DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Claims 1, 4-7 and 9 remain for examination of which claims 1, 4-7 and 9 were amended in Applicant’s reply.
Claim 10 remains withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 26 September 2025 (affirmed on 12/22/2025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
List 1
Element
Instant Claims
(mass%)
Prior Art
(mass%)
C
0.18 – 0.28
0.07 – 0.25
Si
≤ 0.20
0.04 – 2
Mn
1.20 – 2.0
1.2 – 3
P
0.030 – 0.080
0.05 or less
S
≤ 0.004
0.02 or less
Al
0.02 – 0.06
0.01 – 2
Nb
0.02 – 0.06
0.2 or less
Ti
0.025 – 0.045
0.2 or less
V
0.05 – 0.15
0.2 or less
Cr
0.5 – 2.5
1 or less
Mo
0.10 – 0.30
1 or less
B
0.0015 – 0.0035
0.1 or less
N
≤ 0.005
-
Fe + impurities
Balance
Balance
Claims 1, 4-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015-014025 A of Fujinaka and its English machine translation (JP’025).
Regarding claim 1, JP 2015-014025 A of Fujinaka and its English machine translation (JP’025) teaches {abstract, claims 1-6, [0001], [0015]-[0019], [0022]-[0036]} “a steel sheet blank using, as a raw material, a high-strength steel sheet for laser processing which has excellent elongation and stretch-flanging properties while having a high strength of 780 MPa or higher” with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements of the instant alloy of the instant claims overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown in the List 1 above. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches the similar property/utility throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Regarding the amended limitation of the microstructure of instant claim 1, the prior art teaches “[0014] Furthermore, the base material portion excluding the cut end surface portion has a composite structure in which the ferrite area ratio is 10 to 80%, the retained austenite area ratio is 2% or more, and the balance is martensite and bainite.” thereby meeting the instant recited limitations. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Regarding the limitation of “for automobiles” in the preamble, the prior art teaches [0020] “The steel sheet blank and the steel sheet for laser cutting according to the present invention are ideal as materials for structural members used in automobiles and various industrial machines, in particular as materials for structural members such as automobile seat parts and suspension parts.” thereby meeting the instant limitation.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, the prior art teaches [0001] “the present invention relates to a steel sheet blank having a high tensile strength of 780 MPa or more and good elongation” [0045] “Therefore, the tensile strength is set to 780 MPa or more. The tensile strength is preferably 980 MPa or more.” and points out via examples elongation values of 15-24% thereby meeting the instant recited limitations. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 5-6, the prior art is silent regarding its alloy having the properties and values of a) yield strength and b) oxidation resistance as recited in the instant claims.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition (see compositional analysis above), b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure (see microstructure analysis above) and c) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes {instant alloy: instant specification [42]-[44]; Prior art: [0046]-[0061]}. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art teaches [0019], [0022] “A method for manufacturing a steel sheet” “steel sheet” which would read on the instant recited thickness limitations as the definition or the thickness of steel sheet falls within the claimed ranges.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the arguments that the embodiments provided by the prior art do not teach the claimed matter, the arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Patents are relevant as prior art for all they contain. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).See MPEP § 2123.
Regarding the amended limitation of the microstructure of instant claim 1, the prior art teaches “[0014] Furthermore, the base material portion excluding the cut end surface portion has a composite structure in which the ferrite area ratio is 10 to 80%, the retained austenite area ratio is 2% or more, and the balance is martensite and bainite.” thereby meeting the instant recited limitations. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
As noted above, the prior art renders the instant claims obvious. If a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case. See, e.g., In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 692, 16 USPQ2d 1897, 1901 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Rebuttal evidence and arguments can be presented in the specification, In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746, 750, 34 USPQ2d 1684, 1687 (Fed. Cir. 1995), by counsel, In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 299, 36 USPQ2d 1089, 1094-95 (Fed. Cir. 1995), or by way of an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, e.g., Soni, 54 F.3d at 750, 34 USPQ2d at 1687; In re Piasecki, 745 F.2d 1468, 1474, 223 USPQ 785, 789-90 (Fed. Cir. 1984). However, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). See MPEP § 2145. Attorney argument is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art. The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."). See MPEP § 716.01(c) for examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration. See MPEP § 2145 I.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733