DETAILED ACTION
Claims 17-33 are pending as amended on 12/4/2025.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 17-21, in the reply filed on 12/4/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups are linked by the novel feature of the PPSU of claim 17. This is not found persuasive because a PPSU according to claim 17 is known in the art (Wu), which establishes a lack of unity a posteriori, as set forth in paragraphs 4-6 of the restriction requirement mailed on 10/6/2025. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 22-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al (Synthesis and Characterization of Poly (Aryl Ether Ketone Sulfone) Copolymers, Polymer Preprints, Vol 26, Issue 2, pp 277-280, 1985; copy provided with the action mailed on 10/6/2025).
Within instant formula II, the molecular weight of one repeating unit subscripted “x” is ~401, and the molecular weight of the additional structure derived from biphenol is ~185. Therefore, the PPSU recited in instant claim 17 has a structure consisting essentially of:
oligomeric segments A and B according to instant formula II having a molecular weight ranging from 1990 (x=4.5; i.e., 4.5*401+185) to 3794 (x=9; i.e., 9*401+185), and
benzophenone units (e.g., units derived from dihalobenzophenone) between each of the oligomeric segments A and B.
Wu discloses poly(aryl ether ketone sulfone) copolymers formed by coupling a hydroxyl-terminated polysulfone oligomer and DFBP (difluorobenzophenone) (see p 278, text in middle of left column and reaction scheme I in right column):
Wu exemplifies a copolymer (see Table 2, Sample No. 5, p 280) synthesized by chain extension of a phenolic hydroxyl terminated poly(arylene ether sulfone) oligomer formed using biphenol as the bisphenol component having a molecular weight of 2000 (see Table 1, p 280, Sample No 1). A copolymer (i.e., Wu’s Sample No. 5) formed by reaction of DFBP with a biphenol PSF oligomer having a molecular weight of 2000 (i.e., a molecular weight within a range of 1990-3794) is a PPSU according to instant formula I consisting essentially of phenylene sulfone segments A and B (according to instant formula II) coupled by benzophenone units derived from DFBP.
As to claim 18, Wu discloses a PPSU according to claim 17, as set forth above. The PPSU recited in instant claim 18 has a structure wherein oligomeric segments according to instant formula II having a molecular weight ranging from 1990 (x=4.5; i.e., 4.5*401+185) to 2992 (x=7; i.e., 7*401+185) are coupled by benzophenone units. Given that Wu exemplifies a copolymer (Sample No. 5) formed by reaction of DFBP with a biphenol PSF oligomer having a molecular weight of 2000 (i.e., a molecular weight within a range of 1990-2992), Wu discloses a PPSU according to claim 18.
As to claim 19, Wu’s oligomer and DFBP reactants are both difunctional, as shown in scheme I on p 278. Wu does not disclose addition of further polyfunctional reactants or branching agents. Therefore, there is reasonable basis to conclude that Wu’s PPSU is linear as presently recited.
As to claims 20 and 21, Wu discloses that NMP (N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone) is a suitable solvent for the copolysulfones (p 278, middle right), and measures viscosity in NMP (table 2, p 280). Therefore, Wu discloses a solution comprising NMP according to instant claims 20 and 21.
Conclusion
/RACHEL KAHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766