose teaches receiving a configuration (read as configured by the gNB) to apply an offset bit location (read as pst is the starting position) for redundancy version (RV) mapping of the PUSCH transmission (¶ [0248] pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot.; ¶ [0250] The transmitter may be configured with multiple possible sequences of RV selections in which the RV index of different CB segments follow the pattern of one of these sequences. A subset of such sequences to be used by the transmitter may be configured by the gNB. The selection of such subset may either be using RRC configurations or via MAC CE. The transmitter is indicated the particular sequence to use via a field indicated in the scheduling DCI of the multi-slot physical shared channel transmission.).
Regarding claim 11, Karmoose teaches wherein the UE determines the TBS based on that the transport block (TB) comprises a single code block (Fig. 10, situation 1000 data block B fits into single code block; ¶ [0162] The TBS determination for MAS processing sets the coding rate and the resultant TBS is B.; ¶ [0164] A data block B is small enough to fit into a single code block CB1. Using a Multi-Slot TBS (M-TBS) determination process, the code block CB1 may be mapped into a single transport block.).
Regarding claim 12, Karmoose teaches wherein the UE does not determine (read that the TBS is determined prior to the Code Block being determined) the TBS based on the plurality of slots (read as in the scheduled slot) for the TB comprising multiple code blocks (¶ [0109] A transmitter determines the Transport Block Size (TBS) based on the allocated resources and the configured resources for transmission overhead, such as the Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) resources. Then the information bits contained in the Transport Block (TB) and the Code Block (CB) are determined.; ¶ [0113] NRE is the total number of available resources in the scheduled slot.).
Regarding claim 13, Karmoose teaches refraining from multiplexing (read as cancel some UL signals) uplink control information (UCI) (read as UCI is higher priority) that is conveyed with a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) overlapping with the PUSCH transmission over the plurality of slots (¶ [0134] If a UE has PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs overlapping in time and if the overlapping signals have different priority indexes, the UE may have to cancel some UL signals with the lower priority index and proceed with transmitting the UL signals with the higher priority index.; ¶ [0135] The UE may have to cancel PUSCH transmissions if they collide in time with other UL signals that may have higher priority index than PUSH.)
Regarding claim 14, Karmoose teaches dropping the PUSCH transmission in a slot that overlaps with the PUCCH (¶ [0134] If a UE has PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs overlapping in time and if the overlapping signals have different priority indexes, the UE may have to cancel some UL signals with the lower priority index and proceed with transmitting the UL signals with the higher priority index.; ¶ [0135] The UE may have to cancel PUSCH transmissions if they collide in time with other UL signals that may have higher priority index than PUSH.); and
transmitting the PUCCH in the slot (¶ [0129] The slot structure may span one or more slots, and may provide a configuration of UL indications for the OS in those slots.; ¶ [0134] Proceed with transmitting the UL signals with the higher priority index.).
Regarding claim 16, Karmoose an apparatus for wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, element 116 UE; ¶ [0002] Wireless communication systems.; ¶ [0067] UE that may be a mobile device.),
comprising:
means for determining a transport block size (TBS) of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission based at least in part on a set of PUSCH resources (read as allocated resources) corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions for transmission over a repetition unit comprising a plurality of slots (read as multiple slots) (¶ [0107] A transmitter for up and downlinks of a physical shared channel (PUSCH/PDSCH). An allocation may be made in the form of resources. The allocation may be in the form of resources in multiple slots, in which case the allocation corresponds to the transmission of a physical shared channel with repetitions.; ¶ [0109] A transmitter determines the Transport Block Size (TBS) based on the allocated resources.; ¶ [0110] Physical shared channel is scheduled with repetitions.; ¶ [0126] For PUSCH repetition Type A, in case K>1, the same symbol allocation is applied across the K consecutive slots. The UE shall repeat the TB across the K consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot.);
means for determining a starting bit location of each code block (read as CB) of the PUSCH transmission for a first slot of the plurality of slots (read as multi-slot) (page 17, Table 5.4.2.1-2: Starting position of different redundancy versions k0; ¶ [0125] Table 5.4.2.1-2 is found in 3GPP TS 38.212. ko is given by Table 5.4.2.1-2 according to the value of rvid and LDPC base graph.; ¶ [0248] For a given set of N slots in one multi-slot physical shared channel transmission, Ei is the RM size of slot number i for a CB, and pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot (this may be the starting position corresponding to a particular RV index).);
Table 1
Karmoose - Page 17 – Table 5.4.2.1-2
(Note: The instant application also includes Table 1, ¶ [0059] that states “starting bit location may be defined as follows:” Table 1)
Karmoose does not explicitly teach means for determining a different starting bit location of each code block of the PUSCH transmission for each slot of the plurality of slots following the first slot,
wherein each of the different starting bit locations for each slot following the first slot is associated with a same redundancy version (RV) as the first slot and based on applying a respective offset to the starting bit location for the first slot; and
means for transmitting the PUSCH repetitions, each slot comprising encoded data based on the same RV as the first slot and respective starting bit locations.
In analogous art, Li teaches means for determining a different starting bit location of each code block of the PUSCH transmission for each slot of the plurality of slots following the first slot, wherein each of the different starting bit locations for each slot following the first slot is associated with a same redundancy version (RV) as the first slot and based on applying a respective offset to the starting bit location for the first slot (¶ [0034] The nominal TTI (transmission time interval) is divided into two parts, with the time resource of each part being within each slot.; ¶ [0039] The two TTIs could use the same RV. A single RV is generated. The first part of the RV is mapped to the first TTI, while the remaining part of the RV is mapped to the second TTI. The number of bits in the first part of the RV is determined by the total number of data REs of the first TTI.); and
means for transmitting the PUSCH repetitions, each slot comprising encoded data based on the same RV as the first slot and respective starting bit locations (¶ [0034] The nominal TTI is divided into two parts, with the time resource of each part being within each slot.; ¶ [0037] The two parts are treated as different TTIs but transmit the same TB. In other words, it works as PUSCH repetition.; ¶ [0039] Rate matching for the TB can be done according to the indicated redundancy version (RV) index by the DCI. A reference RV index could be indicated for a nominal TTI by the DCI. The two TTIs could use the same RV. The first part of the RV is mapped to the first TTI, while the remaining part of the RV is mapped to the second TTI.; ¶ [0146] Encoding the PUSCH for transmission based on the DCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TTI scheduling for PUSCH transmissions taught by Li with PUSCH repetition transmission method taught by Karmoose. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink transmission reliability and scheduling flexibility by applying Karmoose’s PUSCH repetition technique to Li’s multi-TTI PUSCH scheduling framework, thereby allowing repeated PUSCH transmissions over scheduled time intervals while maintaining efficient use of uplink resources and reducing the likelihood that data must be retransmitted after a failed reception (Li: ¶¶ [0021-0031 and ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 17, Karmoose teaches further comprising means for applying a cyclic offset between code block start bits of consecutive slots within the plurality of slots (¶ [0206] A sequence of RV indices may be specified based on which RV indices of the consecutive CB parts are determined. An RV index sequence of each part of the CB sequentially (and cyclically) iterates over this sequence starting from the RV index of the original CB.; ¶ [0248] The RV index for a CB in each slot may be the largest RV index for which its starting position is smaller than the ending position of the RM output from the previous slot.; ¶ [0249] The RV index of each consecutive slot incremented by T.).
Regarding claim 22, Karmoose teaches wherein the cyclic offset (read as starting position) is based at least on a number of resource elements (REs) (read as coded bits) within each slot (¶ [0248] For a given set of N slots in one multi-slot physical shared channel transmission, Ei is the RM size of slot number i for a CB, and pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot.; ¶ [0322] Ei is the number of coded bits in the ith slot.).
Regarding claim 24, Karmoose means for receiving a configuration (read as configured by the gNB) to apply an offset bit location (read as pst is the starting position) for redundancy version (RV) mapping of the PUSCH transmission (¶ [0248] pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot.; ¶ [0250] The transmitter may be configured with multiple possible sequences of RV selections in which the RV index of different CB segments follow the pattern of one of these sequences. A subset of such sequences to be used by the transmitter may be configured by the gNB. The selection of such subset may either be using RRC configurations or via MAC CE. The transmitter is indicated the particular sequence to use via a field indicated in the scheduling DCI of the multi-slot physical shared channel transmission.).
Regarding claim 31, Karmoose teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 3, element 116 UE; ¶ [0002] Wireless communication systems.; ¶ [0067] UE that may be a mobile device.),
comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 3, element 311 Memory; ¶ [0081] The UE may include a memory.); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to (Fig. 3, element 307 Processor, element 311 Memory; ¶ [0084] The processor may include one or more processors or other processing devices and may execute the OS stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE.):
determine a transport block size (TBS) of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission based at least in part on a set of PUSCH resources (read as allocated resources) corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions for transmission over a repetition unit comprising a plurality of slots (read as multiple slots) (¶ [0107] A transmitter for up and downlinks of a physical shared channel (PUSCH/PDSCH). An allocation may be made in the form of resources. The allocation may be in the form of resources in multiple slots, in which case the allocation corresponds to the transmission of a physical shared channel with repetitions.; ¶ [0109] A transmitter determines the Transport Block Size (TBS) based on the allocated resources.; ¶ [0110] Physical shared channel is scheduled with repetitions.; ¶ [0126] For PUSCH repetition Type A, in case K>1, the same symbol allocation is applied across the K consecutive slots. The UE shall repeat the TB across the K consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot.);
determine a starting bit location of each code block (read as CB) of the PUSCH transmission for a first slot of the plurality of slots (read as multi-slot) (page 17, Table 5.4.2.1-2: Starting position of different redundancy versions k0; ¶ [0125] Table 5.4.2.1-2 is found in 3GPP TS 38.212. ko is given by Table 5.4.2.1-2 according to the value of rvid and LDPC base graph.; ¶ [0248] For a given set of N slots in one multi-slot physical shared channel transmission, Ei is the RM size of slot number i for a CB, and pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot (this may be the starting position corresponding to a particular RV index).);
Table 1
Karmoose - Page 17 – Table 5.4.2.1-2
(Note: The instant application also includes Table 1, ¶ [0059] that states “starting bit location may be defined as follows:” Table 1)
Karmoose does not explicitly teach determining a different starting bit location of each code block of the PUSCH transmission for each slot of the plurality of slots following the first slot,
wherein each of the different starting bit locations for each slot following the first slot is associated with a same redundancy version (RV) as the first slot and based on applying a respective offset to the starting bit location for the first slot; and
transmit the PUSCH repetitions, each slot comprising encoded data based on the same RV as the first slot and respective starting bit locations.
In analogous art, Li teaches determining a different starting bit location of each code block of the PUSCH transmission for each slot of the plurality of slots following the first slot, wherein each of the different starting bit locations for each slot following the first slot is associated with a same redundancy version (RV) as the first slot and based on applying a respective offset to the starting bit location for the first slot (¶ [0034] The nominal TTI (transmission time interval) is divided into two parts, with the time resource of each part being within each slot.; ¶ [0039] The two TTIs could use the same RV. A single RV is generated. The first part of the RV is mapped to the first TTI, while the remaining part of the RV is mapped to the second TTI. The number of bits in the first part of the RV is determined by the total number of data REs of the first TTI.); and
transmit the PUSCH repetitions, each slot comprising encoded data based on the same RV as the first slot and respective starting bit locations (¶ [0034] The nominal TTI is divided into two parts, with the time resource of each part being within each slot.; ¶ [0037] The two parts are treated as different TTIs but transmit the same TB. In other words, it works as PUSCH repetition.; ¶ [0039] Rate matching for the TB can be done according to the indicated redundancy version (RV) index by the DCI. A reference RV index could be indicated for a nominal TTI by the DCI. The two TTIs could use the same RV. The first part of the RV is mapped to the first TTI, while the remaining part of the RV is mapped to the second TTI.; ¶ [0146] Encoding the PUSCH for transmission based on the DCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TTI scheduling for PUSCH transmissions taught by Li with PUSCH repetition transmission method taught by Karmoose. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink transmission reliability and scheduling flexibility by applying Karmoose’s PUSCH repetition technique to Li’s multi-TTI PUSCH scheduling framework, thereby allowing repeated PUSCH transmissions over scheduled time intervals while maintaining efficient use of uplink resources and reducing the likelihood that data must be retransmitted after a failed reception (Li: ¶¶ [0021-0031 and ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 32, Karmoose teaches wherein the at least one process coupled is further configured to apply a cyclic offset between code block start bits of consecutive slots within the plurality of slots (¶ [0206] A sequence of RV indices may be specified based on which RV indices of the consecutive CB parts are determined. An RV index sequence of each part of the CB sequentially (and cyclically) iterates over this sequence starting from the RV index of the original CB.; ¶ [0248] The RV index for a CB in each slot may be the largest RV index for which its starting position is smaller than the ending position of the RM output from the previous slot.; ¶ [0249] The RV index of each consecutive slot incremented by T.).
Regarding claim 37, Karmoose teaches wherein the cyclic offset (read as starting position) is based at least on a number of resource elements (REs) (read as coded bits) within each slot (¶ [0248] For a given set of N slots in one multi-slot physical shared channel transmission, Ei is the RM size of slot number i for a CB, and pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot.; ¶ [0322] Ei is the number of coded bits in the ith slot.).
Regarding claim 39, Karmoose teaches receive a configuration (read as configured by the gNB) to apply an offset bit location (read as pst is the starting position) for redundancy version (RV) mapping of the PUSCH transmission (¶ [0248] pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot.; ¶ [0250] The transmitter may be configured with multiple possible sequences of RV selections in which the RV index of different CB segments follow the pattern of one of these sequences. A subset of such sequences to be used by the transmitter may be configured by the gNB. The selection of such subset may either be using RRC configurations or via MAC CE. The transmitter is indicated the particular sequence to use via a field indicated in the scheduling DCI of the multi-slot physical shared channel transmission.).
Regarding claim 46, Karmoose teaches a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code (read as computer programs), the code when executed by a processor cause the processor to (¶ [0339] Implemented as one or more computer programs, i.e., one or more modules of computer-program instructions, encoded on computer storage medium for execution by, or to control the operation of data-processing apparatus.):
determine a transport block size (TBS) of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission based at least in part on a set of PUSCH resources (read as allocated resources) corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions for transmission over a repetition unit comprising a plurality of slots (read as multiple slots) (¶ [0107] A transmitter for up and downlinks of a physical shared channel (PUSCH/PDSCH). An allocation may be made in the form of resources. The allocation may be in the form of resources in multiple slots, in which case the allocation corresponds to the transmission of a physical shared channel with repetitions.; ¶ [0109] A transmitter determines the Transport Block Size (TBS) based on the allocated resources.; ¶ [0110] Physical shared channel is scheduled with repetitions.; ¶ [0126] For PUSCH repetition Type A, in case K>1, the same symbol allocation is applied across the K consecutive slots. The UE shall repeat the TB across the K consecutive slots applying the same symbol allocation in each slot.);
determine a starting bit location of each code block (read as CB) of the PUSCH transmission for a first slot of the plurality of slots (read as multi-slot) (page 17, Table 5.4.2.1-2: Starting position of different redundancy versions k0; ¶ [0125] Table 5.4.2.1-2 is found in 3GPP TS 38.212. ko is given by Table 5.4.2.1-2 according to the value of rvid and LDPC base graph.; ¶ [0248] For a given set of N slots in one multi-slot physical shared channel transmission, Ei is the RM size of slot number i for a CB, and pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot (this may be the starting position corresponding to a particular RV index).);
Table 1
Karmoose - Page 17 – Table 5.4.2.1-2
(Note: The instant application also includes Table 1, ¶ [0059] that states “starting bit location may be defined as follows:” Table 1)
Karmoose does not explicitly teach determining a different starting bit location of each code block of the PUSCH transmission for each slot of the plurality of slots following the first slot,
wherein each of the different starting bit locations for each slot following the first slot is associated with a same redundancy version (RV) as the first slot and based on applying a respective offset to the starting bit location for the first slot; and
transmit the PUSCH repetitions, each slot comprising encoded data based on the same RV as the first slot and respective starting bit locations.
In analogous art, Li teaches determining a different starting bit location of each code block of the PUSCH transmission for each slot of the plurality of slots following the first slot, wherein each of the different starting bit locations for each slot following the first slot is associated with a same redundancy version (RV) as the first slot and based on applying a respective offset to the starting bit location for the first slot (¶ [0034] The nominal TTI (transmission time interval) is divided into two parts, with the time resource of each part being within each slot.; ¶ [0039] The two TTIs could use the same RV. A single RV is generated. The first part of the RV is mapped to the first TTI, while the remaining part of the RV is mapped to the second TTI. The number of bits in the first part of the RV is determined by the total number of data REs of the first TTI.); and
transmit the PUSCH repetitions, each slot comprising encoded data based on the same RV as the first slot and respective starting bit locations (¶ [0034] The nominal TTI is divided into two parts, with the time resource of each part being within each slot.; ¶ [0037] The two parts are treated as different TTIs but transmit the same TB. In other words, it works as PUSCH repetition.; ¶ [0039] Rate matching for the TB can be done according to the indicated redundancy version (RV) index by the DCI. A reference RV index could be indicated for a nominal TTI by the DCI. The two TTIs could use the same RV. The first part of the RV is mapped to the first TTI, while the remaining part of the RV is mapped to the second TTI.; ¶ [0146] Encoding the PUSCH for transmission based on the DCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TTI scheduling for PUSCH transmissions taught by Li with PUSCH repetition transmission method taught by Karmoose. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve uplink transmission reliability and scheduling flexibility by applying Karmoose’s PUSCH repetition technique to Li’s multi-TTI PUSCH scheduling framework, thereby allowing repeated PUSCH transmissions over scheduled time intervals while maintaining efficient use of uplink resources and reducing the likelihood that data must be retransmitted after a failed reception (Li: ¶¶ [0021-0031 and ¶ [0039]).
Regarding claim 47, Karmoose teaches wherein each of the different starting bit locations for each slot following the first slot is based on a two level redundancy version (RV) cycling (¶ [0206] The RV index of each part of the CB sequentially (and cyclically) iterates over this sequence.; ¶ [0225] RV1 and RV3 would entirely cover the codeword, and RV2 and RV4 may be removed.; ¶ [0248] pst is the starting position for the RM output of the first slot. Then, for slot I, the value
is computed, and then the RV index is used with a starting position.), and
wherein different repetition units correspond to different starting offsets in a circular buffer (¶ [0126] The redundancy version to be applied on the nth transmission occasion is determined according to table 6.1.2.1-2.; ¶ [0240] Let j [Symbol font/0xCE] {0,000, N-1} indicate the bit corresponding to the start of the RM output (e.g., indicated by the RV index of the multi-slot physical shared channel transmission.). Continuously selecting bits from the codeword starting from the jth bit while performing a module-N operation.).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karmoose in view of Li further in view of Koorapaty et al. (US 2024/0406962 A1; hereinafter Koorapaty).
Regarding claim 15, Karmoose teaches puncturing PUSCH REs with an encoded HARQ-ACK when mapping to PUSCH (¶ [0098] A UCI may include hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information.; ¶ [0141] A UE multiplexing Uplink Control Information (UCI) on PUSCH.; ¶ [0321] Puncturing the interleaver output at the locations in which REs are to be used for sending symbols carrying UCI bits. Puncturing the REs used for UCI bits.),
Karmoose and Li do not explicitly teach wherein the encoded HARQ-ACK comprise greater than 2 bits of HARQ-ACK.
In analogous art, Koorapaty teaches wherein the encoded HARQ-ACK comprise greater than 2 bits of HARQ-ACK (¶ [0016] There can be up to 64 HARQ-ACK bits.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine greater than 2 bits of HARQ-ACK taught by Koorapaty with TTI scheduling for PUSCH transmissions taught by Li and PUSCH repetition transmission method taught by Karmoose. One would have been motivated to do so in order to optimize use of spectrum and increase power efficiency leading to greater user satisfaction by using PUSCH symbols to carry the HARQ-ACK bits without disrupting the mapping (Koorapaty: ¶¶ [0002-0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8, 10, 18-21, 23, 33-36, 38, 40, and 48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US 2022/0150928 A1) discloses “Method, Apparatus, and System for Transmitting and Receiving a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) in a Wireless Communication System”
Ma et al. (US 2020/0228254 A1) discloses “Redundancy Version Design Solution in Communication Systems”
Park et al. (US 2020/0358557 A1) discloses “Method and Apparatus for Data Transmission in Wireless Communication System”
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464