DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-17, and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihara et al. (JP 2007090653, “Yoshihara” a machine translation of which has been made of record 2/22/23, and is used as the citation copy unless otherwise noted).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Yoshihara teaches a coatable polymeric composition comprising a first polymeric block (block B, corresponding to claimed block A1, [0009] – [0015], and see p. 6 of untranslated document) and a second polymeric block (block A, corresponding to the claimed block A2, e.g., [0029], [0017]). Yoshihara additionally teaches that the compound B may include component corresponding to claimed compound a1-1 (see, e.g., [0017] and p. 6 of untranslated document showing chemical formula 3). Yoshihara additionally teaches that the ratio of block A to block B (corresponding to the ration of claimed components A2 to A1) may be on the range of from 5:95 to 60:40, thus reading on the claimed range ([0042], [0043], and see [0026], molecular weight distribution of blocks is in the range of 1 to 2). While Yoshihara teaches the inclusions in mol % terms, the amounts described by Yoshihara would read on the majority of the components being block A in terms of mass. The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05. Yoshihara additionally teaches that the number average molecular weight of the copolymer may be on the range of from 8000 to 50000 ([0017], [0053]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Yoshihara additionally teaches that the number value of p, corresponding to the n of claimed formulas a1, may read on the range of from 1 to 70 ([0017], wherein p is from 1 to 4)
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Yoshihara additionally teaches that a component of the A block may read on the claimed a2 component (e.g., ethylhexyl acrylate, [0029]).
Regarding claims 6, 7, 15, and 16, Yoshihara additionally teaches that the copolymer may be a diblock copolymer (and thus that the copolymer comprises greater than 80% of the first and second blocks together, see, e.g., [0009]).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Yoshihara additionally teaches that the composition may include silicon elements and/or fluorine elements which may be considered to mean that the composition may include silicon elements or fluorine elements, and thus needs not include fluorine elements ([0009]).
Regarding claims 10-12 and 19-21, Yoshihara additionally teaches that the composition may form a coating composition ([0008], [0009]), which may be used to form an article ([0008], [0009]), including a type of resist (in this case, an anti-fouling hardcoat layer that resists fouling, [0008], [0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/11/25 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Arguments that are relevant to the current rejections are addressed below.
Applicant argues that the cited molecular weights of Yoshihara refer only to fluorinated polymers. But this does not appear to be correct. For example, the portions of p. 6 of the untranslated document corresponding to the cited portions of the translated document (i.e., [0017]) appear to refer to a silicone-based polymer and wherein the block copolymer has a number average molecular weight of from 8,000 to 50,000 (see JP 2007090653, p. 6, chemical formula 3 and [0017]). “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Please see MPEP §2123. The Examiner therefore maintains that Yoshihara teaches that the number average molecular weight of the copolymer may be on the range of from 8000 to 50000 ([0017], [0053]).
Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-17, and 19-21 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782